Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

C by GE - C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars with 6 reviews

  • 30%
  • 20%
67%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Looks like there aren't enough positive mentions yet.

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-6 of 6 Reviews
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Works Fine

    Posted
    Smarterthanyou
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'm not sure what the guy that says these dim in steps is talking about. Yea that is one way to dim them but if you press and hold the dim buttons they fade pretty nicely in my opinion. The only issue I have with these is the 3-way instructions are way different on the website than what actually made them work. Had to call support and send in a couple of pics and they got back to me about 5-10 min after that and it only took about 5 min to get them installed and setup. The tech support also helped get them working in Google Home, Alexa, and gave some good advice on how to organize all my devices so that the voice controls are not mistaken. The C by GE app is pretty gross and confusing but I haven't had to use it at all since the voice control works exactly how I want it. I have the motion switches in my bathrooms, laundry room, and garage so the lights are on automatically when you enter the room then turn off after about 5 min after leaving. The lights do phantom trigger without motion occasionally so if they were near my bedroom or where I could see this at night, id prob be pretty annoyed. I have tried Wemo, TP-Link, Eccobee, Lutron, Leviton, and Plum smart switches and they all have their Pros & Cons. GE seems to be an underdog in this space but for me and for the price I like these the best. Once the on/off switches are available I plan on decking out the whole house. So yea they don't sing dance or entertain you but its a light switch and if you can't figure it out, you prob should stick to the stone age method.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Lighting Expert

      Hey there! We are always looking for ways to improve our products so we really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are extremely happy to hear that you are happy with your C-Start Motion Sensor Switch!

      - C by GE Customer Support

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Garbage

    Posted
    smartmark
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    "Hey it works automatically with Google" they said. Wrong. I had to install the C by GE app and then add it to Google Home via the app. Standard for most smart things, but annoying given the supposed Google partnership. So, took too long to set it up - crashed once and forced me to factory reset on top of the other annoyance. The dimming functionality is laughable. Other dimmers smoothly transition between levels. If you go from 25% to 100% on this thing, it's is a direct jump. It is jarring and awful. The fact that a group of people tested this and agreed "yep - this is how these should work" makes absolutely no sense to me. It is exactly how a dimmer should NOT work. So, well done GE, I guess - you did as poorly as possible while actually dimming. Occupancy sensor mode automatically turns off switch after 5 minutes. Even my "dumb" motion sensing switches allow some configuration here. But nope, even with an app where you could easily have radio dial options, it's 5 minutes or nothing. There is no vacancy mode, which would have been nice touch, but who am I kidding at this point.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Lighting Expert

      We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with our switch! Currently, the Made For Google integration is only available with our C-Life and C-Sleep light bulbs (A19 and BR30). However, this integration is being considered for other C by GE devices. Your comments about the dimming and occupancy sensor functionalities are important to us and we’re happy to say that our team is working on improving these features. We will be adding user configuration functionality to the motion sensor feature. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

      -C by GE Service Team

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Motion and Dimmer Switch

    Posted
    LTan
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    After seeing the reviews from CES I was excited to purchase a few of these switches. Last night I installed the Motion and Dimming switch. The install was simple. The problem is it doesn't dim or work detect motion at all. The App looks simple until you try to pair it via bluetooth. I had 2 calls with tech support. I spent hours on the phone and hours on my own trying to get this switch to work with the APP , dim and detect motion. Next was having it work with Google Home. Nightmare is the only way to describe this process. And it still doesnt work. Tech support wants me to start taking everything apart and send pictures and videos. Simple this is NOT.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Lighting Expert

      Hello LTan,

      Has this issue been resolved? If not we want to make sure that you are assisted until so. Please reach out to us at CbyGE Customer Service Hotline 1(844) 30-CbyGE (844-302-2943) help@cbyge.com Live Chat (www.cbyge.com).

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Works great just follow instructions!

    Posted
    TheRock
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have three of these switches working with voice control. These must be installed as the light switch so if your not comfortable with electrical then you will need assistance. You must also setup through the GE app then Google or Amazon. Follow instructions and you should have no problems.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Easy to setup, works clean

    Posted
    Richpc
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    These switches are new, and people apparently are getting used to some previous app updates I. Which the layout has changed. But coming into the new app as a beginner it is easy to use and pretty cool. Switch itself is really cool looking and the motion and ambient light sensor is nice.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent switch

    Posted
    Jgir
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Was a little difficult to get it recognized and synched to google home app, but once done it works fantastic.

    I would recommend this to a friend