Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Asus - VivoTab Smart Tablet with 64GB Memory - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 65 reviews

  • 10%
88%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-4 of 4 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Could be Great

    Posted
    hardyV
    • My Best Buy® Member

    i read a lot of good thinks about this machine and so i bought it. the first downer was not being able to transferr files from my computer via a usb, but after spending a long time with a chat line support i was told to put my data (photos, files programs etc) first on a mico sd card then install this card in the tablet and copy them into it. OK, not nice, but i did it and bought a micro sd card, so i can install a legacy programm into the windows 8 tablet. to my surprise the 20 year ole lotus approach data base worked great in wi8ndows 8! so the part of being able to use old / legacy programs is correct true and great!!! BUT GOING ON LINE really sucks, it is only possibler as long as i am near my router in the house, we have a comunity wifi system that shows 5 bars on my old notebook and it is so weak in the tablet you can not even connect to it. After doing some googeling and research i am sorry to say that this is not the only new windows tablet with this problem, it seams like they all have the same problem of bad wifi recocnition! so what is to do? it will work fine if in your home, near your own router, but don't go to a hotel and axpect a signal. i hope the manufacturers cure this with better equipment soon, since i will have to return this product and will not buy another one untill i read good things about the wifi reception, THAT will then become MY windows 8 tablet. The idea is GREAT, the tablet seams to be Great as well, windows 8 is totally differenty then any other windows and you will be lost, BUT i found a free program called 'Classic Shell' that lets you use it just like windows 7 and bingo you find everything again:)!!! My Vertict is that i would have LOVED this to work for me, but the bad wifi in all of them makes me wait for better products in the future! Sorry to give you this downer, but it is true, cost me 3 days of agrevation before i gave up. hope that helps Hardy Florida PS. BEST BUY has nothing to do with this and is a great store!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Such a disappointment

    Posted
    StillSearchingforaTablet
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It's lightweight, feels lighter than an iPad 4. The screen for not being retina (Apple, Nexus 10# or 1900x1200-ish #Kindle 8.9 HD, B&N Nook+), is surprisingly good - certainly good for reading ebooks. The "modern UI" (replaced the "Metro" nametag) is smooth and responsive. The built-in calendar and email apps are good - particularly if you amend the settings to allow all Gmail calendars to sync. But, it crashed on set up and needed to be forced closed. When it decided there was a need to update Win8 it took a full hour! I suppose I could have turned auto update off an updated at a more convenient time, and perhaps the first update was going to be the longest. But, here is the deal breaker: I bought it to run particular Win7 apps: Logos, Vyrso and Verbum. These are not graphics intensive - text mainly with search. Tapping into a dialogue box within the app did not bring up the on-screen keyboard. I had to show the task bar, open the keyboard, move to the dialogue box, type, then minimize the keyboard. IThe Win 8 apps do pop up the keyboard automatically. Then, wait an eternity for the action to complete. It made the whole program so laboroius. I checked with the developer and 1.8Ghz dual core with 2GB of RAM while on the minimum side, was nonetheless good enough for the program not to hang as it did. Several time I got the "program not respinding" messageand for actions to be queued up. So beware what apps you want to run. If you want it just for the Win8 apps, then perhaps do do not need a Win8 slate. It's going back this afternoon. I will take the lower functionality of the iPad, Android apps on an iPad or Nexus / Kindle with decent speed, rather than trying to mimic a desktop in the palm of my hand (well two hands). Really diappointed. Under powered..

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    No keyboard dock is unacceptable.

    Posted
    UnhappyTablet
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Simple windows based products need USB ports. No ports and no way to get them (I.e. keyboard dock) makes this product a paperweight. I had to return it and get a mini laptop. It wokes so much better and cost less. Did go with same brand. Like it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Dear Valued Customer,

      Thank you for leaving a review on your purchase. We definitely appreciate your comments and feedback. I am sorry that everything hasn't gone as planned with your purchase. I completely understand how frustrating it is when a tablet doesn't perform how you thought it might.

      I know you have since returned the tablet, but for future reference, please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, comments, or concerns regarding an ASUS product. I can be reached at cl-mark@asus.com. I'll be happy to answer any questions or address any concerns that you might have.

      Best regards,
      Mark
      ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    not worth it

    Posted
    ranger81
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Nothing but problems right out of the box. It froze, reset, kicked me out of sites and seemed to lose its mind. Maybe I just got a lemon?

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Asus_Answers

      Greetings Ranger81,

      Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your VivoTab. We definitely appreciate your comments and feedback. I am sorry that the tablet has not been working the way it was intended.

      You mentioned the tablet might be a lemon, were you able to bring the VivoTab in to be looked at by Best Buy?

      If you were not able to have Best Buy look at the tablet (or if you have any questions, concerns, or comments), please let me know through me email, cl-mark@asus.com, and I will be happy to help you.

      Best regards,
      Mark - ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus