Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

HP - ENVY Photo 7855 Wireless All-In-One Instant Ink Ready Printer - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 2224 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 56 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Shocked and disappointed

    Posted
    RocPicCom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I wanted a photo printer that would make large prints. Looking around at the many choices at Best Buy, I settled on the HP - ENVY Photo 7855 Wireless All-In-One Instant Ink Ready Printer . I loaded up on HP glossy HP photo papers, and HP plain paper, and a double order of ink cartridges. I'd say I'm a very qualified digital geek / nerd going back to the days of teletype as a USN cryptologic tech, so I know my way around digital. Connecting to WiFi was easy, and I initially loaded the printer with plain paper, and let it do its test sheet. Then I added 4 x 6 HP glossy photo paper. From the beginning, and through the end, no matter what software adjustments I made, the printer status window would insist that the printer was loaded with 5 x 7 photo paper. This led to my photos have people with the tops of their heads cut off. I switched to the large HP photo paper, and after 4 large prints, I was surprised to find that I was now out of ink. Fortunately I did buy two batches of ink, but, I had signed up for the Instant Ink program, and the printer was upset that I wasn't using cartridges from the HP Instant Ink program. It is what it is, I went on with my printing. After about a dozen large photo prints, at best quality, I was out of ink again. After putting in more new ink, I wanted to switch back to 4 x 6 mode. Well it printed 4 x 6, but it was printing it on the 8 1/2 by 11 plain white paper, and after more than a dozen tries to get it to print on my 4 x 6 photo paper that it was till calling 5 x 7 - I'm done. I'm bringing it back to Best Buy. I will add that the user interface with multiple ways to set the printer settings, and NONE of them yielding the desired results, unbelievable from such a quality name. Also I did the software updates and ran the trouble shooting software. Nothing at the consumer level should be this complicated.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm very sorry to hear that you had such difficulty printing with your desired media size. Before returning the printer, I'd recommend reaching out to us at Support.HP.com as one of our experts would be happy to assist you to try and resolve this.

      However, we appreciate your review. Your feedback has been passed onto the product team and will help us to keep improving our products.

      Kieran
      HP Care HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great for a short time

    Posted
    SgtAwesome
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I had gone through two of these before I gave up on it and got a different printer. When it worked, it was nice. I loved the ability to copy multiple papers at a time through the top and the printer was quite small and nice. I also really enjoyed being able to print from my mobile device as well. However, the first printer had issues with the copy leaving a large streak on every copy I made. The recommended cleaning methods did not work so I returned it. The second one was great for a few months, then the problems began. The printer would repeatedly ask to refill paper cartridge when it was full. The printer would stop printing documents part-way through even leaving half-empty pages. The ink cartridges dry out so fast and are costly. The last straw for me was I replaced the black in cartridge. After that, every document was printing to only about 2/3 of the paper in smaller text to which there was no setting to fix this to print to fit. After running the calibration test for a new ink cartridge, which went fine, everything printed out in red. The streaking for photo copies was also present on this computer, which told me that dust gets into it too easily. I returned it and will not get another HP again. I would not even recommend this to a stranger.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm tremendously sorry to hear about these difficulties you experienced with paper feeding, ink consumption, and poor print quality. I fully understand how disappointing this has been, especially since you've given this printer a go twice now. I want to assure you that we appreciate that loyalty and never take it for granted. With that said, I regret that we didn’t provide you with the reliable experience that we had intended to.

      Despite this, I do hope that in the future you'll allow us another opportunity to stand by the quality that we pride ourselves on. We'd be grateful for a chance to make things right and again, my sincerest apologies.

      Take care,

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Won't print PDF files

    Posted
    Wrangler
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this printer a month ago to replace my very old HP Photosmart. It's very easy to set up, is quiet when printing, and the print quality on documents is great. (I've not used it to print photos yet.) Most of my printing is emails, recipes I find online, and documents generated through Etsy (I have a home-based business on Etsy). Each of those items prints immediately. When it comes to PDF documents, this printer is beyond frustrating. I either get partial pages, no pages, or multiples copies of the same pages. In one night one 20-some page document yielded over 70 pages - some pages printed once, some three or four times, and no page was complete! (This was the first PDF document I tried to print - I clicked "print" thinking it would print normally. Wrong!) Then I'll continually get messages that the printer is in error mode (upwards of 20 notifications, one or two a minute.) If I go into settings, it tells me the photo paper tray is empty (I'm not printing photos) or the printer is offline (when it isn't). I have tried everything I can think of, including going into advanced settings to print as an image, and it still only prints a partial page if it prints at all. I did not purchase Geek Squad coverage as it never occurred to me a printer would print everything but PDF files. I've searched online to try to find a solution, but nothing has worked. I'm not sure what I'm going to do, since printing PDFs is a huge part of my business. Right now I want to dropkick this printer into tomorrow.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi,

      I am very sorry that you've been having problems printing PDF files, even though the printer seems to print very well otherwise.

      There is probably a compatibility problem between the Adobe Reader program (that controls the PDF files) and your printer software. There are some detailed steps about how to fix that online: support.hp.com/document/c01879546

      That should fix it, but if there is still a problem, you could try downloading the full-featured software for your printer. That can be found (and a nice diagnostic tool too BTW) at:
      support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/selfservice/hp-envy-photo-7800-all-in-one-printer-series/9073159/model/9073160

      If there is anything else that we can help with, contact information is here: hp.com/contactHP

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    2nd HP and continuous problems printing on both.

    Posted
    LLEE

    This is the 2nd HP Printer I've had. The first printer had a different problem and after it was replaced by the manufacturer. The replacement went out 3 months after warranty. 10 days ago, I purchased HP ENVY PHOTO 7855 because the reviews were good on it. Now continuous problems with getting it to print wireless. Have to uninstall and reinstall about ever 3 days to get the computer and printer to recognize each other. Ironically, I can fax from my desktop using the fax with the printer. I have a Windows 7 64-bit. What is more frustrating is I tried to call HP Direct, was in call Que for literally 30 minutes, then music stopped, nothing there, I kept saying hello. Nothing and hung up at 34 mins. The web site live chat is not working. The product update download did not help. Very frustrating . I would not recommend this Printer and will not purchase another HP Printer again!!!! I run a business from home.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible product, terrible instructions

    Posted
    Snowbird

    HP is more interested in selling printer ink than quality printers. The set up instructions are terrible and the online help literally consists of hawking the HP printer ink program. The touch screen is not meant for fingers. Touched English and it went to Spanish. It took an hour to correct because there is no screen option to go back and re-select. Tried the on-line HP set up to correct and it kept coming back that it was unsuccessful and to use the printer touch pad. Which by the way was in Spanish. One problem after another in the set up. The computer would not recognize it in the network. Back to the sensitive small screen touch pad. When I finally connected to the internet the test print page would not. The error message was the picture paper tray was not properly set . After several attempts to correct I had had enough. Out of frustration I literally tossed it into a garbage container. Its landing resulted in an un-returnable product. Before destroying it I should have thought about the $129 I wasted . Oh well. This would have been my 3rd HP printer and I should have know better. Never again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm sorry to hear of the experience you've had with your printer! I can imagine how frustrating that must have been. I will pass this information on to our design teams.

      For future reference, HP Support would love to have the opportunity to help you set up your printer if it's not quite working as expected. You can always contact us here: hp.com/contacthp

      Natalie,
      HP Care HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a good printer for photos.

    Posted
    BillyBob
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Good printer for everyday home office printing but it is terrible for photos. Very few photo adjustments in the menu settings. The LCD touchscreen is very hard to use. You have to download the software drivers from the internet. This does NOT come a software CD in the box. I'm guessing a bean counter at HP decided they could save the company twenty-five cents a printer by not including a software CD. HP markets this unit as a photo printer but it only has a four-color ink system. I updated the printer to the latest firmware and tried all the various settings. I like HP but this thing was a major disappointment. I returned the HP and bought an Epson Expression XP-830 and it is far superior. It uses a five-color ink system and photo quality is excellent. The LCD touchscreen is much easier to use, lots of settings for photo adjustments (lighter/darker, contrast, sharpness, etc.) Epson includes a software CD in the box. Disappointed with HP.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Garbage

    Posted
    Tony

    I did not buy this at Best But, but I am so upset I am posting this with all major retailers. I usually only post reviews of items I find exceptional, but this has been so bad I am posting a negative review which is rare for me. I just bought this today. Not my first rodeo with HP, and not a fan of their bloat ware, but I have had serviceable HP printers in the past (I still have a 4L laser working - amazing printer). After installation, I started getting error messages when I tried to print saying I was not connected to "Instant Ink" (which I DID sign up for and am connected to). After searching for a support phone number (Which HP makes it a little hard to find) I was on the phone for hours - talking, getting cut off, promised it would get fixed, getting cut off again (and NEVER called back even though they had my phone number). Nothing was fixed. Garbage. I have had it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Paper Feed Hardware Problems

    Posted
    martinb
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    If the printer actually functioned, I would assume it would be great. However, after opening the box and removing the usual packaging film and going through the alignment process the feed rollers simply will not feed paper through properly if at all. The best case scenario I can hope for after wasting 6-10 sheets of paper is a slightly diagonal print on 8.5x11 with the paper crumpled up at the bottom. I've followed the troubleshooting steps, removed the feed tray, etc etc to no avail. The rollers are clean since they're fresh out of box, there are no scraps of paper left from the 30-40 sheets of shredded paper I've wasted trying to print a simple document, the roller arm is likely misaligned from factory.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Martin,

      I'm so sorry to hear that the printer's rollers haven't fed paper successfully since you first received the printer. It's a shame that you've had to use so much paper in trying to resolve this issue. I assure you that we always aim to deliver a much more reliable experience, so I regret that we fell short here. With that said, we'd be grateful for an opportunity to make amends and rectify this.

      Since you've already completed some key troubleshooting, I recommend contacting us for support next. We would be more than happy to arrange for a printer replacement to be sent to you. When you're free to, you can give us a call at +1 800-474-6836 between the hours of 8 am - 9 pm ET. To expedite the process, you can gather these beforehand:
      - Model number
      - Serial number
      - Your location

      We hope to speak with you soon and again, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not great for in home business

    Posted
    Daisy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased thinking it would be great for my card stock invitations.... it was not! I don’t know if it was just this printer but the alignment was always off!! I wasted soooooo much ink with it!! And money!!! Luckily I purchased the replacement plan and got a HP 8710. Which is amazing! But if you only using it for paper and picture printing it does an ok job on printing!! Still not the best!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Printer has setup cartridges isses

    Posted
    GSAD
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Just purchased this printer last night have been unsuccessful in setting up as the screen displays an error message "Do not use SETUP cartridges". From searching the HP Forum this appears to be a recurring issue. I called technical support twice and was actually hung up on the last time I called. Will be returning this printer and buying a different brand!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Gsad, thank you for lettings us know about your recent experience with our phone support. Sorry to hear you are experiencing an error "Do not use SETUP cartridges". Have you tried following the troubleshooting steps:http://bit.ly/2y8Xwt1 such as cleaning the ink cartridges, uninstalling and reinstalling? If this does not resolve the problem, I would recommend contacting HP Support: http://hp.care/2bQzFkN  Note that you will need to provide the Warranty Ends date of the cartridge. I have attached a link which shows where the Warranty Ends Date is located: http://hp.care/2cekmF5


      Arun
      HP Support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor Quality, Do Not Buy!

    Posted
    carolinian75

    Purchased after reading mainly good reviews only to get the printer home and find out this printer is a nightmare. It keeps prompting us on setup to (use the setup cartridges) which we did and it still will not work We contacted HP and they sent us more Ink cartridges and it says the same thing. We did some research and found out this is a common problem with this printer. We are returning this printer and will stay away from HP products in the future.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hey there,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you've experienced these complications with your printer's cartridges. More so, it's disappointing to hear that the issue wasn't resolved with those replacement cartridges. Though you mentioned returning the printer, I'd still like to address these issues and help remedy this for you, just in case.

      The setup cartridges are indeed needed for setting up the printer, but the error you're receiving is unfortunately out of the ordinary and likely related to a hardware fault. With that said, I recommend reaching out to us one more time so we can facilitate a replacement. You can call us at +1 800-474-6836 to do so. To expedite this process, I recommend gathering this information before the call:
      - Model number
      - Serial number
      - Your location
      - Your case number (from previous contact with support)

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Never printed a decent picture

    Posted
    TRodgers
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    We installed the printer and tried to print. The picture was streaked and blurry. We thought it was the included ink cartridges, so we tried a new cartridge the pictures were even worse with the new cartridges. We had a computer tech look at it and they determined that the print heads were faulty - right out of the box. We returned the printer immediately for a refund. Best Buy was wonderful about the return.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hey there,

      I'm so sorry to hear that the printer was faulty from the start. This is very upsetting, and far from the reliable experience that we always intend on providing. I regret that we fell short this time and that you had to return the printer, but I am happy to hear that the return process was seamless.

      Despite this experience, I do hope that you'll allow us another opportunity in the future to stand by the quality that we pride ourselves on. We would be grateful for a chance to make things right.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible

    Posted
    Anon907
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This printer has given me nothing but problems. Defective cartridges after defective cartridges. Randomly disconnects from WiFi. Prints well when it wants to otherwise it’s never solid and always has lines or blank lines when printing. On going battle now for 6 months. Don’t waste your money. My old printer that I had for 10-12 years still prints better than this garbage.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible

    Posted
    Mike
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    We bought this printer in hopes of using it for the home business. This would not print. We would constantly get an error and it would freeze. We powered it down and tried again and again. Called support and they said there was something wrong with it and to return it for replacement. We returned it and brought the other one home and it did the exact same thing. We returned it for refund and purchased a Canon.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do Not Buy HP Printer Envy Photo 7855

    Posted
    Hank
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought an HP Envy Photo 7855 in January, 2018. Big mistake. Out of the box it had a hardware problem, HP replaced it with a refurbished that lasted 8 months and then broke. I just got the second replacement, turned it on and made a noise like a cement truck. I'm told it's a hardware problem. Three printers in less than 9 months. They want to give me a $130 credit at HP.com but I don't really want another HP product. Pure junk.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hey Hank,

      I'm tremendously sorry to hear that you've experienced issues with all three printers. I can certainly understand how disappointing this experience has been. We always hold ourselves to a high standard of quality with our printers, so I hope you’ll allow us an opportunity to stand by that in the future.

      Despite this experience, I hope that you'll allow us an opportunity to help you find one that better suits your needs going forward. We'd love a chance to make things right with the consistent experience that we intended on providing from the start.

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible connection

    Posted
    A10Wingman
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Where to start.... Trying to connect this to my wifi was an absolute pain. Now I'm connected and trying to print something....connection problems again! I was able to print a photo from my phone (Galaxy S9+). Photos are full of grain/lines. This should NOT be designated as a photo printer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Works for 6 months and then no tech support

    Posted
    Twain
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Purchased on October 8, 2017; worked well with light use and then stopped printing legibly. Downloaded all updates, repeated diagnostic fixes including printer head cleaning and alignment many times with no results. Called "support" three times and was hung up on after lengthy waits.. Will attempt to return this to Best Buy and exchange for something that works. Hewlett and Packard must be rolling over in their graves.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello,

      I am very sorry that the printer is not printing well. I hope to be able to help.

      It seems like you have tried most of the steps recommended in the print quality documentation for your printer. It sounds like you might have empty or clogged cartridges.

      With this printer, the printheads are connected to the cartridges.and it is very important to always use the power button on the printer to turn it off. That "parks" it so that the cartridge nozzles are protected from excessive drying and clogging. When the nozzles are badly clogged, the cartridges need to be replaced.

      If replacing the cartridges with good ones doesn't help, please contact us. To ensure you are actually talking to an HP tech, be sure to use the contacts indicated at: hp.com/contactHP

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Nice feature set, a networking pain

    Posted
    TIPPERY
    • My Best Buy® Member

    My home network in nothing unusual or complicated and my Epson printers preform flawlessly. However, this HP printers display gives me a blue screen and all the status indicators flash after a few minutes of being online, either connected to my router or WiFi. I found an article explaining it may need a static IP, which I did and that worked for a while, then the connectivity issues returned. HP has been of no help.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    I hate this printer

    Posted
    MAILMANN
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Goes into sleep mode and doesn't come out when trying to print. I have spent endless hours changing settings with no luck. Tried using the chat online and they wanted me to pay them $5.00. The only thing HP wants is to update my ink. Send separate color and black so they can charge more, rather than sending color and black combo. I made a big mistake giving HP a second chance.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm really sorry to hear that you're experiencing an issue with not being able to wake your printer from Sleep Mode. I can definitely imagine how inconvenient this has been, especially since you've spent so much time trying to resolve this. That being said, I'd really like to see what I can do to help.

      First, I just want to clarify that there are no charges for standard support while your printer is within its 1-year warranty. If you'd like to verify the status of your printer's warranty, you can do so here: support.hp.com/us-en/checkwarranty

      If you are indeed under warranty, please reach out to us for support via phone. You can give us a call at +1 800-474-6836 M-F between the hours of 8 am - 9 pm ET. To expedite the process, I recommend gathering this information beforehand:
      - Model number
      - Serial number
      - Your location
      - Your case number (from prior contact with support)

      If your printer happens to be out of warranty, I recommend posting this issue on our support forums. There's an active community of practiced experts that would be more than happy to help get your printer working properly. You can visit and communicate with them at this link: hp.com/supportforum

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a good printer

    Posted
    Slandis3
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It worked great for about 6 months. After that we started having connection issues with both WiFi and Wired connections. at about the year mark, the color completely stopped working. New ink tried to clean it and nothing worked. We have since replaced it with a different brand.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I’m sorry to hear that you’re having issues with your printer. I can certainly imagine how inconvenient it's been. Despite this impression, I assure you that we always aim to deliver the best possible experience when using our product.

      Although this printer was not working well for you, I do hope that you'll give us the opportunity in the future to help you find one that suits your needs better.

      We'd love to have a chance to make the better quality experience that we intended to provide from the start.

      Please remember that we're always here to help, so don't hesitate to reach out: hp.com/contactHP


      Agata
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP