Big Brother and the Holding Co. With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights [DVD] [2001]

This documentary on Big Brother & the Holding Company -- the San Francisco-based psychedelic rock band best remembered for bringing Janis Joplin to stardom -- has been given a strong presentation for this release on DVD. Big Brother and the Holding Company With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights has been transferred to disc in the full-frame aspect ratio of 1.33:1. Viewers have a choice of three audio formats: Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital Surround 5.1, and DTS Digital Surround Sound. The narration and interviews are in English, with no multiple language options or subtitles included. A healthy portion of bonus materials have been added for this release, including additional live performances of "Ball and Chain," "Piece of my Heart," and "The Coo Coo"; a rare audio-only recording of the group's arrangement of "Hall of the Mountain King"; a gallery of still photos; a discography; interview outtakes with the members of the group, as well as Lenny Kaye and Ellen Willis; and an interactive timeline of the group's history. This is a quality release which serves its subject matter quite well.
Cardmember Offers


Special Features

  • Complete performances of "The Coo Coo," "Ball and Chain," and "Piece of My Heart"
  • Rare audio recording of "Hall of the Mountain King"
  • Discography
  • Photo gallery
  • Biographical timelines
  • Interview outtakes
  • Psychedelic treats


Big Brother and the Holding Co. With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights
Big Brother & the Holding Company was one of the first major bands to emerge from the nascent psychedelic music scene in San Francisco, CA, in the mid-'60s. Conjuring up a high-powered blend of blues and folk, the band had already begun to gain a significant local following when the group's manager, Chet Helms, introduced them to a young woman from Texas who was looking for a gig -- Janis Joplin. After Joplin joined the band, Big Brother & the Holding Company became major stars, and their album Cheap Thrills became one of the touchstones of the early San Francisco sound, but Joplin's presence proved to be both a blessing and a curse. Her powerful vocals on tunes like "Piece of My Heart" and "Ball and Chain" helped make the group a hit, but once the music press singled out Joplin as the star of the show, the bandmembers soon found themselves in the shadow of their singer, even after she left the band to go solo. Big Brother and the Holding Company With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights is a documentary which examines the group's rise and fall, featuring interviews with the surviving members of the band and rare footage of the group on-stage, including performances of "Piece of my Heart," "Combination of the Two," "Ball and Chain," "Down on Me," "Light Is Faster Than Sound," and more. Rip Torn narrates. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast & Crew

  • Image coming soon
    Peter Albin
  • Image coming soon
    Nick Gravenites
  • Janis Joplin
    Janis Joplin
  • Image coming soon
    Lenny Kaye
  • Rip Torn
    Rip Torn - Narrator
Be the First to Write a Customer Review(0 reviews)Write a review and get bonus points
My Best Buy® members: Get bonus points for your approved review when you provide your member number. Subject to My Best Buy program terms.
Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.