Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Honeywell - 550 Sq. Ft. Portable Air Conditioner - Blue/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 518 reviews

83%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 4, showing61-80 of 518 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Does its best

    Posted
    antflorendo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    i needed to cool a finished attic and the windows in the attic were small. It was either I install 3 5000btu window ac units or spend the money on this monster. I expected that even this 12000btu unit wouldn't be able to fight summer heat, but at least it makes the room somewhat comfortable mid-day. When I come home from work at 6pm, i turn it on and by 8pm, the attic is very comfortable for me to relax and play video games.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Gets the job done

    Posted
    MsJaOb
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I literally died last year from the scorching heat and decided to jump on a portable quick. The unit is in my apartment livingroom and it cools off the area quick, but takes several hours to reach my bedroom. I'm saving up to buy one for my bedroom this way it will feel like I have central air lol. I actually convinced a customer to buy one instead of a fan. One of many GOOD purchases from Best Buy. Highly recommended it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Only cools down 10 degrees.

    Posted
    Lriv1215
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The exhaust pipe is flimsy and releases alot of hot air. I've seen other reviews suggesting to duct tape the exhaust pipe and I'm going to try that next. On a 96° day the lowest the ac got was 84°. My bedroom is small, door closed, lights off, towel under the door. I can't figure out why it won't cool down more than 10°. If it wasn't such a hassle lugging it up a 5 floor walk up I would return it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      You do not want have a towel under the door. It is best to have air flow going out of the door. JMATEK

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good but not quite what we had hoped

    Posted
    smoothy92
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We were hopeful by getting a more powerful air conditioning unit. We only desired to cool our bedroom and our daughters bedroom with it. If it is running for half of the afternoon it will actually cool her room off enough also. But if we turn it on an hour before her bedtime it doesn't work at all and her room is hot all night. I am impressed with how quiet it is though.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Worked well for what we needed.

    Posted
    Cookie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    We purchased this in a emergency situation when our Motorhome air conditioner broke on a trip and the weather was extremely hot. It quickly cools off the space and maintains the temp you set. It vents out a window. The spacer for the window was the wrong size for our application so we used thick foam poster board to create a place to vent.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi there, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your new unit and we're happy to hear it's helping to keep your motorhome cool and comfortable! JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    great, powerful A/C unit

    Posted
    BrettR
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This is super easy to set-up with easy accommodation for various window-sizes. It is also very intuitive to use and it packs a lot power. It takes up a bit of floor space but that is really the only drawback. I'd highly recommend for the easy-of-use, cooling power and versatility it offers.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Brett, Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you're satisfied with the performance of our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Little Work Horse

    Posted
    Coolio

    Central air went out and was looking for a quick fix during recent heat wave in Detroit. When working for 24 hours it did a fine job removing the humidity and cooled our first floor. I’ve seen some complaints and I think the trick is to let it work for a day before you evaluate. I would recommend this purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're glad to hear this unit is just what you needed to help cool down your home during the recent heat wave, and we appreciate hearing about your experience. Thanks again! JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Absolutely Awesome

    Posted
    Elaine
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This is the Absolute Best Portable Air Conditioner!! It is Very Quiet, and cools the bedroom perfectly! My husband and i Absolutely Love this Air Conditioner! We couldn't be more pleased with this product!! It's perfect! And the Best part is, we got it at a Great price!!! Thank You Best Buy - you're the Best Elaine T.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Thank you for being a Honeywell Customer. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn’t even cool a 12x12 bedroom

    Posted
    DaveFire
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The installation was easy. The unit didn’t remove moisture automatically you had to dump the reservoir. The unit would not pull a 12 x 12 bedroom. After 15 minutes of using the unit the vents that open and close jammed. I would not suggest this

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Apologies. Our portable air conditioners work on self evaporation and do not need to be drained unless operating in very humid conditions. The vents should not get jammed. Please do give us a call at 1-800-474-2147, Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM (EST), or send us an email at usinfo @jmatek. com with the reference code number BBA0718. We look forward to making this right for you. Thank You ! JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Couldn't be happier!

    Posted
    Ndawg
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This replaced a portable A/C I had from Costco... and I couldn't be happier! It's not that noisy... cools my studio apartment pretty quickly... it doesn't leak but I have a tray under just in case. It cut my electric bill nearly by half switching to this A/C! Only thing - it's super heavy! Especially if you're bringing it upstairs.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Thank you for your review and choosing Honeywell. We appreciate you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Worth the extra price

    Posted
    DD1231
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Unlike other portable A/Cs I have purchased, this one dissipates the water so you don't have to disconnect it, lift it, and drain it. Very quiet fan on low speed and it cools QUICKLY! Sleep timer function as well, so I don't have to run it all night after the bedroom cools down. Highly recommended!

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, Thanks so much for your review! We're glad to hear you love the features and functionality of this Portable Air Conditioner, and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn't work for my needs

    Posted
    Laguy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I purchase this so I could lower my bedroom temperature at night so that I wouldn't have to use the main ac to cool the only room in the house at night that we use. The water tray filled up quickly and would shut the unit off after several hours. I couldn't get thru the night with it. It didn't meet my needs as to why I purchased it and returned it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Does what I needed it to do!

    Posted
    Reyes
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    For being fairly compact it certainly cools my room really nice. It actually cools the entire apartment for a fraction of the cost of running the central air. The window attachment for the exhaust was just about useless though since it's waaaay to long for any of our windows but gerryrigging some cardboard was no big deal.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Quiet...cold air

    Posted
    LISAD1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Runs quiet blows cold air. Cools master bedroom effectively . Probably would cool faster if highest fan speed was faster. Not light by any means but not too heavy for weak female like myself to handle. Snapping together the exhaust hose ends was a bit difficult. Easy to shift around.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great air conditioner for a large bedroom

    Posted
    Morgan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    We use this to cool a rather large bedroom on the second story and it's been doing a great job. It has been running on high speed temp set in the mid 60's 13 hours a night for over a month without any issues or problems. To some it could sound loud if you're using it in a day time room, to us it's great noise to sleep to.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Unit

    Posted
    Greg
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I got this unit when it was very warm outside. It keeps my room at a balanced temperature just like a large unit would. The only thing when the compressor kicks on it's a little louder but not too bad. I expected more due to the unit I got rid of, this one is great.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you're satisfied with the performance of our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth its value

    Posted
    Joetheman29
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    The best part of this air conditioner is the extraction of humidity from the room and the portability of it. Not strong enough for a room of 400sq/ft. Found myself still turning on 2 fans at home to really feel a difference. When returned I noticed 6 of these units returned the same day.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Joe, We're sorry to hear about your experience with this Portable Air Conditioner. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. We'd love to be able to hear more about your room conditioners so that we can suggest a unit that'll work well for you. Just give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Perfect for my needs!

    Posted
    Moose
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I love the sleek design and it's much quieter than my old one. We have a small home, so cools living room down quickly. Easy to install the window kit, we did have to cut some off the sliding part for window exhaust hose, to fit in our window, that wasn't a big deal. Has multi options and remote control works great. No complaints.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Works

    Posted
    Novcod
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I like that I don't need a bucket or to toss out water. This unit is temporary while my HOA does some roof renovations and can not install a split unit. This unit works great and it is not too loud for being such a big A.C. I would need four of these to keep my beach hut (1000 square feet) actually cool though.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Great for cooling just ok for drying

    Posted
    LivinEzee
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Unit was easy to set up right out of the box.Started cooling mode first.Worked great in living room for the afternoon.Moved to bedroom at night,kept room very comfortable.Can't seem to get it to drain correctly in dry mode but probably won't need to dry that much.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear this unit is working great to keep you cool and comfortable. We'd like to hear more about your experience draining the unit on dry mode. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can assist. Thank you. JMATEK