Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Bose® - SoundSport® Free wireless headphones - Blue-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 5126 reviews

86%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.9 out of 5 stars with 20 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Page 1, showing1-20 of 24 Reviews mentioning:
syncing
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Syncing time with IPhone and Mac unbearable

    Posted
    RKGG
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Very bad syncing time with my phone and Mac too, Bluetooth connectivity is unreliable. Returned the product and got Bose QC2

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello RKGG,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are sorry to hear about the trouble you had. This is definitely not the experience we would want you to have. We see that you've decided to return them, but if you ever require service in the future, please feel free to reach out to us anytime so we can assist.

      Link to our Community: https://community.bose.com/
      Additional contact info: https://bose.life/2LXQA9c

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best wireless earbuds

    Posted
    F2002
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I've tried Sony and Jabra both of them would lose sync when watching videos these don't and the bass response is so much better very high-quality as you would expect

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Very good sound, still has sync issues

    Posted
    LDawg
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    For the most part, these work exactly as you'd hope for an expensive Bose product. Sound is great and works well for commuting and never have any concerns about falling out. The only time I've noticed any issues with syncing between the left/right pods and with the phone itself is if I'm in a very crowded area (train station, stadium, etc.) and sometimes the left earpod will go silent or be unsynced to the right earpod. I'm no bluetooth expert but perhaps is struggles when there are hundreds of other devices nearby. Besides that, they work great.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Work and sound good

    Posted
    Elarkelmon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    These work really well and the charge last quite a while, I have never had them run out of charge. The only complaint is that the do have sync issues with videos that aren't the typical watching apps (YouTube, Netflix etc.) But for these apps they work fine and have no issues.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Love the Music Quality, Not So Good for Bluetooth

    Posted
    Bret
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Excellent Sound Quality for my Spotify Music. I do not like the Bluetooth Quality, Only the Right Bud works for Phone Calls (I prefer both ear buds working on Bluetooth), Air Background Noise makes it difficult using the Buds for Conversations, etc. Left Ear Bud has dropped out of Sync a couple of times in certain locations.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Quality buy

    Posted
    dwtire
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Sound better than my Beats 2 wireless, good battery life. Negative is only one ear for calls and voice not in sync with iPad videos. And doesn't play well syncing with windows laptop. For music on IPhone which is mostly how I use them they're more than adequate and have a better sound over their Beats competition.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not compatible

    Posted
    KAnn
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this to use with an online game. The sound lagged behind the video graphics. Never would sync correctly. Probably better for music only.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, KAnn.

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're sorry to hear you experienced an audio-visual delay when using the headphones while gaming. A small delay can occur when using headphones that utilize Truly Wireless Stereo, however, we completely understand this can be frustrating.

      The signal flow from your headphones will go from your connected device to the right earbud, where the signal is processed and then streamed to the left earbud. Due to this, it is important that you avoid any added interference from objects such as Wi-Fi routers or heavy clothing. We recommend always ensuring that your headphones, the Bose Connect app, and the apps you're using for video, audio, and games are up to date. We will certainly pass your feedback along to our engineering team. Thank you again, and have a great weekend.

      Jesse - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Almost Perfect

    Posted
    MisterMoBlack
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I love the headphones, it's either a hit or miss for you depending if you care about the button functions or the bulky-ness. A lot of people complain about the syncing issue but I've had no problems regardless of using an iPhone or Samsung (Android OS). The vocals to bass balance is amazing and I love the Bose + app functions my only complaint or request would be to add an Equalizer to the app. I love that I can adjust my music equalizer from my Samsung S9+ through the settings but apple does not have equalizer options for the iPhone XS Max so its extremely limiting. If Bose can make an update to make that happen they'll destroy with this product.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, good build quality, poor audio sync

    Posted
    Walter
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The sound quality is great. Delivers a great range of high tones to mid tones. The build quality of the earbuds themselves are outstanding but the case is not as much good. The earbuds are kind of bulky compared to other brands but does not cause any problem other than their appereance. The biggest and only problem which caused me to return it is the sound sync delay it has (about 1 to 2 secs). I updated the firmware too but the problem didn't resolve. I didn't notice this while I was listening to music with it. However when I started to watch movies with it, I noticed this. To make sure, I used an instrument simulator app to create instant sounds and observed the delay. I used the same app with my phone speaker and I didn't experience any delays. I thought the problem is only with my phone. But when I tried the earbuds with my macbook, I experienced the same delay. As the last word, the earbuds are great for listening to music. But if you want a multi purpose device, then maybe you should get another device.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi Walter, thank you for taking the time to review our product. At Bose, we pride ourselves on producing products that will cater for as many people as possible. However, we understand that this may not be suited to an individual’s needs. Good luck in your search for a product that better suits your needs! Once again, thank you for your time. Have a great day! Kindest, Kerri - Bose Technical Support Specialist. bose

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Great Sound

    Posted
    LanceP
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Great sound quality. The bass is perfect. My only complaint so far, and this may not be a Bose issue, is that the audio and video aren't in synce while using YouTube. I only use these if I'm listing to audio. Pretty frustrating. 4 stars cause I suspect it's not a Bose issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, poor otherwise

    Posted
    RobPhilly
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The sound for these ear buds is terrific and much better than competitors. In addition, these will not fall out of your ear which is a great design. Sadly, for $200, that is it. There is a huge issue with video and app sound synchrynization so do not plan on using these for any apps or videos where you want sound to sync up with the screen. Also, for phone calls, only the right ear is active and engaged when using the phone which is a huge step back from having the option of both, or just left or right as with other competitors - terrible choice by Bose. I called after owning these for 2 days about the sync issue and the Bose tech wants me to send them back in exchange for a new one. Based on all of the other issue I have read about since purchasing, I doubt this will solve the issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good Bose sound, but not fully baked

    Posted
    djyonce
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Here are my thoughts after trialing these for a few days with an iPhone and iPad: Pros: - Typically good Bose sound for music - Very comfortable fit with the unique shape of the silicone ear pieces Cons: - Flaky Bluetooth connectivity and left earpiece connectivity, especially when switching between devices - Horrible phone sound quality - barely legible - Not suitable for use with watching video. These wireless earbuds connect between the right earbud and the phone via Bluetooth and then use a secondary wireless connection to left earbud. Because of these two wireless hops, the lag between the audio signal generated from the phone to the sound out of the earbuds is ~1/4 of a second. Because of this delay, video and audio on a phone or tablet will be out of sync. Also, the delay is too much to handle on a phone call, which is why phone calls only play from the right ear bud. Conclusion: If you want good sound for audio only for working out, these are a good solution. If you want high quality earbuds for all-around use, steer clear.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent Sound.

    Posted
    TDTX
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I own several Bose headphones. My latest one is the QC35. Love the Bose sound, and noise cancelling. But for my everyday work and walk with my wife, I need good earbuds that I don't have to take it off for the conversation. I consider between Soundsport (SP) wireless and free. SP wireless plus a charging case is the same price as the SP free. This pushes me toward SP free. The 3 concerns I had are losing sync, lagging and size. Losing sync between earbuds is my biggest concern. Lagging is not major since I don't intent to watch video with this. Finally, I decide to take a chance with SP free after checking Best Buy return policy. :-) My first impression with this SP free is it sounds amazing, especially for the earbuds. It is bigger that my Jam Ultra. It sticks out of my ear but not a lot, and it feels more comfortable than the Jam. During my 3 days use, I don't have sync lost issue. Actually, I can make it loose sync sometimes by put my fingers on the bottom of the 2 earbuds. @@@@@@@@ When operate the buttons, my thumbs are on the bottom side while my forefingers are on the buttons on the top. @@@@@@@ Anyway, buttons are hard to push. It is much easier to control music using my apple watch or iphone. I found no lagging issue while watching video on iphone or ipad. But once I watch video on windows, it lags big time. Did I say the sound is excellent. At first I use the medium silicone tips, it sounds great but the bass is a little lite. The manual suggests to try all 3 sizes. So I did it and find out that the large size tips seal better and improve the bass quite a lot. I still can carry conversation without taking it off. Blue Soundsport Free. Manufactured in 12/2017. Firmware version 1.3.2 (The truth is with all the luck I have so far, I am scared to upgrade the firmware to the latest one :-) ).

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good for music and calls

    Posted
    BrianL
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The audio is good quality and the voice quality is good as well for calls. Using them for calls is only the right ear while music is both ears. Using them with some devices like laptops can be harder, you might have to update some settings as they will register as headphones and/or headsets for calls. Video sync issues can also be a problem though not always. Overall they are great and lack of wires is fantastic. They are comfortable to wear and keep a good charge. If you are looking for something for calls and music they are definitely a good choice. If you want something that you'll use watching videos or listening to audio from a laptop, cutting the wire could be harder depending on your configuration.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst product Bose has released yet! Garbage

    Posted
    bostonrecruiter
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Why I keep going back to Bose products I have no idea. Bought these to replace Apple Air Pods because they would not stay in my ears. I wanted to use to work out on my Peloton bike. These do stay in the ear but they take almost 2 hours to update with new firmware and they will not sync or stay connected to a Peloton Bike which uses an Android platform tablet. The app Bose uses Connect is horrible and these look stupid in your ear almost like you are wearing a headset. The design of these is horrible and the volume buttons and bluetooth sync button are hard to press and in the wrong spots. All around these are one of the worst products to come out of Bose in years similar to the Sound Touch products that I returned. Do not buy these, you will be wasting your time and money! I returned immediately.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, thank you for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're sorry to hear that the headphones didn't work out for you, but certainly appreciate you taking the time to try them out and share your feedback! Have a great day! Josselyn - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    High expectations, greater dissappointment

    Posted
    Ankit
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First of, let me start of by saying I love the quality of the sound that these earphones offer. Its really very good. But that is also the problem with these earphone, its preset audio is built for a specific audience in mind. If you are not a bass head and give more emphases on mids and lows, you will be left, if not disappointed, then asking for more. But it is not even the reason why I give this pair with such a low rating. Its a giant and clunky mess when it comes to packing this pair. It is a sore to your eyes with its evident bulge in your pocket. The pairing is a mess. The two earphones loose sync a lot and that is very disorienting. Specially because the preset audio it prefers is quite nauseating when this de-sync happens. Also, in the world where bluetooth 5.0 exists, the package that I received was disappointing. Overall, I hate to repeat myself but I was disappointed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointing

    Posted
    Dock
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Was really excited when I finally purchased these Bose Soundsport Free Wireless headphones. I had been wanting them for a long time and had always thought that Bose produced top of the line products. Well, evidently I was wrong. They were greatly disappointing....from the very beginning I had trouble getting one of the earbuds to work at all. Turns out they weren't syncing. Did the suggested troubleshooting provided on the Bose website (the fact this is available tells me this is a known issue to the company). The suggestions in some cases worked but it was very temperamental, unreliable, and way too time consuming. Also tried some online troubleshooting and that wasn't much more help outside of confirming that I wasn't alone when it comes to this issue. In the instances I was able to get them to sync the quality of the sound was way lower than expected and tended to be glitchy - the nondominant earbud would randomly lose connection, sometimes dependent upon movement and sometimes not. I eventually decided to return them. With how expensive they were, I would expect them to work perfectly. Just simply disappointing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Dock,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are sorry to hear about the connectivity issues you ran into with them and can understand how disappointing that can be. Many times an audio drop out can occur when there is interference between the source device and headphones. Moving to another location or re-pairing the devices can help resolve some of these issues like rebooting a computer.

      We see that you have decided to return them but hope in the future you will give us another chance! We will certainly pass this information along to the product team, but if you have further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out.

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bose is going downhill

    Posted
    Earpiece
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this product to replace my AirPods. After a week of struggling to push the function buttons on this, and trying to get the earbuds to work together. The Bose (supposedly premier sound product) decided to just start screaming random sounds and noises in my ears. When your wearing a helmet you are stuck hearing this until you can pull over and rip them out of your ear. Getting them to sync again was impossible. I probably have ear damage from these noises stuck in my ear, and am seriously disappointed in Bose. I have always held them in high regard but they disappointed me with there mini Bluetooth sound bar which won't charge after one year. I won't be buying anything from Bose again. Other companies are surpassing there reliability and sound quality. Best Buy wouldn't let me return my AirPods because apple is strict after two weeks return policy. So I Started using them again and have found that they have a very impressive recharge rate and I don't have any issues other than sound volume/quality which overall is ok. They are comfortable, much more than the Bose buds that give you a headache after a few hours because they are so tight. The AirPods aren't tight/ no headaches and only fall out when you take your shirt off while working or working out. I had one of the AirPods fall in a toilet and yes I put it back in my ear after rinsing it off. It still works fine months later. And I have no rashes.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello,

      Thanks for providing your experience of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are sorry to hear about your experience and it concerns us that you felt some pain and discomfort. We take these types of concerns seriously. Please feel free to contact us directly so we may take a closer look.

      Contact info: https://bose.life/2LXQA9c

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    I really wanted to love, would of settled for like

    Posted
    TwistedTech
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    There are a few things I really like about these headphones. Important features like good sound, good fit, case with a rechargeable battery to keep the headphones always ready. The look, feel and finish of the product is great. But ultimately what I require from my headphones is good consistent sound. I have had these headphone for about 2 weeks and after updates, changing settings, and doing a little testing I am done with being disgusted with the lack of consistent performance and they are being returned. The audio does not sync with video and both headphones will not stay connected. I have a LGV30, Samsung Galaxy 7 Edge, a Moto X Pure, Ipad, and One Plus 3. I also tried a friends Iphone X. I was more concerned with the headphone audio cutting out than the video syncing so did not test the video syncing with each device. No matter if I was at the gym, walking around, or sitting at a desk motionless, the left headphone would continually cut out, maybe pop back in, or sync back up when I hit the button and then lose connectivity seconds later. The physical environment, electronic devices, or number of wireless devices in the area did not seem to make much difference. A friend of mine has the same set and had far fewer drops until last night at the gym. Previously he said he could live with the drops he did have because he liked them so much. Perhaps I have a bad unit but with my friends unit recently acting up I think I will not try to find out by getting a replacement. I was really looking forward to these headphones. I like the way they lock into place in your ears, they are comfortable, and they were the first Bose item I have purchased despite eyeing their equipment for years. I hope they solve this issue with future iterations.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi TwistedTech,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the SoundSport Frees. We’ve heard from some customers who are experiencing audio synchronization delays while watching videos. We know truly wireless headphones are subject to some latency between audio and video, but the feedback we’ve received indicated the product wasn’t performing how we expected.

      A SoundSport Free software update is now available to improve audio video synchronization for most customers and use situations. You can download the new software wirelessly through the Bose Connect app or by visiting btu.bose.com on your computer. This update will benefit customers with Bluetooth devices that fully support Audio Video Distribution Transport Protocol (AVDTP) version 1.3 or later. We have confirmed Apple iPhones and iPads use this protocol and we continue to evaluate other popular Bluetooth devices. Audio video synchronization may also vary depending on the mobile app being viewed (e.g. Netflix, YouTube). We encourage customers to use the most recent software for your mobile apps, Bluetooth devices and Bose headphones.

      We understand that you will be returning your product but wanted to let you know that we're always here to help if you need anything. If you have any questions or concerns, we encourage you to contact us directly at http://bose.life/2qwENj4. Just select your country and scroll down to where you see "contact us".

      Warmest regards,
      Shiloh - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Bose fan...BUT

    Posted
    DoinMyBest
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I love Bose sound and overall quality build. I've never had more than minor issues with function and quality. My previous daily use of earbuds was the Bose Soundsport Wireless (not the free). I didn't like the charging system and the cord caused issues on occasion. Knowing the sound quality and fit worked for me (it's different for everyone depending on their ears) I chose to purchase the Bose Soundsport FREE wireless earbuds. The size is a minor issue and to some, I might look goofy wearing them, I can let that slide. What irritates me the most is the lag when I watched YouTube videos on the YouTube app. It's a minor 1-second delay, but enough to cause the video to be unwatchable. I returned them and purchased the Jabra Elites, but they had the same lag issue and those didn't stay in my ear. Ultimately, because of the amazing sound quality and fit, these earbuds are best for me and my needs, so I returned the Jabras and purchased the Bose again. My hope is that Bose/YouTube figure out a solution to the audio sync issue. For the money and the popularity of YouTube, you would think the two companies could come up with a solution. I would otherwise give these 5 stars. My only other option was going to be the new Apple Airpods, but I want something that will stay in my ear and offer amazing sound. The idea of losing them on the subway or listening to a great song with subpar sound is not ideal. Keep up the good work Bose when it comes to sound quality and fit. You have fans and they will stay, but the audio sync issue has to be fixed.

    I would recommend this to a friend