Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Hoover - WindTunnel 2 High Capacity Bagless Pet Upright Vacuum - Purple-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 1495 reviews

93%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 33 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst Vacuum I've Ever Had

    Posted
    Megan
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased this vacuum after my previous vacuum broke. The one I had wasn't made anymore and this one seemed the most comparable to what I previously had. After using it, it wasn't comparable at all. I tried to make this vacuum work for two years. It didn't and doesn't. Problems with the vacuum include: -poor suction on rugs -carpet height knob doesn't really do anything- it clicks for adjustment but doesn't actually move the knob -suction on low-carpet floors is so strong you can't move the vacuum -conical-shaped canister makes it so you have to dig into the canister to empty -washable filter gauge is inaccurate -cord storage holder broke off The vacuum does an average job on carpeted surfaces, but I would recommend you look for another choice. I would have thought Hoover could put out a better product than this. I will be going back to a Eureka.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS MODEL

    Posted
    JazzManJr
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This is my THIRD time owning this model. The 1st time this vacuum didn't last half a year..this second one lasted maybe 3/4 of a year. I most certainly would not recommend this model. In fact there is currently a newer model called the Wind Tunnel 3, but Best Buy didn't carry it at the time I purchased this Wind Tunnel 2. I suspect Hoover may have made a flawed design in the Wind Tunnel 2. We vacuum 3 bedrooms 2 times a week. So its not really heavily used. When it works, its a good performing unit.. but when it goes bad it goes bad immediately without any indication, and all suction ceases. It was maintained, cleaned etc but still went bad. If this third one goes bad I can assure you I will switch models and possibly Brands altogether. I am thankful however for my local Best Buy store swapping out the vacuums each time. They have great customer service.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi JazzManJr! Loss of suction is due to a maintenance issue such as a clog or dirty filter. Your Wind/Tunnel 2 is equipped with a thermal protector that will shut it down if it becomes overheated. Please take a look at this quick troubleshooting video here: http://bit.ly/1NIXEzR. Complete these steps to get your Hoover running like new! ~Kenya, Hoover Customer Care Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    This vacuum sucks too much? Canister leaks dust.

    Posted
    Hoovermatic

    While I'm generally a Hoover vacuum fan (price/performance), this Best Buy exclusive model UH70817 has a canister gasket problem built in. I would avoid purchasing it. You will notice that the vacuum emits a lot of floor dust back into the air covering the outside of the vacuum unit and everything else. The canister doesn't separate the vacuuming and vacuumed, i.e. the sealer gasket around the canister that separates the vacuum suction chamber and the waste canister does not seal properly. This problem happened immediately. Unfortunately, we didn't return it soon enough. You take your chances for a very frustrating experience. Otherwise the vacuum power is typical Hoover (good).

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    would not buy again...

    Posted
    betty
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought one and loved it..so I bought another one ..before I got the 2nd one out of the box, the 1st one just quit...so I took the unopened one back to the store. I have contacted HOOVER and am waiting to see how this is resolved. They know there is an issue with these sweepers, they get hot and shut down, after cooling 15-20 minutes they may restart, as the owner's manual states. Mine would not start again. So I have a vacuum that I've used three times that I may just have to pitch because I don't think I'm going to spend any money on fixing it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi Betty, we're sorry to hear you had this experience! We always want to make sure you have a positive experience when it comes to using our cleaners. It could be time to rinse out your filter. Remember to only rinse it with water and let it dry for 24 hours. If that does not help, we ask you to make sure the dirt inlet tube is not clogged. If it is, remove the nozzle and then remove the clog. This should increase your suction! If you still run into issues, please call our customer service team at 1-800-944-9200. Thanks! Cierra Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Just Terrible

    Posted
    Roo2008

    My fiance and I bought this vacuum on the recommendation of the sales clerk at Best Buy. We were told it was great for pets and my fiance didn't want to spend the money for a Dyson. Ever since the very first usage, this thing will run for approximately 10 minutes and then shut off on it's own. I then have to wait about a half hour or so for it to cool down so I can rush to vacuum more before it shuts down again. There are no words to describe my disgust with this machine. Sad thing is, it's barely 5 months old. Complete garbage. I should have held out for the Dyson.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi Roo2008,
      That shouldn’t have happened and we want to help. You may have a clog causing all these issues. First check the filter under the dirt cup lid to see if it's dirty. If so, rinse it under warm water and let it dry 24 hours. Next, take off the main hose and run a broom handle through it. If this doesn't help, please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! – John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't Buy

    Posted
    ThornB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I purchased this vacuum recently. I brought it home and the floor suction stopped working after vacuuming 3 rooms. I took it back thinking it a fluke and brought home a new version. That one also quit on the same day. So I took that one back and was refunded my money. A friend of mine gave me a very old vacuum, it's probably been around for the last 40 years. It works great! Things used to be made right. This vacuum seems built to break.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi ThornB,
      That shouldn't have happened and we apologize for the inconvenience. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can help. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer CareHoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Got a used machine

    Posted
    Rosemary

    When I received the package, it's obvious that it was opened before. I checked the instruction manual, and there should be more than 10 different parts. But in the package we received, there are only 6. Worse, there was already dirt in the dirt cup when I opened the package. It is a very unpleasant online shopping experience. I'm gonna return the machine to the nearest store asap.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Won’t stay running

    Posted
    Mamajen1975
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I bought this because it was for pets and has good filters. I can only use it for about 5 minutes before it shuts off. When it does, the carbon hepa filter cartridge is almost too hot to touch. The filters aren’t even dirty! It’s usually hours at least before it will work again. I’ve let Hoover know about it but they said just clean the filters. THEYRE NOT DIRTY!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi Mamajen1975, we want to make this right! Please contact Customer Service at 800-944-9200 and we will get this resolved. Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    store policy on returns sucks

    Posted
    momo

    We bought a Hoover Wind Tunnel at Best Buy. Not only did it blow up and smell like burning rubber, when we took it back we were told that we could only get a store credit. We had our receipt and it was 19 days after the purchase. The sales accociate said they had many returned. We are being forced to shop at Best Buy. We will never shop at Best Buy again. They do not treat their customers right and they carry seconds.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worthless

    Posted
    Annoyed

    Do not waste your money on this piece of junk. Bought it just after New Years, only used it a handful of times. Now it's not even April yet and this thing is dead in the water. My daughter was using it and it just stopped running. Took the hoses off and made sure everything was clear, put it back together and hit the switch... nada. Click, click click. Junk.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Overheats after first use!

    Posted
    missourigirl1900

    Don't waste your time or money on this. This overheats and then you have to take it apart and try to clear all the chambers out. Customer service wasn't any help, they tell me to take it to a repair shop, after one use!!! I am going to throw it away and but a different brand and model. Too bad I didn't return it sooner.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi MissouriGirl1900,
      We want to help. The air path shouldn't be clogged after one use. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer CareHoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Brush head wears quickly.

    Posted
    customer24

    I purchased this on 12-31-16 worked pretty good for the money up until now. 8-25/17. used very lightly and hepa filter cleaned regularly but the bristles on the brush head are worn way to quickly and its a $35 replacement but I barely used this vacuum I don't recommend spend the extra money to get a better vac.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Pedal Broke Off

    Posted
    UnhappyBuyer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I did not have a chance to use the vacuum. I first stepped on the pedal to adjust the cannister. The pedal just broke off. It is thin, plastic and not durable. This is the first time this has happened. My previous Kenmore and Shark vacuums had pedals to adjust the cannister which worked flawlessly. I do not recommend this product.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi! We're sorry this experience has not been a good one for you and would like to advise that your WindTunnel 2 has a 2 year limited manufacturer's warranty. The warranty covers motor/mfg. defects from the date of purchase. At this time, please visit our website to locate an authorized Hoover Repair Center to have your vacuum repaired. If you have any more questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us on Facebook, tweet us @HooverUSA, or call us at 1-800-944-9200. We're here for you!
      -Joscelyn,
      Hoover Customer Care Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ruined new carpet

    Posted
    ME5555
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    We had new carpet installed, very plush twist. we bought this vacuum on the second day, and it untwisted the carpet strains when it was running but placed in the upright position. We returned the vacuum after the carpet manufacturer had an independent tester determine that it was not defective carpet.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Defective Unit

    Posted
    Cactigus
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The unit I bought was defective and was returned. The suction was so strong, it wouldn't move at all on carpet, and there's no suction control. You'd think super strong suction would be great, but if the unit won't move, it's useless.Took it back and bought a Bissell.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Frank
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Loved it until it stopped working and blowing all the dirt out instead of in and now I have dirt in my carpet that it spit out that I can clean up until I buy a new vacuum. only had it less tan a month and always kept it clean and empty.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi Frank! If your WindTunnel 2 is blowing dirt out, it is usually due to a clog. Please try this: Remove the filter from the lid of the dirt cup, rinse with water and allow to dry for 24 hours.
      Remove the HEPA filter from below the dirt cup and remove any debris.
      The long hose is designed to be removed completely. You can run a broomstick through the hose to check for clogs.
      The lower hose could also be checked for clogs. You can use a grabber tool or something similar and remove anything found here. This should get your unit back to optimum performance. Hope this helps! -Michael, Hoover Customer Care Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    not what i hoped for

    Posted
    pain
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    the seal on the case around the filter is not tight and on my first run on the carpet it filled up and you can not clean it out without taking it apart. You can not vacume any rugs without sucking them up like the kitchen rug or bathroom

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Such a waste of money

    Posted
    Lemon

    This vacuum had GREAT suction at 1st but I've had less than 6 months and it stopped working twice and Bestbuy said because I didn't purchase the extra coverage they cannot replace it! smh

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Last one year only

    Posted
    gdill
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased this product April 2016. It would turn on and turn off after 5 minutes of operation. I would not advise anyone to purchase this model.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    This unit is horrible poor design ....do not buy

    Posted
    ramrod
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this for a high capacity dirt canister but this will pick up very little hair and clogs up you have to empty multiple times just to do a small carpeted area

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend