Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Bose® - SoundSport® Free wireless headphones - Blue-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 5158 reviews

86%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.9 out of 5 stars with 20 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 180 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Majorly Disappointed!!!

    Posted
    ChadMaxwell
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Despite buying all my electronics at BestBuy and being an Elite Member, I have never took time to review a product, but this was so aggravating I had to let the word out! Between my wife and I, we have owned at least a half dozen pairs of Bluetooth headphones in the past few years (Beats2, Jaybirds, Motorola, etc), and I was very excited to purchase some new and hopefully improved models this week. I purchased my wife the Bose SoundSport $129.99, and I decided to upgrade to the "truly wireless" Bose Soundsport Wireless $249.99, to eliminate wires once and for all. I did read a few reviews, but with an overall rating of 4.1, I didn't lend as much weight as I should have to the fewer negative reviews. I used the head phones at home on Tuesday and they sounded really good, and I was very excited for my first run with them. My wife and I left the house and I didn't make it 30 yards before the LEFT headphone began to cut in and out. I stopped (which stinks to do on your run), and fooled with them, hitting the reconnect button, etc, but the problem persisted for the entire jog. DROVE ME CRAZY, especially since my wife's headphones worked flawlessly, at half the cost! The following day, I went back to BB and exchanged the headphones for the same model, thinking it was just an out of box defective pair. Took another jog that afternoon and the exact same problem came up. I unpaired from my phone and paired the headphones to my Samsung Gear S3 watch, which I have a jogging playlist stored on, and it did the same thing. It was so bad, that I ended up putting the left earpiece in my pocket, and listened to the right one, however, I may as well have been listening to my phones speaker in my pocket, because having only one earpiece in, the background noise smoothers out the remaining speaker. I got back home and got online and saw many other people had reported this same issue in their review of the product, and saw that Bose had replied to their negative review about calling into them for trouble shooting, so I took that advise. I talked to Bose and they directed me to a website to update the software, which I find annoying, that a new pair out of the box requires new software, but whatever will remedy this issue, I will try. This morning I ran again and didn't make it 20 yards and the same issue, Left earpieces loses connection, over and over again. I turned back around and grabbed my wife's Bose SoundSport headphones, paired them to my watch and they worked great! I immediately returned the "truly wireless" Bose headphones and got the same model I bought for my wife. WHAT A LET DOWN! $129 headphones completely outperforming the top of the line Bose technology, that are more than twice the cost! Don't waste your money on this tech! These are second year headphones, but CLEARLY Bose does not have all the bugs worked out!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Chad, thank you very much for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're very sorry to hear about your experience, and appreciate you taking the time to try them out, troubleshoot, and share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the SoundSport wireless headphones, and look forward to future improvements to better your overall experience with Bose. Josselyn - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Connectivity issues are a deal breaker

    Posted
    Cory
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Received these as a gift on Christmas 2018, I am returning them today Jan 5th 2019. Since it is against the review guidelines to share URL’s in a review I did not provide the link to 32 pages worth of people complaining about what I write below on the Bose forum, so I have summed it up below. Bose closed that thread because of “no new information”, so essentially there is not a fix. If anyone is curious (or bored) you can easily find this by searching Bose Soundsport Free Left Headphone Drops. So the purpose of this review is to save others the annoyance and top dollar for a disappointing product. They pair to my iPhone with no issue but staying connected has proven to be impossible. Left bud cuts out/disconnects constantly, and when I say constantly I mean constantly. Sometimes it reconnects on its own, sometimes I have to “wake it up” by pressing the button on the bud to reconnect it. Sometimes both buds disconnect and the music just stops, this is problematic when the entire purpose of getting these is centered around an active lifestyle and using them while working out/biking/running. Yes I have unpaired/forgotten the buds on my phone and repaired, attempted firmware updates (more on that further down) and used them in various environments to rule out “interference”, none of which worked. The second issue is the left bud periodically emits a loud buzzing noise, which can only be resolved by turning them off and back on or by putting them back in the charging case. Which does me no good when I do not have the case with me. Yes I am aware of the firmware updates that have been released to attempt to resolve some issues. From my experience these take 45min-1hr to try to download. I say try because they do not stay connected long enough to complete the firmware transfer. Before anyone claims interference or a range issue, the buds and my iPhone are sitting on the counter practically touching each other and still fail to properly tranfer the updates so this would seem absurd to me. In summary, these are trash. Either the truly wireless technology is not where it needs to be yet or Bose simply missed the mark and is incapable of resolving. So with that I will be purchasing a significantly cheaper pair of buds.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Love Bose products, this missed big time!

    Posted
    PeterLeman
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have no less that 20 Bose products in my home and have spent literally tens of thousands of dollars on their products over the past few years. I’m not an audiophile or something like that, but appreciate have a quality sound system from a premium brand. I purchased these headphones with high anticipation. Finally, I could cut the cord and workout without the fear of accidentally yanking out the headphones on a piece of equipment. While it was not advertised as such, I just assumed that these would have some type of noise cancelling. Unfortunately, this set does not have that function. I had hoped that the eartips would provide some blockage, but sadly they don’t. Sound quality is average to poor compared to wired Bose earbuds. I fly frequently and was hopeful that these would be a compact alternative to my over ear Bose headphones, but I had to keep volume at the maximum level to hear anything while on the plane. After one flight, my ears were ringing / hurt from just trying to play a movie. Secondly, the pair come with a pretty cool charging case (original selling point for me), but it only gives about 2 charges. With earbuds that with a weak battery life already, I found that I could not make it through one full day of use without having to physically charge the case. Lastly, the wireless is convienient, but needs to have no barrier, otherwise they lose connectivity with each other. As an example, I cupped my hand around one of my ears and lost complete connectivity, forcing me to put them back in the case to re-sync. To me, the positive reviews have not done nearly enough practical field testing for a true active user, as they all fail to capture these shortcomings. I’m not upset with my purchase - and will be one of the first to try new products (even if prices at a premium), but this product is significantly lacking and i would not recommend. Stick with the wired headphones or the over ear noise cancellation headphones.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Peter, thank you for sharing your review of our SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We appreciate your feedback in regards to noise cancellation. Although these headphones weren't engineered to perform as noise cancellation headphones, we certainly appreciate the feedback. Ideas/feedback like this help us to continuously improve upon our products in the future! We are also concerned about the connection issues you are experiencing. Please contact our Support team so that we may further assist you. We can be reached at 1-800-379-2073 and are available 9am-9pm M-F, EST. Thanks again for your review, and have a great day! Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible Bluetooth; pairing and connection issues

    Posted
    TCooks

    Initial Review: Sound Quality - So far, I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE the sound quality. I'm not an audiophile, so that's all I have to say about that. lol. Fit and Comfort - The ear pieces come in 3 sizes, so overall the fit is fantastic. I have small ears, and the small earbuds fit well. The comfort over a long period of time is ... as good as any other in ear models. My ears get a bit tired of them after 3-4 hours, but that would happen with any earbuds. Bluetooth Pairing - They pair fine with my iphone - fast and easy - however ... The reason I gave these 4 stars instead of 5 stars is that they don't want to pair with my Samsung LED 2160 p Smart 4k UHD TV, Model # UN50MU6300FXZA. The TV pairs well with my other bluetooth speakers, so I'm not sure what the problem is. I'm going to work on that issue this weekend as I primary got these to pair with that TV which is in my exercise room. I want to run on the treadmill while watching that TV without the entire house and neighborhood being bothered by the TV noise. Update: I cannot get them to pair with my Samsung TV. The TV pairs easily with all of my other bluetooth devices. I got it to finally pair with my Sony TV, but the sound lag was horrible! It never did pair with my Samsung TV, and I could put the buds right next to the TV and it still wouldn't pair. I got these SOLELY to be paired with my Samsung TV in my exercise room. I bought a cheap pair of bluetooth earbudsthat paired with my TV easily and quickly, but don't sound great. I'm so disgusted with the pairing and connection issues of these Bose earbuds. Update 5/25/18: They finally paired and connected to my Samsung TV! Why I took away one star: There is a lag in the sound when connected to the TV; they don't sync correctly. The lips moving don't match up with the sound I receive. Update 6/5/18: I updated too soon before. They did pair and connect a total of 2 times, but then suddenly unpaired and would not pair with my TV again. I am completely frustrated. I have tried everything.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello TCooks,

      Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy the audio quality, performance, and comfort.

      However, we are sorry to hear about your experience with the connection issue and the delay in audio-video synchronization. There are a few troubleshooting steps we can provide so that you may enjoy your headphones.

      We recommend clearing the Bluetooth device list on the headphones. To do so, you will need to press and hold the Bluetooth button down until you hear "Bluetooth device list cleared". After this, you will need to remove the headphones from the paired list on your device.

      Also, we recommend updating the firmware of the headphones using the Bose Connect App or online firmware updater. We have released firmware that improves audio-video synchronization on devices that support Bluetooth AVDTP Protocol 1.3 or later. Audio-video synchronization may also depend on the app or device being viewed.

      If you should need further assistance, we encourage you to reach out to our Support team. Contact information can be found on the Bose website under the Support page.

      We thank you again for your interest in our Bose products.

      Take care,

      Ashley - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    I really wanted to love, would of settled for like

    Posted
    TwistedTech
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    There are a few things I really like about these headphones. Important features like good sound, good fit, case with a rechargeable battery to keep the headphones always ready. The look, feel and finish of the product is great. But ultimately what I require from my headphones is good consistent sound. I have had these headphone for about 2 weeks and after updates, changing settings, and doing a little testing I am done with being disgusted with the lack of consistent performance and they are being returned. The audio does not sync with video and both headphones will not stay connected. I have a LGV30, Samsung Galaxy 7 Edge, a Moto X Pure, Ipad, and One Plus 3. I also tried a friends Iphone X. I was more concerned with the headphone audio cutting out than the video syncing so did not test the video syncing with each device. No matter if I was at the gym, walking around, or sitting at a desk motionless, the left headphone would continually cut out, maybe pop back in, or sync back up when I hit the button and then lose connectivity seconds later. The physical environment, electronic devices, or number of wireless devices in the area did not seem to make much difference. A friend of mine has the same set and had far fewer drops until last night at the gym. Previously he said he could live with the drops he did have because he liked them so much. Perhaps I have a bad unit but with my friends unit recently acting up I think I will not try to find out by getting a replacement. I was really looking forward to these headphones. I like the way they lock into place in your ears, they are comfortable, and they were the first Bose item I have purchased despite eyeing their equipment for years. I hope they solve this issue with future iterations.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi TwistedTech,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the SoundSport Frees. We’ve heard from some customers who are experiencing audio synchronization delays while watching videos. We know truly wireless headphones are subject to some latency between audio and video, but the feedback we’ve received indicated the product wasn’t performing how we expected.

      A SoundSport Free software update is now available to improve audio video synchronization for most customers and use situations. You can download the new software wirelessly through the Bose Connect app or by visiting btu.bose.com on your computer. This update will benefit customers with Bluetooth devices that fully support Audio Video Distribution Transport Protocol (AVDTP) version 1.3 or later. We have confirmed Apple iPhones and iPads use this protocol and we continue to evaluate other popular Bluetooth devices. Audio video synchronization may also vary depending on the mobile app being viewed (e.g. Netflix, YouTube). We encourage customers to use the most recent software for your mobile apps, Bluetooth devices and Bose headphones.

      We understand that you will be returning your product but wanted to let you know that we're always here to help if you need anything. If you have any questions or concerns, we encourage you to contact us directly at http://bose.life/2qwENj4. Just select your country and scroll down to where you see "contact us".

      Warmest regards,
      Shiloh - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Sound is good when they work

    Posted
    DMac
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I don’t write a lot of reviews but the poor performance I’ve experienced with my last two Bose products has turned me off of the company. The sound with the Sound Sport Wireless Earbuds is great when they work. The problem is that they rarely work. If you look at reviews and comments on the Bose forum you will see that these earbuds suffer from several issues and I have been experiencing both of them (unfortunately I didn’t read those until after I had bought a pair myself). I bought these specifically to use while working out and riding my Peloton. When paired with my phone for music or the Peloton I frequently lose sound in the left bud. My understanding is that only the right bud connects to the paired device via bluetooth and then transmits the signal wirelessly to the left one. Often times the two lose that connection. I’ve updated the firmware and totally unpaired and repaired the device only to have them work for one or two workouts and then start dropping out. This is a known issue that a number of people have been experiencing and it seems like Bose is not able to find a solution. The second problem comes with pairing with the Peloton or other devices with streaming video. There is an annoying delay between the video and the sound. I don’t know the cause but have seen it mentioned in other reviews as well. This also occurs with the Peloton, iPhone X and new iPad Pro. I don’t know if these issues can be corrected with firmware or if it is a design flaw. At this point I cannot reccomend these earbuds until such a time that Bose corrects the problems.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, DMac. Thank you for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. There is generally a slight delay with Bluetooth audio which can be noticeable with video sources. This can differ between apps/sources, though the delay may be more apparent with the SoundSport Free due to the true wireless technology. Additionally, we suggest that you place your mobile device on or near your right side when the headphones are in use. The Bluetooth signal is first processed by the right earbud which is then streamed to the left. If there is any interference with the Bluetooth signal, the left ear will drop out first. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Have a great day! Best Regards, Greg - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worked for 3 Months

    Posted
    AustinMarc
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I absolutely loved this product... Until it died after 3 months of use. I'm the person that reads the bad reviews and thinks, "that won't happen to me". But... yes this product failed me. Sound quality is what you'd expect from Bose. Flawless operation and very comfortable. I used them every day for long distance running and working out. YouTube videos presented a noticeable delay between video and audio. After 3 months the left bud stopped connecting. I exhausted all troubleshooting steps. I am going to have to make a warranty claim now and who knows how long that will take. This product is too expensive to be unreliable. A google search will tell you that my issue is common. If these were reliable I'd give them 5 stars because they *were* awesome. I'm rating one star because Bose has not resolved this common problem. Again, too expensive to be unreliable. I expect more from Bose than just the typical response apology. I am disappointed. This isn't my first bad experience with a Bose product. I had the Bose Soundsport (wireless but the two buds are wired together). The rubber around the inline controller between the buds, and the rubber around the connect button on one of the buds, came apart after 9 months. I'm was disappointed then, now I am just irritated by the pattern of poor quality. These two experiences have encouraged me to stop buying their products.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello AustinMarc,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones, and glad to hear you enjoyed the sound quality and comfort.

      We're very sorry to hear about the multiple issues you had, however. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have with any of our products. We see that you reached out to us for service already and we hope to get you back to enjoying your headphones very soon.

      We appreciate that you shared your experience with us as we continue to find ways to improve our products. If you need any assistance, you may also reach out to us on our Community:
      https://community.bose.com/

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bose is going downhill

    Posted
    Earpiece
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this product to replace my AirPods. After a week of struggling to push the function buttons on this, and trying to get the earbuds to work together. The Bose (supposedly premier sound product) decided to just start screaming random sounds and noises in my ears. When your wearing a helmet you are stuck hearing this until you can pull over and rip them out of your ear. Getting them to sync again was impossible. I probably have ear damage from these noises stuck in my ear, and am seriously disappointed in Bose. I have always held them in high regard but they disappointed me with there mini Bluetooth sound bar which won’t charge after one year. I won’t be buying anything from Bose again. Other companies are surpassing there reliability and sound quality. Best Buy wouldn’t let me return my AirPods because apple is strict after two weeks return policy. So i Started using them again and have found that they have a very impressive recharge rate and I don’t have any issues other than sound volume/quality which overall is ok. They are comfortable, much more than the Bose buds that give you a headache after a few hours because they are so tight. The AirPods aren’t tight/ no headaches and only fall out when you take your shirt off while working or working out. I had one of the AirPods fall in a toilet and yes I put it back in my ear after rinsing it off. It still works fine months later. And I have no rashes.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello,

      Thanks for providing your experience of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are sorry to hear about your experience and it concerns us that you felt some pain and discomfort. We take these types of concerns seriously. Please feel free to contact us directly so we may take a closer look.

      Contact info: https://bose.life/2LXQA9c

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Glaring issue overlooked by support

    Posted
    peterp
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I, and many other people judging by Bose online community response, have a glaring issue with the earbuds. Thus far the issue has been completely overlooked by Bose support. In fact, the response given has been the same "working as designed, limitation of the technology" canned response given for another issue that was overlooked until engineering recently found the cause and a fix that will be available in mid-December. The issue I'm experiencing isn't the typical interference experienced by all bluetooth devices (although the Soundsport Free does seem to be much more susceptible to interference than other true wireless earbuds I've tested). The issue is the left earbud completely loses connection to the right earbud and doesn't attempt to reconnect. If you look in the Bose Connect app when this occurs, you see the left earbud greyed out. The only way to get the left earbud to connect again is to either hard reset them by putting them back in the case, or clear the device list and start the connection from scratch. This is really disappointing because everything else about the earbuds is awesome, the sound is far superior to any other earbud I've tested and the fit and comfort level are too. However, the continuous disconnects that require manual intervention render these earbuds unusable and impractical to use while working out. PLEASE take this issue into consideration. I REALLY want to love these earbuds.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello. Thanks for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are happy you love the way they sound. We're concerned to hear about the connectivity issues you've experienced and would love the opportunity to address this concern with you directly. So that we can best work with you to find a resolution, we recommend contacting us directly by phone. Please give us a call at 1-800-379-2073. We are open Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 8 PM EST. Thank you! Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Wait for version 2?

    Posted
    LarryG
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Unfortunately the Bose soundsport free wireless did not make it past 3 runs. My first run they worked well, really no music cutout. 2nd run the music cutout a lot and would keep shutting off. Now on my second run I took the left earbud out and lightly held it between two fingers so I could have a conversation during my run - I don’t think these were meant to do that - so these problems were likely self inflicted. My third run was a disaster where music would continuously cut out and during my last mile the left ear piece had nothing but static and I just had to remove them from my ears and put them in my pocket. Three runs, approx 12 miles and these failed to perform. My Bose free wireless were connected to my iPhone6S which I had in my racebelt for hands free running. The free wireless buds were comfortable and never felt like they were going to fall out but that does not matter too much when you cannot simply enjoy your music on your run. Returned within 5 Days - very disappointing. I was hoping these would work well as I do like my Bose soundsport wired headset and noise cancelling in-ear wired headsets. Will have to wait to see if a version 2 will come out and try again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Larry, thank you for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're sorry to hear that the headphones didn't work out for you, but certainly appreciate you taking the time to try it out and share your feedback! Have a great day! Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Half baked

    Posted
    emeisenb

    i bought my first pair of these headphones around Christmas time 2018, and was super excited to have them. I just upgraded to iphone 8 and it doesn't have a headphone jack that worked with my wired headphones, so after reading a number of reviews and based on past experience with Bose products, i purchased these. I typically use these at the gym lifting weights and running outside. The good: They say firmly in my ears and have never fallen out. The quality of sound is awesome. I don't really notice the weight and don't mind they stick out a little bit. The bad: when running outside, the left ear bud seems to loose connection to the right ear bud. This is super annoying when out on a long run and the sound is going in and out of one ear, over and over, almost with every other step. This is my second pair of these earbuds. I returned the first pair thinking it was that pair, but the new pair is even worse. I've owned Bose speakers since 1989 with a set of 601's, and love their speakers. Regretfully, i can't say that about these. I use a Garmin watch with a heart rate monitor, and iphone 8 for running. The earbuds are on software version 1.4.5. I plan on returning these in the very near future. If you plan on using these for running, strongly recommend avoiding these until this bug is ironed out. For the price, I expect better. Sorry Bose.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hey Emeisenb, we appreciate your feedback on the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the sound quality and fit of these headphones; we do apologize that they did not meet your expectations fully. Thank you again for you review and we value your feedback on the SoundSport Free headphones. Sam - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointing

    Posted
    Dock
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Was really excited when I finally purchased these Bose Soundsport Free Wireless headphones. I had been wanting them for a long time and had always thought that Bose produced top of the line products. Well, evidently I was wrong. They were greatly disappointing....from the very beginning I had trouble getting one of the earbuds to work at all. Turns out they weren't syncing. Did the suggested troubleshooting provided on the Bose website (the fact this is available tells me this is a known issue to the company). The suggestions in some cases worked but it was very temperamental, unreliable, and way too time consuming. Also tried some online troubleshooting and that wasn't much more help outside of confirming that I was not alone when it comes to this issue. In the instances I was able to get them to sync the quality of the sound was way lower than expected and tended to be glitchy - the nondominant earbud would randomly lose connection, sometimes dependent upon movement and sometimes not. I eventually decided to return them. With how expensive they were, I would expect them to work perfectly. Just simply disappointing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Dock,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We are sorry to hear about the connectivity issues you ran into with them and can understand how disappointing that can be. Many times an audio drop out can occur when there is interference between the source device and headphones. Moving to another location or re-pairing the devices can help resolve some of these issues like rebooting a computer.

      We see that you have decided to return them but hope in the future you will give us another chance! We will certainly pass this information along to the product team, but if you have further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out.

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Save your money and save some frustration.

    Posted
    Herkav8r
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    You might be like me and believe Bose would never put out a bad product. Well, that's far from the truth. Just Google bose soundsport free left ear bud and see the results. I wish I had. The Bluetooth connection is not stable on any of my devices. It drops in and out depending on the position of my head. If I put my phone in my left pocket forget about the headset working. Treadmill? Better keep that head locked in the forward position. Move your head left or right and good bye sound. Seriously, they are junk. Do a Google search. My review will be backed up by countless other people that got taken. Also, why do they stay on when you put them in their case. You get a phone call and the ear buds pick up the call. Ugh, poor product testing. On the bright side, when they work, they do sound great.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello. Thanks for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're concerned to hear about the connectivity issues you've experienced, and would love the opportunity to address this concern with you directly. So that we can best work with you to find a resolution, we recommend contacting us directly by phone. Please give us a call at 1-800-379-2073. We are open Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 8 PM EST. Thank you! Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible Sound Delay

    Posted
    smalls
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Great sound but get 1 star since you cant go any lower. I have a pair of Zivigo airbuds and somehow they connect better and have no delay with video. Watching video with the Bose will make you go crazy. Its a bit sad that my $30 pair from 2 or 3 years ago is better? I should have believed the reviews when they said watching video was unbearable. And now that i look its saddening that Bose responds with "bluetooth devices will experience delays" but somehow $30 versions figured it out. The fastest return ive ever done. If you only listen to music they may be for you, if your brain processes video 2 secs slower than sound these are definitely viable. I personally had a better experience with these earbuds when the video was muted. A bit frustrating trying to read lips but less triggering than the old Godzilla audio. hopefully Bose can get this figured out soon as it appears to be lingering for well over a year now.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, Smalls. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're sorry to hear that they have not lived up to your expectations. The SoundSport Free wireless headphones are specifically designed for music audio playback. When used for video viewing purposes, the quality of the experience, specifically, synchronization between audio and video, may be compromised. Truly wireless headphones are subject to some latency between audio and video. This can vary based on the device, operating system, apps, cloud-based content, and network infrastructure. We were able to lessen the effect with software. However, because the issue is very source and app specific, it makes complete elimination difficult. We will continue to partner with select app developers to improve these experiences. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to enhance our customers listening experiences. Though we see that you have returned them, we hope that you'd be willing to give our products another chance in the future. Kind regards. Ashley - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Let Down

    Posted
    JosephLC

    Had to trade in my Icon X2018 due to charging issues. So I spent more on these Bose true wireless buds. Off the bat I loved the fit despite being huge compared to the I-"cons" X's. The sound was louder and had depth which was awesome. Unfortunately, for the 250+ warranty I spent was a waste of $. The left earbud relies on the right and consistently looses connection. I only use these for the gym and having only one earbud operational has become annoying mid set. Also, the sound when your on a call is terrible and once again you have to rely on the right earbud. I keep these earbuds fully charged, but after about 40 mins of use the left earbuds drops out completely and the right gives me a notification indicating it will soon follow. And no they wont reset afterwards. The Bose app just reads, "Unable to connect." Bose products are amazing I just think they should of rethought their design and performance on these. So far with two "True Wireless" earbuds under my belt I think folks should save themselves the trouble and stick with the more cost effective plain semi-wireless counterparts. I know I am gonna save money plugging back into the matrix with my old sony headphones.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not Compatible With or Supported On Windows

    Posted
    WellSys

    Though not indicated on the packaging or in the documentation, Bose does not support Bose Free Soundsports on Windows or computers in general, as reflected in my experience, in my telephone conversation with Bose phone support, and in this excerpt of a post on the Bose forum quoting Bose support: ". . . the headphones you have are something that is mainly for people who are using the headphones on the go and not for computers. I believe that we provided the troubleshooting steps you need. There is no problem with the headphones, the purpose of this product is to deliver a high-quality audio experience for workouts and that is how the product got its name SoundSport, we sold them for Sports and not for Computers. Thank you for contacting Bose Corporation. Alex Product and Technical Support Team ------------------------------------------------- Bose Corporation" In my case, in addition to not working with Windows, pairing the Bose Frees with my Windows computer disabled my other Bluetooth headphones which are, ironically, Bose (non-Free) SoundSports.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, WellSys,

      We're sorry for any confusion regarding the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. This model should be compatible with Windows computers that support the A2DP Bluetooth audio profile. Please ensure that your Bluetooth drivers are updated through your computer manufacturer's website. An external USB Bluetooth adapter may be needed to achieve the best connection to your PC. While the SoundSport Free is designed for exercise, we always want to make sure our customers enjoy our products on the devices of their choice. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to our support team again at 1-800-367-4008, M-F 9 AM to 9 PM Eastern. Thank you, and have a great day. Jesse - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not there yet...

    Posted
    Leo7123
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Pros I like the concept of earbuds charging in a case. Sound quality as good as sound sport wireless... Works with Apple Watch OS. Good for people who like to use only the right side to make calls in still environments. Cons Minimal interruptions every once in 30 mins. (1second gap) Only right side works when connected with windows. Lags when connected to my iPhone X. However when connected to Mac OS, it self-fixed its lag by forwarding the video. The right and left aren’t always connected, when taking calls only the right works. (Mic is also only on the right) Buttons are hard to press. (Risks failing) It has floppy feeling on ear, almost feels like will fall, but won’t unless you open your jaw and wobble your heads. In my honest opinion Airpods win the game by its firmware and uninterrupted right and left side connection. You can’t connect this one and another Bose headphone simultaneously on Bose connect app.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, Leo7123. Thank you for sharing your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones. We're happy that you are enjoying the great sound quality. There is generally a slight delay with Bluetooth audio which can be noticeable with video sources. This can differ between apps/sources, though the delay may be more apparent with the SoundSport Free due to the true wireless technology. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Have a great day! Best Regards, Greg - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    It's Bose, but its missing important parts

    Posted
    DCUndergraduateStudent
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Despite the reviews and seeing that an update was available to fix glitches, the Bose SoundSport Free Wireless are unfortunately not meeting the minimum requirements for a headphone. Even a slight glitch in video lag is noticeable. The headphone consistently reconnects to itself and really makes the price for this device steep (even at the new lower $199 price). I own the Bose QC 35 and love them, but sadly dislike the dysfunctional glitches in the Bose Soundsport Free Wireless. I tried calling customer care, but gave up realizing I just spent $200 dollars on headphones and was about to take time to fix their issue. I rather take that time to return the product. I was thinking of returning these for the Soundsport Wireless, but I wanted truly wireless headphones for the gym. I will just join the wave and get the apple earpods. In the next earpod design, can you make the overall design more sleek, add noise canceling, but most of all fix the connectivity and video syncing glitch fully. I love Bose's sound quality, but if the user experience is poor, the price is never worth it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    High expectations, greater dissappointment

    Posted
    Ankit
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First of, let me start of by saying I love the quality of the sound that these earphones offer. Its really very good. But that is also the problem with these earphone, its preset audio is built for a specific audience in mind. If you are not a bass head and give more emphases on mids and lows, you will be left, if not disappointed, then asking for more. But it is not even the reason why I give this pair with such a low rating. Its a giant and clunky mess when it comes to packing this pair. It is a sore to your eyes with its evident bulge in your pocket. The pairing is a mess. The two earphones loose sync a lot and that is very disorienting. Specially because the preset audio it prefers is quite nauseating when this de-sync happens. Also, in the world where bluetooth 5.0 exists, the package that I received was disappointing. Overall, I hate to repeat myself but i was disappointed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, worst connection around

    Posted
    SylwesterS
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The pros first: Great sound quality, excellent craftsmanship, and really won't fall out of your ears. In this case they are definitely on par with previous bose products but that's where it ends. The cons are all linked to 1 thing and it's been said by so many already, connection issues. The left ear so constantly cuts out and for no apparent reason no matter the task and even for me the bluetooth connection would get lost as well even when having the phone in my hand, not even in my pocket. Simply put unless you are sitting at a desk and using these I cannot recommend them at all. With better alternatives on the market that are half the price or less sometimes It's simply not worth the hassle. I'm going to keep an eye out for a fix in the future or maybe a redesign that can really fix the issues but until than stay away from these and spend your money elsewhere.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Thank you for your review of the SoundSport Free wireless headphones! We are sorry to hear about your experience, and we are happy to help. Please contact our Support team so that we may better assist you https://www.bose.com/en_us/contact_us.html. Josselyn - Bose Support Bose