Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Basic Audio Setup-Front_Standard

Basic Audio Setup

SKU: 5554100

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 1694 reviews

92%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 31 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Remote doesn't work all the time

    Posted
    randy007
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Should be able to use one remote for all components. Tech suggested that I purchase another remote(?)

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for uploading your review! We want your TV lounging time to be as stress-free as possible, so I can understand why having one remote for all components would be ideal. That said, I can understand why it would be frustrating to have someone come out only to learn you don't have the remote needed for set up. We'd be more than happy to point you in the right direction for a remote that will meet your needs, so we can schedule for someone to come back out. I recommend working with your local store to find the right remote for you, or calling 1 (888) BEST-BUY or 1 (888) 237-8289 for one of our sales reps to help you out. Once you have the correct remote for the job, a Geek Squad rep at (800) GEEK-SQUAD or (800) 433-5778 should be able to assist with getting that service rescheduled.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Did not balance the home theater system

    Posted
    ParkKat
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The audio connections within the home theater system were all that was done. I was unexpectedly charged a separate fee for the setup of Zone B. With a new receiver, I believe that the system should have been balanced as paret of the audio setup.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. We know you're exciting about your new receiver, so we appreciate that you came to us for help with the set-up. That said, we know surprise chargers are never ideal, so it's discouraging to hear this was your experience. According to the Basic Audio Setup description on our site, the service would cover a Geek Squad Agent connecting your audio components to a surround sound speaker system or sound bar in a single room. If Zone B was in the same room as Zone A that you initially came to us for, I recommend calling (800) GEEK-SQUAD or (800) 433-5778 so they can look into your options.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth it for basic setup

    Posted
    BMan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Only thing I got out of it is the soundbar was a big one so he took out, setup on TV stand, powered up. Overall I don't think it was worth paying the $49 for basic audio setup as he didn't do much beyond. It turns out that he didn't use the HDMI cable that came with it and almost walked off with it and gave me an optical audio cable. After he left, I setup with HDMI and did all the audio adjustments and then this soundbar was truly ready for action.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Save your money

    Posted
    Buckboy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Technician was more interested in leaving that anything - I'm admittedly technologically challenged & expected more help than I received.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Never performed

    Posted
    Wayne
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Never performed as promised. Requested review of adding my Bose Home Theater System never performed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Setting up new receiver 9.2

    Posted
    John
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Geek guy very nice but in a hurry. He was to put banana plugs on speaker wires, which he did , hook up my new receiver and calibrate the nine speakers. When he was done and gone I went into hear how it sounded. I went into the set up menus of my new receiver and found 6 of the nine speakers were in the wrong out puts and of course no calibration had been done. What else can I say. I will say I have used the Geek Squad several times in the past and have been satisfied.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thank you for taking the time to share this experience with us. It’s always frustrating when tech doesn’t work the way we expect it to, and it sounds like you need to get your speaker system up and running as soon as possible. I certainly would want to enjoy my audio as intended as well. For support with this, please call us at (800) GEEK-SQUAD or (800) 433-5778.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not a good experience

    Posted
    Bouncer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The third party that came out over complicated things..... There was a point I couldn't even get a straight answer from the individual.... Unpleasant experience

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ok

    Posted
    Fran
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I’ve had them over in the past and they were very good this time I had to have them here three times at least they come back

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We know your time is valuable, so I can understand how three separate appointments to have your audio set up would be less than ideal. Our goal is to for our techs to handle it so you don't have to, so I can imagine how you felt when you had to rearrange your schedule a second and third time to get this fully set up. We appreciate how patient you were with these appointments, and hope you can give us another chance to get everything installed on the first try with any future projects.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    one of 2 TV mounting on a wall 2/22/19

    Posted
    mitmod
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This TV was mounted above the treadmill, but the Geek Squad personal couldn't connect it Comcast. Nothing wrong with the mount or the TV, just could watch until I had Comcast come out.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      We appreciate that you took the initiative to share this with us. It’s always frustrating when the installation service doesn’t work the way we expect it to, and it sounds like you need more information on what services that were included in the installation. We have Agents standing by to help. For support with this, please call us at (800) GEEK-SQUAD or (800) 433-5778.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Two Tries

    Posted
    shaw
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    First remote set-up did not work properly. Geek Squad returned and fixed the problem. The remote now works well. Geek Squad was polite and professional, but expected proper set-up the first time.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      We are sorry to hear that your first setup did not work properly, but glad you were able to get this resolved. Thank you for the feedback!

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Terrible Customer Service

    Posted
    PamA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I ordered the in home service and they went to the wrong house in the wrong state. Took 4 weeks and 5 phone calls to try and straighten it out

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. This sounds far from the typical service call, and I can understand how you must feel after the confusion with the address. It sounds like you'e been in contact with us already, but if this still needs resolved, please feel free to call us at 1-888-BEST BUY (1-888-237-8289), where a member of the Customer Care Team will be able to assist.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Correct installation, But

    Posted
    Daniel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Installation and set up was done correctly. But installer managed to break front access door. That AVR had to be replace.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Didn’t receive.

    Posted
    Dande
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This item seemed to get lost somewhere in the overall process. When the installer arrived he didn’t know anything about this item. I drove back to Best Buy the next day and arranged for a refund. I would have been much happier if everything had gone as planned.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Thanks for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. It's exciting to get a new Home Theater, and it's understandable that you would like to have us complete your Audio Installation. We’re sorry for the inconvenience that this caused you. We're glad to hear that your local store was able to help you get a refund. We hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    conflicting information

    Posted
    merlin
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    As an educated person in electronics for many years,I was was insulted as they treated me like a dumb blonde assuming they were superior. When they couldn't answer my simple setup questions and I explained the existing setup I decided to cancel their service for more experienced and customer friendly people

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Setup

    Posted
    Dave
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had trouble with the remote for my television. I called for them to come back to help. As of today, no one has called.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Rear Speakers not installed!

    Posted
    Bill
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Disappointed the Geek squad could not get my rear speakers forBose. sound system to work!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not very happy with yearly subscription

    Posted
    Saluca
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Geek Squad has good, bad, and ugly. Sometimes they are super nice and polite, but also have had uncaring, rush- job staff and have needed for them to come out to the house again to answer questions about products I purchased from Best Buy. Am about to give up on them for good. Only reason I continue to shop there is convenience. Otherwise, they are pretty mediocre regarding service.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Audio set upn

    Posted
    Lacey
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    There was not much to set up the sound bar and we don’t like it

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Off sound bar

    Posted
    Patches
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Was not able to make remote work with sound bar and tv

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Let's be honest

    Posted
    FletchLives
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Frankly the service didn't live up to expectations for the price. Multiple trips were necessary and they weren't able to complete without charging more.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Hello FletchLives – Thank you for your feedback on your recent audio install. We never want there to be any confusion about what’s covered under one of our services, and it sounds like there was here. We take that to heart! We’re confident we’ll provide you with superior service the next time you use us. Please reach out to us at 1-800-GEEKSQUAD (1-800-433-5778) to go over any additional concerns you have.