Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

ASUS - 15.6" Laptop - AMD A12-Series - 8GB Memory - AMD Radeon R7 - 128GB Solid State Drive - Matte Silver IMR, Black IMR-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 331 reviews

91%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-11 of 11 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Decent, but glaring issue from the beginning

    Posted
    Quasartist
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Bought this for my girlfriend today. We like to do casual PC gaming but her previous laptop was going on 8 years old, and we were both feeling it. It had trouble running some pretty basic games (Borderlands 1 and some other games like that). Well so far this computer runs our games just fine. She also uses it for school and such. No issues regarding that either, so far. We're long distance right now, so Skype is also a big part of our relationship. This is where the issues come up. The webcam just refuses to work at all. We've been trying for 3 hours to get it to work and our record so far is 15 minutes, before it cuts to black. Sometimes it comes back on by itself for another minute or so, but it never lasts. We tried Discord and Facebook Video calling as well, both with the same issue. It's definitely the computer and not the applications. Extremely frustrating considering we brought it home too late to go return it the same day. We're trying a hard reset right now to see if maybe we did something wrong from the beginning but things really don't look good so far. It wasn't on sale either so we paid the full $400 for it. Her last computer costed half of that but at least the webcam worked. Definitely a disappointment. Maybe it is something we did wrong but I think in the 3 hours we've been fiddling with it and rebooting it, it's safe to say it's the machine, not the operator.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Quasartist,

      I do understand your disappointment and the inconvenience if you are experiencing issue with the webcam. It is a VGA camera so the resolution is decent. Please make sure WINDOWS Update current. Doing a video-conferencing requires a high-bandwidth internet connection, please make sure the unit has access to an established router and high-speed internet service is working properly since this will definitely affect the performance of the webcam. If you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and I would be happy to help.

      Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

      Regards,

      Rodel
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    No Function Lock Is Disappointing

    Posted
    Gary
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    While this laptop offers a good amount of features for its price, I was disappointed by the inflexibility ASUS offers in regards to its function keys and simple commands like screen brightness, volume control, and screen mirroring. Usually you can use FN + ESC to lock the function key bar, but this is absent where found on other computers as a standard. I will be returning this for this reason. The computer has space for a CD drive drive but it lacks it, even though the tech is cheap enough to add in for the $400 MSRP. The screen is standard HD in a time where 1080 should be the standard. YouTube and Netflix constantly stutter and the color quality could be better. Cheaper computers with better looks are out there. I decided to try something new by buying ASUS for the first time. I regret it, but luckily I'm still within the return window.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Gary,

      I certainly understand the inconvenience this may have caused you if the product didn't meet your expectations. The product was not advertised having a CD/DVD drive. However, if this is a requirement or becomes a necessity an external USB optical drive can be connected. Should you need further assistance with the product, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and I would be more than happy to help.

      Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

      Regards,

      Rodel
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Meh...

    Posted
    Tizzy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Bought this thinking an AMD A12 with 8Ram and SSD would be adequate for the price that is was offered for. I thought wrong. I was advised by a computer professional to return this computer because I would not be happy with it after a year or 2 of use. I wasnt very fast to begin with and would only get slower after extended usage. I will not get anything less than an Intel i5 and SSD for two reasons: Quality and Performance.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Tizzy,

      We appreciate your feedback and we regret to hear that you decided to return this laptop due to you were advised by a computer professional. ASUS laptops have different specs for you to select. We recommend you to check our Intel i5 or i7 machines to fulfill your spec requirements. If you have any technical questions, please speak to an ASUS live support agent 24/7 or contact me at cl-nina@asus.com. We would be more than happy to assist you.

      Regards,
      Nina
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Cord broke and touchpad quit working

    Posted
    Rose
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Three days after I received this, the cord, which I guess had a kink from shipping. sparked. It was completely broken through to the wires and quit working. Ordered another one. When I could use it again, the touchpad quit working. Sometimes it works at power up, but not after. Very disappointed, I don't have very much money but my kids needed a laptop for school.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Rose,

      Thank you for writing a comment for the product. I certainly understand your disappointment with the quality of the product if the cord broke after 3 days of usage and your concern regarding the issue with the touchpad. In order to improve the touchpad responsiveness and stability, please install all recommended WINDOWS Update. If you are accessing web applications, please verify if the laptop has access to an established router and internet service is working properly since this will affect the responsiveness of the touchpad. Also, try updating the ASUS Smart Gesture utility and try to configure the touchpad within the application. Should you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and I will be more than glad to help.

      Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

      Regards,

      Rodel
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not for me.

    Posted
    kmag2
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    After Geek squad staff member gave me a tour of unit covering features, tips and highlights while at store, I took it home to become more familiar with unit at my own pace. After working with it for a couple of hours I determined it was only going to be a source of aggravation and returned unit for refund.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    It's windows 10...

    Posted
    Nikie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I hate windows 10. Microsoft could have just kept making windows 7 better. I'm less than pleased that I'm finally going to have to convert my desktop to windows 10 soon. The laptop is great however. But I had to give only 2 stars for windows 10. I would have given 5 stars if it had windows 7.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Returned it.

    Posted
    Jpaul
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This laptop was way to slow. The screen was nice but that's about it. The keyboard felt cheap too.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Jpaul,

      I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this review. We certainly value your feedback. It is unfortunate that you found your laptop was slow performance. What tasks were you doing? Please installed Windows Update periodically and make sure you have done a virus scan to ensure that your computer does not have a virus. Often times, viruses can cause performance issues. In order to maintain optimum system stability and performance, please also update Drivers & Utilities and Bios by going into ASUS Support website. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact me at cl-nina@asus.com. I am here to assist our customers with our products and dedicated in bringing a resolution to all issues that they may come across.

      Thanks for choosing ASUS.

      Regards,
      Nina
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    too slow

    Posted
    dcharles
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    for some reason the pc is too slow,i willl not recommend to anyone

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    No enough features.

    Posted
    Rodd
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I need one withe built in DVD player and burner. A cd butter as well.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Rodd,

      I do understand the inconvenience this may have caused you if the laptop didn't come with a DVD drive. The product was not advertised having an optical disc drive. However, if this becomes a necessity, an external USB drive can always be connected. Should you need further assistance with the product, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and I would be more than happy to help.

      Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

      Regards,

      Rodel
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Cheap

    Posted
    Chiquiscano
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    You get what you pay for, I should of bought the next price range up

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Chiquiscano,

      I do understand your disappointment with the quality of the product and the inconvenience this may have caused you if it didn't meet your computing needs. On the contrary, lots of satisfied customers, having positive experience using the product, will agree with me that the unit is a decent system that is perfect for running popular computing applications, without compromising system stability and performance. . In order to maintain optimum system stability and performance, cumulative WINDOWS Update needs to be installed periodically. If you are accessing web applications, please make sure the unit has access to an established router and internet service is working properly since this will definitely affect system speed and performance. Also, clearing internet cache or browsing history will improve system performance. Should you need further assistance with the product, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and I would be more than happy to help.

      Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

      Regards,

      Rodel
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Okay

    Posted
    Bull
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Works how I want it to, it’s compact and easy to manage.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Bull,

      It's great to know that the laptop did meet your expectations, especially its compact size and ease of use or manage. In order to maintain optimum system stability and performance, cumulative WINDOWS Update needs to be installed periodically. If you are accessing web applications, please make sure the unit has access to an established router and internet service is working properly since this will definitely affect system speed and performance. Also, clearing internet cache or browsing history will improve system performance. Should you need further assistance with the product, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and I would be more than happy to help.

      Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

      Regards,

      Rodel
      ASUS Customer Loyalty Asus