Customer Ratings & Reviews

Google - Chromecast Audio - Black-Front_Standard

Google - Chromecast Audio - Black

Model:RUX-J42SKU:4532100
Write a Review

Overall Customer Rating

4.594%of customers recommend this product.
(1462 Reviews)

Mentioned In Reviews

Reviews Mentioning "for videos"See all reviews
  • Motofan
    4

    Amazing for price

    September 30, 2016

    Worked very well with my audio receiver and can transmit music wirelessly to speaker in other rooms. Only drawback is can not send youtube video music to this device.

  • Nick
    5

    Good product easy to use lacks apple compatibility

    May 27, 2016

    Nice, works well, but is difficult to stop after it has been playing for a while and your phone is not in the app that your using to play from, similar to the chromecast video. I only have one so I can not speak about the grouping capabilities, not yet anyway.

  • MbtNav
    4

    Good Quality

    July 25, 2016

    When I bought Chromecast Audio I thought that it will be very bad in sound quality, and that not is true. The only thing that I do not like is that when I see videos in chrome browser, the audio is delay by 1 or 2 seconds. Nevertheless, it is worthy for $35.

  • mobilederek
    5

    does exactly what it's supposed to

    November 2, 2015

    I am looking forward to when it can sync between speakers but for now it does exactly what I want. My only concern is that it runs a little hot if you leave it plugged in all the time. FYI- this will not play the audio from youtube videos.

  • Mushupork
    5

    Much Improved

    May 19, 2016

    I have the original Chromecast dongle with audio and video but the video quality was not good. I can not be certain why the difference between audio only vs audio and video. Probably a combination of less bandwidth required for audio only in addition to product improvement. Regardless I have much better performance with this Chromecast Audio and am very pleased.

  • Norm
    5

    PERFECT!

    January 16, 2016

    If you have a chromecast, you know what this is. Easy and convenient way to stream AUDIO ONLY to any stereo in your house. Honestly, I cannot see why you would not get one of these for every stereo or one of the video ones for every TV in the house. Easy to pair with phones and PCs/tablets and easy to stream.

  • GeorgeTwang
    5

    Great for cast to dumb speaker or AV w/ no TV

    December 4, 2015

    This is a great device for casting to a set of dumb" speakers or for casting music to an AV receiver and you wont wish to have your TV in usage while listening. It would have been nice to just see a chromecast plus or something that did both video and audio but just had an 3.5mm plug for analog output. Also I wish the multi room audio was supported at the time of purchase. I still have not heard about that.

  • joan
    3

    okay for some; functionality limited without bt

    November 27, 2016

    pro: good for multi-speaker synchronization casting easy to use works okay for primary purpose cons: does not have bluetooth --- meaning will not work with music that do not support google cast (except android) for music streaming with android, the packet loss ( from interference) is much worse than bluetooth. I believe this is due the inherent design of WiFI vs. bluetooth (more resistant to interference). However, this makes music streaming, even with android, pretty useless. when trying to streaming audio of a video, there is always a delay, unlike with bluetooth the above mentioned flaws makes this device extremely limited in usage scenarios -- i.e. if you only want to listen to music with google-cast only app, then it is okay. if you do not need multi-speaker synchronization, do not get this device.

  • RaleighNC
    4

    Solid Product, With Caveat

    February 3, 2017

    Works as advertised... though I was expecting to be able to stream the audio from YouTube videos through the unit. Turns out you can not do that, bummer. Stinks for things like NPR Tiny Desk Concerts that are only in video format. Beyond this though, the unit works well with my receiver and acts as a de facto wireless function add-on. I added it to the receiver running my speakers in the deck, garage and sunroom. I can change the (Pandora) music without having to get within Bluetooth range or go inside.

  • TallJustin
    5

    Great with Google Home

    January 24, 2017

    I was a little hesitant on purchasing this a year ago when I first heard about it. I did not feel like casting music like I do with Netflix and other video off my laptop to my Chromecast connected TV. So when Google Home came out and I began to connect my house with Hue lights I jumped on the idea of trying it out. Let me tell you, this thing is so cool, I am totally looking at getting more! Not only does it sound great and work with my local stations via iHeartRadio but I can play music from YouTube Red or Google Play Music through my Home Group, which takes my CC Audio and pairs the sound with the Google Home. So now when I walk between two rooms in my apartment, I hear the same music playing at the same volume. I love this little device. Definitely will be getting another soon!