Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Frigidaire - 550 Sq. Ft. Window Air Conditioner - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 346 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-17 of 17 Reviews
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    3.5 Stars

    Posted
    rollinover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought this unit to replace a 15,000 BTU LG unit. According to my square footage, this unit would be better suited for my space than a 15,000 BTU model. The pros are it's running well going into its second season. Certainly struggles quite a bit more than my prior unit to cool, but in fairness, this unit is 3000 less BTU. Remote works well. I like the sleep function and the screen is easy to read. Also, this unit can be used on a 110v line. What I don't like is the fan is still loud, but not as effective as my old unit. This unit lets a lot of light in the room through the vents and the extension flaps. If your room faces east, the sunlight will come in right through the vents in the morning, or in the evening if your unit faces west. I have this unit in my bedroom, and work odd hours and find the light that comes through annoying. Also, this unit would not be good in a theater room due to the amount of light it lets in. Another con is the unit has open vents on the top of the case. That means when it rains, water goes into the unit and will eventually rust it out once certain coatings wear off. No surprise there are no holes in the bottom for the unit to drain the water that can easily pool. The unit maybe well thought out, but certainly not to the advantage of the consumer. The reviews seem solid, so I'm hoping this will last a while.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Hi, Rollinover! Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback on your purchase. We understand that your fan can be clamorous, and the light that is able to come through the venting is bothersome. Please know our design and engineer teams are constantly monitoring our brand pages for feedback and experiences, such as yours, for future reference. Should you need any immediate assistance or have any questions, feel free to call 1-800-374-4432 Monday-Friday 8:30am-8pm EST at your convenience. Kindly, Ciara Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good, but I’ll never buy another open box special

    Posted
    CJSD
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Best Buy’s website said this open box item was in like new condition and had all its parts. In fact, it was dented and missing a crucial part. Without that part (the top rail), the AC unit could not be installed in the window. I first contacted Best Buy in person. The customer service agent said they had no parts on hand. So I asked her to reach out to the manufacturer. Her response, “Unfortunately, that is not something we would do. That is something you would do.” I’d have returned the item if it didn’t weigh 70 pounds. Instead, I called the manufacturer and asked for the missing part. Frigidaire was excellent to deal with; it promptly sent the part, which arrived in about 10 days. And the AC unit works well. But Best Buy’s behavior has made me swear off open box items, since I cannot trust its evaluation of the item and cannot depend on BB to solve any problem that arises. BB did give me a 10% credit, but I could have paid less if I’d chosen an item that said parts were missing. I wanted what I thought I was purchasing—an AC unit in like new condition with all its parts.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      CJSD, we certainly understand this was a bad way to start off. However, we are glad to hear that your concerns were able to be resolved and hope you are up and running. -Jennifer Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Dented

    Posted
    Pops
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this s A/C for my son and daughter in law. Upon arrival the packaging was awful it was the original box from Frigidaire. I knew the unit was damaged as soon as I totally pack it I knew it was. Four dents on end and corner that are outside. I was very upset to say the least. Unit works great and dent don’t affect the unit performance. But very poor quality control from Frigidaire, Best Buy and ups. Not sure who did the damage, but Im still mad unacceptable quality control. This is a unit that cost over 350.00 not happy and have pictures to prove.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Sorry to hear that you feel this way, Pops. Based on our very stringent inspection standards during the manufacturing process, any issues with the appliance would be detected during final inspection and the product would not be packaged and shipped. I would recommend reaching out to your dealer for assistance. If you have additional questions, please contact us at 1-888-203-1389 Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturday 8am-6pm EST. ~Maggie Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Effective but very noisy

    Posted
    Gray
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We purchased this unit for our living room. It works very well, however, it’s extremely loud. It’s very hard to hear the television without raising the volume very loud. I would not recommend for a space like the living room due to the sound.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Gray, we are glad to hear how well your air conditioner is performing for you. Your feedback will help us understand our strengths and identify areas for improvement. ~Jennifer Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Not as cold as expected

    Posted
    jtravapd
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    For a 12,000 btu air conditioner it’s not as cold as you may think. I actually was very surprised by this. Two positives are it’s light and it’s quiet. You can easily watch tv and it doesn’t over power the sound. I’ve had other 12000 btu units that were much, much colder.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Hi Jtravapd. Thank you for providing a quick review on the performance of your air conditioner. We regret to learn you have not been completely satisfied with the cooling. If needed, please contact our customer service team by calling 1-888-203-1389 Mon-Fri, 8am - 8pm (EST) Sat, 9am - 6pm (EST). Best Wishes – Anna Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Badly damaged when I got it.

    Posted
    brendainme
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The fines are bent, the back of the air conditioner is bent. Does not look like a brand new $ 349 air conditioner. I kept it as it seems to be working though it is a bit loud. It is so heavy I don't know how I would get it back to the store.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Yikes, brendainme! Sorry to hear that your appliance arrived damaged. While the fins are not a replaceable part, if any of the front pieces (grille, filter, etc.) were damaged, please contact us directly and we can send a replacement part. We can be reached at 1-888-203-1389 M-F from 8a-8p EST. ~ Brandi Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Works well but doesn’t cool the whole space

    Posted
    StillHOT
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The box says it will cool larger spaces so we got this bigger unit to cool our master bedroom and bathroom. The bedroom is only 12x15 and bathroom is 10x10 but it only works in the bedroom and never makes it the second room even with fans.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      I hate to hear that your appliance is not cooling the area desired, StillHOT. Please note there are many factors that could affect your a/c's performance. We recommend your position the louvers for better air distribution. Check that the front of your unit is not blocked by drapes, blinds, furniture, etc.restricting air distribution. For additional questions, please contact us at 1-888-203-1389 Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturday 8am-6pm EST. ~Maggie Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    It was okay

    Posted
    Carlos2018
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Dont get the open box special. It won’t be worth it. It’ll only be good for a while then it’ll start acting crazy. Youre better off investing in a brand new one it’ll last way longer.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Not 12,100

    Posted
    rose
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Its not 12,100 btu its 12,000 when I question it in store his answer was its the samething, cools quick however it is a bit loud

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Thank you for sharing your A/C experience, rose. Your A/C is designed to produce certain sounds. I recommend checking your Owner's Manual (page 4) your A/C's normal operating sounds. Kindly, Courtney Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Doesn’t meet

    Posted
    tpayne0001987
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This does not meet expectations. It does not cool off 500 square feet. It is very quiet. You hardly even realize it’s on.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Hello. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your air conditioner. If you want the air conditioner to be louder you could adjust the fan speed. Remember that entryways, fans, direct sunlight, and drapery can after the cooling of your product. Please review the owner's manual for tips on improving the cooling performance. Kindly, Anna Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good air conditioner

    Posted
    DonnaD
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This is a good air conditioner just didn’t work well for use due to the open concept of our house.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    just ok

    Posted
    Timmy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    good price but does not get very cold. I set it down to 65 in my bedroom which is 15x25 and it does not get below 75 degrees

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Timmy, we hate to hear that your a/c is not cooling your room properly. There are many factors that could cause this matter such as blockages preventing air flow or air directional louvers may be positioned improperly. Make sure the front of unit is not blocked by drapes, blinds, furniture, etc. restricting air distribution. Please contact us at 1-888-203-1389 Monday-Friday 8am-8pm and Saturday 8am-6pm EST for additional questions. Best, Maggie Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    It was okay

    Posted
    theunofficialmd
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    For the price i paid i was expecting a lot more but this ac wasnt able to keep up with chi summer days

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Hello, theunofficialm. Thank you for your feedback. To ensure you are receiving the best results from the air conditioner check that the mode is on cool and the filter is clean. We would definitely be happy to address any additional questions you may have. Please feel free to call us at 888-203-1389, Monday through Friday 8AM-8PM EST and Saturdays 9AM-6PM EST. - R'Shaye Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Cools well

    Posted
    Liza
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Fan knocks a bit loud when system gets turned off. Thought the system would have been quieter.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Hi Liza. We regret to hear that you are not completely satisfied with the performance of your air conditioner. We can recommend adjusting the fan speed while in the room to reduce the noise from the air conditioner. If needed, please contact our customer service team to discuss further by calling We deeply regret to learn that you are not completely satisfied with the performance of your air conditioner. We can recommend adjusting the fan speed while in the room to reduce the noise from the air conditioner. If needed, please contact our customer service team to discuss further by calling 1-888-203-1389 Mon-Fri, 8am - 8pm (EST). Best Wishes – Anna Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good AC

    Posted
    Frank
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Nice price and easy to install. Cools really nice, but a little noisy.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Frank, it is great to hear how well your air conditioner is working for you. Your feedback will help us understand our strengths and identify areas for improvement. -Jennifer Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Ok

    Posted
    Meshia
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    It’s ok for the price. Runs kind of louder than my other one.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Meshia, thank you for your time and willingness to share your opinion. One of our goals is to deliver excellent customer service. Your feedback will help us understand our strengths and identify areas for growth. ~Jennifer Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    does the work

    Posted
    Electroman
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    it does what it need to do cool for small room is perfect

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Hi Electroman! We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your air conditioner and it is performing as designed. Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, feel free to reach out to us at 1-888-203-1389 Monday-Friday 8am-8pm EST and Saturday 9am-6pm EST at your convenience. –CiCi Frigidaire