Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Halo: The Master Chief Collection - Xbox One-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 4488 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 4,488 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Unrealized potential; released too early with bugs

    Posted
    prateeko
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    The Halo franchise has defined XBOX across two generations and is beloved by a multitude of gamers. The second game in particular is fondly remembered for the 'virtual couch,' and tremendous online game play. The third game ushered in the XBOX 360 and also featured phenomenal on-line modes including a tremendous co-operative single player campaign designed with 4 players in mind. While the fourth installment had 343 industries taking over the reins and did well from a single player standpoint, but never managed to recreate the online magic of it's predecessors. For a collection taking all of this and turning it into 60 fps at 1080p represents a very big pair of shoes to fill. Sadly, they remain markedly vacant. The game looks great, but it is a remaster and not completely built up on the XBOX ONE console so graphically it won't blow you away in the same manner other games this season will, but the frame rate (in the single player especially) is impressive and the visuals are clean while staying true to the source material. Similarly, the audio is fantastic and reminds us of how important the scores to the various Halo games have been. Also remastered in many cases, the soundtrack really helps to set the tone of the games and is a delight to be experienced in surround sound. But then we get to performance, especially online, and this unravel quickly. In short this game was released extremely prematurely. To say the state of the game at release is 'beta,' is a bit of an understatement. It's probably more appropriate to say it was in the 'alpha' stage since that's how it ships to the consumer. From the very get go ('DAY ONE' as Microsoft so proudly puts on their other titles) a 20GB patch is required to 'play' the game properly. Of course it still leaves every single online aspect of the game (and many offline parts of the game, including achievements) completely unusable, which is why just 10 days later a 1.5 GB patch was released and in the interim every playlist has been changed to allow more people to play since the matchmaking is so broken having more games with less people in each isn't possible. 343 Industries has slowly been addressing issues (not to any satisfactory level at any point, mind you) and focused on the multiplayer while completely glossing over the completely broken co-operative game. What was once a rock-solid, and thoroughly enjoyable aspect of Halo 3 is left completely broken with pathetically unnecessarily lag (evident of shoddy netcode which was also seen on 343 industries' last outing - Halo:CE Anniversary for the Xbox 360) which spans across EACH and every single title included. I do not know who to blame for this abomination. 343 industries could have failed to test the game completely, or they may have been pushed to rush out an unfinished game for a holiday season. Either way, I purchased an XBOX ONE for it never imaging it wouldn't work flawlessly and could not be any more disappointed short of the game spontaneously leaping of the poor console it tortures, slapping my girlfriend, and releasing my dog into the wild in the middle of a winter storm. Hyperbole aside, this game as a whole is broken. It is unclear how long it will take to fix it, but the very fact that it was sent out to consumers in such an unacceptable state is inexcusable. It's equivalent to buying a DVD box set, finding out half the discs don't work and then waiting for patches to be released slowly. It's not worth the time of the money. Maybe in a few months, but in the mean time save your money, time, and effort for another game that works the minute you take it home. Check back in a few months, by then the promise may have been realized and this game could well end up being one of the great deals of the early life of the XBOX ONE, but until then, it's just a sad shame.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good Entry for Halo Noobs

    Posted
    MrConsumer
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I'm new to Halo. The Xbox One is my first Xbox after 20 years of playing Playstation almost exclusively (I snuck a Sega Dreamcast and Nintendo N64 in there along the way#. I won't lie. I've always wanted to try Halo but I think it would have been better if I tried it back when it was at its peak and definitely before playing Destiny. Destiny absolutely reveals the differences in the feel of Halo between the Bungie and 343 versions. I'll go over each version in the MCC and what I liked and disliked about each. Halo CE Anniversary: While I can certainly see how this could hold a certain nostalgic factor for long-time Halo devotees, and it is certainly fun in a retro-type way, the age and infancy of the modern FPS is painfully evident. Most of the maps are almost identical. The textures are so bland at times, I got lost because the rooms looked so generic, you could easily lose track of what direction you were traveling if you get turned around during a battle. The maps start to take on more individual personalities toward the end but the majority of the game will have you asking yourself "wasn't I just in a room like this?" As for vehicles, the warthog handles like a shopping cart with a busted wheel and a turret attached. Unfortunately, the warthog plays a vital role in the game and there are times where you absolutely must drive it to perfection under trying circumstances. So, it pays to try to get somewhat goo dat driving it. I won't necessarily call these flaws because they're more indicative of the game's age than shortcomings. Despite being long in the tooth, I nonetheless found the game to be engaging and fun. Halo 2: Halo 2 was more of the same as Halo 1, just with a few extras thrown in. For one, you can play as the covenant during certain sections of the game. It felt a little disjointed and definitely interupts the flow but I see what they were trying to do. I found it to be an interesting change of pace. A couple new weapons are introduced as well as new enemies. Although the graphics improved somewhat, there are still too many maps that look way too much alike. You'll continually pass through doors and enter a room that looks just like the one you just left. Overall, Halo 2 was also enjoyable and fun to play. I'd rate it slightly lower than Halo CE. My reason for doing so is the ending. Play it to the end and you will undoubtedly see exactly what I mean. Halo 3: This was far and away my favorite of the bunch. Being the first in the series on the 360, it has beautiful graphics, a nice tight story, excellent vehicle mechanics and lush diverse environments. None of the things that bugged me about the first two are present. Maps are unique and believe it or not, despite being a much more visually appealing and advanced game, the frame rate and overall performance of the game even seems better than the first two. I would notice pretty obvious frame rate dips on several occassions in Halo CE and Halo 2 but not in Halo 3. The one and only complaint I have with Halo 3 is that one of the later levels is a little too melodramatic and pretty difficult to boot. Nevertheless, I can easily see myself replaying Halo 3 in the near future whereas I don't feel compelled to play any of the others again, at least not now. Halo 4: The final campaign in the MCC is Halo 4. This is the most viusually appealing and complex of the four. It is also the only version in this collection that was not originally developed by Bungie and it shows. I may be in the minority but I'm not crazy about some of the changes the subsequent developer, 343, introduced. My biggest complaint is the neutering of the weapons. In the first three Halo's, the weapons were neither absurdly overpowered nor underpowered. They were just right. There was a certain feel to the battles that made you feel confident, even on the hardest levels. In Halo 4, grenades are all but useless and enemies eat bullets like Skittles. Even grunts who were fun picking off with well-placed rounds in the first three campaigns, take a ridiculous amount of rounds to drop. And this is with both human and alien weaponry. As if reducing your weapons to the power of a pea shooter weren't bad enough, the toughest enemies now have these little guardians that provide shields and respawns. So after you've wasted all of your ammo putting a huge knight down, get ready to fight him again if you failed to first eliminate the annoying mechanical misquito buzzing above his head. And thye game can be cheap to no end. AI enemies will roll out of the way or take cover before you aim or throw a grenade. They also must have built-in bullet counters because they magically know whenever you will run out of rounds and will materialize next to you just as you fire your last round. Lastly, 343 saw fit to weaken the Master Chief's weapons while making enemy weapons ten times stronger. They have multiple weapons capable of obliterating #And I do mean that literally# the Master Chief with one shot. However, you never seem to have this same awesom epower if you pick up the weapon. Their grenades are ten times stronger. Comparing the MC grenades to the enemy's is like comparing the power of a sparkler to that of an M80. My last complaint with Halo 4 is Cortana. Her voice is more present in this version than all three prior versions combined. It got so annoying she actually beat out Peter Dinklage as most annoying video game voice of al ltime for me. It's enough to make me vow never to buy a Windows phone mainly because I couldn't bear hearing that voice every day. So that's it. Halo CE and Halo 2 were fun but disappointing at times, especially 2. Halo 3 was far and away the most enjoyable and my runaway fave from the pack. Halo 4. is the most visually stunning, most advanced and hhas the most content but it's lacking the fun factor of the prior three and Cortana starts to grate on you after a while. I didn't get into the multiplayer because it's been busted since.. well... forever. This isn't unique to Xbox because Little Big Planet 3 us in the exact same boat on the PS4, which I also own. If, like me, you're new to Xbox and want to see what all the fuss is about, I think Haalo MCC is definitely worth buying. Old or not, four campaigns on one disk, two of which are fairly modern, is pretty darn impressive. Just keep your expectations realistic and remember, none of these games were created after 2012.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Halo Goodness !!!

    Posted
    jjt7035
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    How do you describe one of the best gaming experiences of all time ? Epic ? Glorious ? Fantastic ? the list could go on and on and each one of those words and many more of praise would fit the Halo Master Chief Edition. Everything is here in this little box , Every one of the Master Chiefs adventures can be enjoyed on a single disk , in High Definition at 1080p and 60 fps. ALL of the games 1 - 4 are absolutely stunning . Halo 4 even looks as though it were made for this console , it was beautiful on the 360 but the power of the Xbox One has turned this game into a true master piece. If you play Halo 1 - 2 and feel that the graphics are kind of dated , just hit your select button on the controller and revert back to the original garphics , that should put everything into perspective for you and let you witness just the amount of work that went into recreating the games , but at the same time leaving them more or less intact as they were upon original release. I remember the first time I played Halo 1 -2 and remember just being amazed at the beauty of the games and the awesome gameplay itself. Now all these years later I'm playing these beloved games again , but not realizing what a graphical leap games have made since then , upon reverting back to the original release graphics is a shock and lets us know just how far we have come in gaming , in really a short amount of time. Halo 3 - 4 still feel like the modern games of today and still are far better than many games releasing now and in the future. Halo 3 still looks like Halo 3 except with more polish and detail that couldn't be achieved on the 360 , it's still such an amazing game that I have made many , many trips through with the Chief. Halo 4 is the real stand out , I thought it was a beautiful game on the 360 but on the Xbox One it just far surpasses the 360 version. Everything and every detail is amped up , colors , explosions , weapons fire , sounds , I mean absolutely everything. All of these games have been remade or touched up in some way and really my description of the detail in Halo 4 applies to all the games , it's just more dramatic in Halo 4 because it is the newer game. If you have never played Halo before the time is never better , With this collection you can experience The Halo saga in the best condition it has ever been. All four games , 100 multiplayer maps , all the downloadable content , Halo NightFall and the Halo 5 Beta , all on one console and one disk .. That is a HUGE amount of content for only 59.99.. There has never been a value like this before , it is worth every cent. I highly recommend this wonderful experience to anyone .. If you like a great story , it's here , if you just like First person shooters , it's got you covered , if you like beautiful games and exotic locations , it's got you covered on this front as well. This is a truly amazing game for everyone.. Solid 5 out of 5 EDIT : November 13 2014 , 4:40 am. - Halo CE in the Master Chief Collection complete , now its time to work on part 2 :) It a great time to be a Halo Fan , this collection is utterly fantastic !!! Edit : November 18 2014 , 4:50 am. - Halo 2 is now complete and I am reminded why this is praised as the best in the series.. The new graphics & cut sceens make this game look completely new and fresh. It's been so long since I've played this game that I had forgotten alot of the game. In reality it was like playing a game I have never played before.. AWESOME !!! Edit : November 24 2014 , 3:35 am - I just completed Halo 3 and it was just as much fun as my first countless playthroughs , even though it didn't get the anniversary treatment it still looks fabulous on the Xbox one at 1080p and 60fps. Everything is just buttery smooth.. I have also began my playthrough of Halo 4 and OMG , it looks like it was made for the Xbox One , it looks utterly FANTASTIC , I'm not over exagerating when I tell you it looks like a brand new next gen game..

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Unfinished Game

    Posted
    Travisamc
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This game was the main reason I purchased an Xbox One, and I'm glad I now like other games to make that purchase worth while. The Master Chief Collection is just plan unfinished, the multiplayer is the worst of the issues but also Campaign. Both are nearly unplayable, even after one month and 3 "updates". Issues like, - Un-even players per team, especially in ranked games (3vs5 - 4vs5) - Only half the game types are playable, 343 has taken the rest away for no telling how long. - Games crash before loading maps, 2 out of 10 games - Unusually long game search times th the at take between 2 - 10 minutes...or just crash - Your friends don't show as playing the same game in the "Roster" even though they actually are - Full game crash about every time game session - Parties don't stay together after matches, you need to invite your friends after every match - Campaign missions have been very buggy with audio and video cutting out. - Something as simple as naming your load outs (Halo 4) doesn't even work, if you want 2 words to name it... No go. Really wanted this game to be what I'd hoped for, but it just plain wasn't ready to be launched. Halo is one of the greatest game series of all time and I've been a fan from the 1st time I played over 13 years ago. I'm no game programmer but it seems like the process of combining all 4 games and multiplayer is the issue. 343 might have cut down the games too much to make this fit on the one disc but I'm just speculating. Their updates so far haven't made much of a difference beside improving game load times for matches...needs much more work! Never again will I waste the money and time of pre ordering a game, especially with game designers don't care enough about us gamers to give a finished game. No game can be shipped out perfect since they are quite complex now days but the MCC is just way to bad and nearly unplayable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Halo MCC Worth Getting?

    Posted
    Crucial82
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The answer is an overwhelming yes. All the major issues that plagued the game during it's first few months after release have been corrected and have made the game a more positive experience than it was back then. This collection provides the owner with content and that's putting it lightly. As stated, you get all 4 campaigns, every single multi-player map. Yes, the multiplayer does work now. Wait times last about 30 seconds, worst being 60 seconds. Not like at launch where you would have to wait 20 plus minutes. And some of the content that was missing at launch has been added, so there's even more content than ever before. There are still some minor issues that I've come across, one being, to make the multiplayer matchmaking process more functional, after every match, you get taken back to the multiplayer menu screen to restart another search. Meaning if you find a decent squad, chances of staying together without partying up is slim. Another issue I've encountered is due to all the video vignettes that play through every menu screen, it causes a slow down of certain items or screens, so the response time isn't immediate. Not really a major issue but does get to be a bit annoying at times. So, if you have hesitated in getting the game because of all the issues that it had in the beginning, I can attest that almost all of it has been corrected and truly makes this collection worth getting. Halo MCC provides content to just about every type of gamer out there; whether you are a single player lover, a multiplayer combatant, or an achievement hunter, it has something for everyone.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    All the great Halo games - now on Xbox One

    Posted
    slumpyjohn300
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Halo: The Master Chief collection delivers the best that Halo has to offer and boy oh boy does it look good in glorious HD! What's not changed: All the maps, the story, and every area of the games as you remember them are here. It's all been kept in tact perfectly. What's changed: *Graphical overhaul on all four games, more so on Halo 2 then any of the bunch and honestly that's the one that has always been the fan favorite and Microsoft did go all out to clean it up and it looks amazing. *The cut scenes have also had an overhaul in Halo 2 which have been nicely redone here by Blur Studio, they are also slightly longer then the original. *Halo 2 Anniversary multiplayer uses the six remastered maps, while a standard Halo 2 multiplayer includes all of the game's released maps with a full graphical update but no remastering. * The Collection multiplayer includes Mission Setlists, curated lists of levels selected from throughout the series. Extra content: *Access to Halo Nightfall *Access to Halo 5 Guardians Multiplayer Beta (not available until Dec 29th) Overall if you love Halo you're buying this collection. It set the bar and it's not lost it's appeal after all these years. This is pure fan service at it's finest and it's worth all the hype, and all the wait, and makes buying an Xbox ONE a worthy purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Nostalgia Ruined by Incomplete Multiplayer

    Posted
    Fakeian
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The single player experience is great - fans of the Halo franchise, or newcomers will be getting the best Halo experience available. The games look great running at 1080p, especially the first 2 which have benefited from a lot of improvements during their individual re-masterings. It's great to instantly switch between "classic" and "remastered" visuals - though it's odd that Halo 1 won't let you do it during cutscenes even though Halo 2 will. Multiplayer, however, is a mess. Having worked in game development for almost 10 years, with Microsoft even, I wouldn't have imagined a game with this many bugs would actually get launched in this state. To date I have never successfully played a multiplayer match because every time I have tried I have met some kind of disastrous issue. For example: I bought this game for my brothers and I to enjoy together (we live in separate cities/states) - we formed a Party, joined matchmaking together, and somehow each ended up in separate games. Issues like that and a range of other baffling bugs (loss of control on load, crashes, loss of voice chat for no explanation)... It just makes this a really hard recommendation. It especially sucks to come in to a game thinking it's 5/5 stars, a great experience, just to hit these bugs and feel like the carpets been pulled out from beneath you. I still feel ripped off and I don't think Microsoft is doing anything quickly enough to remedy the situation. The patch to fix many of these bugs has been delayed... and they announce plans to compensate players who bought the game *literally* a day before I did. It's insulting to suggest a "cut off" for reparations when literally EVERYONE who bought this game is suffering from the same poor quality. I'll be more hesitant to continue supporting 343 with Halo 5 - especially after seeing how the beta only rendered at 720p. Come on!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Fails to capture what made Halo so great

    Posted
    ElGrapadora13
    • My Best Buy® Member

    First off, this game's rating is very skewed. Tons of people rated it 5-stars before it was even released. Everyone plays through the campaigns, but what Halo is really about is the online play. Halo revolutionized online gaming with their ranking system and lobby setup. However, the MCC fails miserably with multiplayer. First, there's only one ranked lobby, though there are supposedly many more on the way. My all-time favorite is SWAT, but being put in the same game as others who would rank MUCH higher than me is absolutely no fun. Certain game types absolutely need ranked lobbies. Second, you have to join a new lobby after every single game. No more staying with the same group game after game. You're not likely to make any new friends online, because you're not matched with them long enough to notice who's who. Having to join a new lobby also increases the amount of time you wait for a new game, since the system is trying to group up to 16 new people instead of just adding a few to replace those who left. And speaking of waiting for a game, I spend probably twice as much time waiting for a game than I do actually playing. Sometimes it sets up a game just fine. Sometimes it drops half the players as it's loading the map. Sometimes it just sits forever looking for more players. Many times, I get bored of waiting and decided to do something else. As far as the campaigns go, they're mostly good. There is some rare freezing, and Halo: CE is a little glitchy in ways (Covenant running into corners, weapons getting stuck on slopes, etc.), but still totally playable. If you're hoping for great online play, wait a while for the bugs to be worked out.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent value, matchmaking needs work.

    Posted
    Blokemon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Excellent value for money, and opportunity to own all Halo titles (except ODST and Reach) on Xbox One. I bought this primarily for the remake of Halo 2, access to Nightfall and Halo 5 matchmaking Beta. If anyone is into achievements, it offers a total of 4,000 points across all games. If you've played all Halo games, don't expect to see anything extra as far as actual gameplay besides the improved visuals for Halo 2. Halo 2 visuals are significantly improved, and all the cinematically have been remade. They are excellent quality, add to the overall Halo experience, and can be viewed at anytime via the Halo channel. Multiplayer offers a wealth of armor sets, but does not allow one to mix and match between actual armor pieces. It does include armor sets that were previously exclusives or achievements for prior Halo games Matchmaking was a disappointment, and it would take several minutes to find a game, and when I did, the teams were not equal. Microsoft attempted to apply a fix, and this did not make any difference to when I tried it. It offers all Halo multiplayer maps, which is amazing, but I don't know how often will get to play all of them. Remastered maps look great! Gun goose is fun to tool around on!!! I have heard about more updates to matchmaking, but I have already lost interest in playing Halo online. Overall I would rank the Master Chief Collection a 5, but it was let down by matchmaking delays. It is excellent value, but make sure that you know what to expect when you try matchmaking.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Got really close to perfect, but it's still great

    Posted
    cac237
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I've been a Halo fan since close to the beginning of owning an Xbox 360. After first getting my 360, I played some Halo 2 to get a feel (and liked it). But I stopped at JUUUUST the right time so I didn't get too much revealed. I first officially started late 2006, with finishing 2 early '07. I'm glad I didn't have to wait too long to "finish the fight" - although it never was finished! But ever since playing the original three, I've never stopped being hooked. I've bought all the subsequent releases at launch day (one just after, but close enough). So when this came out, after having dug the Halo CE anniversary. So I was super stoked of this package when I heard of it. Getting the same games? Yeah, that it may be, but the work they did on the campaigns were enough for the admission price. And those cutscenes (and the redone audio)... If this is the closest to a Halo movie we can get then I'll be content. Beyond that, WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE MULTIPLAYER?! I know that's a load of content to keep up with, but they had to have underestimated the demand for playing all of those maps in all the different ways we loved. I wish it could've been handled better on the matchmaking, but I was let down. They're getting better. But just realized that if you want to play online, it may not be what you expect. Overall, the MCC is a great value for campaigns, and when the multiplayer works, it's a hoot. I wish it worked great from day one, but I have to be a cynic and say that even though the package is a wonderful set, it just hasn't been properly utilized.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    When fixed, the game will be great!

    Posted
    HaloFan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I pre-ordered Halo: The MCC Collection expecting to be able to install and play the game relatively quickly. That unfortunately was not the case. After a substantial patch (roughly 15 gigs I believe), I was able to start the game and my mood quickly turned sour. Matchmaking was, (and still is almost two weeks after launch) broke. It takes 10+ minutes to find a game, and if you're lucky enough to get that far, the majority of the time you are kicked from the group or the game crashes. Extremely frustrating. The campaign portion of the game is great, but not worth the $60 I spent. The Halo 1 version of the game is identical to the Anniversary edition released a few years ago, Halo 2 has been updated with improved visuals (remastered cut scenes and new textures in-game) which is cool, but again not why I bought the game. Halo 3 is the same as it was when it came out 7 years ago and the Halo 4 is no different then the 360 version I currently. have. I could pop that game in right now and be able to play quicker and with fewer issues then this "new" and "improved" version. Long story short, I paid $60 hoping to be able to relive the glory days of Halo 1-3 matchmaking. The campaigns are great, but I've already been there, done that and can still play those campaigns on my 360. Once (if) matchmaking is ever fixed, then this game will be everything I hoped it would be, but until then I am EXTREMELY disappointed both in the release and 343i's response to these issues.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    More Than Just a Beta Invite

    Posted
    Eric
    • My Best Buy® Member

    While games are commonly dismissed for being nothing more than a full price beta invite, Halo: The Master Chief Collection, is nothing less than the quintessential title for the Xbox One. For the price of a single game, you gain access to 4* incredible games, including the title that started it all, Halo: Combat Evolved, which had been previously remastered for the Xbox 360 for the 10 year anniversary. Playing this game will bring back pleasant memories of the days of the original Xbox. Halo 2, which many consider the best in the series, is also available in a remastered edition! You can finally play Halo 2 multiplayer online again! Halo 3 and Halo 4 make an appearance as well, although not in remastered form (not to say they look bad, however). Some may remember that many years ago, Crackdown was used to deliver invites to the Halo 3 MP beta, much like this title was for the Halo 5: Guardians MP beta. Like Crackdown, this should not be shunned for being a delivery vehicle for a paid invite, but should be praised for its own merits. Halo is the series that made the Xbox the success that it is today, and it is only fitting that the Xbox One celebrates this by adding this collection to its library. All Xbox One owners should have this game. *Due to issues with the launch (mainly with Xbox Live), owners that have played the game prior to mid December should be receiving a download code for Halo: ODST when it is ready for release.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good to play the old favorites...BUT

    Posted
    kitt1987
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I was a bit excited to load up this game only to find they "prettied" up the graphics for the maps/arenas of all the older titles of Halo. The gameplay is still the same, which for its day was decent but these days everything feels extremely dated. I had hoped that this would have been a true update in both graphics and gameplay but this just includes pretty skins placed over the old game. If they had been able to offer us the smoothness and gameplay of Halo 5 this would have been a winner, not to say that Halo 5 doesn't have its own shortcomings. I would not pay more than $10 for this title if you wish to play some of the older titles. I can't imagine anyone enjoying this title much had they not played the original Halo games in the eras when they were first released. 343 studios just doesn't seem to have their stuff together nor can they release a solid product like Bungie, the original authors of Halo could.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Fantastic collection, when the multiplayer works.

    Posted
    UnbiasedGamer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    So it's day 4 of halo MCC and the matchmaking is still a terrible mess. It has issues connecting, and will sit for upwards of 10 minutes if you let it without finding a match. When you get in a match, the games are fantastic. Every game runs at a buttery 60fps and breathes new life into the franchise. It had a ton of different playlists to choose from to matchmake within, but 343 removed a good portion of those to encourage more frequent matches by not dispersing the players across more playlists. A fix will be coming out the week of Nov 17 for matchmaking, so until then, the matchmaking is a pain in the butt. The campaigns are fantastic and Halo CE and Halo 2A are both added a lot of polish to old classics. In CE, you can hit the back button and switch between the original visuals and the revamped visuals instantly, in game and it really reminds me how flat the textures were so long ago that my memory hazed over. They added terminals to every halo game and added campaign, multiplayer, and campaign playlist achievements, for every Halo. That's a TON of achievements to do. They did that along with title and emblem unlocks akin to Call of Duty for completing a multitude of challenges in-game or in matchmaking. All in all, a ton of extra features, a ton of polish, a bunch of work put into all the games, multiplayer has some growing pains, but will be ironed out soon enough. Gives us time to enjoy the campaigns anyways.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    ALL THE HALO SERIES UNDER ONE CONSOLE!

    Posted
    Seraph79
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    This is the perfect game for those beginning to get into the Halo series and those who are already die hard fans of the series. All of the games are on par with adding variety of control functions to fit your fps gameplay needs. The graphics are updated to fit the Xbox one console in contrast to the past gen systems but, don't jump into the gameplay expecting something visually stunning. However, you can press the select button during gameplay and cutscenes to see the difference in the graphics from the original Halo games to the current Xbox one versions. The overall gameplay is pretty great and can be very challenging as the AI appears a bit more smarter than used in the original games. The only reason I gave this game 4 stars is because if you have played the original games on previous gen consoles you might find yourself getting bored from time to time while taking a trip down memory lane. Another let down was the updated soundtracks to the series. They seem kind of sub par compared to the original but that is my own bias. For example, on Halo 2 there is a song called "Follow" by Incubus that is used during the Arbiter flight gameplay. The updated bgm is so bland that you have to switch to the original game just to hear the original song. However, do not let this deter you from making this purchase. Overall, it is a great game with many great additions to the storyline within the Halo franchise.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    The Great Journey

    Posted
    Cole
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Halo MCC is a fantastic game featuring the campaigns of all numbered Halo games(1-4) and the multiplayer maps from those games, as well as some remastered ones. Halo 1 is a classic for a reason and the campaign plays the exact same as it did 13 years ago. It also was remastered 3 years ago and the graphics can be switched from classic to remastered in an instant. Halo 2 is the focus of this collection as it was remastered for this collection, and the cutscenes were made by Blur a studio that's proven itself in making amazing cinematics. Halo 2 Anniversary can also be switched from classic to remastered and the difference is astounding. Halo 3, besides being upped to 1080p 60 fps, is the same game with no new graphics, and while it is the worst looking in this package, it still looks great and plays like a dream. Halo 4 is the newest Halo in the game and while it came out 2 years ago it looks like a next gen game and will prepare you for Halo 5 arriving next year. This collection also comes with multiplayer from the 4 games but sadly at the time of this review there are multiple issues including 20 minute wait times to find a match, freezing, and more. But 343 industries are hard at work and won't stop until it is fixed. But still you have 4 campaigns, multiplayer(soon), custom games, forge, and the Halo Channel with Halo Nightfall included.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    A classic offering, if a little flawed.

    Posted
    ChickenSansHead
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    This collection contains a ton of content on a single disc, and if you're a fan of the franchise (or maybe want to find out if you are), then you should definitely give this game a shot. Halo is the reason I bought an original Xbox, and I've played almost every FPS Halo game since, but I generally only played the single player campaigns. In the last several years I've become good friends with some people who got me into competitive online shooters, and they insisted what a classic experience Halo 2 online was. While I didn't have the nostalgic fondness that they did, it was still an enjoyable experience...when it worked. Connection issues plagued the first several weeks, tarnishing the experience for me (and a lot of other people). I think they've since fixed the majority of the issues, but to be honest I haven't played much since. Halo campaign via co-op is great, and Halo itself is a key milestone in gaming history, but the first few games do feel dated making Halo 4 the freshest experience to me. The revamped textures for the original Halo are nice, but they just don't hold a candle to what's available now. Most of my time lately is spent with Bungie's latest shooter, Destiny, but I'll be holding on to this game for now, just in case I have the urge to take a stroll down memory lane...

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    What happened to gaming?!

    Posted
    TNT2564
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Who in their right mind thought this game was ready for release? The matchmaking is broken beyond belief. It takes 10 minutes to find a game if you're lucky. When you do find a game, prepare for disconnects, unbalanced teams, lag, crashes, etc. Just look up the Halo sub Reddit to see the numerous problems the game is suffering from. Whatever happened to buying a game, putting it in your console, and playing it. Now, you buy the game and have to wait another week or longer for all the issues to be fixed. I think I've managed to play three semi-decent matches so far. All the rest of the few I've actually made it into have been plagued with problems. I understand that this game is huge. I'm sure it requires a ton of work from hardworking, talented programers, but if it wasn't ready, it shouldn't have been released yet. Once everything works as advertised, the game is easily five out of five but not right now.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Spartan 117

    Posted
    edgrr
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Been a fan of Halo since it first came out for the original Xbox and I remember playing slayer with my friends. All 8 of us would get together and 2 of my friends would bring their xbox's and we'd link them up for a 4v4 all out team deathmatch/slayer. Those were the days... but now coming into the High Def and the powerful Xbox One graphics just brings back nostalgic memories and without the eye strain lmao. They truly did a good job cleaning it up and bringing it to "modern" gaming graphics. All 4 games look beautiful and the scenery looks sooo much better than the original xbox polygons haha. Get it if youre a true Halo fan or just looking into trying an awesome, captivating plot cuz Halo will definitely not disappoint. :)

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great but lacking.

    Posted
    Cory
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    First and foremost: 343 Industries really tried to tackle a monumental task by putting this collection together. They heavily succeeded in some areas and fell short in others. When it comes to the "campaign" mode... it's flawless! The updated Halo 2 treatment is worth the $60 bucks alone! If the campaign is what you cherish, you have a gold product just waiting to be played. The multiplayer matchmaking is a different story. While many people have had some success getting into games, most have not had such luck. There have been patches to correct the issues, but sadly they've either not worked as intended or have actually caused more negative issues that weren't there to begin with. If you're buying the game strictly for multiplayer... wait. Let 343i fix this aspect of the game first. I gave this game 4 stars because it really is a wonderful game. It's HALO!!! Who doesn't like Halo? If the multiplayer worked correctly this game would easily be 5 stars and would have "game of the year" attached in my opinion.

    I would recommend this to a friend