Double Time Jazz Collection 5: Roots - Salute to the Saxophone/The Gadd Gang - Digital Live [DVD]

Each volume in the Double Time Jazz Collection series showcases the talent of one or two jazz performers. Volume 5 focuses on the Gadd Gang (Steve Gadd, Cornell Dupree, Richard Tee, Ronnie Cuber, and Eddie Gomez), and offers a tribute to the history of the saxophone.
Cardmember Offers



Roots: Salute to the Saxophone
Four of the finest saxophone players of modern jazz -- Arthur Blythe on alto, Chico Freeman on tenor and soprano, Sam Rivers on tenor and soprano, and Nathan Davis on alto, tenor, and soprano -- join forces for this special concert, taped live at Taunton, Massachusetts' Brewhouse Theater. Accompanied by Don Pullen (keyboards), Santi Debriano (bass), and Idris Muhammad (percussion), the sax quartet performs classic tunes by Charlie Parker and Lester Young, as well as several original numbers. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

The Gadd Gang Live
Classic R&B and jazz afficianados will appreciate the heartfelt live performance from the Gadd Gang circa 1988. Musicians include Steve Gadd, Eddie Gomez, Ronnie Cuber, Cornell Dupree, and Richard Tee. Featured performances consist of "Things Ain't What They Used To Be, "I Can't Turn You Loose", "Watching the River Flow", "Whiter Shade of Pale", and "Honky Tonk - I Can't Stop Loving You", as well as all time favorites "My Girl" and "Signed, Sealed, Delivered". ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

Cast & Crew

  • Image coming soon
    Chico Freeman
Be the First to Write a Customer Review(0 reviews)Write a review and get bonus points
My Best Buy® members: Get bonus points for your approved review when you provide your member number. Subject to My Best Buy program terms.
Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.