AC/DC: Plug Me In [DVD] [2007]

Since making a splash in their native Australia in 1975, AC/DC have become one of the world's most popular and enduring hard rock bands, reveling in their signature brand of no-frills blues-based rock and roll for over three decades and selling out arenas and stadiums around the world. AC/DC: Plug Me In is the follow-up to 2005's AC/DC: The Family Jewels, a two-DVD set that collected some of the best moments of the band captured on film and video, and this double-disc set delivers a similarly strong variety of television appearances and concert footage showing the group at their onstage best. Most of the material on Plug Me In appears in the full-frame aspect ratio of 1.33:1, though some of the later concert video is letterboxed at 1.78:1. The quality of the source material varies quite a bit, especially on disc one (covering the early years of the group), but in this case the historical value of the material certainly trumps the flaws, especially in video tape of the band playing at an Australian high school in 1976, or highlights from a powerhouse show in Tokyo in 1981 which seem to have been rescued from a VHS recording. The audio, like the video, varies in quality, but most of the recordings range from good to excellent, and the mastering in PCM Stereo is loud and powerfully present. The interviews and stage banter are translated in optional subtitles in English, French, Italian, German and Spanish, though the song lyrics are not. Bonus material are tagged at the end of each disc (and will play through if one selects the "play all" function), including additional interviews, television appearances, rehearsals and an animated short (created for the 1996 "Ballbreaker" tour) in which guitarist Angus Young meets Beavis and Butthead. The set also includes a "rockbox" function that allows viewers to pick and choose from each disc's selections and play them in the order they choose, as well as a "random" function that pulls up a different song each time. The disc's on-screen graphics, intended to mimic a video game, are unattractive and sometimes hard to read, but the content is pure joy for fans of AC/DC, and fans of the Aussie maulers will certainly want to have this in their collection.
Cardmember Offers


Ratings & Reviews

Overall Customer Rating:
Rating 5 out of 5 stars.
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (7 out of 7)

Included Free

Tidal 6 Month Subscription - Tidal [Digital Download Add-On]
Tidal 6 Month Subscription - Tidal [Digital Download Add-On]
6 months Tidal subscription for new customers only.

Special Features

  • Baby Please Don't Go [Szene 77, Circus Krone, Munich, September 1976]
  • Beavis and Butt-Head "Ballbreaker Tour" intro film, 1996
  • Bon Scott Interview, London, November 1977
  • Disc 1:
  • Disc 2:
  • Disc 3:
  • Gone Shootin'
  • Hells Bells - interview and live [Countdown, Bressles, January 1981]
  • Interview [Monsters of Rock, Castle Donington Park, August 1984]
  • Interview at Sydney Airport, April 1976
  • Interview in Covent Garden, London, July 1976
  • Interview/Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap [Promo film for Melbourne Radio, December 1976]
  • Live Super 8 boorleg film [Théatre De Verdure, Nice, December 1979]
  • Live and interview [Australian Music to the World, Atlanta GA, August 1978]
  • None Specified
  • Problem Child [Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne, December 1976]
  • Rock 'n' Roll Damnation [Top of the Pops, London, June 1978]
  • Rock Me Baby (The Rolling Stones with Angus and Malcolm Young) [Festwiese, Leipzig, June 2003]
  • [Rehearsal, VH1 Studios, London, July 1996]


AC/DC: Plug Me In
For over thirty years, AC/DC have been rocking audiences around the world with their tough, swaggering no-frills brand of blues-based hard rock. The secret of AC/DC's success has been the consistent strength of their live show, and AC/DC: Plug Me In is a two-DVD set that features highlights from twenty television broadcasts and concerts captured on film or video, ranging from a 1975 performance on an Australian awards show (the group's first television appearance) to three songs from a raucous concert before over 400,000 Toronto fans in 2003. The set also includes rare footage of AC/DC playing a concert at an Aussie high school in 1976, and a bonus clip of guitarists Angus Young and Malcolm Young sitting in with the Rolling Stones in 2003. Songs include "You Shook Me All Night Long", "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap", "Highway To Hell", "Rock 'n' Roll Damnation", "The Jack" and many, many more. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Overall Customer Rating

100%of customers recommend this product.

Most Helpful ReviewsSee all customer reviews

                Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.