American IV: The Man Comes Around [Bonus DVD] [CD]

  • Artist: Johnny Cash
  • SKU: 5356562
  • Release Date: Not Yet Announced
  • 4.8 (4)
Price Match Guarantee

Best Buy is dedicated to always offering the best value to our customers. We will match the price, at the time of purchase, on a Price Match Guarantee product if you find the same item at a lower price at a Designated Major Online Retailer or at a local retail competitor's store.

Here's how:
  • If you find a qualifying lower price online, call 1-888-BEST BUY and direct a customer service agent to the web site with the lower price, or when visiting a Best Buy store, one of our employees will assist you.
  • On qualifying products, Best Buy will then verify the current price to complete the price match.

Exclusions apply including, but not limited to, Competitors' service prices, special daily or hourly sales, and items for sale Thanksgiving Day through the Monday after Thanksgiving. See the list of Designated Major Online Retailers and full details.

Cardholder Offers


Best Buy Customer Reviews

Cash Is King Posted by: from: on When it comes to an artist pouring his soul into his work, none do it better than Johnny Cash in this album. The lyrics, the tone of his aging voice, and the melody all work together to make for a truly entertaining album.

0 out of 0 found this review helpful.

Excellent Album in the Series Posted by: from: St. Pete, FL on Known for the heart-wrenching versions of "Hurt" and "I Hung My Head," this album in the "American" series is a gem from beginning to end. The listener may start to sense that Cash is struggling physically in some parts, but every song is effective in its own way, from one end (i.e. "Bridge Over Troubled Water") to the other (i.e. "Sam Hall"). The album is even more spiritual than the previous three "American" releases, and the last song, "We'll Meet Again," is a very fitting end to the album. Very highly recommended.

0 out of 0 found this review helpful.

If you like Johhnie Cash then this is a must Posted by: from: Ft Bragg NC on Bought this CD for my husband but I couldn't help taking it from him to listen to on my way to work.

0 out of 0 found this review helpful.

Everybody Hurts Sometimes Posted by: from: Wisconsin on American IV: The Man Comes Around is a must for any music collection. This is the swansong for Johnny Cash, and it couldn't be better. As a child weened on radio in the '60s and '70s, I couldn't have been distanced further from the Sun Recordings and the countless songs he recorded for Columbia. To me, he was the man in black on TV who sang the fun 'A Boy Named Sue'. Maturity yields awareness and more openness. Coming into JC later than sooner, he was a welcome musical discovery. And after one listen to American IV, produced by Rick Rubin, I know why I fell in love with music in the first place. Johnny's voice sounds his age. It crackles at times, but rarely. The low notes are still there. Of the 15 tracks, Cash wrote 3 of the songs, and arranged another three. This album is a songbook of superb material, covering The Smashing Pumpkins 'Hurt', Paul Simon's 'Bridge Over Troubled Waters', and The Beatles' 'In My Life', which Cash sings like they were his all the while. Themes of loss, redemption, fear, salvation, and coming to terms with oneself at the end of one's life are everywhere. It reads like a musical confessional to his maker. Rubin's spare production style allows the voice to be more than a familiar friend, it is its own instrument. Each note from the piano is like a hushed choirboy encouraging the vocal and guitar. Just listen to the title track and the four that follow it--the quartet seems to have its own story arc, like a film, replete with biblical allegory to drive the point home. He duets with Don Henley on 'Desperado', and with Fiona Apple on Paul Simon's song. There is a cover of 'Danny Boy' and Hank Williams' 'I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry'. He is backed by a couple of Tom Petty's bandmates and other wonderful musicians. The whole family comes out to perform on the album's closer, 'We'll Meet Again'. The emotional impact of that final song is both ironic and elegaic, Dylan-esque in its introspective best. As Cash writes in the liner notes: "The fifteen songs in this album take fifteen different directions." And there are no detours.

0 out of 0 found this review helpful.

Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.