Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Electron Wheel - 700c Smart Electric  Bike Wheel - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 3 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

  • 30%
would recommend to a friend



Looks like there aren't enough negative mentions yet.

Customer ratings & reviews

Page 1, showing1-4 of 4 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great idea but poor quality


    I purchased my electron wheel a few months ago. I am 48 years old and enjoy biking to keep in shape. However, the hills in North Jersey can be quite steep and I am no longer able to climb them on my own. The Electron wheel seemed to be the perfect solution to get up the hills. First, the good: The wheel was very easy to install and setup. The first time riding with the wheel was exciting as you can really feel it pull you forward. My typical ride is 12 miles with many up/down hills. Although the wheels struggled on the very steep long hills, it was still enough assistance to get up without stopping. The battery life was usually around 55% after the ride which is not near the 50 miles they claim, but still quite good considering the number of hills. Now, the bad: The width of the tire is much smaller than I expected and looks out of place on any mountain bike or cruiser and could not be used for anything besides pavement. The weight of the wheel is significant. This makes moving the bike around much more difficult and does impact your turning and breaking performance. The wheel assist is either "on" or "off". It often seems to cut off when in the middle of a hill causing you to lose all momentum. The worst: After using it 7-8 times, my wheel started making a clicking sound. After investigating, I determined that one of the internal batteries had come loose and was flopping around inside the casing. As this is probably very unsafe, I removed the wheel and contacted Electron support. Electron does not have any support phone number, only an email address. I submitted an email and received an automated email back that it was received. I heard nothing for several days and sent sent 3 more emails over the course of a week with no response. I finally received a response around day 8. Support provided me an option for full refund or to have it repaired/replaced including the shipping label. I am in the process now of returning it and hope to have it replaced. In summary, I am giving the electron wheel 2 stars. I was very impressed with the Electron wheel when I first got it and still believe it is a great idea. However, after spending over $600, having it break in 1 month, I cannot recommend the product at this time. I will update this review as I proceed working with support to repair or replace it. Kevin

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    OK install, decent range, speed set by app only

    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    It's supposed to fit most bikes, but the wheel rubbed the fork on my 700c bicycle, enough that it wouldn't spin on its own. With a little help from customer support and an initially quick response, their tech team made a suggestion that worked (remove a "decorative" piece from the wheel), instead of having to return. Unfortunately, the pedal sensor has failed after one month (only used for maybe 50 miles), making the wheel unusable. Having to use the app to change the settings for the wheel is inconvenient, but I knew that going in, thought the wheel does retain the last setting. Wheel kept me at max speed of 18MPH (at the max "high" assist setting) with a heavy headwind. On a calm day, it easily hit its 20MPH max. Pedal assist is more of a cruise control, which is set through the app (L,Normal,H), which regulates the speed to 10, 15 or 20 MPH, respectively. As soon as you begin pedaling, it will power until it reaches that speed. If you pedal slowly, it will still speed up so there's no "in between" assist. I did notice when you turn the assist level to "Off" the wheel still provides some assistance, I couldn't find that in the documentation. Note, trying to pedal a few MPH beyond the speed level that is set is difficult, as the wheel tries to hold your speed back You're basically stuck at the speed setting unless you're going down a big hill or want to fight the wheel (I suppose it charges). I had it in "off" mode and rode for a couple of miles, but didn't see the battery charge increase, so not sure what the recapture efficiency is. Hopefully will be able to get a new pedal sensor quickly so I can use the wheel again soon, once I hear back from support (it's been 1 week with no response).

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Electron Wheel

      Hey @RenaissanceMan, I'm so sorry to hear you ran into some initial compatibility issues, as well as some issues with your pedal sensor. Hopefully we've been able to address the issues promptly and to your satisfaction. If not, please do reach back out at and we'll work to make things right.

      At the moment, we do not have regenerative capabilities in the wheel but it's certainly something that's on our radar. Also, do note that the wheel will remember the last settings applied in the app, so you can choose whether or not to ride with the phone. @Gary90000's suggestion of riding with the phone mounted on the handlebars is certainly a good one, and how we choose to ride :)

      The idea behind our pedal assist functionality is that you can ride the bike like you always have, but with the added benefit of the motor. No need to push a throttle, instead the motor only kicks in when you're pedaling to help get you up to speed faster, and of course conquer hills easily.

      Let us know if any other questions, ride on! ElectronWheel

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Does not fit


    Great idea but bad implementation. I have 3 road bikes but the wheel does not fit any of them. I have a Cervelo, a Richey and then and REI brand bike. Support (Jessica) was responsive but unwilling to workout the kinks and extend the return period. Unfortunately, I'm returning it. Support was great in sending a prepaid label. I'm going to look for the next version that has much better and thinner plastic cover. Also, the plastic cover is not straight. Jessica said that's normal but I have my doubts. And lastly, the power cut out randomly on my 1-mile (only ride) around the neighborhood even when I was going slow. It seemed like the wheel kept losing connection to the pedal sensor. Batteries are fully charged.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Electron Wheel

      Hey Kian, thanks for sharing your experience. I'm so sorry we were not able to hit the mark with your order and your experience is certainly not what we work so hard to deliver. We did provide you with an additional 2 months of trial time with the wheel to ensure you were satisfied with the system, and offered to cover the power issue you reported under warranty at no cost. However, per your messages to our support team we will be happy to honor a full refund on the order. Please don't hesitate if you have any other questions or concerns. ElectronWheel

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love it!!


    Great company and great tire. So easy and they are so responsive to questions. I can have two bikes and just switch the tire so two electric bikes for the price of one. And this sale price is a steal!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Electron Wheel

      Hey @HCbikes1, so glad to hear you're enjoying your wheel! We appreciate the feedback, and please don't hesitate to reach out if any questions come up. ElectronWheel