Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Altec Lansing - True Evo Wireless In-Ear Headphones - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 86 reviews

79%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 4 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 86 Reviews
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great, affordable wireless earbuds

    Posted
    yattsy
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Before diving into the actual review, I feel it'd be beneficial to describe my intended use for these earbuds; thus, if your purposes resemble my own, then this review should prove useful. I bought these earbuds with the intention of using them for my workouts (mostly calisthenics and weight lifting) and at work during closing hours when we clean the store (I work at a bakery/cafe). I have separate earphones for gaming as well as separate earphones I use mainly for long distance travel and highly focused work on my laptop; which means I ultimately bought these earbuds for activities where wired earbuds (even the ones that connect wirelessly but have a wire attaching the two earbuds) would prove impractical. If your situation and intentions sounds pretty close to my own, then keep reading. I'll go in order of the features most important to me. PRICE: I didn't want to spend more than $100 for something I planned to use mainly for working out and at work. My workouts last about 30 to 40 minutes and closing at work takes only about an hour, which meant I didn't need extravagantly priced earbuds for frequent but short use. I bought these on sale for $70, which fit my budget perfectly. WIRELESS CONNECTIVITY: As I mentioned before, I wanted earbuds that are completely wireless; meaning, no wires whatsoever. These fit the bill perfectly because they have no wires and they connect via bluetooth, and they have maintained a stable connection to my phone since I've used them. PORTABILITY: These earbuds are small and compact, but do look bulky when you're looking at yourself directly in a mirror; however, this doesn’t bother me because (1) I don’t really care too much how they look on me, nor do I spend my time staring at myself in the mirror while using them, and (2) they still fulfill my needs of having earbuds that are small and easily transportable. SOUND: For earbuds that normally retail at $100 and I purchased on sale for $70, these provide surprisingly excellent sound quality. In my humble, non-musical-expert opinion, these produce loud, rich mid- and high-tones and deep, reverberating bass. I wasn’t expecting too much in terms of sound, and I’m by no means an audiophile, but these definitely exceeded my expectations and I appreciate very much the sound quality AL has built into these earbuds. BATTERY LIFE: The company claims these offer four hours of battery life and the case can charge them up to four additional times assuming the earbuds and case are fully charged in the beginning, which means they offer up to 20 hours of battery life. As mentioned previously I planned to use them for roughly an hour at a time, and I’m diligent when it comes to charging my electronic devices, so this wasn’t a deal breaker for me. DESIGN: I wanted something simple and classy. These are black, compact, and minimally designed; enough said. PERIPHERALS: These come with (1) a wireless charging base/pad that you can use for other devices that support wireless charging, (2) a USB cable, (3) a case that can be charged and charges, (4) four sets of different sized earbud attachments to accommodate differently sized ears, and (5) stickers (a personal favorite of mine that might not matter to others). IN A NUTSHELL: These are affordable, practical earbuds that offer great value for their cost and their price range. I would recommend them to people who want something affordable ($100 or less), practical (compact, wireless connectivity), sound great for the price, and who will use them for frequent but short activities (e.g. workouts, work, etc). I wouldn’t recommend them to audiophiles who probably have extremely high standards for sound quality or for people who regularly engage in high-intensity activities (e.g. runners, etc).

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Wouldn't buy again

    Posted
    AstuteLady
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought these earbuds desiring a "true" wireless experience to enjoy music and conversation, without paying a mortgage for them; so I decided on these....BIG MISTAKE Upon initial glance at the description, these appeared to have some of the major features I desired in an earbud, beyond the basic functions that even the most inexpensive earbud performs. Well, that was not the case with these earbuds. I have owned several bluetooth products and earphones and have yet to encounter, even in the most simplistic, one that didn't have volume and music playback control. Amazingly, given the price asked for this product it doesn't perform those simple tasks. I have had these less than a year, and they've been replaced 3 times. Reason being is the connectivity on these earbuds is horrible. I've had my phone less than 10ft from me as I listened to music, and the connection is constantly fading in and out. I've called customer service about this issue, thinking maybe there was a driver I could download as you could with Jawbone that would fix the problem. However, service just sends a new pair with the same issue never solving the problem, and the issue isn't with my phone(GalaxyS8). I don't have any of these shenanigans with my less expensive earbuds. My 19.99 buds have maintained my music connection with my phone being in the house, and me outside at my car far beyond 30ft. I'm unable to even walk to the other side of the room without the connection of these Evo buds fading in and out. The sound quality is ok, but that in no way compensates for the other issues. What good is having a decent sound quality if you can only hear it SOMETIMES?? I agree with the others after a period of time these buds do hurt your ears, and only the inner ear piece is changeable. Granted these aren't the most expensive earbuds on the market, but depending on when you purchased them the price isn't minute. Had I known then what I know now I would've NEVER made this purchase.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      AltecLansingCustomerServ

      Hi there, thank you for reaching out. We're very sorry to hear about this and would be happy to help! Please contact us at support@alteclansing.com or at 1-855-292-4087 AltecLansing

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good sound, MAYBE uncomfortable fit

    Posted
    Trance
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had first read the reviews which I now will no longer base any purchasing decision off of ever again. The bonus wireless base for the rechargeable case that the left and right devices set in works quite well. As per the instructions, they seem to do exactly what they say they will do., meaning when the two ear buds are fully charged, the indicator lights will turn blue for a split second, (not noticeable unless you are staring at it), then it simply shuts off to indicate a completely full charge. I noticed that since the right unit is what they call the master unit, it has a dual indicator light, (blue, red flashing light to indicate connectivity/functionality. Each ear but, has only one button on each, which for some might be quite simple to simply pause and resume music if you need to listen to safety instructions or other any important information if you are using these at an employment assignment or a job site. When you pause the music, it is quite effortless to listen to other around you, including any and all emergency notifications that might occur, as the design of the replaceable, different sizes, ear plugs will ALLOW ALL ambient noises to be understood. Even though, this headset has only one button on the device limiting direct one touch functionality, at least for myself, it was fine. I was in an environment to be able to turn it off and listen to important instructions from coworkers and management with great ese and one simple light touch on the right ear piece, which the button was VERY easy to function. No jamming in to your ear. BIG TURN OFF- For comfort in the long run, I highly encourage you to read the following. Each person ear of course will have many different physical aspects, so this is EXTREMELY important to know because this is one of the two major reasons, I chose to refund these within days. As soon as you buy them, please charge them fully. Then, so as not to inadvertently pass the mandatory return policy, there are many different gels to test out. PLEASE. Try each out for at least 1 full day for at least 4 hours constant in your ear as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately, every design ended up hurting my ear over a few hours. I encourage you to KEEP THE RECIEPT, BOX, however, depending on your specific circumstance, always get them the benefit of the doubt, because I not even lose to the know all be all of existence on being a way too critical patience. I sincerely hope this assists you on your purchase.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, though I do miss a volume control

    Posted
    GoofyDawg
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'd really like to have a volume control, especially if I'm at the gym, but it's not a deal-breaker. Other than that, there are things I dig about these earbuds: - The sound quality is great. Nice and clear, with great bass response. Some internet reviews have said they're bass-heavy, but I didn't find them that way at all. - Calls also work great. I used them in conference calls and didn't have an issue with them at all. - I love that there are LOTS of different earbud pad sizes and shapes, but truth be told, the only useful ones for me are the memory foam pads. They keep in place much better than the silicon. Plus, my ear canals are - While battery life is a factor with all truly wireless earbuds, the fact that you can get an extra 16 hours of charge from the case is great. And speaking of charging, I LOVE that this comes standard with a Qi wireless charging base. I just keep the base plugged into my wall socket and place the case on the base at night. All in all, for the money, these are great earbuds!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Nice and loud. Downhill from there.

    Posted
    DrOminous
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased the Altec Lansing True Evos after my dog ate my Samsung IconXs (2018). I wanted to get a replacement but I also wanted to try something else to, hopefully, avoid some of the connection issues I was having. I once owned a pair of Jaybird Runs and the Altecs seemed very similar so I decided to give them a try. They were louder than the Jaybirds but not as high of a sound quality. I did like that the case was capable of wireless charging but I thought the case was a tad large. The headphones seemed to fit well and were only mildly uncomfortable over longer listening sessions. The deal breaker was the connection issues. Every time you take the buds out of the case you must manually turn them on and manually connect them to the phone. Not to compare them to the the Runs again but when they were removed from the case they powered on and connected automatically. My purpose for getting "True Wireless" earbuds was for quickly being able to put them on and take them off throughout the day. The act of having to reconnect them every time is a deal breaker. They are going back tomorrow.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great sound!

    Posted
    ams1492
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The audio from these headphones are the best I've ever experienced from any earphones I've every used. The bass is absolutely amazing. Though these aren't nose canceling earphones, they pretty much cancel out any ambient noise, since they kind of suction to the ear canal. The only complaint is that I can't take a phone call. And once I take the phone call I have to unpair the earphones from my phone (or turn them off) and re-pair them to continue to listen to my music. It seems like a small issue, but it gets really annoying sometimes. Also, I had to exchange the original pair I bought because the casing cracked somehow. I have no clue how this happened, I just all of a sudden had sound issues where the right earbud would intermittently go out, then I saw the casing was cracked, which I figured out was causing the sound issue. Other than that, I think these earphone are great. I just need them to be able to allow me to take phone calls before I give them 5 stars.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Poor Connection

    Posted
    TexasTacoLover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'm a Best Buy employee, so I got these for even cheaper than the listed price. That being said, I still returned them. I never had a problem with the sound quality or battery life, I felt that both were great for the price. My biggest complaint about this item is the bluetooth connectivity. I run often, and I am able to pair my headphones to my Vivoactive Smartwatch. While I'd be running, my watch would maintain a great connection, but when I dropped my arms while I'd be resting, the connection would become choppy and cut in and out. The same thing would happen with my phone. If I put my phone in my back pocket, the headphones would start to lose the connection. Great headphones, but maybe hold off on getting this pair unless you're going to have your phone strapped to your bicep everytime you use them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great sound vs price point but not perfect

    Posted
    NunyaBidnass
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Let me start this by saying that I have purchased and used a lot of different wireless earbuds. A lot! The AL True EVO are in the top 10. Really great sound; full spectrum of highs, mids and low end. Battery life is decent, 3 solid hours so I’d keep the case for long days. The fit is great when you get the correct ear tip. The downside; the BT connection. I literally have to keep my phone in a coat pocket vs my pants pocket due to the lack of range. On the train, no issue. When I come out from underground, breaks in the connection that lead to holes in whatever I’m listening to. The saving grace is the price point. Until I find the perfect wireless earbuds, and so know they’re out there, these’ll do.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good but not great.

    Posted
    Messi2019balondor
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Pros: Great Bass, Connectivity not an issue for my phone, (iPhone Xs), Qi charging is a plus, Waterproof, and great for running or working out. Cons: No Volume button, and no track button. Could use a little more colour options. Bottomline: No Volume or track button is not a deal breaker for some if you can access your phone right away. Voice command can be used as a substitute for changing songs. Good product, would buy if you if you don't mind changing volume on your phone and sometimes tracks but you do that anyway while scrolling through 20 skipped songs. I'm probably going to trade these in for a different kind but I wont name the competitor in respect.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    All around good earbud...

    Posted
    NNM1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Good Sound, user friendly with easy connectivity. Was not an issue for my phone, (iPhone). Earbuds are waterproof and have a convenient charging case. These earbuds do not have a volume or track button. I purchased this item as a gift and exchanged them for a higher quality earbud that was on sale at the time of the return. The volume and track button is not a deal breaker, and the sound on these earbuds is good. The earbuds do work with voice command and can be used as a substitute for changing songs. Overall good product, just decided to upgrade due to sale and competitor quality. Hope this helps.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Suprisingly Good!

    Posted
    babycapachinoe
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    These true wireless earbuds are my second set of earphones that I have. Compared to my Jabra Elite, I count these a runner up! The sound is amazing as well as the bass! The fact that it comes with a wireless charging station that not only charges the case for the earbuds but as well as any other device that is wireless compatible! An extra bonus right?! Highly recommend if your looking for something on the more affordable end until otherwise!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good Price, Bulkier than others

    Posted
    Ago929
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The prices is great. I had a pair of Jabra ear buds and lost them. I figured i'd try and buy cheaper ones in case it happens again. These earbuds don't have the same functional distance to the phone as my Jabra's. The ear buds do get a good seal. They stick out a little further than seems comfortable so if you brush one it will pop out and hit the ground (speaking from experience). All in all a good deal for the sales price i paid for them. If they were full price i would just spend a little extra and buy the Jabra earbuds, though.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Extremely poor fit

    Posted
    Terrible
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was so excited to get these headphones, as i was looking for a good set for work. I also liked that they come with "different sizes" of ear pieces. However the different size earpieces are irrelevant because the whole headphone is still so large. they literally fall right out and nothing I do is helping. They wont even stay in while I am sitting still. Have to return these, they are just not practical and the concept makes no sense. Do not buy if you have small ears.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      AltecLansingCustomerServ

      Hi there, thank you for reaching out. We would be happy to help - please contact us at support@alteclansing.com or at 1-855-292-4087 AltecLansing

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great item But had a bad experience

    Posted
    CARLOS
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this earbuds to use them while working after a week of using them i notice a smell of burn plastic comming from the earbuds. After this the connectivity of between the phone and the earbuds became unstable. I could not listen to a minute song without them disconecting more than 15 times. I decided to take them back to the store because i was afraid of the earbud exploding on my ear or while charging in my pocket.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      AltecLansingCustomerServ

      Thank you very much for reaching out. We're extremely sorry to hear about this and would be happy to help. Please contact us at support@alteclansing.com or at 1-855-292-4087. AltecLansing

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    awesome great price

    Posted
    tallen4392
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I tried the jarba elite active did not like the fit these wireless earbuds sound great the fit is good too.. If you get them on sale they are a lot cheaper than the others on the market I have a few other altex products also and love them. U cannot go wrong with these if you like your music loud and clear . I have no complaints at all...

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    OK, but quit working

    Posted
    InTulsa
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought these on sale right after Christmas. Wanted some wireless headphones but didn’t want to spend a lot of money. Took me a couple of days to get the fit right but once I did I was pretty happy with them. One sound complaint though, when lying down on a weight bench in the gym they move enough that all the bass goes away. I returned them today because the right one quit working.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Great for music, but not calls

    Posted
    WilCrai6
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The sound quality is great, I prefer ear hooks over in ear but like the ear tips that come with it. They stay in place pretty good. I really wanted to enjoy these more, but I'm giving it a 3 because for phone calls it's only mono audio. The call quality doesn't match the music quality. I travel a lot and for calls on the go this is a deal breaker for me.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great sound and quality!

    Posted
    Hannibal
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased these in-ear headphones after purchasing three other sets from other brands of which I returned 2 because of the low quality. The Altec earbuds are by far the best choice, even though I paid less than the other one I kept. The sound quality is superior and fits comfortably in my ears. Will definably look at purchasing an extra set as a spare.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Awful Connection

    Posted
    Kevin4622
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I returned these within 7 days because the earbuds would not stay connected to each other unless I wiggled them around all the time. Also, they would not stay in my ears for running and I tried all the sizes and shapes. This were just a nuisance and I instead returned and got the Tarah Pros and all is great in the world.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      AltecLansingCustomerServ

      Hi there, we're extremely sorry to hear about this and would be happy to help! Please contact us at support@alteclansing.com or at 1-855-292-4087 AltecLansing

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Total Satisfaction

    Posted
    Cesa1524
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I recently bought a $50 JLabs pair and thought compared to price was a solid 7/10 but i bought these altec lansing tru evo plus and for $100 its a total steal. Id say w price comparison 9/10. Great sound, solid bass, ive used the ear buds for about 4 hrs without discomfort and battery has lasted.

    I would recommend this to a friend