Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Honeywell - 550 Sq. Ft. Portable Air Conditioner - Blue/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 493 reviews

84%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-19 of 19 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not cold enough!

    Posted
    mgrmn
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It worked ehhh the first 7-8 months where it would reach 60-65 degrees but thats only if the weather outside is below 70s. Now its summer where tempratures are above 90s and this air conditioner doesn't go below 75 degrees in a small 10x15 sq ft. Bedroom. I feel the internal thermometer is not sensing the true temperature of the room. So the compressor never kicks in where you have it set to. I'm going to try and see if i can exchange for a higher btu model. I suggest you do too. I also don't like the way the vent only directs the air upwards rather than shoot straight horizontal like my old one did. I often like to feel the blown compressed air being shot straight at me next to my bed. It is quieter than my previous and only one exhaust duct rather than two, I give it that! But if i must go back to a two duct system (one intake and one exhaust) to get colder results, then I rather go back to that. I need my 60-65!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. This isn't what you'd expect and we would like to check into this on our end for you. Will you send us a note at usinfo@jmatek.com with your units full model number and the purchase date? Or you can give us a call at 1-800-474-2147, between 8:30 am - 5:30 pm EST. We are here to help and look forward to hearing from you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I paid how much for this?

    Posted
    NotDoctorFreeze
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I gave this A/C 2 stars simply because it hasn't been hot enough where I live to run it more than 5 or 6 days in the several months I own it. I've owned a Continental Electric portable A/C (yeah, I never heard of it before either) for years and NEVER had to drain it. I ran this in dry mode by mistake and needed to drain it in about 2 hours. Of course, when you schedule it to start 1 hour before you come home and, when you arrive, you're met with a message to empty it and it's 90 degrees in your apartment, well, you get the picture. There were no reviews available for this model but other Honeywell A/C's were rated fairly well. What helps make this machine a true nightmare is the hose connections on both ends of the hose. I have duct tape on the part that "fits" in the window. It came in 2 parts but the parts do not fit together well. My windows width is 32" and I will need to get part of the hole cut in the board that fits in the window to be able to fit the connector into it. The other connector in back of of the machine could also be better designed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    2 Degrees

    Posted
    MikeinNJ
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Thought this would handle 375 square feet since it claimed over 500 sq ft. Didn’t have a window big enough to install a window unit with enough BTUs so I went with this! Easy to install. No need to empty bucket. Easy controls. Just didn’t change temperature more than 2 degrees! Went from 84 to 82 degrees in about 4 hours (standing near the unit). House is well insulated and shades were down May work in a basement to eliminate humidity. I had high hopes after reading specs.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Mike, We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help provide a solution for your room conditions. We're glad there are other aspects of this unit that you enjoyed, and we're looking forward to making this right for you. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not what I expected for the high price

    Posted
    DonOmar
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I've had it for a day, and I am disappointed. It's a 12,000 btu unit, and after hours connected in my living room it didnt cool it at all. I decided to move unit into my room was able to feel a slight coolness in the room, I was advised for my living room size 12,000 btu should take care of it, not sure if I'm keeping it. Should have gone with window unit instead, much cheaper may I add

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Don, Apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused for you. If you have any questions for us, please don't hesitate to reach out. You can connect with us Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:30 pm EST, at 1-800-474-2147 or usinfo@jmatek.com. We are happy to help and would like to make sure everything is working properly for you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Lacks cooling power

    Posted
    Chuck
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bough for enclosed lanai in central Florida facing south with shades over large sliding windows. I wanted more capacity than the fairly well rated 10K BTU model. Fan speed on high cool seems way too slow. 12K BTU should have more than enough capacity for room size but not pushing out much cold air. Vent assembly went well, but I still need to build a better mounting frame for 6 ft horizontal slider window. I haven't used a/c much but I'm not impressed so far.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth its value

    Posted
    Joetheman29
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    The best part of this air conditioner is the extraction of humidity from the room and the portability of it. Not strong enough for a room of 400sq/ft. Found myself still turning on 2 fans at home to really feel a difference. When returned I noticed 6 of these units returned the same day.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Joe, We're sorry to hear about your experience with this Portable Air Conditioner. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. We'd love to be able to hear more about your room conditioners so that we can suggest a unit that'll work well for you. Just give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Poor product

    Posted
    Daniel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Not to happy with this product returned my window ac that was 8,000 btu and for this portable one and I would prefer the window ac over this one it doesn't cool down my living room like the workers from Best Buy stated it would now thinking of going back to the window ac very disappointed

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Please contact customer support at 1-800-474-2147 and a team can help you right away. There are various factors that affect the cooling efficiency of a Portable Air Conditioner such as the number of windows or heat-generating appliance in the room, the humidity and temperature of the city you are using it, the quality of insulation of the room and the height of the ceilings. In less favourable conditions, a higher BTU rating of Portable Air Conditioner is recommended to cool the same sized room. Please do contact our customer service team and we can help you see if you have the right model for your room or if there is a possible defect that may be solved under warranty. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Kept shutting off

    Posted
    Scott
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I bought this for my bed room so I wouldn’t have to run the ac as low at night in the entire house. It kept shutting off because the water tank would fill up with in a few hours. I ended up returning it

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Scott, this model comes with a continuous drain tube that can connect to either the upper or lower drain on the back of the unit (whichever is more convenient for your space). This is recommended in areas with high humidity levels. Please feel free to give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com if you have any questions. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    good design not best quality

    Posted
    pdaz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    it looks great (a bit bulky though) and cools down the room but couldnt get room temperature to get much below 80. Additionally, window piece to which exhaustion hose is attached does not lock - had to use some tape to keep it closed

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    didn't work as well as expected

    Posted
    DonnaD
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    this unit didn't work as well as expected. Had it in kitchen area and it didn't even cool it down. Moved it to bedroom and it never got lower then 80, only cooled down when the temperature outside dropped.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Donna, We're sorry to hear about your experience with this Portable Air Conditioner. This is not what you should expect. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help provide a solution for your room conditions. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    works perfect at night, but struggle during daytim

    Posted
    momo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    the unit works well at night, keep place cool. but during the day, when the sun hits my living area, the portable AC seems to struggle to keep the place cold, sometime it's even colder outside than inside the house during the day.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I expected more

    Posted
    Ifroogie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I expected more from this unit. We ran it 24 hours a day in a smaller sq ft area then the box said it could do - and honestly it kept the room cooler but not what we expected. Definitely a disappointment for the money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Did not keep master bedroom cold or cool.

    Posted
    Blezzgod
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Thought it would keep room under 78 degrees during current heat wave. Room was never cooler than 88 degrees. Made it nearly impossible to sleep during high heat situation.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, We're sorry to hear about your experience. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable A/Cs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help provide a solution for your room conditions. If you purchased this unit new you have a 1-year warranty, and you may be eligible for an exchange/warranty replacement. We look forward to hearing from you and making this right. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Does Not Cool

    Posted
    Bluethunder
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    First off, very expensive. In addition it doesn't even keep my small bedroom cool. Bought for living room but has difficulty with small room that does not get much sun

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I didn’t feel cold

    Posted
    Bhaves
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I am not satisfied beside I didn’t feel the cold and I heard some noise when I used it

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      We're sorry to hear about your experience with our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. During the first few minutes of use, the air conditioner may sound louder because of the compressor starting up. Also, the cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com and reference code number BBA0605. We look forward to making this right for you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Returned

    Posted
    RayF
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Had old unit and thought would upgrade. Ran new units and old 9000 cooled better. Returned to store

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Decent

    Posted
    Speebee
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    In mild temperatures works good. Useless when it's hot, just moved the air around.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    It needs long time to cool the place

    Posted
    Tfokaz77
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I returned after 2 days , I had the hope but not what I thought

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not a great product

    Posted
    RGC7
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It did not cool at all unless you were standing right in front of i.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Please contact customer support at 800 474 2147 and a team can help you right away. There are various factors that affect the cooling efficiency of a Portable Air Conditioner such as the number of windows or heat-generating appliance in the room, the humidity and temperature of the city you are using it, the quality of insulation of the room and the height of ceilings. In less favourable conditions, a higher BTU rating of Portable Air Conditioner is recommended to cool the same sized room. Please do contact our customer service team and we can help you see if you have the right model for your room or if there is a possible defect that may be solved under warranty. JMATEK