Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Bose® - SoundSport® In-Ear Headphones (iOS) - Charcoal-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 4468 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 68 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not Buy! Run away from these headphones

    Posted
    Willrun

    Do not buy, especially if you're a runner! I would give zero stars if that was an option. I've owned 11 of these in the last 8 years, and most were covered under a warranty by Bose or an extended warranty from Best Buy. If you sweat when you work out, as most people do, the sweat will start to corrode the 3.5 jack, then the controls will stop functioning and the volume will begin to increase or decrease for no apparent reason. This has been an issue for years with these. I have also tried both wireless in ear headphones from Bose and my complaint with those is due to how much they stick out from your years, the buffeting from the wind around your ears in unbearable and annoying. Until Bose can design their wireless to function better I'll just keep replacing these under warranty every 4-6 months.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Willrun. Thank you for your review of the SoundSport In-Ear headphones. It certainly sounds like you have a lot of experience with these headphones! Thank you for providing your feedback, we appreciate it. Have a great day! Best Regards, Greg - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor build quality.

    Posted
    gk2018
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I am writing this as a fan of bose products, and have several at home from headphones to speakers. But i should have listened to some of the comments regarding poor quality and does not last long. I just bought it just about a month ago, and within 30 days, one of the speakers (left) giving very low sound. checked the earpieces and checked with multiple devices. Same issue. Now, i guess i am just out of the return window and will need to go though the hassle of submitting warranty claim. I did not expect this kind of poor quality from bose.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the money

    Posted
    eupher
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I was very disappointed in the quality of these headphones. I've always associated BOSE with high quality, but my experience with this particular set of earbuds leads me to believe that this may just be good marketing and not fact. As a professional musician, it is all about the audio. Yes, I knew this was low tier for their products, but I've honestly gotten better audio from dollar store purchases given to my kids. That's exactly where these went. My son won't even use them. Live up to your reputation please BOSE.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, Eupher. We thank you for taking the time to share your review of the SoundSport in-ear headphones. We're sorry to hear that they have not lived up to your expectations. We would like to provide you with some troubleshooting tips that will help you enjoy the headphones more. If the devices you are using the headphones with feature a case or sleeve, we suggest removing it. A case or sleeve may prevent the headphone connector from seating correctly in the device. Removing the case will allow a proper connection. Also, please be sure the headphones are being used with Apple devices. When connected to non-Apple devices, you may experience lower volume. We thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to astonish our customers with their music listening experiences. Warm regards. Ashley - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor sound, does not live up to it's name

    Posted
    EG5unit

    Don't fall for hype or the name brand! I purchased these for my wife as a Christmas stocking gift. She mainly uses them to workout. But she started complaining that the sound did not sound loud enough. I tried them on and she was right! I tested them on her phone, my phone, my iPad and result was the same, very very low poor quality. My cheap JVC headphones sound way better than these! Don't bother with these headphones, you will be very disappointed with the sound they produce, or lack thereof.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Average sound, poor quality, bust in 2 months

    Posted
    Sach
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have always loved Bose and have a series of speakers and docking stations and headphones. Tried these out, despite some mixed reviews. 2 months and the mic is erratic and now more frequent disturbance (snow sound) when the wire moves during a workout. Unable to use it. I’m traveling out of the country but will be turning these back for a replacement/refund. Just poor quality. I have a Panasonic pair that costs $ 15 and lasts about a year vs this $70 headset that runs 2 months. Terrible!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello there, Sach,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundSport In-Ear headphones, and we appreciate that you have been a long time fan of our Bose products! Sorry to hear about the experience you had, especially so soon. Please follow back up with us and your share your experience if you have chosen to replace them. If you any questions or concerns, you can also contact your local Bose technical support team. Contact information can be found located on the Bose website.

      Very best regards,

      Mohsin - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Earphones were not in packaging

    Posted
    Unhappy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I was very dissatisifed with this purchase since the earphones were not present in the packaging and Best Buy would not honor the purchase. I saw the cashier take the packaging out of the theft-proof case and all I can surmise is that someone along the way to that box had removed just the headphones. They were not in the box when we opened it at home. Customer Service at Best Buy would not do anything to make this purchase right and now I am out $160 (including the insurance which they would not refund). Not sure what course of action I will take but this is entirely unacceptable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Mediocre at best

    Posted
    Rockie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought these headphones for running and had high expectations because come on, it's Bose. The sound was just ok, it probably would've been better if I could get them to stay in my ears. These are easily the most uncomfortable earphones I've ever used, and I've owned some great ones with this style before. They might work with other people but for me the discomfort just made these into an uncomfortable experience as a whole. Defintely not for me and DEFINTELY not for running.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Follow up Review - Run away from these headphones!

    Posted
    WillRun

    DO NOT Purchase. They will last only a month or two before the 3.5 jack starts to corrode. I've owned 11 pairs, and almost all of those were replaced under warranty. The ones I purchased a month ago are now crap. Static in both ears, controls not working - the exact same issue for years. FIND ANOTHER BRAND! And Greg - From Bose Support, who commented on my previous post. Why don't you send this up to Bose to finally address and fix?

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Black Friday bust

    Posted
    Nattyboh1210
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased the ear phones hoping I would get some quality sound for it being Bose. I was totally wrong. I got these for $49 on Black Friday and original price is $99. Even if I paid the original price, the in-ear wired head phones should have a little punch in sound for it being Bose. I guess I was just paying for the name. I returned them and I will not wast my time on Bose again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi Nattyboh1210,

      Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of the SoundSport in-ear headphones. We are sorry to hear that it did not quite live up to your expectations. We see that you have decided to return them but if we can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bose product quality is completely downgraded

    Posted
    Gromit
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I used to have exact model of headset before, purchased couple of years before so I have compared both on this same music track and unfortunately I had to return the item, The quality is not better than any $10-$15 random headset. The orginal headsets were outstanding, Maybe they have changed the source and it is not original brand anymore... not sure. But save your time and money and don't buy this piece of ....

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor build quality

    Posted
    cellarguy

    As others have mentioned, the jack and wire are fragile. After a few weeks of use I somehow bent the jack. One earpiece no longer works, and the other is intermittent depending on its precise adjustment when plugged in. I actually quite liked the performance of both the headphones and the microphone, but given the price and fragility I don't think it makes sense to re-buy...

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not very durable for such a pricey item

    Posted
    JErome

    The sound quality and comfort were great while they lasted. Last week the right earphone suddenly stopped working - after using them maybe 20 times. Seems to be a problem with the jack. I have used them lightly and always stored them in the pouch provided with the purchase. Clearly, I expected more from such pricey headphones - I get more durability from the standard Apple headphones that cost a lot less.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Thank you for reaching out for help. We encourage you to speak directly with one of our product support specialists in order to get this resolved for you. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not working after 2 months

    Posted
    Usmdlin5

    Not working after two months. I contacted Bose support and they said to send them back and they will replace them It has been over two weeks and I still have not heard back from them. Bad customer service. Since then I have purchased Beats by Dre and am glad I did. So much better than Bose and also bought my wife a pair of Beats and she also switched from Bose. Don't buy these.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Sounded great while worked

    Posted
    AREACE
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I really wanted to like this newer model from my bose I left on a plane. The cord was a bit shorter than I wanted with my phone in my pocket and cables behind my back for a run. Ultimately the sound started cracklings after 1 week & couldn’t exchange to retry because other colors were not on sale for same price..boo. I just returned.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello AREACE, thank you for sharing your review of the SoundSport® in-ear headphones – Apple devices. We're sorry to hear that they didn't work out for you, but certainly appreciate you taking the time to try them out and share your feedback! Have a great day! Regards, Greg - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the $$$

    Posted
    GRod
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Only used a few times at the gym and already giving me problems. The volume goes up and by on it's own. I've tried it on different devices and it does the same thing. I used to be a big Bose fan, but have been having bad bad experiences with them. Also had to return the Wireless Bose Sound Sport, just got the replacement headphones in the mail.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Thank you for trying multiple devices to ensure that the issue with the volume and not your audio device. We have full confidence that you'll have a better experience with the replacement headphones and encourage you to contact us if you have any questions or concerns in the future. We're here to help. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM EST. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bose earbuds

    Posted
    Angel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    My son purchases these headphones with my money every year. Yes I said every year. He swears by them but obviously I dont because im the one buying these chincy things. If you want a good ear bud go out and buy yourself some earbuds from Germany. Forget about these because even with the warranty its a huge hassle. They sell you a warranty knowing the product is no good.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very good sound but very poor microphone

    Posted
    Tony
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Despite its name, the Soundsport headphones are not built for heavy exercise. The microphone is not waterproof (sweat-proof) and as a result I’ve had to repeatedly return the headphones. Buyer beware - if you sweat on the microphone it will stop working at some point. Would not recommend these to anyone who exercises.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    JESUS
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Very poor workmanship quality. Had to return two sets of these earbuds back to Bose. It appears that the controller housing unit is not moisture proof. After about a week of using each unit during workouts controls started failing and static noise made these unusable. Decided on Bluetooth jay bird x2 instead. Sound is not as full as Bose but atleast they are usable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Hello Jesus. Thank you for the review. The experience you have had with the SoundSport headphones is not one that we want our customers to have and is not common. We build our products to last and stand be hind them with our warranty. The SoundSport headphones are designed to stand up to use while exercising and are more durable as well as moisture/sweat resistant. If you ever have any questions about any Bose products, please do not hesitate to contact us at 800-380-4831. We are here to help. Bose

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Would not recommend for cardio

    Posted
    Josh
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Went through two pairs in less than a month combined. Same problem on both pairs. Controls on cord stopped working and would also malfunction. The sound would turn either all the way up or down completely on their own. The pause music/drop or answer call function would not work either. First Bose product I have ever purchased.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Used to be a great product

    Posted
    Marigold621
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    When these first came out they were great. Now they’ve cheapened the product and they stop working or break easily. 1st pair lasted 2 years. 2nd pair lasted 6 months luckily I bought the warranty and they were replaced but those stopped working after 3 months.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi Marigold621. thanks for taking the time to review this product. We are sorry to hear that you had to return so many pairs. We would recommend contacting your local support team for help. Here is a link you can use. https://bose.life/2qwENj4 . Click on your country, scroll down until you see "Contact Us." Regards, Tony - Bose Support Bose