IN-HOME CONSULTATION

Whether it's one room or your whole house, our In-Home Advisors can help you get the most from the tech you count on every day.
$0.01
Cardmember Offers

Overview

Ratings & Reviews


Overall Customer Rating:
87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (1128 out of 1310)

Features


SEE WHAT'S POSSIBLE WITH FREE ADVICE There's no obligation to purchase anything. Whether your tech needs are large or small, your In-Home Advisor will:

Visit your home and talk about what you'd like to accomplish

Answer questions about new technology

Explain the benefits of new products and services

Send you a customized plan for your home


Customer rating

4.4
87%
would recommend to a friend
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Waste of time

    Posted
    LRFR
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Let me first start by saying the only reason I gave 2 stars is due impart to the representatives demeanor and personality. Otherwise it would receive 1 or none. Now, for the consultation. I found it unhelpful, unknowledgeable and ultimately did not use any portion of it. I knew a considerable amount more, about home electronics in general, then your representative. My system aside. It is almost like your representatives are giving the same blanket recommendations to everyone as this is the second time I have heard a Best Buy consultant tell the customer they need to scrap their system and upgrade to a Sono’s because the customers system will not work... which was simply not true. I went in to this consultation knowing that it is fully possible, multiple ways and just wanted to here other recommendations from the “professionals”. I did not want to be told “it won’t work, but here is a $3000-$4000 quote to get a new system.” I have a wired system throughout the house that works in its entirety and only wanted to add additional sections and weigh the options. This same thing occurred with the friend I eluded to earlier. These consultants need to be trained on what updating and revamping techniques are for existing products, not just demolishing and overhauling, pushing the best and most expensive product on the market. Sonos is great and all don’t get me wrong but they have a “first to market advantage” right now and don’t have well defined competition so the price is inflated. They need a transition product for people in situations similar to mine, knowing I’m not alone, in order to enable people that want to make the progression in pieces not all at once.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Sweetest Ultra HD TV & All-Home Sound

    Posted
    BDOlson9
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I can't say enough about our new 65" Ultra High Def Sony TV, Sonos Soundbar, and 2 Sonos Alexa-enabled speakers. We recently bought a new condo and wanted to create a smart home for our listening and viewing pleasure. The Best Buy / Geek Squad team did an in-home consultation to look at our space in our downstairs Man-Cave family room, and our upstairs Great room. They then welcomed us back in the store for a hands-on demo of the recommended equipment. We settled on a new 65" Sony UHD TV and the Sonos Soundbar. We now are watching cable and Netflix in UHD with amazing visual and sound. We also already had a two-year old Sony 50" UHD TV that the Best Buy team installed in our Great room on a wall mount above our fireplace, providing more great viewing upstairs as well. The Geek Squad then helped me add the Sonos iPhone app so I could control the wireless speakers throughout the home. They then set up the two Sonos Alexa-enabled small speakers in our Great room upstairs. We can pair the upstairs speakers and downstairs Soundbar to all run together or separately, which is great for entertaining. The sound is incredible for such a small footprint. The Geek Squad helped us get our Pandora, iHeart radio, Spotify and other music apps connected so we can request virtually any song on-demand for free via Alexa. Our goal of having a state of the art smart home has been achieved thanks to Best Buy, the Geek Squad, Sony and Sonos. I highly recommend them all and am extremely satisfied with the equipment and service we received from start to finish. Brian Olson

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    in-home installations

    Posted
    SteveD
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I had a few components rewired and the installer, Steve, was very professional and knowledgeable. The designer, Christian Ortega was great.I also has my wifi upgraded to cover my house better. Although one thing i was not pleased about is the work done by Geek Squad about a year ago.The recent work was rock solid. A year ago I bought a new smart TV and new multi source receiver but was not told by sales person in Ocoee to consider new HDMI cables . Hence, the picture would be lost when I used Netflix though the XBOX. So i was told by Christian its because the cable wasnt keeping up with band speed of the TV and receiver and to correct it i needed a newer cable and to install it I needed to take the TV down off the wall and pay for the dismount and remount. In addition i also needed a different cable to connect my external speaker system to the receiver to have Netflix sound and also was never told that by the Ocoee sales person about that cable. I paid for the TV dismount and mount and the needed cables. So my most recent visit went well, my sound system is in good order and my wireless is now so strong my neighbor across the street uses it when he is on his front porch. I bought the Eero home wifi system based on Christians recommendation and very pleased with the product

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    A total waste of time

    Posted
    StrangelyAddicted
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My in-home consultation turned out to be a total waste of time. Mario omitted key pieces of information regarding the install of the range hood although we discussed it ad nauseum for no less than 30 minutes. He should have told me that all Geek Squad wants to do is twist the three wires together and put some screws in the wall. Mario never explained that I would need to hire my own electrician and he never mentioned that I would need to purchase an additional filter for the recirculating vent, even though we had told him that we were not going to vent it through the roof. I now need to reschedule the install for a third time because the same Geek Squad guy keeps showing up to my house just to tell me he still can't install it. Couple this with the fact that it took 3 different attempts to install my dishwasher (due to the incompetency of 2 other Geek Squad members, David and Lewis) and you will find one angry and annoyed customer who spent over $6,000 for nothing but frustration. I now know better... I will forever and always avoid anything with the Geek Squad moniker attached to it. Geek Squad.... what a joke and what a terrible name! I would be ashamed to wake up every day and put that shirt on. Never again!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Hi StrangelyAddicted – I apologize for the misaligned expectations around your range hood. We always want to be clear and upfront with our scope of work, and it sounds like we fell short on that. Likewise, I apologize for the missed delivery, and the difficulty of rescheduling everything. Please give us a call at (800) GEEKSQUAD or (800) 433-5778 so we can discuss this with you and try to find the best solution for any outstanding issues you have with your order.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Delivery Service

    Posted
    Lucky1
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    My KitchenAid refrigerator is awesome. In home consultant Sam was outstanding as well as my sales person Isabel. Delivery service is zero. No communication to the customer as far as delivery status. Delivery hot line is a joke. They cannot give you an update until 15 minutes before the end of your scheduled delivery time. My appliance was scheduled for delivery by 4pm. Installer arrived at 7pm. I called the delivery hotline and they said the delivery person would arrive around 4:30pm. He was running late. More like 2 1/2 hours late and never received a call. He told me that the delivery people do not call the customer; they enter their delivery status in the system once they are headed to the next customer location and dispatch will contact the customer. Did Best Buy inform dispatch and the delivery hotline of the new delivery process or did the delivery person skip this class? I do not recommend purchasing your appliances from Best Buy. They lack the customer service skills that are needed to keep the customer happy on delivery day. There will always be delays. The installer does not have a crystal ball. However, dispatch and the delivery person need to communicate in order to provide first class customer service and inform the customer of any delays. Best Buy would have fewer disgruntled customers. I did my product research but failed to read the delivery forum reviews on Best Buy. It is not worth the stress and aggravation.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Home Theater Very Disappointing

    Posted
    Pamela
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I had an in home consultation regarding full kitchen appliance replacement and in Home Theater install. So far the first two appliances (waiting on last two) are working out well. Unfortunately that can not be said for the home theater. Install went well, but I am plagued with voices out of sync with picture on screen that is maddening! First call to Geek Squad, that I bought into, I was asked “had I checked all the cables?”... something I thought I was NOT going to have to think about anymore, and there are lots of cables, I wouldn’t know what I was “checking” for!! After much I insistance I was given an appointment almost 2wks away. When Geek Squad arrived I was first told “oh, you have an LG tv (55” brand new smart tv that worked perfectly until I spent lots of $$ on this theater thing!) and that they sometimes have these issues...wouldn’t the original Home consultant, who checked the tv and placement, have said something like “hey with that LG tv you may have issues when the home theater goes in”...or the fellows doing the install who mounted the big new LG tv on the wall and connected it up to all this stuff...that did not happen. So now I’ve had to make another call, make another appointment and wait more to have what I paid for, tv and movies I can really enjoy! I’m not a fan of this so far and if it doesn’t work after this time I’ll be calling to exercise my 90 day return option, that would be quite disappointing but I’m not paying to frustrate myself!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    In House Consultation

    Posted
    SPlz
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Christopher came to the in-house consultation on the date and time scheduled. He took a few notes in his cell phone and indicated that he was going to prepare the proposal. A few days later I received the proposal missing items that I had requested. I asked him to update the proposal which took him a few more days. In the meantime, I received a visit of ADT salesman that made a proposal for system with cameras and sensors, items that were part of the request that I discussed with Chris, since I wasn’t able to get in touch with him I signed an agreement with ADT and requested Chris to remove these two items from the proposal. I have been trying to get in touch with him to finalize the purchase but he just doesn’t return any emails or phone calls. Today I just went to my local Best Buy store and purchased the items there and am working myself in the installation. I just want to say that the principle of in-house service is a very good idea but you need to have motivated staff to follow through which was not my experience with Chris. I appreciate everyone else assistance but it was a waste of time and patience dealing with this process,

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    MM System

    Posted
    Metateacher
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    One of my goals was to make it easier for my mom to turn on and off her television and to be able to watch movies in her new sitting room at my house. The Harmony remote was supposed to be a one-touch on and one-touch off button for her. It's not working that well. I can go through the help to get it on and off, but she rarely can get both the cable and the TV on or off with the appropriate button. Other than that, both televisions are working as designed. The Internet rocks with the new cable modem and wireless router. The extra boost is fantastic -- a very good idea. My son-in-law even commented on how fast my Internet is now. Yay! There was a bit of confusion as the router I ordered wasn't in when the techs were gathering my products before heading to my home. Luckily one came on the truck at one of the stores and my home consultant personally delivered it, so in the end it worked out fine. But it seemed inefficient that my products weren't already gathered, labeled, and ready for installation since I had paid at least two weeks prior. The techs (Geek Squad) were very polite, mostly knowledgeable, and got the job done. I appreciated their respectful nature.

    I would recommend this to a friend


Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.