Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Basic Audio Setup-Front_Standard

Basic Audio Setup

SKU: 5554100

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 1691 reviews

92%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 64 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    No set up

    Posted
    Mouse
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Sound system was incompatible, but still had to pay!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    No no no

    Posted
    Mike
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I will never use geek squad for tv/home theater installs. As soon as they arrived, they just started saying “we can’t do that” over and over. And I had basic requests. Got a local company to do it instead. They did a better job for less money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Insufficient orientation or customization

    Posted
    just
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The physical installation was fine and easy inasmuch as the area was prewired. The tech showed me how to turn the AV system on and coordinate with other components. He merely adjusted the system capabilities to "his experience" settings. He did not use the built-in adjustment procedure for the receiver. Now having issues with sound clarity but unsure of what or how to adjust. No training regarding adjustments. Zone 2 speakers will not turn on. System says they are on but no sound. The individual components are great, I think, but I really don't know how to maximize the experience. Not a significant difference in sound experience for TV, movies or music despite the $$. Was expecting more!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Tech very negative and unwilling to do full job

    Posted
    Caseylq
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The tech said the scheduler had not booked enough time though I had completely described what was required. Tech only partially hooked up the components, argumentative but finally with our insistence switched wiring/cables so that all speakers could play simultaneously. He left out one component entirely. Consequently, the speakers that have had excellent sound for years now sound terrible and two areas still project sound when the sound is turned off!!! Hopefully someone in your company actually reads these comments and will contact me about the situation! Thank You

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Incomplete work

    Posted
    Marchmadness
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The technician that was sent out was not familiar with my product. He was on the phone trying to get help but still couldn't get everything working, He had to go to another call and said they would send out somebody that was familiar with the equipment. Nobody has come out or even tried to contact us. I even requested to be called when filling out the questionaire they sent me.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thank you for sharing. Our Geek Squad Agents always aim to please, and I am sorry to hear they were unable to get your existing device functioning as intended. We'd be happy to help in getting another service appointment scheduled. At your convenience, please give us a call at 1-800-433-5778.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Did not set up for TV remote use

    Posted
    Willird
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Did not set up for TV remote control use, said it can be difficult.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for leaving a review! We apologize for any confusion about the services that you had purchased. Our Basic Audio Setup would not include remote control programming services. If you need assistance with scheduling a remote control programming session, please connect with us at (800) 433-5778.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Nickel and dimed

    Posted
    Yurt
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Billed for every little thing. Nickeled and dimed. Should’ve just hung tv myself. Could’ve gone to Bahamas with the savings.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    poor

    Posted
    samsung
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    my audio was not setup. Geek squad came twice but did not setup thus far

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    All the employees said it could be done at home 0

    Posted
    Kimmy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Each employee says how to install at home differently. None of them worked out !

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    2 trips so far...not quite done

    Posted
    chad
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    hopefully third trip top our house will complete this install. Best Buy has great products. should step up their service game. we have no other options in our area.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Hello, Chad, We strive to complete audio installations in a timely manner. We would not want you to make multiple trips to our store as we understand our customers time is valuable. We recommend speaking with a store manager regarding your experience. You may also contact our agents at (800) Geek Squad or at (800) 433-5778.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Less than

    Posted
    Dva7
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I do not know a word for less than basic. To connect audio to surround sound in one room! Takes about an hour. Lie again, did not connect components to audio. Wanted more money (marketing) to buy the anything happens we will fix for malarkey was more important than hooking up components. Total rip OFF!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Hi, Dva7. Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. If anything was not installed correctly per the terms of the service, I apologize. I would recommend calling us at 1-800-433-5778 if you need an Agent to take another look! We want to make sure your hope theater experience is a great one, every time.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bose sound bar 5 could not be installed

    Posted
    Disappointednewcustomer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Service tech told me that the sound bar could not be mounted without wires hanging, even though their tech had mounted the television on a previous date with the wires going through the wall. I just want a refund.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Tech. knowlege of equipment

    Posted
    whit124
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought the Bose 700.Tech had never seen.Total loss of $129.00.Took 2 more weeks of me attempting to get all capabilities of sound bar working. No product knowledge at all on device. Never again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thank you for reaching out to us regarding this service you purchased for you Bose 700. I am sorry to hear that the results of this service were not as expected. You are welcome to reach out to our Geek Squad team at (800) 433-5778 to discuss this. You may also speak with your local Best Buy store as well. Thank you!

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Could have been better

    Posted
    Rooitis
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    They did a good job a connecting everything to the right HDMI. But the cable management was not don’t good at all. One of the reasons I wanted them to do it. Was so they could organize everything up nicely. Anyone can just plug in a hdmi.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      We appreciate the feedback on your recent audio setup. I understand that having the cables nicely organized is important, and something I would expect as well. I am glad to hear everything is working as intended, but if you are not satisfied with the service, please contact us at 1-800-433-5778, so we can look further into your work order with you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bad Audio setup

    Posted
    JayBoo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I would not use them again. I was not happy with the setup. They were 4 hours late!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for taking the time out of your day to tell us about your recent Basic Audio Setup. We totally understand how important your time is, and we’re sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. If your audio is not working properly, please call us at 1-800-GEEKSQUAD, 1-800-433-5778 so that we can assist with this! Otherwise, we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    They cancelled

    Posted
    Cliff
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Geek Squad performed the site inspection for TV over fireplace mount and then they cancelled on me on the install date. Said they couldn’t perform the install.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Installation marked "complete" but never completed

    Posted
    DontBuyIt
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I ordered a TV installation with basic audio setup. The guys came to my apartment, did an ok job installing the TV (the power wire is hanging off the wall rather than behind the wall), and then never installed the sound bar. They said it wan't on their work order. Logged into my BestBuy online account and saw that they marked the service complete.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for taking the time to share this experience. When I order a service, I expect it to be completed as it’s supposed to be and I’m very sorry to hear that may not have been the case in this instance. So that we can look into your order further, please give us a call at 1-800-GEEKSQUAD.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Paid for set up but didn't get

    Posted
    portulaca
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The guy arrived at least an hour late. Called 70 minutes prior to say he had to go pick up the TV. He put the legs on it and said he was done since he didn't have a cable signal. I said I could call Cable company (and I did) but he had gone by then. Obviously he did not work for Geek Squad. Said he only knew how to set up direct TV. He did not connect VCR or any other parts. He was on the phone most of the 20 minutes he was in house. VERY POOR SERVICE I would never recomment.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for sharing this with us. Like you, we expect our Agents and vendor partners to treat our Clients with kindness and respect, and to ensure a job is completed to our Clients' specifications. We're sorry that you had this experience with us. We understand that you were looking forward to using your new Home Theater system. For support with this, please call us at (800) GEEKSQUAD or (800) 433-5778. You should be able to receive a refund for any services that were not rendered.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Inadequate

    Posted
    Sooz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I knew I was going to have to set up the universal remote system (Harmony IR) myself, but as it turns out they did not correctly attach everything that had oreviously been attached to the other TV. I specifically told the salesperson what my setup included, apparently it did not get communicated to the installers. I had to contact the guys who had done the original custom installation and pay him to correct what these guys did wrong. Regretting not hiring him to begin with, as he would have charged me less than half what Geek Squad charged, and he would have done it right the first time!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    $49.00 for what?

    Posted
    Penguin
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Paid $49 to have Best Buy contractor plug 1 wire into the back of my TV.5 seconds labor. Pretty poor value.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend