Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Honeywell - 550 Sq. Ft. Portable Air Conditioner - Blue/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 484 reviews

84%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 32 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Skip the hassle

    Posted
    JCoCo

    In the midst of a killer heat wave here in Long Beach, I did my research and bought the best portable AC that was available in my area. I brought it home to my house/sweatbox, excited to get things cooled down. Installation was NOT a breeze. The exhaust tube that connects the unit to the window is supposed to twist together but after 20 minutes of wrestling with them they continued to fall off (both ends). A few times they did screw in but fell out whenever moved slightly. SUPER FRUSTRATING! All this time it's 96 degrees in my house. The panel that fits into the window leaves quite a bit of space around it to get the cold air out and hot air in. The engineering leaves a lot to be desires, but I was finally able to fit the tube together and get the AC going. However, after an hour of being on full blast, with all windows closed, the temperature in my house only went down from 96 to 94. After another hour, we got to 92. When you are melting inside your own house, you don't want to wait two hours for four weak degrees of relief. The room I was using it in is actually smaller than the unit claims to cover, and all the doors were closed, and yet it achieves barely more than a fan would. To top it off, when someone walks by or the wind blows, the exhaust tubes tend to fall out of their sockets, starting the installation process all over again. I plan to return this to Best Buy (if I can wrangle the 80lbs behemoth back into my car). Thank goodness for Best Buy's "generous" return policy of 15 days (!), pushing expensive service plans on customers instead of offering a reasonable return period like Target has (90 days). Best Buy staff assured me that I could return it if I was not satisfied. Let's hope that's true, will update. Many reviewers seem to feel that AC window units are much better - maybe that's the way to go. Stay cool! :)

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Double the waste of money

    Posted
    SweatyGuy

    I originally bought the Insignia 450 sq ft portable air conditioner because it was highly rated and only $250. It worked like a charm, instant cold air and I actually had to turn it off throughout the night. Then it started leaking out of the bottom a few days later, turns out a manufacturing error... I lugged it into the nearest Best Buy and asked for a return which I was told no since it was over 14 or 15 days, whichever. They gave me store credit since the store only carries that brand online. That left me with the option of paying $400 or $500 for the Honeywell air conditioners. I'm a pessimist, so I paid the extra and went for the $500 model doubling my price for the geek squad 2 year warranty as well. I got this model home, and it was similar installation so it was easy. Turned the model on and adjusted the settings to cold on high. It felt slightly colder than a fan did. I adjusted all the way down to 60 degrees and there was no change... Left it on all night and it went from 85 degrees to 79 degrees in 8 hours. It was 72 degrees outside that morning. The best buy staff assured me that Honeywell was the best brand and they would be amazing but they cheaper Insignia proved way better. Did I mention my room is maybe 200 sq ft? I will be attempting to return this air conditioner and attempt to find a model that blows cold air AND doesn't have manufacturing errors... Did I also mention the box says "550 sq ft" and the item number online says "450 sq ft". Maybe I paid an extra $100 for 0 sq ft. Good luck everyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi there, This is not what you'd expect with our Portable Air Conditioners and we would like to check into this on our end. Will you connect with us at 1-800-474-2147 (between 8:30 am - 5:30 pm EST Monday - Friday) or via email at usinfo@jmatek.com with your units full model number and purchase date? We look forward to hearing from you so we can help make this right. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Design Flaw

    Posted
    KLSUWizard
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought this unit to replace a 8000 BTU window unit that was barely cooling the room, so I thought moving to a 12000 BTU would improve the overall cooling. The room is upstairs (bonus room), but well insulated, and about 330 square feet of a single room. I carefully followed the installation instructions. The net result is that it did not cool as well as the 8000 BTU window unit. It my opinion, it appears to suffer from a design flaw on the way the compressor is cooled. There is an exhaust port to the outside, but there is no intake port except from the room you are trying to cool. This appears to cause a slight vacuum on the room, causing air to be pulled in from other sources, like the threshold of the doors in the room. The problem is that the outside temperature here in the spring can be 80 to 90 F (and summer is higher), with high humidity and when the temperature was set on 68 on the unit, it never got below 76 - 78, even at night, as indicated on the unit. The unit air output temperature was measured at 53 to 55 F, so that does not appear to be an issue. Overall, I am disappointed in the overall performance, and I am returning the unit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not happy

    Posted
    ToohotinMI
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    DOES NOT COOL WELL for the area its advertised for. Cold air doesn't happen. Cool air at best. Not even close to what I had hoped for. Also, the pan for collecting water is tiny. We hook up the hose and it doesn't drain from the hose and still goes to the pan on the very bottom which is a pain in the rear to change when this is on high carpet. A smaller window shaker truly does a better job than this and I am upset with myself that i bought this. Perhaps this would be okay as a supplemental source of cooling, but not as a primary. Also, assembling the hose is a real pain and keeping it assembled while connecting to the window is just as much of a pain. Good price at least, bad idea if you want cold air.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, We're sorry to hear about your experience with our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help provide a solution for your room conditions. Our Portable Acs are covered by a one year warranty so you might be eligible for an exchange/warranty replacement if the unit was purchased new. We look forward to making this right for you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Delivered in a broken box

    Posted
    bob1500
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Somehow this AC was a repackaged item. I did not order an open box. When I opened it you can tell it was repackaged. The plastic was not on properly, the Styrofoam was all broken and there were missing pieces like the remote and the window mount. The delivery kept getting delayed. This was impossible. Best buy was nice about it setup a pickup for this and sent out another one. They are sending me a gift card, but it wasn't much. Again the 2nd delivery kept getting delayed. This new one was damaged as well (broken power cord )when it finally came. and I'm waiting for them to pick it up. If I can get a working one I could then decide if I can recommend it or not

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Bob, We're very sorry to hear about your experience with the shipping and handling of our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. Unfortunately, these units can get damaged during transit, and we're sorry that both of your first units were delivered broken and unusable. We're happy that you're working with Best Buy to get another replacement unit. If you have any questions for us, please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can assist. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Support is Terrible

    Posted
    Lensy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Product performed well but returned because mobility was deterred because the window piece was either to large or to small for window. To use it had to be tap0ed on the window. This allowed for total inconvenience. Contacted support with them having a devil may care attitude. There was not another adapter for the window. I have standard size windows.. They hen suggested I take it to Home Depot to have them saw to correct dimensions. This is not proper since not purchased from Home Depot. Also, that eliminates the portability from room to room. When told about this and my concerns their reply was simply texting me a picture of what they use. A simple miter box and saw. I became so frustrated I simply returned to Best Buy. Support for this product is very POOR.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible product

    Posted
    Kp1978

    I had this delivered to my house on a Friday and set it up Saturday. Having a Honeywell portable A/C already in my house I was used to the parts and setup and how to run it. I set up the equipment, and today turned it on for 5 hours. It did absolutely nothing. The air blowing out on fan is the same temperature as the same on cool, no cool air at all. I rechecked everything andit is all hooked up correctly. It's like this piece has zero refrigerant in it to cool air. Now I have to pack it up and lug it to Best buy to return in it and hopefully get a replacement.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, This is not what you should expect from this Portable Air Conditioner, and we are sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, these units can get damaged during transit. If you purchased this unit new you have a 1-year warranty and should be able to get the unit replaced at Best Buy. If you have any questions, please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Water collects faster than other units.

    Posted
    Skinnyflip
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Bought this unit for my mom and she doesn't like waking up in the middle of the night just to drain the water and start the unit up again. Seems to just take 6 hours for the reservoir to fill up which causes the unit to stop. I have another portable air condition that does a better job at maintaining condensation and it's $100 cheaper. If you really want to use this unit in dry mode, you'll need to cut out a hole out your window screen and buy a longer hose, or get large water basin for the condensation to drain into.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, We appreciate you reaching out and sharing your thoughts on this Portable Air Conditioner with us. We're sorry to hear that this unit has been filling up with water quickly and requiring drainage at inconvenient times. When this unit is being used in the dehumidifier (dry) mode, we recommend not connecting the exhaust hose and setting up the unit for continuous drainage. Please feel free to give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help answer any questions you may have. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Glorified fan

    Posted
    Connie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Despite what the specs say this will only cool a very small contained space. We put it in a small kitchen with one doorway to a dining room and never lowered the temp even 1degree. These are much less effective than window units - no comparison whatsoever. And for the price you just aren’t getting much. We returned this and will figure out window units.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Connie, This is not what you should expect from this Portable Air Conditioner. We're sorry to hear about your experience. If you have any questions for us, please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not meant for open rooms

    Posted
    Zack
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    My living room connects to my dinning room and kitchen via doorways. The doorways arent huge but the reality is that this AC doesn't work for poo. It really is only for small rooms with closed areas and even then the water stays inside the system and it requires a really shallow and short like pan to empty it out (which is difficult when full since it takes like 90 trips back and forth to dispose of water).

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Only cools down 10 degrees.

    Posted
    Lriv1215
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The exhaust pipe is flimsy and releases alot of hot air. I've seen other reviews suggesting to duct tape the exhaust pipe and I'm going to try that next. On a 96° day the lowest the ac got was 84°. My bedroom is small, door closed, lights off, towel under the door. I can't figure out why it won't cool down more than 10°. If it wasn't such a hassle lugging it up a 5 floor walk up I would return it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      You do not want have a towel under the door. It is best to have air flow going out of the door. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn't work for my needs

    Posted
    Laguy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchase this so I could lower my bedroom temperature at night so that I wouldn't have to use the main ac to cool the only room in the house at night that we use. The water tray filled up quickly and would shut the unit off after several hours. I couldn't get thru the night with it. It didn't meet my needs as to why I purchased it and returned it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The air conditioner did not work as promised.

    Posted
    Carol
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    The air conditioner did not work as promised. It barely cooled one room, let along another room. We were told by the sales folks that with our ceiling fans the air would be circulated into both rooms. It did not work, so we returned it. Thanks to Best Buy for taking it back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Carol, We're sorry to hear about your experience with this Portable Air Conditioner. This is not what you should expect. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. If you have any questions about our products in the future do not hesitate to give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Save your money

    Posted
    doglover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This was a terrible purchase. The coolest the room ever got was 81°. We burned up for four days before we finally took it back and got a traditional window unit. Don't waste your time and money on it. I heard that type of unit does not work well but was willing to give it a try anyway. Very poor choice.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't Buy This Product

    Posted
    KPCraneOperator

    This unit we bought did not cool area 300 sq. We live by the beach, temperatures only rises a few weeks out of the year and under 100 degrees Unit will not cool room under 80 degrees even when started in the cool morning. Unit puts out a horrible stink. Do not buy this unit

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Takes up a lot of space & hard to empty water.

    Posted
    Kate64
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This unit is big and bulky & didn't cool off a small area in the extreme heat wave. I would have returned, if I had saved the box. Also I missed the part about emptying. Very difficult to do. These units collect water like a dehumidifier. Overall I was not pleased.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Small and portable

    Posted
    Bruce
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    After explaining to the sales person the sq ft that I had. they told me this would work even though the mgf said it wasn't. We only had a couple days in the 80s and it won't keep the space cool. Unfortunately this was a waste of money for me.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Sorry to hear. Yes, the best thing to do is to call the Manufacturer for any questions or concerns. 1-800-474-2147, M-F 8:30A-5:30P,(EST).
      Happy Holidays, JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    poor

    Posted
    BIGo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    would never buy again we had a window air conditioner before getting this floor model window cooled down much more than this one would never recommend these to anyone!!!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, we’re sorry to hear about your experience with our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com and reference code number BBA1126 so we can help provide a solution for your room conditions. Our Portable Acs are covered by a one year warranty so you might be eligible for an exchange/warranty replacement if the unit was purchased new. We look forward to making this right for you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The unit flooded my room...auto-shutdown failed

    Posted
    emperorloki
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This unit was running at night - water emptied at 11pm and when I got up at 430am to catch a flight, I had a new body of water in my living room. I ended up taking it back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Apologies, we take your experience with our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner very seriously. We're glad to hear that you returned your defective unit to the BestBuy store that you purchased it at. We'd love to recommend a different Portable AC that'll work great for your needs. Please give us call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can assist. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    doesnt hold temp

    Posted
    jaybmorgon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    air conditioner has 3 speeds on low its noisy and it doesn't hold the set temp meaning if you set it at 75 the compressor will continue to run until it reaches 71.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend