Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Bose® - SoundSport® In-Ear Headphones (iOS) - Charcoal-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 4443 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 63 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    $15 Gas Station Headphones

    Posted
    TinyTurnips
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    To start off, I am not an Audiophile per say, however I do enjoy music and listen to music throughout the entire day, at any time it is reasonably accessible and won't interfere with what I am doing. Build Quality: Decent, although for a BOSE product I expected the SoundSport to be a little better than what I saw. Gaps in the "L" and "R" section of the cable where it connects to the earpiece, cable is light and appears as if it could easily rip,snag and break, or be torn off if it caught on something. Sound Quality: This is where I am having the hardest time picking an overall rating. I do not like the sound that these in-ear headphones produce. I’ve used them in conjunction with multiple devices and different equalizers and could not tune or produce a sound I enjoyed. Highs were so high they may just end up getting arrested for public intoxication. Lows and bass were unnoticeable, even when cranking equalizers to drown the speakers in a flood of BASS, they fail to produce deep sounds, while simultaneously blowing holes in your ear drum with tiny HIGH pitched sound bullets. Again, I am not an Audiophile, but come on. This is a BOSE product, a company who we all know used to lead in audio technology, but have failed to keep up with the literal hundreds of brands out there, who produce better, cheaper and cleaner devices. For $100 USD, there are MUCH better options out there. Jaybird is easily, without-a-doubt a much better option for very similar, or even cheaper prices, and they have an amazing Equalizing Application for your smartphone (free) with literally 1,000s of tuned and preset settings. To finish up, I saved the worst for last. Sound quality is so poor I have to compare them to low end (I’m talking Insignia Store Brand) bluetooth headphones. Actually, that would be insulting Insignia for making a quality product. Do not be fooled by the BOSE name, these are in my opinion just flat out, not good. I rate these as $15 dollar, gas-station headphones.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello, thank you for sharing your review of the SoundSport in-ear headphones. We're sorry to hear that the headphones didn't work out for you, but certainly appreciate you taking the time to try it out and share your feedback! Have a great day! Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Definite Bose quality sound. Durability so so.

    Posted
    Mike34
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I purchased these wired Bose in ear buds for a long trip from Honolulu to the Continental US, and didn't want to purchase a portable power source, or have to stop my sounds. The trip included 14 hours of flying and 18 hours of driving. The in ear sound quality was as expected. Lows were deep and rich, highs were crisp and even spoken voice was clear. If I were in a quiet library or home setting it would have been perfect. I chose Sound Sport expecting durability to stand up to Sport use, adequate noise reduction to play clearly in an outdoor or active setting. The built in clip was helpful and necessary because the thin fiberlike wires for connection really appeared ready to tear at the slightest twist. I could only imagine being jogging and have my device slip and pull on the wire wreaking havoc internally. While groggily flying I constantly worried that I would doze off, flinch and have similar wire disasters. Now I know that for airplane noise I should have gone with Quiet Comfort buds. The Sound Sport really allowed outside sounds (airplane cabin and even road noise in the bus) to permeate the listening experience. (Maybe this is a safety feature) I have moved to a pair of Sennheiser for my next trip. The cables are rugged and reinforced, and the sounds quality is the same high level I am accustomed to. While not "noise reduction" buds, the design allows the bud itself to act as a buffer to outside noise. At the same price point as Sound Sport, I have decided to give them a try. Bose, without question, my home equipment is yours.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disapointing

    Posted
    Chris
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Bought these to replace the headphones that came with my now 8 year old ipod. Unfortunately right out of the gate I had issues with these headphones. The placement of the remote, just below the ear pod, makes it almost useless as it is in a extremely awkward position basically right next to my jaw. I also found the fit of the earbuds to be very bad, due in large part to the upper portion of the ear piece. The box says that it does come with additional ear pieces but mine appeared to not include them. Given the other issues I did not feel it would be worth while to exchange it for a different one. The one good point of these headphones was the sound quality, which was very good and keeps this review from dropping down to a 1 star rating.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi, Chris.

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your SoundSport In-Ear headphones. We are happy the hear that you enjoyed the headset's sound quality.

      We appreciate your feedback regarding the placement of the in-line microphone. The microphone is located in this spot so the user can speak naturally on calls without raising their voice. We do understand how the position of the mic could make the buttons difficult to press, and we will forward this input to our product team.

      It is concerning to hear that the extra ear-tips were not included with your headphones. The SoundSport In-Ear should include 3 total sets of eartips (medium will be installed at first, and then there will be a small and large set in the box, each with their own pouch). Please reach out to our support team at 1-800-367-4008, and we'll be glad to look into this for you.

      We hope you have a great New Year!

      Best Regards,

      Jesse - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Cord Quality

    Posted
    Dennis007
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'm on my 2nd pair. While produce good sound for me, I can't stand that both pairs insulation of the cable started to crack and peel after about 1 to 2 years of having them. First pair I would leave in the car, but out of the sun through all season in the Midwest. I thought the extreme temperatures might have caused the cable to crack. My second pair I really babied them. Not kept in car at all. Sure enough these cracked and peeled too. So disappointed in Bose. I'm not buying anymore of these earbuds.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Got crazy glue?

    Posted
    skrauss17

    You're going to need glue just to keep them in your ears! I actually have to put an old over-the-ear headset over these to keep them in my ears and be able to hear anything over any noises outside. (my typing, husband/children washing dishes, etc.). When I am able to hear through these, the quality is excellent; I'll give them that, but trying to keep them in my ears is just too darned frustrating. Not worth it, seriously. Is there any truth in advertising? I've used all the different sized adapters, and still these don't stay. Maybe my ears are weird? No clue. Waiting for my Sennheiser earbuds to come in, then these are going back! Should have stuck with them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the money

    Posted
    CoffeeDrinker
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Prior to purchasing the headphones, I read the reviews with high expectations. The fit of the headphones are fine but they are not your typical in-ear head phones. They rest in the ear canal with support of the ear wings. The sound is as its coming from a tin can. The highs are very noisy and messy. Also lacks bass. I watch the YouTube video posted by Bose to ensure proper fitment and this did not help the sound. It seems that Bose has become just a brand name and lost its focus. I eventually returned the product after 3 days.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    You're better off buying Apple Earbuds

    Posted
    Aaron

    Formerly impressed with the quality of Bose products, I bought myself these earbuds for Christmas. Before purchasing, I was using the earbuds that came with my iPhone 6. After about two days using these headphones, I realized that there really wasn't much different from my Apple Earbuds. Apple Earbuds possess the same sound quality and depth and work great while working out or performing any other activity because they're less bulky. Plus, they're about $100 cheaper! Not worth the price at all. If you buy these you're pretty much just investing in a flashy name.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Less than expected

    Posted
    jabike
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Bose has delivered great sound on small products before, and foolish me this product would do the same, but this was not one of them. The sound was solid, but not better than less expensive products. The volume control area is bulky and heavy and tugged on my neck and shoulders when I moved. Not very comfortable. I expected more out of Bose and honestly am very disappointed. Will be returning for something else.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello jabike,

      Thanks for providing your experience of the SoundSport In-Ear headphones. We are sorry to hear that it did not quite live up to your expectations. The earbuds along with the StayHear tips were engineered to stay comfortable and stay in place, and we appreciate the great feedback as we continue to look at opportunities to improve our products. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out again.

      Thank you again,

      Mohsin - Bose Support bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Just ok

    Posted
    jjliloooo

    These earbuds are ok. They are not $200 or $400 earbuds, so don't expect that kind of sound. Trebles and mid-range are not crystal clear like you would get with the more expensive earbuds, but for $100 or half that price which is what I paid on sale, these are ok. They sit on the ear rather than in the canal, so you cannot block out sound like the noise at a gym, etc. Personally, I don't like that, but you might not care. Try to get them on sale because imo they are overpriced at msrp.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Sound quality and Ear pieces

    Posted
    JHarley
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Sound quality is not any better than some ear phones that are half the price. I could be specific, but choose not too at this time. The ear pieces are very uncomfortable, and even changing to a smaller pair was still uncomfortable to fit in the ear. When taking the pieces totally off, the sound seemed better, but naturally, they were even more awkward to fit in your ear. Too bad I can't take them back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hi, J.

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your SoundSport In-Ear Headphones. We're sorry to hear that the earphones' sound quality didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding the StayHear ear tips, and completely understand how an uncomfortable fit can affect the enjoyment of your music.

      We would ask that you please contact Best Buy to confirm options for a return. Our engineers are always working to improve our products, and we hope that you keep us in mind in the future. Thank you again, and have a great day.

      Jesse - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Unreliable

    Posted
    Chrisrivers1
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The inline music control buttons seems to be faulty after about a month of use. The button is at first responsive but over time when I would click the button to play, pause, etc., it would lose its responsiveness and it would barely click anymore. Not to mention that every once in awhile the audio will cut in and out. The music control is very faulty and this is my second pair with the same problems. I would not recommend if you need the inline music control.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like you may have a defective headset and we'd like to speak with you directly to take care of this for you. You can reach us at 1-800-379-2073. We are open from Mon. – Fri., 9 AM – 9 PM and on Sat., 9 AM – 7 PM ET. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the price at all

    Posted
    Mushroom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I bought this at $50 down from $100 thinking it was going to be a huge deal, and most of the reviews looked great. I didn't look hard enough to find out the control for volume and track listing only works with Apple products? Not only that, but the sound quality for music is worse than $15 dollar skullcandy earphones at the book store. They don't block out outside noise AT ALL either. Nothing is muffled, and it's not loud to compensate.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not the best.

    Posted
    ColdSuperman
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I ended returning these for powerbeats 2 wireless. The ear molds are not the most comfortable and they tended to fall out of my ears. I need a longer cord as I am 6'2" and working out with my phone in my pocket was impossible. If you are taller or have a long torso you should pass on these headphones. An entirely unexpected finding was that the sound quality was very poor. I have Bose QC2's and I would definitely expect better performance from a name like Bose.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good sound. Uncomfortable

    Posted
    Papoter
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    These headphones provide good sound, but are uncomfortable and fall out frequently during normal use. The ear pieces are bulky and because they won't stay in place, it's hard to get perfect sound. Bose sound is undoubtedly one of the best, but NOT in this particular unit. I've had $20 headphones that were more comfortable with decent sound quality, so jumping to this price point just because they were Bose turned out to be a really big and costly mistake.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      We're sorry to learn of your experience. 3 different sizes of the Stay-Hear tips are included so you should be able to get a comfortable and secure fit. Often we hear that the most comfortable fit is using different sizes in each ear. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    James
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The sound was fine but for comfort I’d give the a Zero. The large earbuds are huge, the medium size is more like a large and the smalls were very small. There was just no happy medium, after wearing for 30 minutes they hurt my ears. Even the freebies with the iPhone feel better. I would not recommmend these if you have normal sized ears.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Just OK

    Posted
    cshewbridge
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Bought these for a trip and was excited to try them out. I find that the sound is great...when you hold the ear pieces tight to your ears with your fingers. Great bass. But, when you take your fingers away, the great bass goes away also. I tried all 3 sizes of the ear pieces, and all sounded the same. Returning these today for another option...working on what that option is now.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    BOMBER208
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I really like BOSE speakers so I figured the headphones would be awesome. I was mistaken. There is zero bass, everyone around you can hear your music even at low volume, and they do not cancel any surrounding noise. I returned them and picked up the wired Beats ear buds. They are amazing and almost half the price.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose

      Hello Bomber208,

      Thank you for providing your review of the SoundSport In-Ear headphones. We are sorry to hear that they did not live up to your expectations. Just to clarify, these headphones do not provide any noise cancelation. However, we understand that you have decided to return them and we hope in the future that you will give us another chance.

      Thank you for interest in our Bose products!

      Take great care,

      Mohsin - Bose Support Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    not for me

    Posted
    tulsaroadogg
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    being a highly reputable name, I thought these would work great with my xbox one. not so! as matter of fact, they were lousy with my computer as well. volume output was so low, I could hear other noises near the same level as the headphones. I took them back, and bought some turtle beach headphones... what a huge differance, will never bother with bose again

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Bose support

      Hello Tulsaroadogg. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback. You should definitely be getting great sound and volume with the SoundSport In-Ear headphones from your computer, and we are sorry to hear that was not the case. We stand behind our products and offer world-class customer support. We hope you have a chance to give Bose a try again in the future, and if you have any questions please call us at 800-380-4831. We are here to help. Bose

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    High quality sound but they don't last

    Posted
    Salos
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    This earbuds has great high quality sounds but they made them with cheap low materials so they don't last the microphone its the first to stop working they say it is wether and sweat resistant but it ain't truth one weak in the gym with those on its enogh to become useless!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Bose ear buds

    Posted
    Karen
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The buds stay in your ear while you are exercising. However not impressed with the noise you can hear while they are in your ears with music. My husband has the tv on and I have to turn my volume in really high so I can't hear the tv. The sound is just okay. My iPhone 6 ear buds are way better.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend