Keeping Score: Revolutions in Music - Beethoven's Eroica [DVD]

Cardmember Offers


Special Features

  • Live performance of Beethoven's Symphony No. 3, Eroica, by the San Francisco Symphony and MTT shot in high definition, presented in 16:9 widescreen and 5.1 surround sound
  • Documentary includes optional closed-caption English subtitles
  • Subtitles in Deutsch, Français, Español, Chinese


A composition three-years in the making, Ludwig van Beethoven's revolutionary "Eroica" would challenge the notion that music was little more that decorative background entertainment. In this release, host Michael Tilson Thomas takes the San Francisco Orchestra on a journey through the aristocratic ballrooms of Vienna and the rustic villages of Austria to explore the compelling circumstances surrounding the creation of this landmark work. From Beethoven's intense fear of deafness, sincere admiration for Napoleon, and driving desire to establish his standing as the greatest composer of his era, this release provides classical music fans with a rare window into the true soul of the beloved composer. As an added bonus, this release also offers a full performance of "Eroica" by the San Francisco Symphony. ~ Jason Buchanan

Cast & Crew

  • Michael Tilson Thomas
  • San Francisco Symphony
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
Be the First to Write a Customer Review(0 reviews)Write a review and get bonus points
My Best Buy® members: Get bonus points for your approved review when you provide your member number. Subject to My Best Buy program terms.
Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.