Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

GE - 1.6 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 2267 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-19 of 19 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Even for Low $ Should Be Better Built

    Posted
    Poloco
    • My Best Buy® Member

    You get what you pay for, but even at a low price, this product is costly for the problems found. The door is very noisy and doesn't line up properly when shutting/opening. When using the pre-set timer options (such as "1" for one minute) half the time they didn't work at all. The overall feel is cheap, and the button plate is not ergonomically laid out. The body dimensions are given in the specification list, but the tray could have been an inch wider as my previous GE's were for the same size unit. I found it very easy to install but I was replacing a previous GE so the basic foundation was already in place. I only had to drill new top holes (Note: The blueprint for where the holes needed to be was not accurate so I had to re-measure). To be honest, this is the first of four GE microwaves that I've had that I didn't absolutely LOVE. The worst I could say about the other three is that the fan was loud. Everything else was perfect and all of them lasted 10+ years. It was why I continued buying from this company.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Useable but not recommended

    Posted
    Lacof1764
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We purchased this GE microwave to replace a GE microwave we had used for 20 years. This new oven does heat/cook food as one might expect, however; there are a couple of design shortcomings that make this hard to recommend. 1. The screen mesh on the glass door is so dense that it is difficult to see what is inside. 2. The keypad requires much more force than previous GE microwave ovens that we have used in the past. The is annoying. 3. Our particular unit does not allow the installation of the charcoal filter. Based on the installation instructions some units can be fitted with the charcoal filter and some cannot. For the above reasons; we do not recommend this microwave oven.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed in design

    Posted
    Maryftp
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Installed today, not sure I will keep. Biggest complaint is the button labels cannot be read unless you are about 3 inches from them ! They look readable online, and there was not one on display in a store close by to see in person. Digital clock is bright white and stands out like a sore thumb; should have been muted more and button labels matched with same intensity.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    2 years and that's it

    Posted
    dpbestbuy
    • My Best Buy® Member

    After two years, it is tripping the dedicated breaker constantly. At first it tripped after opening the door while cooking. Now it trips as soon as you try to start it. Hardly worth the service call. Same old story. The last one lasted 15 years...

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Didnt last 2 months

    Posted
    unknownspec
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Gave 2 star because i like how looks and performance. The Durability is not good. 2 months later the turning table is making noise.I check to see if there was anything but its clean.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Replaced

    Posted
    BenP
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Bought this micro and after 1.5 years it broke. Loved it until it stopped working. More expensive to fix, than to replace. Trying round two, hoping to have better luck with this one.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    FarrFamily
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We've only had the microwave 2.5 years until it started flipping the breaker. Tested the microwave on a different circuit and flipped the breaker on that one as well. Time to buy a new one.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good microwave, poor installation instructions

    Posted
    Mike
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Replaced old unit with this new one. Either installation instructions are incorrect or product is mis-designed. No one available at GE Customer Service competent enough to resolve problem. Problem not corrected.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    OK

    Posted
    TedM
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It fit the space, was white and avilable. Installers cost less than some others. It does what we need but does not have some of the buttons that the Kenmore did.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Second one in less than 2 years

    Posted
    Hibby
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    First microwave died after a year and 3 months. Purchased a replacement because I did not want to deal with new brackets. Hopefully, this unit will last longer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Broken after 2 years

    Posted
    joeg
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Mine is barely over 2 years old and it's already toast. Buy it if you want, but might want to get the warranty.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Replacement For an Old GE Microwave that Died

    Posted
    Alaskabob
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    After 6 months of use I had to have it repaired under warranty. This unit had the same wattage as the last but seemed to be hotter that my original..

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Answers

      Hello Alaskabob - We are very sorry to hear that your unit required repair after only six months. This is certainly not something we would expect to occur. Our hope is that the unit was quickly repaired under the product warranty, and that you receive many years of good service from the microwave. Thank you for choosing GE Appliances for your cooking needs. - TREY@GEA GE_Appliances

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great while it lasted

    Posted
    MinNel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Get extended warranty, mine started tripping my circuit breaker after a year and a month, just missed the 1 year warranty mark.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    This microwave seemed junky.

    Posted
    Doodlebug
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    The doors did not close smoothly and you needed to hit the buttons just right to get them to work. They seemed to move around and unstable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE_Answers

      Hello Doodlebug - this is Nancy at GE. We are sorry to hear that your new microwave door does not close smoothly and that the control panel does not seem to be working correctly. It is considered normal to have a small amount of play to the microwave door up or down of approximately 1/8". This is more often observed on the over-the-range models. If there is a problem with the keypad, we recommend contacting GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737. Thanks for providing your feedback! GE_Appliances

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Handle broke off

    Posted
    coolio9
    • My Best Buy® Member

    After a year and 3 months, the handle has broken off from the door. I would not recommend this product. Very bad quality

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Odd size

    Posted
    Capy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Would not work for my replacement because of size--depth. Retired to store and ordered a different one with help from store worker.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Have a flashlight handy at all times

    Posted
    JustMeJT
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Keypad contrast is horrible. Cannot read panel to operate. Who ok'd this design??

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Damage item

    Posted
    Joeax
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The microwave, i was received damage, the mictowave have some hit in the exterior,

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not the best

    Posted
    Tiger
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The display buttons on the front are not arranged user friendly. The fan is too loud for me.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GE Answers

      Hello Tiger - thank you for reviewing your new GE Appliances microwave. We appreciate your feedback regarding the arrangement of the pads on the control panel and we're sorry you are not happy with the sound of the fan. Your comments are important to us as we share this information with our product team. Thanks for choosing GE Appliances! NANCYatGEA GE_Appliances