Skip to content
Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Model:
GA01894-US
SKU:
6473265
Highly rated by customers for:
Your price for this item is $249.99
Save $80
The previous price was $329.99

Customer reviews

Rating 3.6 out of 5 stars with 755 reviews

Rating Filter

Rating by feature

  • Value
    3.5

    Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars

  • Quality
    4.0

    Rating 4.0 out of 5 stars

  • Ease of Use
    3.8

    Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars

Pros mentioned filter

Cons mentioned filter

68%would recommend to a friend

Rating 4 out of 5 stars with 10 reviews

Page 1 Showing 1-20 of 755 reviews
  • Rated 3 out of 5 stars

    It's fine - but there are better options out there

    |
    Posted .

    I have reviewed roughly six different cameras over time: Arlo (two types), Eufy (two types), Blink, Lorex and now Google. Of all of them, this sits right in the middle. Unboxing, set-up and initial use was easy. Scan the QR code with the Google Home App that you likely already have on your phone/tablet; then you’re off to the races. The magnetic mount is solid, however Google really sticks it to you (pun intended) because in order to have it face forward or down-ish, you need “their” stand which stinks in my opinion. If you try to lay it down to get a straight-on view, it rolls, as you’d expect from a round camera. To get around this, cut the end off of a 4x2 about the size of the diameter of the bracket and screw the mount into that; you get the flat edge from keeping the camera from rolling around and it faces forward without the need for a mount (see pics). After a full charge, the battery indicator said I had 6 weeks of battery. After a week (but not a crazy amount) of motion, but motion nonetheless, I also had 6 days left of battery - so the estimations seem pretty off. I’ve even moved it around the house to areas with not-so-great WiFi & it still seems to do well on battery life. Another saving grace here, is that the camera is only 1080p and doesn’t need to do all that extra processing. This camera is more of an “observation” camera vs something you’d use for stealthy security, as it does a few odd things. First, you can “dim” the status LED, but you can’t turn it off all together. I don’t like this as I don’t want the camera to illuminate anything green and obvious at night when it detects motion. Next, if you go to say something out of the two-way microphone, it plays a tone first. The only reason I know this, is I was messing around with the App and hit the mic button accidentally and the people outside started looking around and asked me about it. From a color and clarity perspective, Google is a bit darker for video quality (see pics). From within the App, you can download a local copy of your video but you can’t take a picture of what’s on the screen - you have to “screenshot” your phone/tablet to get a picture. That’s pretty weak. There isn’t any local storage and you have to save your videos (without a subscription) within 3 hours. So, your house was broken into while you were at Disney World for the afternoon? Sorry, those clips are gone by the time you returned home; want to avoid this - pay more money to Google. With the subscription it’s cool to be able to ‘not alert’ when I get home, but do I really want that much _more_ facial recognition to be handled by these guys? I’ll start with the Pros and Cons then wrap it up. Pros: Easy set up Sturdy Strong Magnet Clarity / Quality MagSafe-like magnetic charging cable Battery Life Cons: ONLY 3 hours of saved video playback for free No local storage Can’t take a picture within the App Google Home as the interface (and the buried menus) Non-customizable notification sounds Status LED can't be disabled Overly bright Red IR lights Activating Microphone plays a chime out of the camera Isn't designed to sit flush on a table so they sell a mount that I have to buy Subscription for: 30 days of video ( or 60 days for a premium price ) and the cool services Do I recommend this camera? I’d say ‘No’ because there are better quality (2k/4k) cameras out there that allow for on-site/local storage without a subscription.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi nhtechie, thanks for letting us know of your experience with the Nest Cam (Battery). We’re sorry to learn that some camera features and hardware designs didn’t meet your needs and we appreciate you pointing these things out to help us identify areas we can improve for our customers’ like you.

      Nest Cam battery is the first battery camera created at Google Nest which features full on device machine learning that can detect pets, vehicles, people, faces and packages all without any cloud processing. And unlike the previous versions of Nest cameras, all the new cameras come with free 3 hour event-based video history.

      Battery life will depend on factors including activity, temperature, and camera settings that you select. You can extend the battery life of your camera by adjusting video quality, length of video clips, and using activity zones to monitor specific areas. We suggest adjusting the video quality in settings to balance high resolution video with longer battery life and lower bandwidth use. Check this link that might be helpful for you: https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/10901611

      We care about your experience and are taking your feedback seriously. If you need further assistance with your Nest Cam, let us know and we’d be more than happy to help: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    As expected

    |
    |
    Posted .

    I purchased this nest camera battery to replace another battery brand camera on the side of my house. I went into this knowing the new nest cam wouldn’t work with the Nest app and would have to use Google Home app to view it but having all cameras under one app is the end goal for myself. The camera itself so far seems to be great. I’m already subscribed to the nest subscription so it’s great not needing onboard storage and everything is uploaded to the cloud. My nest cam is roughly 9’ above ground whereas google recommends approx 6.5’ but it’s had no issues picking up people in the zone I’ve created. So far the battery has dropped 3% in just 24 hours but I blame the excessive motion it picked up yesterday. I found adding a zone for alerts only and setting the motion sensitivity to medium works best. I’m also using full resolution video so that will also deplete battery faster. I can see Google claims of battery life being accurate - pretty standard amongst other battery operated cameras, possibly a bit worse but this camera has much more onboard intelligence whereas my legacy nest cameras use the cloud for their processing. The big winner here will be when Google Nest releases their solar panel so it doesn’t need to be recharged every couple of months. The deduction of the star is simply due to Google’s inability to create at least one app that does everything. The Google Home app allows you to scrub events (battery) in the app or scrub video 24/7 if your battery cam is connected to a power source. Have an existing Nest doorbell or other older Nest cameras? Can’t scrub video - you’ll need to go back to the Nest app to do this on your other cameras where you’ll not find your new Nest Cam battery because it’s only in the home app! I’m sure (not really) google will introduce all these functions into the Home app, but why not now? Makes zero sense to me. Here are photos comparing the two cameras. The Nest cam has the much larger FOV.

    Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Features, Price, Safety
    Cons mentioned:
    Compatibility

    Rated 3 out of 5 stars

    One step forward, two steps back

    |
    Posted .

    The new Nest Cam (battery) is Google’s latest camera under the Nest branding but this camera is only Nest by name marking a clear departure from the Nest brand many are familiar with. First let’s cover what makes this a nice choice when purchasing a WiFi based security camera. The camera now features a battery (non-removable) that provides 1-6 months of use heavily dependent on activity. At a pretty active door (pets and people), it used 25% after two weeks. Fortunately if you have an outlet within reach of the optional 10m outdoor cable, you are in luck as it can be powered like the previous Nest cams. When wired, you unlock additional features such as 24/7 recording provided you pay for the premium Nest Aware Plus service. Google does offer complimentary 3-hour event history for free, which is just enough to be practically useless. Obviously, they are nudging you to the reasonably priced Nest Aware that start at $6/month but you have to enroll in the Nest Aware Plus to fully unlock the camera and it’s 24/7 recording capability. Beyond the service lock in, Google has claimed to improve privacy by utilizing on device machine learning and biometric data. In addition, the face library is private and stored on device as well. One of the best features is the on-board memory allows the device to store up to 1 hour of events if the internet or WiFi is disrupted, providing additional insurance. The video quality is decent, comparable to the previous generation Nest Cameras (not IQ) but softer and less detail than the old IQ model which has an 8MP sensor as opposed to the 2MP sensor in the new Nest Camera (battery). Here is where the wheels fall off. It’s 2021 and this is a 1080p camera (HDR, H.264) that you have to pay at a minimum $60/year to make useful, the non-replaceable battery lasts on average 2-3 months between charges and you have to pay extra for a an oddly oriented outdoor cable to fully unlock all it’s advertised capabilities. The new Nest camera only works with Google’s Home App which is not as intuitive as the Nest app (iPhone). For those with old Nest cameras, the Google Home app does not offer feature parity for the older cams, a deliberate move in the vein of forced obsolescence. Accessing your timeline for a mix of old and new cameras requires two applications and though it is possible this could be addressed, Google has a poor track record for supporting legacy hardware. Fortunately, event history is available for all generations. The mount is magnetic however, so that’s neat. Overall it is a nice product but I feel they missed the mark on the video capabilities and current software integration. If you are buying this for your first or exclusively using these newer Nest Cameras you can safely ignore the software complaints and focus on if 1080p is good enough for your applications, which for most it is.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi PeboQuattro, thanks for letting us know of your feedback about the Nest Cam (Battery). We’re sorry to learn that the video capabilities and software integration of the new Nest Cam didn’t meet your preference and needs.

      We understand the convenience of using one app only to manage and control your Nest devices. And we’re aware that longtime Nest users enjoy viewing their Nest camera feeds from the Nest app and web app. However, our priority with this launch was building a complete experience for our new cameras and doorbell in the Google Home app. Our teams are working on enabling the ability to set up and control older Nest cameras in the Home app so users will have one app to control all of their devices, and we’re working on bringing full functionality to the Google Home app as we want to create an integrated experience with other Nest and smart home devices.

      Using the Google Home app provides you with a lot of benefits including access to Google's trusted security platform and access to other Google tools. Here are other benefits you can also get by using the Google Home app with your Nest Cam:
      - Automatic security protections such as Suspicious activity detection, 2-Step Verification and Security Checkup.
      - If you have a Nest Cam and a Nest Hub, just say, "Hey Google, show me the backyard camera” to cast your camera stream to your display without any additional setup.
      - One account to sign into both the Nest and Google Home apps.
      - Your homes and home members will be aligned across the Nest and Google Home apps.

      Your feedback means a lot to us since we’re always looking for ways to improve our products and services. For any concerns, questions or anything you want to share, you’re always welcome to visit us anytime here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Pros mentioned:
    Ease of use, Features, Price
    Cons mentioned:
    Compatibility

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Wire Free Camera for Google is a Hit!

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    I have always been interested in buying a Google Outdoor Camera but I was more interested in a battery powered, wire free approach and Google didn’t offer that. Well, finally Google has released their “Google - Nest Camera Battery” and for me it is a hit! UNBOXING & INSTALL: - Taking the Camera out you realize how great of a job Google did making this. It’s modern, sleek, and nothing about it feels cheap. - It’s size is a little bigger than a baseball, so not too small but not overly large either. - Installation was super easy on this! The main thing is that this required the “Google Home” app to set up, and the app does a pretty great job helping you step by step on setting this up. - I personally set this up for outdoor use and did not hard wire it as I want to use the battery. And mounting this outside was very easy. You just need to drill two screws into the wall you were mounting it too, connect the base, and the rest is just magnets! So you can easily adjust the camera or take it off when you need to recharge it or use it somewhere else. PROS: - I know I said this, but I do really like the look of this camera. Especially since it is outside, its just nice that it isn’t an eye sore. - The picture quality really is great on this camera! Yes it isn’t perfect super high end clarity but that is the trade off for a battery operated model. But regardless I was really impressed with the video quality! You can zoom in, it has a really nice viewing angle so you can see a lot of area, and overall works exactly how I need it to. - The smart features in this are no joke. It has facial recognition for people that come around a lot, can detect cars, animals, packages, or just any motion in general. It does a really good job telling you what is happening based on what it sees. - There is no base required, its all wireless if you want it to be! For me I really like the clutter free aspect of it since some outdoor cameras require a separate indoor base to connect to. - Something I like about the magnetic base / battery is that you can easily grab the camera and move it if you want to. If you want to move the camera from your yard to your dog’s kennel or your kids playroom you can easily do that! Just nice to be able to quickly swap it around if you need to keep an eye on something that you usually don’t. CONS: - As of the time of this review, the Google Nest Camera Battery does not work with the “Nest” app. I really like the Nest app as it is clean and easy to use, and its disappointing I can’t have this camera hooked up to the Nest app. - That being said, I don’t love the Google Home app. Yes it has a lot of nice perks, but I think for the camera integration I want something more focused on the cameras as soon as I open the app, with more picture settings, and easier history viewing. But those can all be fixed with time. - The Camera does not come with an “indoor” table top mount. That is an optional accessory you buy on the side, and it just would have been nice to come with it. BOTTOM LINE: - Google finally made a well priced battery operated indoor/outdoor camera and they did it right! The camera looks high quality, the picture is great, it has a lot or smart features, works well with your existing Google Smart Home, and helps add an additional level of security to your home. I’d highly recommend the purchase because I don’t think you will be disappointed!

    Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Doesnt support the nest app

    |
    |
    Posted .

    Nice cam but wow what was google thinking. The power cable faces forward which wxposes rhe power cord if you want to have your cam connected to power 24/7. It is supposed to be a nest product but when you add the cam it takes you to the google site to add it. Once you add it you can view on the nest app wich is a pain because i have my original nest cams on the nest app. On the google home app i can see all cams old and new but the problem is google home app is all over the place i just want to see my cams not everything else in my house. How you gonna take nest over and force ppl to use the google app. Im returning and going with the old nest cams.

    Features

    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi DesawnB, thanks for sharing a review with us about your Nest Cam (Battery). We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had to deal with functionality issues, and that you don’t like the way the cable connects to the camera.

      Using the Google Home app provides you with a lot of benefits including access to Google's trusted security platform and access to other Google tools. Also, it provides you with seamless integration with your other Google devices. In the near future, we’ll allow users to set up previous Nest devices and have full control in the Home app. Users with older cameras can view their camera feeds in the Google Home app alongside the new Nest Doorbell and Nest Cams. Our team is working on bringing full functionality to the Google Home app so all of your cameras can be set up and controlled in one place.

      We’re taking your feedback as we always aim to improve our products and services, and if you decide to give Nest Cam (Battery) another run in the future, we’d be more than happy to work with you to help improve your experience. You’ll find us always available here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Larger than expected

    |
    Posted .

    This camera was a lot larger than I expected & it’s hard to discreetly hide it somewhere. I was provided the camera, stand & outdoor weatherproof cable . The cable has a very long cord (10 ft.) & allows you to keep the camera plugged in all the time. I prefer using the battery & go wire free. Setup took me a little while because I couldn’t connect only to find that I had the charging cord in the wrong way, yes, it fits both ways. After that, setup only took a few minutes. We have Nest smoke detectors & a lock so it used those as connecting devices. You can’t use the Nest app though, you have to get Google home app for the camera. I wanted this for our garage rec room for indoor use & the daytime video quality is pretty good, not near as good as our outdoor Arlo cameras. The night vision was pretty impressive, see pic below, because that room is very dark at night & everything shows clearly. The camera is very sensitive to movement & starts recording immediately & let’s you know if it’s a person, animal, vehicle. The videos are all saved in the app & are easy accessed & can be enlarged to full screen. The only downside is they’re only saved for 3 hours, if you want more storage you need to pay for a subscription. Not sure why all the bad reviews, it’s not the best out there but it’s definitely not the worst camera either.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Really bad battery life.

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    Day 2 of using this cameras and one of them after charging them to 100%. It’s already down to 68%. And it says that’s = to 4 days. This camera is in the back yard. There is very little movement back there. I normally just let the dogs out like 3 times a day. The one on the side of the house is down to 80% and it has only recorded like 5 evens. This is crazy I expected way better from nest. I have several nest cams but I think is time to change brands

    Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi Domo, thanks for letting us know that you're having issues with the battery life of your Nest Cam (Battery). We’re sorry to learn that the batteries are draining faster than what is expected.

      Battery life will depend on factors including activity, temperature, and camera settings that you select. You can extend the battery life of your camera by adjusting video quality, length of video clips, time between recorded events, and using activity zones to monitor specific areas. You may find some helpful tips on how to save battery for Nest camera here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/10901611

      We’d be happy to check on your Nest Cam (battery), we suggest contacting our support team so we can assist you further. You can reach us anytime here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Battery Meh... Wired Excellent.

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 2 weeks when reviewed.

    After reading all the terrible reviews I felt like I should leave some constructive feedback for those on the fence. I have now had the two pack for two weeks. I have used the nest doorbell cam for a few years and also have a nest thermostat. I do love using the nest app but I don't mind transitioning to the google home app either. Change is hard but it's bound to happen in technology. Luckily I also have many google home speakers and google's mesh wifi so I am somewhat familiar with the app. I have had these cameras set up as both battery and now I have them set up hardwired. I made this change due to the lack of notifications at night. I would walk out in my drive way during the day and it would have no issue picking me up. I walked out at night and I would have to get right in front of it for it to kick on and record it as an event. I decided to up my current nest subscription to the plus version and these cameras work great with being on 24/7. If you are serious about security, having the plus subscription is a necessity.

    Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice.. But overpriced

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 month when reviewed.

    I generally like my NEST cameras. These are kind of a toss up as any battery powered cameras would be. There are settings use use to make it more sensitive to motion and sound, that affect battery life. Also the temperature can affect the battery life. I do like the video quality I get from them. They can be set up wired for power, but that will limit where they can be placed.

    Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi OutlanderNC, we're glad you liked your Nest Cam (Battery). It's also great to hear that you were able to figure out the settings for the motion, sound detection and video quality.

      Battery life for Nest Cam (Battery) will depend on factors including activity, temperature, and camera settings that you select. Users can extend the battery life of their camera by adjusting video quality, length of video clips, time between recorded events, and using activity zones to monitor specific areas. Here are some typical scenarios:
      Busy: About 1 month battery life (About 25 - 30 recorded events per day)
      Typical: About 2.5 months battery life (About 13 - 16 recorded events per day)
      Quiet: About 6 months battery life (about 2 - 5 recorded events per day)

      If you need further help, you're more than welcome to contact our support team by visiting us at the Google Nest help page using this link: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Skip this one....

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 week when reviewed.

    I really wanted to like this camera. But it just does not do the job. I have a pool being built, below a deck, and I really wanted a camera that would pick up anyone on the stairs of the deck, or anywhere around/in the pool. It works great on the deck and stairs, but if I walk around the pool or anywhere to the right, it does not pick up motion at all. I understand it's directed to be placed 6.5 feet from the ground, but I would still expect this to pick up motion from higher and farther. Ultimately, I was hoping to use this in place of Blink cameras, to keep everything in one app, but the cheaper Blink cameras far outperform this. They pick up so much more motion - motion anywhere in camera view - while this simply does not. So this is getting returned. For the price, I expected much better performance.

    Features

    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi Walter, thanks for sharing your feedback about your experience with the Nest Cam (battery), and we’re sorry to learn that it didn’t meet your expectations.

      Your camera runs algorithms to process video and audio data so it can determine whether it detected something you might want to know about. To detect anything besides a person, animal or moving vehicle, the camera checks for general motion in the scene. It learns what’s normally in its background view and looks for movement and changes. As a result, it can sometimes trigger not just for important things, but also for minor things like tree branches that sway in the wind. If you only need your camera to detect people, animals or moving vehicles, it's recommended that you don't turn on this feature.

      Also, Activity zones can help determine when your camera records something. If you set up Activity zones, your camera only records in the zones that you’ve enabled. This allows you to ignore busy or unimportant areas of your scene. If your camera detects that even a small part of a notable object is in an Activity zone, your camera should record it.

      We hope you’ll consider using the Nest camera, and if you’re willing to give us an opportunity to help improve your experience, please contact us anytime here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor Battery Quality.

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 3 months when reviewed.

    I am 2 months in owning these cameras. I bought a total of 5 cameras. In the 2 months, 3 cameras went bad on me. All 3 of them had the same battery issue. The process to get a warranty replacement is straight forward, unfortunately you have to wait for hours on the phone. I once was waiting for about 50 minutes just to talk to someone to tell me to reset and leave it in the charger for 24hrs, and call back wait another hour to let them know it doesn't work to start the warranty replacement. I had these mounted high outside my house and had them offline with battery issues more than actually having them operating as snow was in the way to bring them down. The warranty will not be 1 year from replacement but 1 year from original purchase date. Im thinking these will not last another year. I honestly will NOT EVER be buying these cameras in the future. Nor will I recommend them to my friends or family. I only bought them because they integrate with the Google Home Units. But absolutely not worth the hassle, and the poor quality. Make sure you get Geek Squad Protection because after the 1 year warranty from your original purchase date, your on your own, and will be stuck with a paper weight.

    Features

    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi Luie, thanks for sharing your experience with Nest Cam (battery). We regret to hear about the battery issues you have with 3 of your Nest cameras, and the hassle that you experience with our support team.

      We are doing a thorough troubleshooting, so that we can identify what’s causing the issue. We value your feedback and it will greatly help us in improving our products and services. We’re hoping that you will still continue using your Nest cameras. If you need help, you can always reach out to our support team. We’d be more than happy to help you here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    NOT COMPATIBLE WITH NEST APP!!!!

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    WHY DOES GOOGLE NOT ALLOW THEIR NEST PRODUCT TO BE ADDED TO THE NEST APP??? Do not purchase these if you have any other Nest products and are trying to include them with the Nest App. These are not supported by the Nest App and you will only be able to view them on the Google Home App. VERY VERY DISAPPONTING!!! They also have very poor video quality. If you are trying to use these to identify a person or vehicle from any distance greater than 20' use a different camera.

    Features

    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi Kjkleins, thanks for sharing your views on Nest Cam (Battery). We´re sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Google Home app.

      We understand that you have enjoyed using the Nest app with your Nest cameras. However, our priority with this launch was building a complete experience for our new cameras and doorbell in the Google Home app. We wanted to make the Google Home app as the one place you can control all your favorite Nest and other smart home devices with the Google Assistant. Here are some benefits you can get by using the Google Home app with your Nest Cam (Wired):
      - Automatic security protections, such as Suspicious activity detection, 2-Step Verification and Security Checkup.
      - Your Google Nest devices and services will work together. For example, if you have a Nest Cam and a Nest Hub, just say, ""Hey Google, show me the backyard camera” to cast your camera stream to your display without any additional setup.
      - One account to sign in to both the Nest and Google Home apps.
      - Your homes, and home members will be aligned across the Nest and Google Home apps.

      If you´re willing to try, you may set up your Nest cameras to the Google Home app. Here´s a guide that you can follow to set up your Nest cameras on the Google Home app: https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9893532

      Your Nest Cam (Battery) has full HD resolution with HDR video quality that’s optimized for a clear view in bright sun or dark. Keep in mind that it also helps save battery power. We believe that video resolution is only one factor that impacts video quality, and it shouldn’t be the only deciding factor when choosing a camera. However, if the images on your video seem too pixelated or blurry, then we recommend checking on your network for possible congestion as your bandwidth may not be enough to seamlessly connect all your devices, including Nest Cam (Battery). To isolate this issue, we recommend removing all your connected devices and then checking if the video quality for your Nest Cam (Battery) will improve.

      For any other support needs you may have, please consider contacting our support team. We'd be happy to entertain you and answer any questions you may have by visiting us here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Google style camera

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    Overall, this is a good camera. It is large and the quality seems like it will last. The only issue i have is that this is more expensive than the older cameras but this doesn't come with a power cord which is another $35 bucks.

    Features

    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    This is a very ruggid device

    |
    Posted .

    My installation was done in our 3 season room so it is an enclosed situation. Pairs easy with app. A few screws and you are ready to go.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Google Battery indoor outdoor suck especially the

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 4 months when reviewed.

    The product would be awesome if It rendered the service that they claimed! I am disappointed with the cashier for not executing my request for the protection coverage, myself for not checking to see if she place the protection plan and Google for the poor performance of the cameras in addition to the subscription! For this I would worse buy at Best Buy! I have called time after time to Google tech support and am still waiting for an resolution for missing videos recordings, glitches to be rectified. There seems to be a scripted version of troubleshooting for the same issues happening again and again! Not getting notifications, at times there’re notifications but no videos. A semi with a long flatbed passed by two cameras and no alerts!

    Features

    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi SemperfiPapa, we really appreciate you for sharing your feedback about your experience with the Nest Cam (Battery) and with our support team, and we’re sorry to hear that it’s a disappointment for you. We understand how having poor performance of the cameras can be frustrating, and it’s unfortunate that the issue is still happening after calling us multiple times. We’ll use your feedback and we’ll share this to the appropriate teams to work on how we handle customer concerns with accuracy and efficiency. We request for your patience as we’re working hard to resolve your issues as soon as we can, and as we may still need to investigate the issue in order for us to come up with the best course of action. If you’d like to check about any progress or updates about your case, please feel free to visit us and share with us your most recent case interaction number here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    NEEDS NEST INTEGRATION

    Posted .

    I install these products as a profession, I currently have 2 Outdoor IQ, 1 Indoor IQ and 1 Nest hello(not the new google branded) not to count the other various hubs/google minis I have in my home. This camera I purchased for my own personal use to become more familiar with so I can speak to its features and specs. Just like EVERYONE else the issue is the fact that when you go to the nest app to scan the QR code it gives you the "you need to add this to the google home app". Once you have it added the functionality and the layout of the features is not easy and user friendly like they are on the nest app. You cannot see your cameras feed in the google app unless you select said camera which is why I do not use the GHOME app for my previous cameras. The fact you cannot see this camera in the nest app either is a huge turn off on selling this especially to anyone who has one of your previous gen cameras. I know I will receive the same answer of " Our teams are working on enabling the ability to setup and control older Nest cameras in the Home app so users will have one app to control all of their devices. We’re also working on bringing full functionality to the Google Home app because we wanted to create an integrated experience with other Nest and smart home devices." THIS IS NOT WHAT YOUR CUSTOMERS ARE ASKING FOR! Its great you are integrating everything to the google home app. I am not disagreeing with this either, go ahead and do the above. You need to let this camera integrate to the nest app in the meantime as well. Otherwise your reviews are going to keep going down the drain on this, which seems like a fairly important factor and considering its only a 2 and a half star on BestBuy after only launching for less than a month is concerning am I wrong?

    Features

    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi there Mkocerha, thanks for giving us a review about the Nest Cam (Battery) and the Google Home app. We’re sorry to learn of your poor experience with using the camera in the lack of integration with the Nest App. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us better understand our customers’ preferences and needs. We’re aware that longtime Nest users enjoy viewing their Nest camera feeds from the Nest app, however, our priority with this launch was building a complete experience for our new cameras and doorbell in the Google Home app.

      If you come across an issue with your Nest Cam (Battery) and using it effectively in the Google Home app, please let us know here and we’ll do our best to help: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent camera with a caviat.

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 month when reviewed.

    Excellent camera. The only thing I don't like is the camera isn't integrated with the Nest app. You have to use Google Home app.

    Features

    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi Steve, we´re happy to hear that you´re finding Nest Cam (Battery) an excellent camera. We´re sorry to hear about your disappointment with the move from the Nest app to the Google Home app.

      Our goal was to make the Google Home app the one place where you can control all your favorite Google Nest devices and other smart home devices with the Google Assistant. Here are some benefits you can get by using the Google Home app with your Nest Cam (Battery):
      - Automatic security protections such as Suspicious activity detection, 2-Step Verification and Security Checkup.
      - Your Google Nest devices and services will work together. For example, if you have a Nest Cam and a Nest Hub, just say, ""Hey Google, show me the backyard camera” to cast your camera stream to your display without any additional setup.
      - One account to sign into both the Nest and Google Home apps.
      - Your homes and home members will be aligned across the Nest and Google Home apps.
      - If you', you may set up your Nest cameras to the Google Home app. Check out this help article: https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9893532

      We'd also like to hear more about your experience and help you with some features you are having difficulty with. You may reach out to our support team here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

  • Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Good camera so far

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    Unlike reviews i see here, i have no problem with this camera. - After 3 days batteries only went down 2%. - I was already using Google home, adding the camera was no problem. - Only 1 cable for 2 camera. That's true, but since i am not charging the camera very often i can do 1 camera at a time without problem - No problem with video quality, i can clearly see what's happening in my house. So so far very happy with purchase, next is Nest doorbell.

    Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    I see everything now!

    |
    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 2 weeks when reviewed.

    We use this Camera indoors for our Dog when we leave that also works as security. Mounting was super easy as it's wireless and the mount is purely magnetic, so taking off the camera is just a simply grab and pull. Covers a very wide viewing angle to get our door, kitchen, living room, and dining room.

    Features

    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Cannot create clips

    Posted .

    The camera itself is nice and built well, not as well built as the older IQ cameras. When plugged in there is an exposed wire where the IQ hid the wire. The real issue lies in the program the video can be viewed from. This camera only operates on the Home App, not the Nest App. Meaning you cannot view on a computer, you cannot create clips, you can't view all of your nest products on one app. Meaning you get notifications now from two apps and need to flip from one to another. I own two of these cameras as well as several of the older generation cameras. There have been two instances that I needed a recording but because you can only download events and not create a clip I was able to only download before and after what happened not during. Very disappointing that Google would go away from this Even with the Nest Aware subscription, you are not able to create a clip. This is something I did not find out until after I purchased the cameras and installed them (wired). Even though it was advertised at the store that you could crate clips with the subscription.

    Features

    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Nest Support
      Posted .

      Hi EGAP, thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry to hear about your difficult experience using the Google Home app for your Nest Cam (Battery).

      Moving to the Google Home app offers a lot of benefits for you and all previous Nest app users. We wanted to make the Google Home app the one place where you can control all your favorite Nest devices and other smart home devices with the Google Assistant. In the near future, we’ll allow users to set up previous Nest devices and have full control in the Home app.

      You may transfer your old Nest cameras to the Google Home app. Just follow the steps in this help article: https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9893532

      The newer Nest cameras and doorbells like the Google Nest Cam (wired), Google Nest Cam (battery), or Google Nest Doorbell (battery), lets you easily save events as video clips on your phone with the Google Home app. Follow the steps below to create and download a video clip:
      - Open the Home app.
      - Select your camera.
      - Tap History near the bottom of the screen.
      - Scroll to an event in your camera’s video history timeline. You can also tap Full history for a list of events.
      - Choose the event you want, then tap Event details.
      - Near the top of the screen, tap Download to save the video clip to your phone. From there, you can share the video clip via email or social media app.

      We have a dedicated team of support specialists that's ready to assist you anytime with your support needs. Please feel free to contact us here: https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp Nest

Shopping Assistant
Best Buy Home Expert consults customer at a desk with a laptop.

Consult with a Home Expert for free.