Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

HP - ENVY Photo 7155 Wireless All-In-One Instant Ink Ready Printer - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 2122 reviews

93%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 50 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor Customer Service

    Posted
    revn57

    Took printer home and opened the box and I had 2 color start up cartridges instead of a black and color one. I called HP and I was told that there was nothing they could do and I would have to return the printer to the store. I told them that I live over 25 miles from the store and I did not feel that this was my error and I requested for them to just send me a starter cartridge. I got no where so I called Best buy and they told me to bring in the extra color cartridge and they would exchange it for a black one. I did this and when I got home the black cartridge that they took out of the demo printer that was on the sales floor had not ink in it so it would not work. So here I have to go back to the store again to get this resolved. If you buy this printer I would open it in the store to make sure you have what you need because you will not get any help from HP or Best Buy and you might have to go to the store several times.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi,

      I appologize for the inconvience this has caused you. It's very unusual to receive incorrect setup cartridges in the box and I understand how frustrating this must be.

      Although not ideal, given your distance from the store, I'd still recommend returning the printer and requesting a replacement to ensure you recieve the correct setup cartridges.

      I will pass on this review our factory & support teams to ensure this does not happen again.

      Mary,
      HP Care HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Avoid!!

    Posted
    Chris
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Purchased 3/28 and tried to set up tonight, 3/30. Infuriating. Never successfully installed the drivers despite multiple attempts, downloading the driver package directly from the HP support website, and using the print and scan doctor. Could tell the printer via network to test print, but the app said driver not installed, and accordingly I couldn't print from any software. The set up wizard was horrible - I am adamantly not interested in Instant Ink, so it appears that the install is designed to fail unless one signs up. Several hours lost for what should have taken 10-15 minutes. I like our other older HP printer, and generally like my laptop, so this is very disappointing. The heavy handedness with the Instant Ink is such a turn off I'm highly likely to blacklist HP from any further purchases. This printer obviously is a return.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I am really sorry to know that this was the result of trying to use your printer. We do not really want our clients to be disappointed and this is why I am going to do everything to help you.

      Since you already tried reaching our official HP Support Center, I highly recommend you to call us for direct support. To do so, please call +1 800-474-6836 between the hours of 8 am - 9 pm ET. 

      We really want to do everything to keep you as our client and we will be delighted to prove it:
      hp.com/contactHP

      Antonio
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Problems at every step

    Posted
    Laserjet
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    As others across the Internet have mentioned, setting this up is a nightmare. It requires you do the HP InstantInk setup, but the printer just says waiting to choose ink. This was of course after the configuration ran overnight and stalled... It said not to turn it off, but I had no choice. Then once everything is setup (you have to say no to InstantInk and then sign up online). After everything was working there were streaks in all of the pictures, despite multiple cleanings and alignments. The printer ran out of ink after 15 photos, mostly 4x6. And InstantInk didn't ship anything out yet. I contacted HP and they gave me the run around. Said to buy more ink at the store as the HP Instant Ink would take 3-7 business days. I will be returning this.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi,

      I'm very sorry that these issues with streaked prints have been affecting the printer's overall usability. I can also understand how disappointing the difficult set up must have been. I want to assure you that this is far from the reliable experience we intend on providing, so I'd like to help make things right.

      It sounds like the streaky prints are an issue of print quality, so I recommend following the steps in this print quality improvement guide: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05551101

      If this doesn't provide a fix, I hope you'll consider reaching out to us for support. We'd be more than happy to help, so you can give us a call at 1-800-474-6836 between the hours of 8 am - 9 pm ET. To expedite things a bit, I recommend gathering this information beforehand:
      - Model number
      - Serial number
      - Your location
      - Your case number (from prior contact with support)

      If you allow us the opportunity, we look forward to speaking with you.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Wouldn't even setup

    Posted
    dezspider
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I've had a lot of HP printers in the past so I expected a really different experience. First the mobile app is a joke, designed by someone who has obviously never created one before. It's more like a web page packed into a phone form factor. However that's nothing compared to the printer setup. In a nutshell, halfway through installation, the printer screen displayed the error "Do not use Setup Cartridges" and would go no further. According to the HP support page the only way to overcome this error is to return the printer (it uses different cartridges for first time use so that I can calibrate the printer). I don't have time to waste gambling that the second one might work properly, so I'm switching to Epson.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Good printer. terrible set-up

    Posted
    phil

    I purchased the HP ENVOY photo 7155 about a week ago. Reviews were good. However the set up was a nightmare. In spite of following all instructs, I could not get my computer to find the printer. I tried for at least 2 hrs or more. On-line help did not work. I finally a tech at HP. He took over my computer and started to install. He said my computer was running slow. He than informed me that a worm or something in my wi-fi. For him to remove it I had to buy there protection program to the tune of $700. I then find out he works for a outfit called Geek Studios. He said they partner with HP. He worked a long time on my commuter and finally finessed install after another 2hrs. When I call HP help I don't expect to talk to someone who also works for another company. One of my worst experiences ever with a company like HP.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    You get what you pay for....

    Posted
    Kirasheba
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    VERY disappointed in this printer. I was going to return it. I had a much better model before and it was crummy too, that was returned! LOVED my old Cannon but they did not have any. With the choices I had at the time, I just grabbed this. The touch screen stinks. I had to CALL HP, after an hour of them babbling asking me if I'm enrolled in insta ink WHO CARES.......Just to find out how to clean nozzles. Yes simple things are not in the books. It still prints with LINES through it. But after close to 3+ hours yesterday I don't have the energy. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!! The support is sadly bad.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm so sorry about the disappointing experience you've had with both the printer and support so far. We always aim to deliver much more reliability and efficiency in both regards, so I regret that we fell short. I can imagine how inconvenient it is to receive prints with lines each time, so I'd love to see how else I can help.

      As it sounds like these lines are linked to a print quality issue, what I'd recommend is following all of the steps in this improvement guide: support.hp.com/document/c05551101

      If this doesn't provide a resolution, I do hope that you'll consider reaching out to us for support one more time. We would be grateful for an opportunity to make this right, so please don't hesitate to give us another call.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Brings down the network!

    Posted
    john78248
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This HP printer was easy to install and set up, but it constantly brings my home network down. I spent hours with HP support only to have them tell me to contact my router's manufacturer because it's was their problem. Really? My network was fine until I installed this printer that insists on constant communication with HP, disrupting my network and connectivity. We have to leave the printer powered off unless we have something to print, then we have to power it on, then off again. And even then, getting something to print is hit and miss. Terrible customer support = terrible product. AVOID!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello John,

      It's terrible to hear that you had a good experience with the printer at first and then it went downhill. I am so sorry for the inconveniences this has caused. Let's see if we can fix it.

      Though you weren't able to reach a resolution via phone support the first time, I hope you'll consider reaching out to us again. You can contact us directly at +1 800-474-6836 so we can sort this out. To expedite the process, I recommend gathering the following information before the call:
      - Model number
      - Serial number
      - Your location
      - Your case number (from previous contact with support)

      Also, if you need it, HP printers do come with a 1-year warranty from their purchase date. You can verify the warranty with the following link: support.hp.com/us-en/checkwarranty

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible set up & don't use for Photos

    Posted
    4Brads
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We bought this printer yesterday, the best buy salesman convinced us this was a great photo printer. We compared with old Canon printer and hands down, Canon is superior printer at the same price. I simple printer should take less than 5 minutes to set up. Well, we never were able to connect wireless, instructions did not align. Entering a "claim code" that never appeared in our print set up. I appears if your desktop is on ethernet, you can't have your printer on wireless...really? So this piece of garbage is going back. Stay away from HP Printers!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm very sorry to hear that you've had some difficulties with accessing the claim code. I can imagine how inconvenient this has been, so I'd really like to help make this right. Let's see what I can recommend.

      First thing's first, this link should help with general claim code troubles: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05279891

      For the issues with setting up the printer wirelessly, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for support. We're always here to help, so you can get in touch anytime via this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Returned it to the store

    Posted
    NoTechie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The printer would not connect with the internet. During set-up it went through all the motions except it never asked for the password to our wireless. One of the steps was to sign-up for something that would cost $10/mo. -- of course that could be cancelled. I never signed-up. Maybe that's why it wouldn't connect to internet? Also called HP help line, but got rerouted to another HP helper that didn't help. So I just gave-up, after wasting 1 1/2 hrs. for set-up.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    failed set up

    Posted
    no123
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought this because it was 123 set up with apple products, turned into getting help from someone who took over my computer to install printer and after 3 tries said he had to talk to another "tech" another try to no avail. Had to talk to supervisor. He explained the printer was working, my computer was fine but the "between" was blocking the set up. He offered another higher tech would work on it that it would take 20-30min and if it worked I would be charged a one time fee of $99,00. I declined and took it back to the store. So much for 123

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm terribly sorry to hear about the troubles you've had with your printer. Even more so, it's awful to hear about the experience you had when reaching out to support. Unfortunately, support feedback of that nature is often linked to fraudulent companies or individuals.

      For future reference, there is no charge for standard support during your 1-year warranty period. With that said, it's unfortunate to hear that you returned the printer, but I'm glad you were able to do so without issue.

      Despite this printer not working well for you, I hope that you'll allow us an opportunity in the future to help you find one that better suits your printing needs. We would love a chance to make things better with the quality experience that we intended on providing from the start.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Huge problems getting set up

    Posted
    Polkadot
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    The printer works fine with I pad and I phone but will not connect with our computers at home over the wireless system. Computers see the printer but show it as off line. When you try to correct, you are told that you are missing the correct drivers but after repeatedly downloading what HP shows as the correct drivers and running their trouble shooter, still no go. At this point our work around (until we junk it and try something new) is to email documents to our phones and print them that way

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello,

      I am very sorry that the printer is not connecting to your WiFi system. I hope to be able to help.

      You might have tried most of the solutions found in this set of online instructions, but often using the 'Print and Scan Doctor' helps with a lot of problems, There is also a note at the bottom of the page about compatibility problems that might be applicable: support.hp.com/document/c04249080

      If those steps don't help, please contact us: hp.com/contactHP

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn't work out of the box!

    Posted
    OldFordCoupe
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Having good experience with HP printers in the past, perhaps I purchased a unique lemon; however, I ended-up taking it back to the store. I bought another HP printer but not the 7155. Issues I experienced included printer automatically turning itself off, only printing half (or less) of any given photo, problems keeping paper aligned, and poor photo quality on the "normal" print setting. Also, HP should include ink cartridges with purchase that last longer. These seemed to be "sample" size.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm really sorry to hear about these issues with poor print quality and alignment, among other things. I can certainly understand how inconvenient this must be, especially since it affects your ability to print reliably. With that said, I'd like to see how I can help.

      For the issue of poor print quality, the following document should help: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05551101

      Then, I'd just like to clarify that the cartridges that come with your printer aren't full size and are just intended for the printer's initial calibration.

      For the other difficulties you mentioned, I highly recommend reaching out to us for support. We'd be more than happy to work through this with you and arrange for a replacement printer, if necessary. You can always get in touch via your preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Set-up nightmare

    Posted
    Linda
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have NEVER had a problem setting up a computer printer, but this was awful. No disk. Online directions were AWFUL, and the normal, SIMPLE scan to email had to use their web service. NOT! Ended up paying over $80 for Geek Squad to tell me just to scan to computer and then attach to email. UPGRADING was not an improvement. Shame on HP. Next time, if ever, I'll buy the cheapest printer I can find. It would probably be just as good as $150 HP printer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Linda,

      It's so disappointing to hear that your printer's setup was less than seamless. I'm so sorry that you've had to pay for assistance with trying to get everything going. It certainly shouldn't have taken so much time, so I can imagine how inconvenient this must've been. Despite these first impressions, I assure you that it's always our intention to provide a reliable printer experience.

      For future reference, pages 41-49 of your printer's user guide will be quite useful as it details all of your options for scanning (including scan to email): hp.com/ctg/Manual/c05633496.pdf

      If there's anything we can help with going forward, please don't hesitate to contact us for support. We're always more than happy to help, so you can reach out anytime via your preferred method (call, chat, etc.) at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a easy printer to install

    Posted
    Roxie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have not been able to sync my iMac, iPAD Pro or iPhone to the air printer . I had to run a Wire from the of Printer to the port in the back of my iMac to get it to print. I actually spent 2 hours with Apple Support and they could not solve the problem. I also called HP123.com and they trued to sell me their service to get viruses off the printer and put up a firewall. And then they said the Brand New HP Printer would work. So I am not at all pleased ! If I live close to a Best Buy I would bring it back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Roxie, sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue with your HP ENVY Photo 7155 All-in-One Printer as you are unable to printer from iPad, iPhone, and iMac using AirPrint. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I appreciate your feedback. AirPrint is a mobile printing solution included with the Apple iOS v4.2 and later mobile operating systems. Print from an iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch over a wireless network to your HP printer by following the steps in this document: http://bit.ly/2yDm7GP HP Support will not charge you for the support if your printer is under warranty. HP printers generally have a 1-year warranty from their purchase date, you can verify the warranty using the following link: http://bit.ly/2mP3Xrb You can also contact HP Support in case you need further assistance: http://hp.care/2nbNQFi HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a good printer

    Posted
    JohnyDang
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The printer was extremely difficult to set up and required way too many steps. After 45 minutes I used my computer settings to connect to the printer and it was way faster than following the directions. Then after day 1 the printer had a message that I was no longer eligible for the HP instant ink program I spent 15 minutes registering for. Totally not satisfied and I will be returning this printer and getting a brother printer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Johnny,

      It's so disappointing to hear about these complications with Instant Ink. I can also understand how inconvenient the difficult setup must have been, so I apologize for the trouble. Although you mentioned you'd likely be returning the printer, I'd still like to see how I can help, just in case.

      What I'd recommend is contacting our dedicated Instant Ink support team so they can assist you with the Instant Ink subscription. They would be more than happy to help, so you can give them a call at 1‑855‑785‑2777.

      I hope you'll allow us an opportunity to make this right.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible!! Wish I could return it!

    Posted
    MELG
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I set it up and the first day it worked great. Since then I have been unable to print anything wirelessly even after reinstalling, turning off, etc. I am going to have to hook it up with a USB cable, but the whole purpose for getting this was so my kids could print schoolwork from their laptops anywhere in the house without me logging into my computer for them to print. Don't buy!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst customer service ever

    Posted
    Carole
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Printer worked but would not connect to my wireless network sufficiently to connect to HP. Kept giving error messages. I spent 3 HOURS on chat with HP, getting disconnected several times and having to start over. Took so long because I had to wait minutes between every step. NEVER RESOLVED PROBLEM and ultimately was disconnected for the 3rd time after 3 hours so gave up. Returning printer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Carole,

      I'm very disappointed that you didn't have a good experience talking to our support team. This is not what we wish to happen to our customers.

      For connectivity issues, these instructions should help: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05368548

      Using the 'HP Print and Scan Doctor', which is a general troubleshooting tool, is often helpful too: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03286146

      For any other concerns, you can give us another chance by contacting us at: hp.com/contacthp

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Would Not Print

    Posted
    Aace
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    After installing the HP Printer I tried to print and was given the message it would not print with the ink cartridges that came with the unit. I called the HP help desk and was told I had to pay over $200.00 for a service package or they would not help me get the printer working. Took it back to Best Buy. Sticking with my Epson XP-830 even though it uses a lot of ink.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello,

      I'm very disappointed that the setup cartridges did not work for you. This is not the experience we strive for.

      HP has a warranty on its cartridges, so you should have been able to get replacements at no cost.

      Sorry this wasn't the case for you. I'll send feedback to the support team,

      Mary
      HP Care HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    not good

    Posted
    sailor
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    no setup disk, setting up on line with hp is cumbersome. the printer did not function after hp said it was completely setup. it spit out plain paper after i tried to print. an attempt to print a photo was a disaster colored ink smeared all over the photo paper, with no semblance to a finished photo. it really deserves a one star or no stars.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I am so sorry that the printer is posing different issues with setup and print quality. Our printers are built to last, so it's very disappointing to hear about this. I'd really like to see how I can help improve this experience going forward.

      With regards to poor print quality, the following document will be helpful, as it outlines some helpful improvement guidelines. These steps often solve issues, including these ink smears. You can check it out here: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05551101

      As I'm not too sure about the underlying cause of these issues, I hope you'll consider giving our support another try. If you allow us this opportunity, you can get in touch with us at +1 800-474-6836 between the hours of 8 am - 9 pm ET. To expedite the process, I recommend gathering this information beforehand:
      - Model number
      - Serial number
      - Your location
      - Your case number (from prior contact with support)

      I'd also like to mention the fact that HP printers do have a 1-year warranty from their purchase date, so I hope you'll use it if you need to. To verify the warranty, you can use the following link: support.hp.com/us-en/checkwarranty

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Frustrating set up

    Posted
    Emjko
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Just bought - Installed software but it is not responding. Tried "hp virtual assistant but www.hp.com/go/virutal assistant but that does not bring up anything hp-related. Now and on the phone with hp support and they put me on hold and then disconnected. Very frustrating.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend