Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Bose® - SoundLink® Color Bluetooth Speaker - Blue-Front_Standard

Bose® - SoundLink® Color Bluetooth Speaker - Blue

Model: SOUNDLINK COLOR BT SPEAKER BLUSKU: 7902901

Customer rating

Rating 4.8 out of 5 stars with 7807 reviews

98%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 37 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Defective Speaker

    Posted
    Palani
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Okay, I read the reviews and I actually used one of these Speakers for about a week while I was in California. It worked great and the reviews were great to. Having said that, I had the unlucky misfortune of buying a Speaker that would not stay charged. I charged the speaker and went on a trip. While on the trip I didn't have the occasion to use the speaker. When I got home I got the speaker out and attempted to use it. It didn't have a charged! So, I recharged it and used it until the charged was depleted. I recharged it and put the speaker up. The next day I got the speaker out and to my surprise it wouldn't power up. Okay, here is where the problem occurred! I contacted Best Buy and Best Buy has a 14 day return policy. I contacted Bose Support because the speaker has a year waranty. Remember I'd only owned the Speaker for about 45 days! Take Note of this when considering your future purchase. Bose has a $ 15 to $ 18 dollar charge for their processing. The guy I talked to told me that Bose would wave that charged and I was to return the speaker via UPS. I'm okay with that. When I went online to retrieve my label to return to speaker to Bose, the only information I found was the address for the return. NO RETURN LABEL. I hurriedly packed the speaker and took it to UPS and paid $ 15 to ship it. The service Rep didn't advise me one way or the other about there being a return label! I later discovered that Bose sent me a return label after I mailed the Speaker. I called Bose again and got a knowledgeable Rep. The Rep needed information from my email from Bose. I then discovered Bose had received my return and had already send me a new replacement. I still am not giving up on Bose however they need to rethink these additional charges while the product is under warranty. Bose should also instruct the Representatives they need to fully explain Bose return and replacement procedures because there are people like me who are sometimes a little dense.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    had to return it

    Posted
    Masum
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    well, I give it two stars bcz it had good sound quality, but the problem was that the bluetooth didnt work as it should. when turned it on, it said that was connected to my device but I couldnt get the sound and then it said disconnected from my device!!! i had to try it at least twice so to get the sound on it! also there was a problem with volume buttons too. my device was 100 volume but the soundlink wasnt loud enough, had to push the button to turn it up constantly so that works and then suddenly too loud! same way for turn it down! also the on/off button had the same issue, had to push it a few times so it works!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not what I expected from Bose

    Posted
    Cindy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Having only ever heard amazing things about Bose products, I am very disappointed in the quality of workmanship of this bluetooth speaker. I have had problems almost from the start with the charger not fitting properly into the Bose speaker, thus the speaker most often does not charge and, consequently, does not work. Very poor workmanship. I cannot recommend this product. Best Buy will not take it back and Bose has already replace the cord once. What a problem for a piece of costly equipment that does not function correctly.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can understand the concern as portability is a very popular feature with customers. We’d like to make it right and encourage you to contact us direct. You can email us at product_support@bose.com or by calling us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    The product I nice an sleek.

    Posted
    Ladyvee846
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The performance is poor. I wish I never brought it, although. I like the convince of wireless. Traveling room to room with my music is very nice. However the quality of sound the loudness does not to me meet Bose. I have Bose in the car and the quality and sound is much better. Additionally my biggest problem is the sound actually fades in and out like a wire problem or something. It has only happened a couple of times but it is enough to make me want return the item. It is very annoying. I am glad I kept the box.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Hello Ladyvee846. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The SoundLink Color is by far our most portable Bluetooth speaker, designed to take with you almost anywhere. For more volume and bass, we also have our SoundLink Mini II and SoundLink III. The SoundLink III is our best-sounding portable Bluetooth speaker with the most volume, bass, and clear highs, as well as the longest battery life of any of our Bluetooth speakers. The sound should not be fading like that though. That is something we would like to help you with. One thing to try is to update the software here: http://updates.bose.com/SoundLinkColor If that does not work, please call us at 800-380-4831. We are available Monday through Friday from 8:30am to 9pm EST and Saturday 9am to 7pm EST. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    speaker is no longer able to charge

    Posted
    aminthepm

    I really liked this speaker at first. l've only had it for a year and now it will no longer charge. I tried a few things that I read online about pressing down a button for 15 seconds then unplugging, etc. Unfortunately it didn't work for me. I have read a lot of reviews all over the internet that this is not an uncommon problem. I guess I'll have to throw it away. I expected more from a brand like Bose.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Thanks for reaching out for help. We are glad that you really liked the speaker and can definitely find a solution.

      That charging cable is very popular for use with non-Apple phones/tablets as well as many digital cameras. Let's try another cable and find out if we should be replacing the cable for you or looking at service for the speaker.

      In either case, we encourage you to contact us directly and we'll take good care of you. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great speaker, charger keeps breaking

    Posted
    DocHof
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Great Bose sound but the original charger that came with the speaker stopped working. I bought a new charger and that one shorted out too. Something is wrong with this speaker that makes the charger blow. Now I can't charge my speaker and I don't want to spend any more money buying chargers for a speaker that ultimately won't work

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    works loud!

    Posted
    rodknoxx

    this is good to very good loud, though a the bass seems a little unnatural sounding. it is absolutely terrible for listening to music quietly as it muddies out all of the mids and highs and all you get is unnatural thumping. i am returning as i listen to my music primarily at medium to low volumes.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    uncanny

    Posted
    bucas1974
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    For being Bose, I was extremely disappointed. One of my first major electronic purchase was a Bose system back in the 90s. I immediately feel in love with Bose, but this speaker doesn't deliver the sound I expect from Bose. This was truly a disappointment. I'll think twice before buying other Bose products

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great sound - Too bad the Bluetooth doesn't work

    Posted
    KenL08
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Bought this speaker in August for my wife. I listened to it at the store and it sounded great. We tried for weeks to get the Bluetooth to connect - didn't work with her Samsung phone or my iPhone. Would only work when plugged in directly - very disappointing!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with the Color. We share your concerns about pairing your mobile phones and would like to suggest some troubleshooting steps to get you enjoying this speaker as designed.
      To reset the speaker, plug it into power and turn the speaker on. Press and hold the AUX and Volume - buttons for 10-20 seconds, until a tone is heard. Turn the speaker on again and verify your language selection. To select English, press Play/Pause and hold.
      This should allow for a smooth pairing process with either phone. If you continue to experience this issue, we'd love to find the right solution for you. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM and on Sat., 9 AM – 7 PM ET. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Very disappointed

    Posted
    ctapia04
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was very disappointed with this purchase, especially coming from a name like Bose. I ended up returning this speaker because the sound was so disappointing. Perhaps the Soundlink 2 Bose Speaker, which is more expensive, has better sound quality because this speaker is majorly lacking.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Hello ctapia04,

      We're sorry to read your disappointing comments. As your experience is atypical, we hope you contacted Bose technical support for assistance. You might consider trying the SoundLink Color again, or listen to the SoundLink Mini II to compare. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not as good as the Mini...

    Posted
    Kristin
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Easy to use. Bought as a gift. Wish the sound came through clearer. It gets loud but sounds a little muffled similar to an alarm clock radio turned way up. The Bose Mini I have sounds better. Wish I spent the extra money and bought another Mini

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Sounds good

    Posted
    1026
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I like it, but the battery didn't last too long. You have to unplug it sometimes to restart it , I guess. It's not worth $150 that I paid for it. I thought Bose was better then that. Don't get me wrong. It sounds good.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Bummer

    Posted
    Sanaie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    When i first got this i loved it, then i notice it would not sync with my mac computer anymore, then it wouldn't sync to my phone. So i took it back. was really surprised since Bose makes such great speakers, which is may i bought this one.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Hello Sanaie. Thank you for trying and reviewing the Bose SoundLink Color Bluetooth Speaker. We appreciate the feedback and are sorry to hear about the trouble you have had. The SoundLink Color is designed to connect to any Bluetooth audio device including your mac computer. We hope you will try Bose products again in the future and if you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at 800-380-4831. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, but disappointed

    Posted
    ThePIG
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I returned this item. Inconsistent battery life even on full charge and consistent volume. Wasn't always obvious when the item powered on or synced. Sleek appearance and sounded great when working. But it is not as user friendly as a jawbone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    The charging design is flawed and will fail

    Posted
    KenKirsch
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The charging port on the speaker unit is not designed well and will fail over time rendering the speaker unit useless with no way to charge the unit. The extra money paid for the Bose name in this case is not worth it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Bose

    Posted
    Ruben
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Save your money and buy the cheap ones! Even if you have money to waste you'll still regrets this purchase. Go with JBL. I also bought the bose qc35 and feel just as bad. Your buying the name nothing more.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    returned

    Posted
    PRJG
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had a difficult time getting this to work. I ended up purchasing an Amazon Echo for the same price - BestBuy had it on sale. The Echo sounds just as good as the Bose and does a whole lot more.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    an okay speaker

    Posted
    techybabyfromLA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This is a truly disappointment to me. although, this is not mine, i still didn't like how bose came up with a very ugly sound speaker to meet the price. buy the mini soundlink either.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Sound Quality not there

    Posted
    Bruh
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I love Bose and they make great products, however this model must have fallen through the cracks at the QA/QC dept. The sound quality was a bit unclear and sounded like static coming through.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We're very glad you've reached out for help by posting a review. Yours is not the typical experience with this speaker and we'd like to help you enjoy it. Let's begin with a system reset. To do so:


      Please connect the speaker to the power supply and turn the speaker on,
      Press and hold the AUX and Volume - buttons for 10-20 seconds, until a tone is heard
      Turn the speaker on again and verify your language selection.


      If after doing so the issue persists please contact technical service at 800-380-4831 for some help. Support hours are Monday - Friday 9:00AM to 9:00PM and Saturdays from 9:00AM to 7:00PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    won't hold charge

    Posted
    Fuzz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased this for outside on my desk and it works good when it is plugged in but once I unplug it turns off. I am returning and picking up another one. good compact size.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend