Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Garmin - vívofit Fitness Band + Heart Rate - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 352 reviews

89%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-17 of 17 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Piece of junk

    Posted
    Anonymous
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    It took me two days and three devices just to activate this thing. It failed with my iPad3 and my iPhone 5c. I was finally able to get it started with my desktop using Garmin Express. I can only see steps taken, goal,and heart rate. It did not reset steps taken until it reached 35,000. It now resets at 5:00 pm EST instead of midnight. I can not enter sleep or snyc mode. It has not downloaded one piece of data. This appears to be a "rush to market" product. No testing, no quality control. I am sending it back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      We are very sorry for the problems you had with your vivofit. There have been some stability improvements released via software updates, which will hopefully resolve the problems you had regarding the steps resetting. If you still have this product, you can use Garmin Express to install these updates.

      If this continues, our product support is more than happy to help you resolve this. You can reach them at http://www.garmin.com/us/support/

      -NM Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not for everyone

    Posted
    Squirrely
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Purchased the Vivofit for my mother's 91st birthday. She is interested in knowing the time, how many steps she has taken and in general her activity. I have yet to figure out how to get it connected to my iPhone. We went on vacation and have limited resources but with the information that came with the vivofit. Not as easy to use as I would have hoped.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not very accurate...

    Posted
    BigPoppa
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this tracker for my daughter as a gift after reading all the reviews & I thought that it was a good alternative for fitbit & it was a total bust. My daughter was resting & the heart rate monitor was saying that her HR was over 180. I would recommend that if you're interested in accuracy to just go for the Fitbit it may be worth the extra money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the vívofit. We’re sorry that device did not work out regarding the heart rate monitor and we’d love to address this concern with you. There are a few things that can be done to improve the heart rate data. Please visit the following link to get more information:
      http://support.garmin.com/support/searchSupport/simpleCase.htm?caseId={32a27c60-4935-11e2-e8a7-000000000000}&kbName=garmin
      If those steps do not help please reach out to our product support team in the following link so they can get more information and assist you:
      www.garmin.com/support
      ~JH Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Inaccurate on treadmill

    Posted
    Pk76
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    When holding the bars on a treadmill the steps and distance is not accurately recorded on vivofit. Treadmill recorded 1 mile and vivofit recorded .57. The vivofit also recorded the steps at 1400. On average I do 2000 steps per mile. The iPhone health app recorded my steps more accurately. The hearth rate monitor seems to be more accurate

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      We are sorry that this product didn't work out for you. Garmin Activity Trackers have sensors that are designed to detect natural movement in your arm performed while walking or running, so unfortunately, the vivofit is not going to accurately count your steps while you hold the bars on a treadmill.

      Garmin Activity Trackers work very well at giving an overall snapshot of daily activity but there may be some instances, such as the one you described, in which the device may not function as intended.

      -NM Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not Buy

    Posted
    JayB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This product does not link automatically to its online account each day, so you must manually link it each night or the data is lost. Tracking data is all this product does to develop a pattern and see progress, adding this additional step makes it more of a chore than a convenient way of viewing progress

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Complicated and lost the ID key so it's worthless.

    Posted
    alpine
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The apparatus was so complicated and cumbersome that my grown son couldn't figure it out. Then when he got back from Christmas trip the ID key was missing so no way to connect to the computer for directions. Over $100 spent on a worthless Christmas present. Sorry I bought it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      Sorry to hear about your experience with the vívofit. If you are referring to the ANT+ USB stick as the ID key, that stick is used primarily to sync your data with a compatible Mac or Windows PC and is not unit-exclusive. The vívofit is also capable of syncing to a compatible smartphone using Bluetooth (no accessories needed). The ANT+ USB stick is replaceable and universal to any ANT+ Garmin products. As far as setup is concerned, the complete owner's manual is available as a PDF at the following link for free download:

      http://support.garmin.com/support/manuals/manuals.htm?partNo=010-01225-00&language=en&country=US

      Thanks,
      -LB Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bad choice for tracking your fitness.

    Posted
    bobkat999

    Does not sync with the computer or phone well. Got it ti sync once in 35 trys. Can't monitor progress and that was the reason for my purchase. Read the reviews on line for the full truth.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      I’m sorry to hear about the sync issues that you experienced with your vívofit. The following FAQ lists several troubleshooting suggestions that should help you with your sync troubles with Garmin Express: http://bit.ly/GRMNANT. In regard to syncing with the Garmin Connect Mobile app, please ensure that the pairing steps listed in this FAQ are followed accurately: http://bit.ly/1HLCVa9. If issues persist, please contact Garmin Customer Care at http://j.mp/GRMNSupport for additional assistance. Thank you! (KS) Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Vivofit

    Posted
    zogo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    When I ordered this item it was for the heart rate monitor. Not knowing it was a separate piece to be worn. I am not very happy and it should be more clear in the description that it is separate

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      While Garmin does offer devices with built in optical heart rate monitors, the vivofit does not have this feature and is not advertised as such. If you desire that functionality, we recommend exploring our other product offerings to see if there is one that will fit your needs better.

      Also, our product support team (www.garmin.com/support) is available to answer any product questions you may have.

      |BB| Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Display broke

    Posted
    Vivofit
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Display broke after 24 days and Best Buy nor Garmin will replace it. The app is also not very detailed. Not worth the money. I purchased the bundle.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not user friendly

    Posted
    chubbs77
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I traded in my Fitbit for this, after a week realized how much I missed the fitbit for it's ease and simplicity so I returned the Garmin and got another fitbit

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    horrible tracker

    Posted
    angie420
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    do not purchase. disconnects all of the time. will not do accurate counts. updates are not available and when they are do not work.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      When using the vívofit, make sure your device is paired to the phone or computer before trying to sync. The vívofit will not connect to the phone to sync unless told to by the user, as constant Bluetooth connectivity would significantly drain the battery. The heart rate monitor must first be paired to the device before heart rate can be used as a variable in your data. Step and all other data accuracy is dependent on your user and device info, including but not limited to age, weight, height, activity level, custom run/walk step length, training zones, etc. Any and all updates for the vívofit can be installed using Garmin Express, which can be downloaded for free at Garmin.com/Express.

      It looks like several things need to be addressed here. For assistance in getting everything working properly, please contact us at Garmin.com/Support. -LB Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Defective unit

    Posted
    Shellback75
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    This is my second unit the first one lasted a week and failed. I am giving it one more chance, so I hope the second works.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GarminProductExpert

      I'm sorry that you had this experience, if you need our support with the new vivofit please feel free to contact Product Support, you can find their information via this link: http://www.garmin.com/us/support/ ~QKO Garmin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    returning immediately

    Posted
    buba2510

    all the bad reviews are true does not sync well took forever to pair the only thing they improved was the wrist band flaw.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Did not keep

    Posted
    Plee
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I returned this fitness band because it showed that I had walked over 1000 steps while I sat watching television.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Does not work

    Posted
    Mikey
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Simple instructions that do not work. I'm bringing it back for a refund tomorrow.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    to complicated

    Posted
    fourmoremarine
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    To complicated for a glorified pedometer Returned to store

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED

    Posted
    Bumpster23
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This product was a disappointment. It is being returned ASAP

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend