Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Beats by Dr. Dre - BeatsX Earphones - Black-Angle_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars with 881 reviews

86%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars with 18 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 881 Reviews
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Just OK

    Posted
    DomzMom
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I had a pair of Wireless Powerbeats headphones for like 3 years and they finally died. My boyfriend had a pair as well and his needed to be replaced bc the part that goes in the ear broke (broke on mine too). With that said, I got 2 grey pair of these BeatsX for the both of us since they were on sale ($70). I couldn't bring myself to put out $180 for 1 pair when we both needed new ones. With all that said, I read reviews and they were all pretty decent. Some complained about the battery life but other than that the reviews were good. I have zero issues with them however, I use mine at work and when I go on my lunch break I plug them in. My boyfriend isn’t crazy about them b/c he says the battery life is not great. He gets a short break but is a truck driver so he uses them more than I do. Like I told him, the more you use them the faster the battery goes. When he listens to more music than he does talk on them the battery dies quicker. They work great for me b/c I’m at a desk but definitely would keep in mind the battery issue if you’re using them. Sound quality is fine. I can hear him clearly when I talk to him. There are sometimes where it’s a little unclear but that could be a connection issue with Verizon. Only issue I have with these would be that, with the PowerBeats, if I walked too far they automatically disconnected, when I got back in range to my phone they automatically connected. These do not automatically reconnect. Hope this review helps!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    I hit it out of the park

    Posted
    Jasonmwa
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    These were gotten for a gift for my father. He is one who has slowly come around to technology. He bit the bullet and got a Mac (I'm a user and supporter of Apple platforms), then an iPhone (7). Recently he joined in with some people for an Apple Music subscription, which is great he says, but if charging he has no way to listen to the music he wants (no headphone jack). He inquired about bluetooth, what it was and what he could use it for. I mentioned wireless headphones and he was interested. Yes, I have invested in Beats before (because they were on sale and because of the lovely way they pair between Macs and iPhones and iPads near seamlessly). Under the Apple umbrella now I feel better with him using a product like this. It's an entry model set of Beats and reasonably priced. The important thing is he loves them. He had a little issue pairing them with his iPhone. No doubt this was user error and no issue with the device since, time devoted to following instructions, they paired perfectly. He spoke highly of them. Shortly after he received them he took a trip of the western US. I am interested to see how they fared on his travels. Of note, as stated above, these are basically entry level Beats. They are an in-ear design made to block out noise but they also have you "locked in" to your own head. If you don't like to hear your own singing try a different type. Obviously they're not completely wireless (wireless in the name refers to the fact that they are not physically tethered to your listening device). There's a loop that goes around the neck and an earbud for each ear. There's a rocker switch and microphone on the left side which covers all needs from turning on, pairing, controlling volume, skipping tracks, answering phones and activating Siri. They are compatible with anything that connects to bluetooth speakers/headsets. If interested in the brand, perhaps try these out.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not bad, not great

    Posted
    Nick
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The Good: I purchased these earbuds about a year and a half ago, and I loved them out of the box! I got an iPhone 7 so I needed to make the jump to wireless earbuds and these came recommended by a friend. They’re easy to use, easy to pair, and good sound quality. The Bad: They generally stay connected to your phone for around 1-2 hours, even without anything playing, which drains both the earbuds and your phone (to a lesser extent). If you’re forgetful and leave them connected, it will cost you about 20-30% battery The Ugly: The main reason why I decided to write this review was because of all the problems I’ve had with these. They were really nice at first but the wingtips quickly split in two within the first 4-5 months, granted I’m a student so there was a lot of travel time and “in the bag - out of the bag” wear and tear but it was still frustrating nevertheless. It’s essentially impossible to find any replacements from Apple/Beats directly, so I had to resort to purchasing some from Amazon. Lastly and most frustratingly, the right earbud decided to stop working today. The thicker part that wraps around your neck seems to be the culprit but it only works when it’s in a certain position. I can’t say that I’m surprised but it’s still annoying that I paid ~$100 for a pair of earbuds that couldn’t even make it 2 years. I wasn’t super hard on them or anything, but I’m assuming the everyday use finally got through to them. Overall not good, not terrible; I would recommend looking around for another pair before you commit if you’re planning on being an everyday user.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    I really like these

    Posted
    MsBooBoo
    • My Best Buy® Member

    For many years, I bought the LG headsets that go around the neck. Before the two year warranty expired, I would return them for one reason or another and upgrade to the latest and greatest. I had a stack of receipts stapled to each other that was as thick as a small paperback. Don't get me wrong, I liked the LG's but after I got these, I doubt I'll go back. This headset is just what I need...light, easy to access and I can slip them into my shirt easily if I need to hide them (I wear them at work a lot and it's frowned upon). The sound is great and so far, they have endured a lot of wear and seem to take it well. Two minor negatives: 1. The battery life is short-around 7 hours for me. They do quick charge, so plugging them in for a few minutes gets me to the end of my shift. 2. I cannot pair them to two devices at the same time. I have a seperate device for music (the WiFi at work is questionable a lot of the time) and if I need to use the phone, I have to use it manually. It's not a huge issue, but it is nice to switch over when a call comes in. Overall, I'm very happy with these. They're simple and they sound great.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn't even last 4 months

    Posted
    tcawley29
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Great sound quality when they work, however after 4 months I am noticing issues with battery life, random power offs multiple times per hour, battery has actually started to drain when plugged in to charge, seems to pick up on interference in manhattan unless you keep the phone at chest height. Only reason I purchased these in store and not online was so I could swap them out straight away with a new pair if I did have issues, which the salesman who sold me the product would not be an issue. I tried to exchange these on Tuesday in BestBuy and was told my warranty was with Apple and I had to go there, annoying but off I went to Apple who then informed me that they would have to be sent off for repair instead and be gone for two weeks. Not ideal considering I am going away next week for 2 months. Very disappointed with both Apple and BestBuy for the poor customer service on this one.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    3 pairs / 1 year / All dead

    Posted
    ElectronicsAddict
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Unfortunately, there seems to be a design flaw in the BeatsX earphones. First purchase in October 2017, sent back in February 2018 for a full replacement [had silver original but Apple chose to replace with black :( ]. The 2nd replacement pair failed in September 2018 and was again replaced by Apple. It is now November 2018 and the 3rd pair have failed. Each pair experienced the same problem - the power button stopped working and you simply could not turn on or reset the headphones. They would charge, but just could not be powered on anymore. Sad to see such a product out of a company like Apple. Now, Apple customer service was great each time, but after 3 failures, I am turning to a different brand. Very disappointing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best headphones which you wont regret

    Posted
    Gundamblade
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Excellent sound quality. good microphone. I quickly got used to just wearing them as a necklace when not using - the magnetic connection between earbuds is handy this way. (and nice that the neckband is flexible so they can be coiled up in a pocket.) On/off switch design is funky though. There is a 5-second delay from pushing the button to when you hear the chime saying it is on. And if you hold the on button longer than 1 second, it goes into pairing mode. (pairing is almost instantaneous once you go to accept on your phone, but you shouldn't have to do this every time you turn them on.) Have finally learned to hold button one second, then wait 4 more till they turn on. If you hold them in front of you and watch the light on the on/off button come on, then put them over your head, they come on just about the time you get them settled in your ears. I think this must have been the design intention but it would have been good to explain this.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worthless product and worthless warranty!!!

    Posted
    Baaw
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased these 11 months ago for my daughter for Christmas and they stop turning on out of nowhere but they showed fully charged when plugged in which told me something was wrong electronically. They have a one year manufacture warranty therefore we return them to Apple Inc. They founded ONE " small scratch " on the charge casing/ port and because of this, they denied the warranty repair/replacement UNLESS we wanted to pay up to $100 for them to make a repair....what a worthless product and worthless warranty!!!..

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Ok

    Posted
    LALA
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I bought these for myself and my boyfriend in early March 2018. I have not used mine regularly, I used them for school about 4 times a week for 10 months. Now they’ve been sitting. The problem with mine is the battery doesn’t last as long as it used to. My boyfriend on the other hand has gotten a good use out of them. He uses them at work for music and being on the phone. He also uses them for the gym. He’s been using them regularly since purchase to this date (July 2019). He also has the same battery issue but just now one of his earbuds is no longer giving out sound. Only the side with the microphone works. Sad to say they barely made it a year and now the warranty is gone. So that being said, might not be a good purchase if you’re planning on using them regularly, they won’t last you in the long run.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Rated DNB (Do not buy) - Constant trips to Apple s

    Posted
    royiel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Rated DNB (Do not buy) - Constant trips to Apple store to wear u down Written by Royiel H from MIDLOTHIAN Apple hopes to wear you down and not let you claim repair under Warranty. I had these first in our family and my pair stopped charging just under a year. Against my recommendation, my wife got these and just under a year stopped charging. My daughter wanted these and I already knew what was coming. First, Bluetooth constantly disconnected (not drops) and wanted to pair every time they were powered on. If you are expecting Apple to honor their warranty think again. These were sent in with a tech response of "Could not duplicate" and sent back. Now they don't charge at and required another in-store visit just to have them sent back for "REPAIR" when they obviously defective.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Orig beats X better .. these still good

    Posted
    MahneFrame
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Beats X were better before apple purchased the company. My old beats were lost so I ordered another pair to replace and the old ear wings don’t really fit on the new beats X so they have increased slightly in size. Why did I try to put old wings on new beats? Because new beats no longer come with two sets of wings or a case !!! The power button also doesn’t have a ‘click’ kind of feel. It’s not as positive of a feel so it’s hard to tell if I have it pressed down or not. Also , the actual rubber cables refuse to straighten out. They have retained the bends in them from the packaging and it’s slightly annoying. They just seem overall cheaper than previous model. You would never know if you’ve never had the higher quality version. These connect fine , last all day, and have great bass for how small they are. I would buy them again for sure. It is super convenient that they charge with the same cable my iPhone uses.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Not the greatest, but really good.

    Posted
    Cipher3113
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Pros: Solid wireless headset with sound and connection qualities expected of Beats. They have small ear pieces for smaller ears, and are comfortable to wear for long periods. They also give off a warning tone when the battery gets low. Cons: For the price, these buds don't have the same level of "smart" functionality that other wireless sets have. No auto shutoff when removed from ears, no app to customize sound via even a basic EQ, and no case to carry them in. From a design perspective they are about 2-3" too long, which is not a deal-breaker, but a consideration. With that said, they are a solid set that doesn't clip out, but should probably be priced below their current $130 price point to bring value into parity with what's actually delivered.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Did not last 1 year

    Posted
    espl907
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased my BeatsX from Best Buy. I really enjoyed them while they lasted. Sound quality, connectivity, and fit were all great for me. Unfortunately, after 11 months the batteries died. Apple replaced my BeatsX under warranty at no cost to me. 6 months later my replacement pair are now has wiring issues. The power goes in and out as the neck band is lightly shifted. I contacted Apple, but they informed me that headphone replacements are only covered by the original pair's warranty (which expired 5 months ago). They said I could have it repaired for $80. It is not worth paying $80 to repair a $100 pair of headphones that will likely only last another 6 months to a year. I wont be buying Beats again unless build quality and longevity is greatly improved.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the price

    Posted
    beats
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have had my beats x since November 2017 and in August, the right ear sound stopped working. I was sent a simple replacement under warranty and everything was fine until last week when they stopped connecting to my devices. Unfortunately, they are no longer under warranty so I would have to pay $70 to get them fixed. In a little over a year, my beats have malfunctioned twice. I am a college student so I simply use them walking between classes, while studying or watching Netflix. They are an everyday product for me but I randomly encountered issues. It is not worth paying $119 just to have an issue twice in a year. They provide great features and fast charging which was working great for me but they are not reliable at all.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    LOVE THEM THEY ARE CLUTCH

    Posted
    DJohnson1911
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I keep these in my EDC (Everyday Carry). They used to be around my neck all the time but I moved to True Wireless (JBL FREE) and the on;y reason I moved was because I wanted to try something new and my daughter would always grab my headphone and I didn't want them to break.....but... These are TOUGH ... I have put them through the ringer with the build quality test and they PASS... SOUND - Sound is good when you get the right ear tip. Now, if you are looking for some audiophile quality sound then you are not even looking at these, but for the everyday guy... these are GREAT. I love the magnetic back as they help keep them around your neck. And I am an android user ... but my iPad loves them too.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nice headphones

    Posted
    VaRoy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I use these headphones all the time. I mainly purchased them for tail running, because they looked like I would not have to worry about them falling out. They do a good job of staying in my ears when I run. They sound good and they hold a charge really well. The do a great job of blocking out external noise, which is not so great for trail running because it is hard to hear if a mountain bike is coming up behind me. I ended up also wearing them at work all the time though. They block out external noise, and leave my hands free to multitask while someone on the phone is going "blah, blah, blah" :-). I love these headphones and would be lost without them.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good sound quality, but also poor quality build

    Posted
    Greg
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I have had 3 pairs of Beats X. Why 3 pairs? Because they don't last. And I am not rough on headphones. They don't just break outright usually. But after about 3 months of having them they will periodically refuse to pair with the iPhone. You can "reset and repair them" but even that stops working after a while. Sound quality and design are really good. But they just have really poor build quality, and even more disappointing software quality which is surprising given Beats is owned by Apple. I switched to the Bose wireless buds. And while they are a little more expensive, the quality has proven to be WAY better. Sound quality seems comparable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not Worth it!!!

    Posted
    Eddie

    Well I'd always bought beats but these arent worth it at at all, when I first got them, sound was okay, bass could of been better but overall not bad for headphones battery was great....BUT! In the next month I had bluetooth connectivity problems, it will still connect but disconnects by itself which was annoying happened over and over again, so 5 months later of owning it, It wouldn't turn on anymore and it was useless...battery was dead, so I charged it and it was a full charged battery, I was like okay let me charge it some more still wouldn't turn on....I wouldnt reccomend it it doesnt last long like the power beats 3, and I had those for 2 years now and still works. So no to Beats X!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Wow - where to begin!

    Posted
    DogLover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought these for my girlfriend as we work out together. She was using the just plain ole’ iPhone headphones and I wanted to step up here workout “game”. She took these out of the box and with excitement said “I’ve always wanted Beats!” I told her it was scientifically proven that if Beats headphones generate a better workout and in return, better results for her body ;) Fast forward two days after her birthday (June 27th) - they are not puppy proof and ended up in the trash as they were shredded to bits and pieces. Needless to say, she looked great the one time she wore them!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great earphones

    Posted
    erice1911
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    These earphones are excellent for on the go. It works well with taking calls, listening to music or podcast, overall excellent. I would recommend not putting them in the small case they come with, better to find another bigger case. Wrapping them up everyday can cause wear and tear much faster. My wife has had hers for 2 years and work fine (uses them about 4-6 days a week), I was using my earphones every single day and they went out after 1.5 years. This is my second pair and they are worth it. Try to price match or wait for a small discount to save a few dollars.

    I would recommend this to a friend