Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

C by GE - C-Life A19 Bluetooth Smart LED Bulb (2-Pack) - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 756 reviews

92%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 756 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Decent smart-bulbs with or without the Home Mini

    Posted
    WyldeBlue
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 250 ContributorTop 250 Contributor

    PROs: - Functions simply as bright LED bulb upon initial power-up--no flashing, blinking, blanking or waiting for an app or voice assistant to pair; very nice if you want to deal with all that later and you just need a bulb in the socket - 'C by GE' app allows remote control for power, brightness, schedule setting, and one-touch "scene" settings (Good morning, I'm home, Party, etc.) - You DO NOT need a Google Home Mini, the Google Home App, or even a WIFI network--with the C by GE app, you can group lights (i.e. office, bedroom, entryway, etc.), configure timers or scenes, and manually control the power and brightness when you're nearby using Bluetooth only (if that suits your needs) - Though the color temperature is not tunable (for that, you need the C-Sleep bulbs), the 2700K preset has a pretty comfortable warmish (incandescent bulb-like) hue that is pretty conservative and therefore versatile for typical household, kitchen, living room or bedroom duty...essentially anywhere you'd like to exercise some smart-bulb functionality but don't need wild party rainbow colors or daylight/cooler bluish whites - Okay, so if you DO have a Google Home Mini (or a C-Reach bridge to use with Echo/Alexa), setup and integration into the home network is pretty much instantaneous and you get all the hands-free voice activation you could want for power, scheduling, brightness levels, and out-of-the-home control CONs: - Ugh...despite a VERY painless and quick Bluetooth pairing process, the C by GE app requires yet ANOTHER account login and password to create and save before you get anywhere - There is an 11-step factory reset procedure that is kind of dodgy with alternations between on/off cycles that vary from 2 seconds to 5-10 seconds each. Though I was able to get the bulbs reset multiple times while switching between C by GE app-only control, and using my Google Home Mini, I sometimes needed 3-5 extra on/off cycles to finally get the reset confirmation blinks in the bulbs...someone less patient or less precise on the light switch might have a great deal of trouble - Don't just snag a set of these bulbs off the shelves without understanding the requirements or reading a few reviews--like many have already indicated, these bulbs come with virtually no documentation and the simplistic instructions on the box give no mention to the C by GE app that actually provide pretty extensive, hub-less/Google-less near-field control and programming Summary review: At about $12 a bulb or less, this is a pretty inexpensive and relatively painless way to get some basic, smart-bulb functionality into your home or office. For example, using the C by GE app, you can program them to gradually wake you up each workday morning with ever-increasing brightness levels until you're ostensibly forced out of bed at maximum brightness to begin your day. Ready to watch a movie--just use the "movie" scene and all grouped lights will automatically dim to a more intimate, TV-friendly brightness level. You can easily use the remote power or brightness sliders to blank or dim the bulbs to your mood/needs individually or in groups/rooms and even update the firmware from inside the app. For those places where you don't have a WIFI signal, or if you have not yet invested in voice control hardware like a Google Home Mini, but would still appreciate some light automation/scheduling or remote control for your lighting needs, the C-Life bulbs represent a pretty decent value. Note that the limited instructions on the back of the box would lead you to believe that you need a Google Home Mini and the Google Home app to use these bulbs. Absolutely untrue. You DO need a smartphone or other Bluetooth enabled device and the C by GE app...this is indicated nowhere on the box. However, setup using the app is quick and painless (at least it was for me): 1) Screw in the bulbs 2) Open the app 3) Press 'Add new devices' 4) Select 'C-Sleep & C-Life Lights' (there are actually two other devices, Sol and C-Reach, that appear on the screen, so you might be returning to this app later for even more smart-home goodies!) 5) Wait for it to connect via Bluetooth (about 10-20 seconds)--when successful, each light blinks 3 times It is here where the app tells you that the bulbs are ideally configured with Google Home, but it gives you the option to continue with the C by GE app (it even gives you an "Are you sure?" prompt to really hammer home the point that these are designed with Google's ecosystem in mind). Press ahead and you can start naming bulbs, naming rooms, grouping lights, choosing scenes, setting schedules, etc...just be aware that your ability to do any of this is limited by Bluetooth network reach. I confirmed this by disconnecting my Google Home Mini, turning off WIFI on my smartphone, and even turning off my wireless router. Yes, configuration and control via the app is still possible so long as you've got a near-field Bluetooth connection to at least one of the bulbs themselves (and the bulbs are within Bluetooth reach of each other). But without a WIFI control hub like those shipped with some other bulb brands, a Home Mini, or GE's own C-Reach bridge to use something like Alexa, know that you cannot, for example, use the app to turn on your front porch lights from the store so you can illuminate your path before you're home; or tell Alexa while you're in the car down the street to turn them off because you forgot to...you have to be within Bluetooth operating distances for manual control (typically 40-50 feet or less). But, you can just as easily program an automation schedule that ensures your porch lights turn on after dusk and turn off before bedtime; you simply can't cycle power, adjust brightness, or manually intervene on that schedule until you're back in range with your smartphone. Now...if you DO have a Google Home Mini, the experience is probably about as painless as you'd expect. In my case, the Google Home app immediately found the bulbs waiting to be configured, named, and added to my groups and rooms. Voice control worked for hands-free power and brightness adjustments just as with any other brand of integrated smart-bulb we now have in our house (currently 3 and counting), and I could remotely control the lights from the road or other locations without needing to be within spitting distance of the lights themselves. Interestingly, if you happen to install the lights and try to configure them first via the C by GE app, and then choose to set them up with Google Home as suggested, the app itself will reset the bulbs for you. However, a factory reset after the fact, i.e. you bought a Google device down the road and now want to use Google Home/Mini to control and automate the bulbs, will require a lengthy and often imprecise reset procedure (referenced in CONs above). Still, it's nice to know you have some options even if Bluetooth connectivity (vs. WIFI to the bulbs or via a hub) to the bulbs is a bit out of the norm and just might be problematic in homes/areas with lots of congested Bluetooth activity. Overall, a good, if not great, acquisition. I would have definitely preferred tunable whites (available in a slightly pricier model bulb), and integration with non-Google voice assistants or out-of-home control via the current C by GE app requires a separate purchase of the C-Reach Bluetooth-to-WIFI bridge. Still, budget-minded buyers curious about smart-bulb/smart-home functionality who haven't yet taken the Google plunge may appreciate what these bulbs have to offer.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Decent Basic 'Smart Bulb'

    Posted
    abl001
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 500 ContributorTop 500 Contributor

    So, first let me say that the C by GE light bulb is an economical alternative to some of the more expensive bulbs that are out on the market today. The bulbs appear to be well made and GE has been in the light bulb industry for a very long time so I think that counts for something. Why only 3 stars? I'll explain. First, let me say I was excited to have the opportunity to expand my smart lighting at home. The bulbs are not cheap at all and I find it hard to justify spending $15-50 on a bulb just for the convenience of controlling it from my phone, having it dimmable, and or change colors. Out of the box, there are exactly Z-E-R-O instructions. I was dumbfounded. Keep in mind, I have two other smart lighting kits already up and running in my home so it's not like I'm clueless as to what to do. Generally, smart bulbs connect to a hub which connects to your wifi network that you can then control from your phone or other accessories. Not the case with the C Life by GE bulbs. I thought maybe the instructions are included on the box. They are! However, it only references connecting them to your Google Home Mini hub. Since I don't have one of those, I was a little perplexed. Surely they would say "No hub needed" if a hub wasn't need, right?? They wouldn't have sent me a product to try without first telling me there was equipment needed? Right. So I decided to Google if these bulbs could be controlled another way. I found an article from over a year ago indicating that these bulbs could be controlled directly via Bluetooth but you would never know it from the box or the missing instructions. Knowing that there has to be some kind of controller, I went to the iTunes app store and did find there was a C by GE app. Once I did that, I simply plugged the light in and opened the app. The light was found and it was quite easy. If using this method, you can't control the lights from across the continent since you do have to be within Bluetooth range. There's no connecting to home wifi or a hub, we're talking direct control from the phone to the bulb. In a way, I like the simplicity. It's just a shame GE couldn't stick a 1,2,3 instruction card the size of a business card in the box to tell people they don't have to run out and buy a Google Home Mini..or was that the plan? I'm sure some people took them back since there wasn't any instructions on how to set them up other than the instructions specific to the Google Home Mini printed on the outside of the box. So, minus 1 star... I wanted to subtract 2 just because it's so basic, but I didn't. During setup, I did encounter another hiccup. I have the Google Home app on my phone for other purposes. The app sees this and assumes you have a compatible Google Home bridge. It will recommend that you use the Google Home app to setup the new lights. Unfortunately, that won't happen unless you do have a compatible Google Home bridge along with the app. So just another unnecessary frustration. Once I made it through setup, the lights can be customized to your liking. They are fully dimmable and can be assigned to different rooms. You can program the lights to do different things at different times of the day which is always nice. Unfortunately, I noticed that anytime the light is dimming or getting brighter, it is choppy. My Philips Hue bulbs have very nice transitions from color to color, from darker to brighter, and from on/off or off/on. It's a smooth transition and it feels like a premium product when your lights gently turn on or off or transition colors. If you don't know what I mean, I'll try to explain it a little more technically. If I have a light set at 50% and then adjust it to 100%, I would ideally like it to transition between the two...meaning it would go 51%, 52%, 53%, 54%.......all the way up to 98%, 99%, and 100%. This would be a smooth and subtle transition. The C Life by GE lights just adjust instantly to 100%. If you adjust the sliding bar for brightness gradually down from 100%, it will dim choppily all the way down. I think this is just a programming issue and could possibly be fixed within the app OR it could be a hardware preset that doesn't allow all the various incremental adjustments that a smooth transition would require. In any case, it cost it another star. If you're going to spend $15 for a smart bulb, the least it could do is transition smartly to give a premium effect. In conclusion, if all you want are some smart bulbs that will be On or Off, this is a good option for you. Additionally, if you don't care about the choppy transitions between on/off and brightness settings, possibly the right bulb for you. For those of us really into the lights being part of the cool environment, this probably isn't a good option. I'm going to find a spot to put these where I won't be as likely to notice any of the annoying shortfalls. I'm also going to say that I wouldn't recommend this to a friend since I think most people will want a more 'complete' product and for a few dollars more, you can get it from other brands. Pros: *Price *Build *Ability to use without a bridge Cons: *No instructions *Choppy transitions

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great if you have a Google Home Mini, otherwise...

    Posted
    BillFromKCMO
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    (Note that I only got these because they were part of a deal Best Buy had going with the Google Home Mini Smart Light Kit. I've scored the bulbs as if I paid the full retail value for them, however.) C by GE is a Bluetooth-connected smart light system. Because of this, it has limits you wouldn't experience with Wifi-connected or hub-connected smart light systems that compete with the C bulbs. First, the good - these bulbs have three options for connectivity in your home: If you don't have a Google Home device, you can download the C by GE app and configure them to work that way. This allows you to set timers for the bulbs to come on and turn off, as well as manually control the bulbs when they're in your phone's Bluetooth range. Of course, setting them up to operate this way prevents you from using more than one device to control them and you won't be able to control them while you're away from home (or possibly across the house). If you do have a Google Home device, you can pair the bulbs by using the Google Home app on your iPhone or Android device. Once set up, the bulb establishes a Bluetooth connection with your Google Home device and you can manually control the bulbs with either your voice or the Google Home app. Unfortunately, this doesn't allow you to set a timer to control when the bulbs automatically come on or power down, but since you can control them from anywhere when set up this way, you'll be able to manually turn on the lights on your way home at night with either the Google Home app or Google Assistant and your voice. Note that you won't be able to pair these bulbs with Alexa using this method. GE also sells what's called the C-Reach hub, which will put these bulbs at a price point that can be compared to premium smart light systems (both hub and wifi-connected). Unless you have both Google Home and Alexa devices, this isn't worth the cost and I can't recommend buying it for the C system. These bulbs also form a Bluetooth mesh network, so if you have multiple C-life bulbs in your home, you won't necessarily be out of range because of their connection-hopping ability. Now for the bad: Bluetooth connectivity is the limiting factor with these light bulbs. WiFi options aren't much more expensive and are far more flexible. Even some hub-connected systems aren't much more expensive overall, and their central hub connects to WiFi so you can control them anywhere without a Google Home Mini or an optional - and expensive - hub. If you have a large home, you may not be able to connect and control your bulbs from across the house if they're Bluetooth connected. Resetting the lightbulb back to factory is a chore. It's not something that can be done either in the Google Home app or the C by GE, and compared to other smart lights, it's more difficult than it should be. (This deducted a star by itself.) Being that these are Bluetooth bulbs, they're overpriced. All in all, I can recommend these for apartment dwellers who aren't concerned with always-connected lightbulbs and want something with a well-known name brand, or for people who have a Google Home device and can get these bulbs on sale. As part o a Google Home Mini Smart Light Kit, this is also not a bad deal as you're getting a bulb for less than half it's retail price that way and you'll be able to internet connect it. For everyone else, however, look elsewhere. You can find better, more functional bulbs for around the same price.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent smart bulbs - requirements not explained

    Posted
    stevefromtheburbs
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 100 ContributorTop 100 Contributor

    I received a 2 pack of these bulbs and was immediately met with no instructions, and only seeing reference to Google and home mini on the box. No QR codes to link to software, nothing. As regular light bulbs, they are awesome, but I knew there had to be something more going on. So, I went to the Apple App Store and found a C by GE app that has the same icon as the box, so I downloaded it. Once it installed, I was able to find the two light bulbs without any issue. It blinks them so you know which is which. Then, I was able to use the automation features to turn them on/off, dim or brighten them, and schedule them when to come on/off. I'm not much of someone who likes automation of lights, only because there is some issue if someone tries to come downstairs at 3am to get medicine, a drink, watch TV, etc. and they don't have the APP or don't have their phone, that kind of thing. However, I put them into places where this would not be an issue - the living room desk, and the hallway by the steps. What I found myself doing was to program the hallway light to dim at night, get bright at morning, and the desk light to come on at dusk to 50% and turn off at bedtime. This is how our household works, so it was an easy thing to do. If I had the Google home mini maybe more is available as for features, but this is fine and works great using IOS and an Iphone. The light is very natural looking and not at all like an LED. The fact that these lights are pretty much able to be programmed how we live, and adjusted as needed, I'm good. Plus, if you plan to do more, you can turn them on and off at dusk and dawn that kind of thing. I even programmed a time between 12am and 5am, to have the light come on at a certain time and go off at a certain time, to appear to anyone scoping out the house, that someone is up and doing something, then I have it programmed to go off at a certain time thereafter. You can repeat days or times of days, I haven't figured out if there is a limit - but if there is one I haven't found it yet. Imagine GE quality, with this kind of built in WIFI bulb that does NOT need a HUB, what more could you want? It appears if you hook up to Google home mini or something you can do outside and voice control, but I was able to do outside control with simply the APP over cellular. I don't care about voice control, I only care out outside control and that works without anything but the app and cellular service. A great product for automating standard non-color switching lightbulbs. I'll be getting more of these and for the price point you cannot go wrong at all.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Hardware, Software seems "work in progress"

    Posted
    RobWLINY2
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    This is my first experience with a Smart Light Bulb (or two, in this case), I like the idea and GE has a long term reputation for making quality lighting (though in recent years we've typically purchased other brands until now). My first impression on the quality of the light is that it's that 'soft white' light (almost a yellow but not) -- and after seeing the original bulbs (both are LED I believe) I will say that these bulbs definitely make the room seem more 'natural' or 'warmer' maybe, compared to what I had prior. Setting up the bulb was more of an issue. Part of the initial problem was my own fault, I took out the first bulb, placed it in the box as I installed the new bulb, then proceeded to take out the second bulb and replace it with the first bulb I took out (If you didn't catch the mistake, I didn't install the newer bulb in the second light because of the error in where I stored original) -- fortunately these bulbs are clearly labelled on the bulb itself so it is easy to fix that. The second, and larger problem, is the software setup is on the slightly "buggy" variety. First, the box I received had no paper instructions, but I could figure enough to download the app (and I have, possibly, an early release version). Another issue with software is it seems at least some "smart device" setup (namely, Alexa) steps seems to want some kind of "smart home hub" to talk to the bulbs, so I was not able to test that as it was not (to my knowledge) included (note: it is quite possible that the alexa software needed to be updated, but is not done yet). However, I was able to configure the bulbs in the "C by GE" app in the Google Play store, and here's what I was able to do: -Turn the bulbs on and off at 100% -If I added them to a "room", I could "dim" the lights by the app between 5% and 100% (in my experience, this is because it seems LEDs never dim below a certain level, perhaps they require a level of power to operate). -There was the ability to set up automation and that kind of thing, which will be nice However, perhaps the best part of these bulbs ( compared to my prior experience with "smart plugs" ) is that I can just flick the light switch once or twice and the light would come on, as opposed to the smart switch where it's either the app or I've got to reach to wherever it's plugged in to look for a button (which can be frustrating and has caused me injury in past).

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Limitless control and a pleasant soft white light

    Posted
    Kotor
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 10 ContributorTop 10 Contributor

    These smart LED light bulbs came with no instructions but once I got them set up they worked quite well and produced a very pleasant soft white light that can be dimmed to suit your preference. They do not require a bridge to use. They can be configured and controlled by the C by GE App. --Setup— I did not configure them with a bridge. I used the C by GE App. Once I had the GE App installed on my iPhone, it was simple to link the bulbs and configure them. The GE App works via Bluetooth, so if you go this route you are limited to short range control. --FEATURES-- The App provides a very complete and extensive level of configuration to create scenes, control the dimming levels, and set a schedule. Each bulb can be customized individually or as a group. --VERDICT-- Not only am I very impressed with the comprehensive level of customization, which appears to be nearly limitless, but the illumination is very pleasing and perfect for home use. I plan to get more! --TIPS— The APP settings can be overridden by switching the light switch off and on rapidly. If you want to control them while away from home, you must use either an Alexa or Google hub device.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Worked really well in our home

    Posted
    Zunderwood
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    Just received my C-Life A19 Smart Bulbs by GE. Each bulb in this 2-pack has the same output as a 60-watt incandescent bulb. The instructions talk about needing a Google Home Mini, which I already have, so I’m going to jump to a conclusion and say that the Mini is needed to make these bulbs work. Step 2 says to screw in the bulb in the same room as your Mini. Step 3 says to turn on the light. Step 4 says to download the Google Home app to set up the Mini and the Bulbs. I already had the Mini and the Google Home App, so those steps were skipped. I ran the Home App and it sensed that one of the bulbs was newly installed. It then flashed the bulb for me, had me continue to the next setup page to identify the room and where the bulb was located within the room, and that was it. The installation of the first bulb was complete. Using the Home App, I could now turn the bulb on and off as needed by selecting either “On” or “Off”. The app also shows you an image of a light bulb. If you tap on the image, it permits you to make the bulb brighter or dimmer as needed. This couldn’t be any simpler. As I mentioned above, the instructions state to screw the bulb in the same room as the Home Mini. As a test, I installed the second bulb in an adjacent room at least 50 feet away from the first bulb and the Home Mini. I ran the Home App, it found the new bulb, went through the setup procedure, and that bulb was up and connected in no time. To confirm that the Home App would still communicate with these bulbs when I’m away from home, I drove a distance from home and tested both out. My spouse reported that both bulbs turned on and off perfectly. The first bulb I installed kept showing signs of flickering. I quickly determined that it was the dimmer switch I had connected to the light for the previously installed conventional bulb. Once the dimmer was removed, the flicker was gone. It’s too soon to determine the longevity of these bulbs, though the package indicates that with three hours a day use these bulbs should last 13.7 years. Finger’s crossed!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Impossible to install multiple bulbs.

    Posted
    smithc1080
    • My Best Buy® Member

    So I have tried installing two bulbs for the better part of 3 hours this evening. I can get one bulb installed relatively easily, but whenever I attempt to add the second bulb, it deletes the first bulb off of my network. Thinking this could be some obscure wiring issue with my two kitchen pendelum lights, I opted to try a different kitchen light on a different switch. I left the one working bulb above the island as a test and installed the second light above the sink. It added successfully but deleted the island light. Went through this song and dance multiple times trying various trouble shooting things before calling tech support. GE tech support (1-844-302-2943) told me if the lights turn on at all when screwed in, it’s a Google issue and they gave me a different number to call. Google tech support (1-855-971-9121) walked me through basic troubleshooting that I had already done ad-nauseam before calling them (reset my google home, unlink the devices and re-link the device, rename bulbs, factory reset the bulbs - an absurd process FYI) before telling me she would forward my concern to a higher level of tech support and they would either call or email within 24 hours... We’ll see if that happens. Meanwhile, I tried installing the bulbs in separate rooms on separate devices; Thinking maybe it was an issue with having multiple lights assigned to the same room, or having multiple lights assigned to the same google device. So I set up a new google mini in the living room. Got the mini connected quickly and without issue. Added the bulb to a nearby living room lamp, and set up the new room in the Google Home app... same results as before. While it successfully added the new bulb to my network, it deleted the previously paired kitchen light. For some reason, I cannot get more than one GE bulb to work on my network. Any attempts to install a second, in any room and on any device, results in the first device being disconnected. It’s absurd. Would recommend going another route with a company that has a superior product and actual tech support. I have 6 other bulbs it doesn’t look like I’ll be using.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Lighting Expert

      Hello, smithc1080. We are sorry to hear this has happened. This is definitely a unique case, since the C by GE team has not gotten any other reports of this occurring. It is suggested to try a set up, just on the C by GE app, not using any other devices/apps and see if the same happens. Feel free to reach back to the C by GE Team if you do not hear from Google about the Home app/mini devices.
      Thank you.

      GE Lighting Customer Service

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Lights Up

    Posted
    mikeheel
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 25 ContributorTop 25 Contributor

    As someone who has an extensive Google Home ecosystem, I really love how easy it was to integrate the GE C-Life bulb into my existing Home setup. As others have mentioned, there is no documentation at all about setup, other than what is on the box. That's a shame, because the C-Life app itself deserves some mention. Through the app, you can control scenes (different shading and such) as well as set schedules. You can do similar stuff through a Google Home or Google Home Mini. At first, I didn't even download the app. I just followed the instructions on the outside of the box, which literally say: 1. Plug in your Google Home Mini. 2. Screw in your C-Life light bulb in the same room as your Google Home Mini. 3. Turn on the light. 4. Download the Google Home app to set up your Google Home Mini and the light bulb. Side note, the bulb does not need to be in the same room as the mini, as far as I can tell. I appreciate that the bulb does not need a hub. Most of my other smart bulbs require the use of a hub. And while I really like them, too; the hub is an extra box sitting by my router. The GE C-Life bulbs do not require anything other than an app, which you most likely already have if you're considering smart bulbs. If you don't have a smart ecosystem, then you can still use the C-Life app with your phone or tablet. As with most smart bulbs, it doesn't get quite as bright as a "normal" bulb. But you can set it to different types of light (more white, more yellow, and such) and you can vary the intensity at any time with a voice command. I really love these bulbs and will plan to get a few more.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Awesome Lightbulbs

    Posted
    Dreams008
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I love these light bulbs. I am disabled and sometimes it is hard for me to turn on light switches with my hand. These have come in so handy. It is especially easy if you have a Google Assistant. You can control it with your assistant and with your Google Assistant on your cell phone. I love that it has dimming capabilities, so if you don't want a stark bright light, you can dim it to a nice calming hue. It can be a little tricky to set up if you're not familiar with Google Assistant, but once set up, it works flawlessly. I have found that even lamps that I never used in a long time, I am now using again because it's so easy. Not only that, but I find that these are great for conserving electricity because if you leave a room and you forget to turn the light off, you can just tell your Google Assistant to turn it off even if you're in another room. You can also control it from your phone outside of your home. It's great if you don't want to walk into a dark house, or if you have to get up in the middle of the night, where you can tell it to turn on a living room lamp and all the sudden it will be a lit up room. I would definitely recommend these.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    C by GE (C Life - 2pk Smart Bulbs)

    Posted
    Mistabritt
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    Just received my GE Life Smart Bulbs and I must say I'm more impressed than I thought I would be. These bulbs are very simple to use. Just screw the light bulb in like you normally would any other bulb, download the "C by GE," companion app from the App Store or the Google Play Store, and connect via bluetooth settings on your phone. The app is easy to use and guides you through a step-by-step process to get you up and running in 2 minutes or less. After logging into the app, you can add your devices/scenes under the Home tab. The Automation tab allows you to schedule which scenes/rooms turn on/off or change throughout the day. Like you can have a "Good Morning" scene where the smart bulb comes on at 100% at 6:30 AM, or have it set up where at 6:30 AM the light turns on in the living room and not your bedroom. The last tab is the settings tab which is general account info, firmware update info, etc. I totally recommend these lights for anyone looking to get into Smart Bulbs for your home. My only gripe which is not a deal-breaker is I did have trouble connecting them through the Google Home app. But the C by GE app worked just as good. Also I wish they were compatible with the Apple HomeKit but again they worked just as good with the C by GE app.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good lights, app needs work

    Posted
    Mike
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    These lights are a good alternative to other smart lights available. I would recommend them more to someone who has a Google Home (any size) and wants a lighting system that will work almost exclusively off of voice control. This may be something coming soon to the C by GE app but, it does not appear that you can have the lights set to both their app and Google Assistant for control. This is something that I have found hugely beneficial through the other smart lighting systems I have, as you can set routines and lighting preferences/settings straight through their respective apps. The app aside, the setup was incredibly quick and easy! The control through Google Assistant is very simple and easy to understand, along with a nice warm white from the bulb. Brightness was exactly the same as the Philips (non-smart) LED bulb it replaced and the installation of the bulbs themselves was exactly as easy as any other A19 bulb (standard lightbulb)! All in all, this is a perfect start for those who would like to get into smart lighting, have or are looking into a combo pack with a Google Home, and are looking for a "hub-less" set up.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent Affordable Smart Bulbs

    Posted
    JBCTECH
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    The GE - C-Life A19 Bluetooth Smart LED Bulbs work well and are very affordable for entering into the world of the Smart Home. The only reason I did not give a 5-star rating is because it came without adequate instructions. It clearly is designed for the Google Home units. Even when setting it up via the GE app, it wants to send you to Google Home to finish up. The advantage of this is that it works with Google devices without needing an additional hub. It also works very well with the 'C by GE' app, although that's not as convenient as asking Google to control the lights. These will only work with Amazon Alexa if you add GE's own hub first. I only have Alexa at home and so used the app. Everything worked as advertised. Later, I moved the bulbs to my office so I could try them with my Google Home. This works great. I can not only group the bulbs and turn them on or off (together or individually), I can also have Google increase of decrease the brightness. In Summary: If you understand the boundaries of these bulbs and are comfortable using the web to get instructions, they are a solid choice at a great price.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Complete control of your lighting situation.

    Posted
    BiggVikk
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    The GE C- Life light bulbs allows for complete control of your lighting situation with a number of options that almost seem endless and too numerous to mention in this review. It’s really nice to purchase a product that gives you more bang for your buck, more than what you anticipated and goes beyond your expectations; these light bulbs do just that. I was a little concerned when I first opened the box and didn’t see any setup instructions. However, shortly after attempting to connect them I realized the instructions weren’t necessary. It was a fairly simple process and almost felt natural. They are so simple to work and are bluetooth enabled. I simply download the free app, screwed them in, turned on the power and they practically did all the work. Not only are these bulbs perfect for any room, but they are super bright. I’ve actually unscrewed several other bulbs to allow the light from these bulbs to cover the entire room. I appreciate the ability to be able to dim the lights without the need for a dimmer switch. It’s perfect for family movie night. If you’re looking for affordable tech that allows you to take control easily, these are an easy simple solution that can make your life easier.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Ok so far

    Posted
    Fanatic
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I’ve only had them for a week or so, not long enough for a full assessment which is why I gave it 3 stars. The set up is easy, but in the first few days I had some trouble where one or two bulbs were not responding. And unfortunately you can delete or remove one bulb for google home. In order to reset that one bulb, you have to unlink all bulbs, and re-link them all over again. Now that’s quick and easy, but when you have to do it more than two times, or maybe even three or four times. It becomes very annoying, especially when you have multiple bulbs in multiple rooms. Overall, once you get it all set up and all bulbs are behaving the way they should, it seems to work pretty good. So far I have no regrets, and still learning how to use them with my google home setup. By the way I didn’t need to download the C by GE app. Everything is done through the google home app, and we need to be able to remove devices like bulbs with out having to setup the entire system every time.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Lighting Expert

      Hi Fanatic! Thank you for taking the time to review our products. We are sorry to hear that you have been expereincing issues with your smart lights. You are correct. It is not possible to delete just one bulb in the Google Home app. You have to unlink C by GE which unlinks all of the bulbs. Unfortunately, since you areconnecting your bulbs to your Google Home device directly, you are limited to whatever functions that the Google Home app has to offer. If you have any one of our "Smart Bridge" devices (Smart Switch, Smart Plug, Sol, or C-Reach), you can add the bulbs to the C by GE app instead and then link your C by GE account in the Google Home app. The C by GE app will not only allow you to delete individual devices. but it will also allow you to connect more smart lights than your Google Home device. Feel free to call us at 1-844-302-2943, email us at help@cbyge.com or live chat with us on cbyge.com if you have any questions. - C by GE Customer Support

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    GE C Light Bulbs (Wifi)

    Posted
    RFNNC
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This product is worth the money! Making life convenient by asking Alexa or Google Hub (I have both) to turn the specific name you make for the lights, via the GE app, on or off. The app works great when you're on vacation, however, want to appear you're at home. Also if you want to come home to a lit house. I highly recommend purchasing this product, especially when you have the option to dim the lights to 1% for reading a good book, or watching a movie. The lights can also go up to a 100%, and everything in between. I can set these options through the app or by speaking once connected to Alexa or Google Home. Another great option is you have the capability of utilizing the Google Home app or Alexa app to control the same options that are presented in the GE app!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    SMART Home Light from GE, easy setup with google

    Posted
    JerryZ
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 1000 ContributorTop 1000 Contributor

    SMART Home Light from GE, easy setup with google HOME app and google speakers. I was happy to try and even happier to see the GE C-LITE respond to my google mini and insignia google speaker. I set my bedroom reading lamp near my insignia speaker which is also my alarm clock. The other GE C-Lite is next to my google mini in my guest bedroom. Set up was easy thanks to the google HOME app. Each bulb was paired in succession with no unexpected troubles. The lamps dim as commanded, on/off too. If you set it low enough it mimics a night lite. And I didn't need a hub, just my google speakers. I know there are hubs available and a GE app, but I don't seem to need them; maybe later if I add more lights.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Simple, easy smart lighting option

    Posted
    Raiders
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    If you're looking for a simple, easy way to get smart lighting in your home, this is it. The bulbs are standard size, A19 bulbs and should fit almost anywhere that a regular bulb will fit. This is a great way to achieve simple smart lighting functionality without the hassle of installing new switches, especially if you have an older home and may not have neutral wires available in your switch boxes. It's as close to plug and play as you can get (assuming you already have a google home device setup and running). I literally had these out of the box and running within two minutes, including the time it took to screw the bulb in. My only negatives are that they are only 60W equivalent and are probably not suitable for outdoor bulb replacement.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good bulbs

    Posted
    Erik77
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    I like these bulbs, even with the fact that I usually prefer daylight bulbs, I find these very good. Setup was easy, plug in google mini, download google home app and bulbs was discovered by itself. Followed prompts and installed them with preferred names and locations. I installed one bulb in my living room and other in my family room. This helps me secure my home even more and when turning lights on/off in two room’s remotely everyone thinks that I am home (I power them on remotely when my ring doorbell sends motion alert) even when I am miles away. Being able to control them from anywhere is plus, and fact that you can also dim them it's a big bonus. I just wish they were little bit brighter. Pros: Easy setup Remotely and voice operated Dimmable Adding security to your home Negative – really none (just brightness for my own taste) Not bright as I like them to be - deducted one start because of this

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    You need a home mini...

    Posted
    RandallFlagg
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • Top 500 ContributorTop 500 Contributor

    I thought these worked with my Google Pixel and the Google Home app, but when the phone couldn't find the bulbs, I read the directions. Step 1 says to plug in the Google Home Mini. Had I known, I wouldn't have signed up to test the bulbs. Kind of a bummer. I have the Insignia Google Home Mini speaker, but that doesn't seem to work. Anyway, if I get a home mini down the road or on Black Friday, maybe the stars will go from 1 to 5, but for now I'm disappointed in the product. Home automation is still in its infancy so I have parts from Alexa, Cortana and Google. Each does what I want it to do, but none of it talks to each other and that needs to change. Manufacturers need to develop a standard, like routers and allow communication regardless of the platform the end user is using. I'd only recommend this if the buyer has the necessary Google hardware and knows that's the system they wish to continue with.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Lighting Expert

      Hello, RandallFlagg. Feel free to reach out to Google customer service and C by GE customer service (help@cbyge.com) for any assistance/troubleshooting with the set up. The C by GE bulbs should be working with any Google Home device.
      Thank you.

      GE Lighting Customer Service