Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Bose® - Soundlink® Color Portable Bluetooth® Speaker II - Aquatic Blue-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.8 out of 5 stars with 5331 reviews

97%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 61 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Save yourself the money

    Posted
    edbie

    Really would prefer no stars. I have purchased two Soundlink color speakers in the past year, one only a couple of months ago and neither one of them will turn on or charge. I've researched it and spent way too much time holding buttons down, and putting the plug in or taking it out. Who has time to do all kinds of freaking maneuvers when you want to listen to it? The oldest one had been plugged in and connected to my echo dot for about a year, it worked well enough until just recently. The one that is a few months old had only been used four or five times. It was kept in a case when not in use. I like the sound of Bose, but they won't be getting any more of my hard-earned money. So disappointed. Interestingly enough, they were bought far enough apart that it couldn't have been a bad batch. When I searched the internet for a "fix" there were lots of people having the same problem. Now, $250 dollars and 1 year later I have a blue and orange paperweight because that's all they're good for...grrrrrrr.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Salesperson mmisinformed me

    Posted
    Reido
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Had to return it. Salesperson said it would connect with my receiver and also sold me an adapter for the purpose. But when Geek squad arrived, they worked on it for an hour and determined that it will not connect to my Bluetooth receiver. Only to something like a smart phone. Same sales person incorrectly told me that a Sonos speaker would not connect to my receiver unless I bought a $350 adapter. Geek Squad person said it would have connected just fine without the adapter. I ended up getting some old speakers from my basement and running wires through the crawl space to use them as remote speakers.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    very disappointed with Bose Bluetooth speakers

    Posted
    gtilby
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased this speaker and had a lot of trouble getting it to connect to my phone so I took it back and got another one, tried using the Bose app for connecting and it was still cutting out when playing music. Took that one back and got the more expensive version, same issue. Tried one more of these color links and still had lots of issues connecting and once it connected, the sounds cut in and out. I love my Bose bookshelf speakers and I love my Bose earbuds but this product sucks.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We understand the concern and would like to help. We would recommend trying another phone to compare the results as a troubleshooting measure as this is happening with several different speakers. If a second phone is also unable to pair, we have technical experts available who can take a closer look to ensure that you have the type of experience you are used to with Bose products. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stinks, don't buy

    Posted
    Camaro
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I read many reviews and asked many people before buying this speaker. Everyone ageed Bose was a top manufacturer and I couldn't go wrong, many said Bose doesn't make junk. Well let me introduce you to junk! This speaker is horrible compared to any speakers on the market in the price range of $125. Buy anything else and save your money. Bass is apsent and loudness is marginal. Better speakers out there. I have a $50 Rumbletec that blows this Bose speaker away. Very very disappointed!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The Bose Sound Link Color 2 Has serious issues

    Posted
    danfo

    I'm on my third speaker and I'm returning the third today! The speaker will not turn on after sitting for a few hours without going through a song and dance routine. Have talked to Bose about this very well KNOWN issue and they have no solution. If you don't think this is a common and known issue just do a search on the internet and you will see case after case. You would think a company like Bose could do better!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stopped charging

    Posted
    Lawrence
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    As many have reported, after just over a this speaker stopped working. Went to charge it one day and it would not charge. Tried multiple cables and chargers, nothing worked. Bose needs to get with the times and switch to USB type C. Also stop having so many battery issues. Aside from that, it sounded pretty good.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi Lawrence,

      Thank you for taking the time to review our products. We are sorry you were unhappy with your SoundLink Color portable speaker. If you reach out to customer services they will be able to assist you further.

      Thanks again for your review!

      Kind regards,
      Vicky W - Bose Technical Support Team bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Decent Sound, Terrible Quality

    Posted
    Case
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased this in February. By June the battery wouldn't charge. Sent it back to Bose, received a new speaker in the mail a few days later. This speaker lasted almost a month before the exact same issue came around. Bose is helpful everytime, but who has time to get a bluetooth speaker replaced every month? Save yourself the hassle and buy a different brand

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Case. Thank you for reviewing the SoundLink Color II. We are sorry to hear about your experience. I definitely encourage you to contact our support team to see what other options are available to you https://bose.life/1RwxI8E. Thanks for sharing your feedback. Have a great day! Best Regards, Greg - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    overpriced

    Posted
    macgeek
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    It sounded great connected through bluetooth to my Mac. Day three it wouldn't turn on or show any signs that it was taking a charge. I returned it to Best Buy. Customer service didn't want to accept it. They wanted me to do an exchange and I said no way. I bought the extended warranty in store but it didn't even make it more then just a few hours of normal play.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We share your disappointment in the experience you had with our SoundLink Color speaker. We are glad that you appreciated the sound when connect to your Mac. We hope that you decide to choose Bose in the future and wanted to let you know that we have a wonderful product support team ready to assist with any concerns you may have. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Sudden death

    Posted
    BoseBlues
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Purchased the Bose® - Soundlink® Color Bluetooth Speaker II 1/14/17. Worked great for a month. The sound was great. Battery life left something to be desired. Then it stopped working. Charged over night. It won't even turn on now. Sure hope there is some kind of warranty on this. I'm not in the habit of flushing $130 down the drain.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We'd like to help get you back up and running. Let's attempt to put the speaker back into ship mode. With the speaker connected to power, press and hold the Multi-function button for 10 seconds. While continuing to hold the Multi-function button, unplug the speaker from power. Release the Multi-function button. If this fails to get you back up and running, please feel free to give us a ring. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bad advise

    Posted
    IslerDean
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We bought a TV and wanted to have a remote speaker; best buy rep. told us to buy this speaker along with the needed cords/program to use this speaker with the TV. We cannot get this speaker to connect to the TV no matter what we do. Instructions are VERY poor and not useful

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi IslerDean,

      Thank you for taking the time to review our product, we always value feedback from our customers!

      This speaker was not designed to be used with a TV. You can connect it using an AUX cable but it is not its intended purpose. Based on what you require, our Solo 5 Soundbar would probably be a better option for you.

      Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our product.

      Kind regards,
      Kerri_K - Bose Technical Support Specialist bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Tin sound

    Posted
    JoeyT
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    If you have an ear for good sound, this is not for you. I realize only so much volume and sound can come from a speaker this size, but this sounds like a 1960’s am radio. Took it back and got the Marshall stockwell. Good sound but big bucks

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bose speaker 2

    Posted
    Brian
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I would of given this speaker a good review early on as I liked it . Problem is it's not durable as I had it a few months and speaker got low and eventually stopped working. Bose makes great products but this one was a bust for me . Like I said for the price you would expect it to last longer and be made better.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Cozzy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Always have purchased Bose products. Battery life for this item is quite honestly Terrible..Been watching this item for a few years. Never dropped. I feel Bose dropped the ball ok n this item. Maybe I got a bad device. But no rep is getting back to me

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your Soundlink Color Bluetooth Speaker II, Cozzy. We appreciate your loyalty to Bose, and we're sorry to hear you're experiencing difficulty with this speaker's battery. We would first recommend rebooting the battery with these steps: 1. Connect the speaker to power. 2. Press and hold the Multi-function button (3 dots) for 10 seconds, and while continuing to hold the Multi-function button, unplug the speaker from power. 3. Release the Multi-function button and then reconnect the power cable. Please look for a slowly blinking orange light that indicates successful charging. Once the product charges fully, you will see a solid green LED light. The battery should last about 8 hours at medium volume. We're sorry to hear about the delay in response from our support team. We would recommend calling our support team directly at 1-800-367-4008 for further assistance. They are available M-F 9 AM to 9 PM Eastern. Thank you again, and have a great day. Jesse - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Virtually no sound above a whisper

    Posted
    Dixie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I bought this for my Mom to have a speaker next to her chair. Once it finally got connected, the sound would not go above a whisper. Thus she has to put the sound of the TV up so she can hear the TV. Not worth the money. I expected more from Bose.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Dixie,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundLink Color II speaker. We are sorry to hear about the trouble you're having. This does sound unusual and encourage you to reach out to us so we can ensure you're getting the most out of your speaker.

      Contact information: https://bose.life/2LXQA9c

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Won't work in stereo as claimed

    Posted
    pjla

    Stereo/party mode doesn't work. Bose Connect app didn't work as described. Read through several Help topics on Bose website. None resolved the issue. Decent sound if using one, but don't buy if you're hoping to use in stereo. Very disappointed in this product.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello pjla. Thanks for sharing your review on the SoundLink Color Bluetooth speaker II. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue when pairing with another speaker in Stereo Mode. The firmware of the speakers may need to be updated. You may use the online firmware updater to do so https://bose.life/2LYNuy8. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions https://bose.life/2JpX9Pz. Have a wonderful day! Ashley - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    BOSE falls flat on this one

    Posted
    BOSEfallsflat
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Purchased this speaker and was not pleased with the quality of sound with it. It was as if the rubber coating made the sound muffled and sound like it was in a canyon the whole time. I returned this speaker and purchased the JBL and it is by far a better speaker and sound quality is amazing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We appreciate you trying out the SoundLink Color II speaker. The "canyon" effect you are describing sounds very unusual and we can see where that would be frustrating. We hope you try Bose again in the future and encourage you to contact us if any performance features strike you as out of the ordinary. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn't work properly

    Posted
    torkdoff
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased 2 Bose® - Soundlink® Color Portable Bluetooth Speaker II with the intent to create stereo effect. They would not pair. I believe one of the speakers was defective. I returned them. For the money , they should work flawlessly.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi Torkdoff,

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the SoundLink Color II speakers. We are sorry to hear about the trouble you had with them. This is not the experience we want you have. We see that you decided to return them but if you need any assistance with any our products in the future, please feel free to reach out to us directly to ensure you're getting the most out of them.

      Link to our Community: https://community.bose.com/
      Additional contact info: https://bose.life/2LXQA9c

      Thank you and take care.

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Failed in less than 24 hours

    Posted
    Spencer
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    It was great when it worked, but I managed to get the defective one. I'll be returning it today. I was really excited, I've always been a big fan of Bose products, but I can't say they have superior quality anymore... device won't charge, won't turn on, one giant paperweight.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We are glad that you like your new Bose speaker and have a suggestion for troubleshooting prior to returning it to the store. Let's turn the speaker on and press and hold the power button for 10 seconds. It may just need to be reset. If that fails to get you up and running, you can exchange it at the point of purchase or directly through us by calling at 800-278-1082. We are open Mon-Fri from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stop Working

    Posted
    Dubaitunes
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My speaker stopped working, thought it needed recharging, plugged it up and charged it all night, speaker still will not power up. I'm in the process of returning it to the store to get my money back. I love the speaker has great sound, but this device is defective.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Sound was good while it lasted

    Posted
    MeestaVilson
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The speaker went dead 3 months after the 1 year warranty was up like it was on a timer. Poor tech support and complete lack of empathy for the timing of the failure. Save your money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello MeestaVilson,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundLink Color II speaker. We're very sorry to hear about the trouble you're having. This is not the experience we want you to have. We definitely stand by our products and service. Even beyond the warranty period we try and provide service. If you're still interested, please feel free to reach out to us on our Community for further assistance.

      Link to our Community: https://community.bose.com/

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose