Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

HP - OfficeJet Pro 6968 Wireless All-In-One Instant Ink Ready Printer - Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 4342 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 54 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Office Jet Pro 6968 Review

    Posted
    TedsReviews

    Printing is very slow, as comparison to other HP Printers I have used for over 20 years. The touch viewing screen utilizes only a small amount of space, it could have used. The touch icons on the top row are so small it is difficult to select an item, with a finger. The screen is slanting upward, without a way to have it facing straight forward. This could have easily been taken care of by having a screen which could be adjustable with either an upward slant or straight forward. The prior HP printer I had had the screen so it could be adjusted with two options, either upward or straight forward. I purchased this HP printer, as it was critical, because a better HP printer was NOT delivered by UPS, on the day promised. I have used HP always, and they have been very reliable and with fast printing. This HP printer definitely is not fast and overall a very big disappointment. The printing, at first look is very well defined, and printing a color document on plain HP paper is very good. I have not printed photographs yet, so I do not know the results. With the very slow speed of printing documents a color photograph will probably be very slow. Set up was excellent and precise, as long as you have the router code to input when asked. The options in the software, in reference to printing quality are inadequate, and without the choice of best printing on every day printing choice. HP instant ink was available, which appears to be an additional good option. I have only had the printer for a few days, so using HP Instant Ink outcome is unknown. I would not recommend this HP printer, unless there is a urgent need and the only HP Printer available in its class. I chose the printer anyways, because it was urgent, and the better HP Printer did NOT arrive, as promised. My prior HP Printer that had a failed print head was excellent in dependability and especially fast considering the year manufactured.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Ted,

      I appreciate this very thorough review! I am sorry to hear that you are having some speed and printing problems, but hope to be able to help fix them.

      First of all, upgrading your firmware and loading the full-featured software can help many performance issues, particularly speed and printing options. Downloads of both of those can be found here:
      support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/selfservice/hp-officejet-pro-6960-all-in-one-printer-series/8289579/model/11161242

      Obviously, I can't do anything about the way the printer is designed. However, if there is anything else that we can help with, contact us: hp.com/contactHP

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    OK, except auto power-off can't be disabled

    Posted
    KenV
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have always liked HP printers and when my old HP finally quit working after about 8 years, I was more than happy to buy another HP printer. When I saw this printer I thought it had a lot of great features for the price. The two-sided printing capability along with wireless printing was a big step up from my previous printer. Also, the HP instant-ink option seemed like a pretty good deal with getting automatic ink replacements for only $3 per month. The printer appears well-built, but the firmware has a very poor "feature" that has me very disappointed - enough to consider returning it. Keep in mind that I was intending to use this printer solely in wireless mode, which the printer is capable of doing. However, the printer will only stay online for a maximum of 8 hours and then will automatically shut off. When this happens, the printer will not automatically turn back on when a print job is queued up over the wireless network. The automatic power-off cannot be disabled, which is a huge issue if you want to be able to print wireless without having to walk over to the printer to turn it back on after it automatically shuts off. I contacted HP support about this and was told that HP does not allow you to disable the automatic power-off feature because they are concerned about energy saving. I told them my requirement for keeping the printer on was important and that HP should give their customers the option to disable energy saving features if they choose to do so. HP said that they would not allow me to disable this option. It sounds like HP is more concerned about energy savings than they are about keeping their customers happy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello Ken,

      I am sorry that the energy-saving feature is not working the ways you'd like. According to your user guide, "Auto-Off is disabled when a printer’s wireless or Wi-Fi Direct capability is turned on or when a printer with fax, USB, or Ethernet network capability establishes a fax, USB, or Ethernet network connection."

      The user guide also mentions that you can schedule times for the printer to be on and off. I'm hoping that help the situation. If you don't have the guide handy, you can reference the online version here: http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c05135226

      If there is anything else that we can help with, contact us: hp.com/contactHP

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Below Expectations

    Posted
    KJbklyn
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I needed another printer for my growing small business and this printer seemed like a good buy it was on sale. It was really difficult to set up and I'm tech savvy. There was no disc for the set up so you had to go to the internet to find the drivers to download. There were no instructions in the box. HP site instructions were not clear. It was pretty much a guessing game. I called their help site. The person logged into my computer and checked it out and then told me in order for him to set up and connect my printer to my network the charge is $99 with a monthly charge for monitoring. What's the use of having an HP Help Desk if they don't help you and they charge you for it. Was really annoyed about that. Finally took my time step-by-step and found the driver's found the networking information and finally got the printer online. But it took all of three hours to figure it out. The actual working of the printer is just ok. I have another printer from Canon same thing fax, printer, scanner. All the set up information was on the printer programming screen. It had taken me 10 minutes to set that up to include wireless setup. I will never buy another HP product again. Poor, poor support system. Would never recommend to anyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    EASY SETUP BUT PRINT SUCKS

    Posted
    MELIN2
    • My Best Buy® Member

    EASY, FAST SETUP. PRINTING SUCKS! GENERAL DRAFT AND NORMAL PRINT REGULAR PLAIN PAGES HAS LINES ALL THROUGH THE PAGES. FIRST 2 PHOTO BEST QUALITY PAGES REALLY NICE THEN AFTER THAT HAD THE LINES IN THE PICTURES TOO. I REALLY LOVE HP PRINTERS BUT THIS IS THE THIRD DIFFERENT PRINTER I HAVE BOUGHT IN 2 WEEKS AND THEY ALL HAVE THESES LINES IN THE PAGES. HP NEEDS TO FIX THESE ISSUES. SO SAD AND DISAPPOINTED! RETURNED!!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Melin,

      It's unfortunate that while the setup was easy, you are having these troubles with print quality. I understand this must be quite inconvenient, so let’s see if I can provide you with a few helpful suggestions to help remedy this.

      What I'd recommend is following the steps listed in this guide, as it will tend to the issue of the printed lines and odd color output: support.hp.com/document/c05076934

      If what I've recommended doesn't seem to help, please reach out to us for further support. We're always here and want to make sure that your printer is running optimally and ready for all your printing needs. You can get in touch with us via your preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Average product, lousy service

    Posted
    peregrine99

    I have had the printer for about 4 months now and it is working OK except for scanning. Their forum was no help and finally i got an email saying as much and gave me a phone number to call. When talking to them their line continually breaks up (do they think we will get frustrated and hang up?). Several times I had to ask the agent to repeat. BUT WAIT, the big issue is that the agent says he could not help me and a technician would call me back. Never happened. I have gone through this cycle several times with this device. The quality of HP service has always been bad. A number of years ago I had HP desktop and printer each with issues, never solved. Swore I would never buy HP again. Several years later, i have and regret it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi peregrine99,

      Thank you for sharing your negative experience related to the HP OfficeJet Pro 6968 All-in-One Printer. Based on your comments, I certainly want to escalate your case. I will however, need additional information. Please take a minute and send me an email with the following info:

      your printer product serial number
      your contact information
      your case number
      brief problem description

      Send the above info to PSGSocialmedia@hp.com

      **Please include BestBuy Review in the subject line of email.
      Look forward to talking with you.

      Cheers, HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Printhead problem

    Posted
    Twin2
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have had this printer for less than a year. A message indicating "There is a problem with the printhead" has popped up. I have done everything the HP website suggested. I have changed/cleaned every ink cartridge, used the generated scan page to align the printheads, plugged and unplugged the power cord, had conversations with their HP virtual assistants and finally as requested, put in a repair request, (which no one responded to). And STILL...the message remains and I cannot print. It cost $75 to repair and $80 to buy a new one. Haha okay.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ok, but broke after 18 months of little use

    Posted
    rtmatthew
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This device worked decent for the most part. Seems to use up ink more than printers we have had in the past. But after 18 months with little use (556 pages printed) the print carriage is stuck even though you can go through some steps to free it to replace cartridges When you close the cover it goes through steps, but then ultimately the print head cover does not seem to be retracting and the carriage will not move. We have gone through all the troubleshooting steps to no avail. We are going to have to buy a new printer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Print quality is very good, constant tech probs

    Posted
    glsw

    Print quality is very good for a home printer. However, it is aggravating that the printer uses 902 cartridges, which are harder to find at some stores. Why does this company keep designing new printer cartridges? Also, there are constant communication problems with the printer. So bad that I had to get a cable to connect it to the desktop, and not use the wireless system. So now we can only print from one PC. Does not effectively work with other programs, and frequent errors in communication and finding the printer. Pick another model.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi,

      I am sorry that you've had a hard time finding the cartridges in local stores. It might be easier to order them online.

      For your connectivity issues, this troubleshooter should help: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05368548

      For the other things, the 'HP Print and Scan Doctor' is often helpful: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03286146

      You can always contact us for more help at: hp.com/contacthp

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Alken
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I purchased this printer because I needed a new printer and most of the reviews were good but after I set it up which by the way was extremely easy contrary to some of the reviews it started having power issues. The printer would shut off and could not be powered back on without going through a lengthy unplugging and replugging regiment that was just ridiculous. Needless to say I returned this product

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hey Alken,

      I'm very sorry to hear that you had to part with the printer after these issues with random powering down. This is incredibly disappointing, especially since we always prioritize providing long-lasting reliability. Despite this experience, I do hope that you allow us another opportunity in the future to stand by those intentions.

      For future reference, we're always here to help in those instances where the printer isn't working as it should be. That said, we'd love another chance in the future to make things right.

      Take care,

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not for small business

    Posted
    Unhappy

    I run a small business that doesn't require a lot of printing. With our previous HP printer we would have to buy ink about every 5-6 months. Now we are replacing the ink every 3-4 weeks. I exchanged the first one, thinking it was defective and got the same results. We use a HP 8710 at our other location and have had great luck with it. Disappointed that we have to replace this printer after only 6 months of use. It may be good for a home printer with little activity.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Printhead problem

    Posted
    AEMasic
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    We got this printer because it got all the features we needed and also that you can replace individual colors. We printed less than 100 pages for wedding invitations which turned out great and the printer was quick. We had no need to use it for 2 weeks. Turning it on to use it said that it has a printhead problem. Got it to the geek squad and in about 10 minutes we walked out the store with a brand new replacement. Love the geek squad support team, always there when you need them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Returned because wireless not recognized.

    Posted
    WEKJR
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This product was very attractive and had good reviews. Unfortunately, even after updating the internal software, I could not get the wireless recognized under Window 10 Retail Anniversary Edition, Windows 10 Insider or Windows 7 Ultimate (all 64 Bit). I returned the Printer for a Canon MX922 which is working fine on all three platforms.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Didn't work

    Posted
    Bike
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I was unable to get this printer to work properly. Always showed printer offline. When it did, it took a long time before it started printing. An AT&T tech working on my cable found the printer had a bad nic card and was throwing errors on my network. Also couldn't find any HP phone support #. Returned it for an Epson of equal value, no problems, works great, faster, took half the time to set up the Epson than the HP.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ok printer

    Posted
    TeeSmith
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This printer has prints great quality prints and gets the job done but that’s only when it decides to connect. Ita always jumping offline and I have to restart it over and over again. It’s a headache. I stopped using it and purchased a different printer by HP and I no longer have the same issues.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not a great value or a great printer

    Posted
    Derek
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This is a mediocre printer and the ink cartridge that are included are only set up cartridges so add to your initial purchase cost a complete set of ink so you can use it and you are now spending what an eco tank printer costs with far lower ink costs going forward. Hard pass on this one.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Big let down

    Posted
    buyerbeware
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Used it twice , Instructions complicated , Filled up ink wouldnt print . Changed ink again still wont print. Gonna finally take it back for repair or exchange almost two years down the road. Wouldnt recommend no one purchase this Printer / nightmare.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm so sorry that you're having to take the printer in for repair after only two uses. This is incredibly disappointing to hear given that we always intend on delivering a reliable and long-lasting printing experience.

      Alternative to repair, I do want to assure you that we have other post-warranty support options for you. One you might consider is posting the details of this issue on our support forums. There's an active community of seasoned experts that would be more than happy to work with you to get your printer running as it should be. For access to this, you can visit the following link: hp.com/supportforum

      Despite these complications, I do hope that you'll allow us another opportunity down the road to stand by the quality that we pride ourselves on. We would love a chance to make things right.

      Regards,

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not as expected

    Posted
    Giamia
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I was rather disappointed in the paper shredder. Although the cross cut is very good, emptying the basket is a pain. To empty the basket you have to lift off the motor. I find this to be very inconvenient. The motor is also heavy. I should have read the description more carefully because if I had I never would have ordered this brand.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Trouble connecting printer

    Posted
    GRAC
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I could not get my laptop to connect with the printer. When I contacted tech support, they said the problem was with my laptop. I never had this trouble before with my Canon printer. Also, tech support wanted to control my laptop remotely. My husband did not think this was a good idea. Still stuck.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Idk why?

    Posted
    Latoya
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I've been having trouble with my new printer when I turn it on. It says that I have a paperj am but when I assess the problem there is no paper jam. Idk how yo get past that problem so I can print or copy what I need. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Latoya,

      I'm very sorry to hear that you've been having some difficulties with the printer. I can definitely imagine how frustrating those false paper jams must be, especially since it's hindering your ability to print reliably. That said, I'd love to make this right again, so let's see how I can help.

      As far as the paper jams go, sometimes these can be real or false, meaning the printer might report an error when there is no actual jammed paper. I'd recommend referencing the steps in this document that troubleshoots both real and false paper jams: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05079673

      If this doesn't seem to help, you can always reach out to us directly for support. We're here to help and make sure that your printer is running optimally for all your printing needs. You can get in touch via your preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the drive

    Posted
    redfisher
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    While the printer was highly rated, it seemed to have a real problem working correctly for me. Repeated attempts including reloading the drivers failed. Frustrating device with directions written by someone who didn't understand basic things...such as how you load the ink cartridges.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend