Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

HP - Sprocket Photo Printer - Black-Front_Standard

HP - Sprocket Photo Printer - Black

Model: X7N08ASKU: 5622677

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 2973 reviews

95%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 37 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great Concept, But Buggy and Glitchy

    Posted
    Dave
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I've had this printer for a number of months now, and I really wanted to like it and be able to use it. Unfortunately, it's so full of bugs and glitches it's practically unusable. Some examples: On almost every use, the printer freezes up and needs to be reset with a paper clip to get it to turn off. Half of the time the bluetooth connection doesn't work. If the paper isn't used within a week or two, the entire stack will "curl" inside the printer and can't be fed out. Randomly it will ask for the blue calibration sheet before it will print (and even then it can't print due to the curled paper). On virtually every time I've been out with friends and attempted to print a photo for them, it's taken a good ten minutes of trial and error, restarting, force restarting the app, etc. before I can get a single image to print (if at all). The recent firmware update didn't help symptoms at all -- and a career in tech support doesn't help make the bugs or warped paper go away, so it's not a case of user error either. As I say, I really wanted to like this little printer -- but it's so much of an exercise in frustration I'm actually embarassed to try to use it around anyone anymore.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello Dave,

      I'm so sorry that our "great concept" printer is giving you so much trouble. I hadn't heard of the paper curling before. Perhaps there is a lot of humidity where it is stored and a place that is drier would help.

      The freezing problem is unfamiliar too. If the printer is still under warranty, you might consider getting a replacement.

      Please contact our support team if there is something that we can help you with at: hp.com/contacthp

      Mary
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Only works at times

    Posted
    George
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Everytime i want a picture it takes 30min. to a hour just to get the unit to print. It pairs on the blue tooth, the app in the help mode sees the printer but does not show up in the app. It takes multiple reset, reparing in buetooth and maybe it will work. Also makes sure it is completly charge ( green light on for a hour). Then maybe it will be reconized to print. I called tech suport and they shipped a new one and it does the same thing. This is not convenient or fun to use.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi George, sorry for the disappointing experience you've encountered with Sprocket 100. Thanks for sharing your experience, although it has left you less than satisfied, we appreciate your feedback. We value our customers and understand how important it is to offer exceptional service and quality products. I understand your printer takes long time to print a picture.
      Please follow the mentioned instruction to Upgrade the printer firmware using the HP Sprocket app. HP regularly releases printer updates.
      Make sure the printer is charged 50% or more.
      Make sure the printer is on and your mobile device is connected to the Internet.
      On your mobile device, open the HP Sprocket app.
      Tap the Menu icon, and then tap sprocket.
      Tap Printers, and then tap your printer in the list.
      The printer information screen displays.
      Look for a firmware upgrade.
      If a firmware upgrade displays, tap Get Firmware Upgrade, and then follow the on-screen prompts to complete the update.
      If a firmware upgrade option does not display, the printer firmware is up-to-date, please uninstall and reinstall the app and try to print.
      If the issue persists, please contact HP Phone Support: www.hp.com/contacthp for further assistance. HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not so great

    Posted
    Honeybee
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I love the design on this product. However, picture quality did not come out right. There were printing lines on my picture and prints were really small for this price. None of the pictures didn't come close to my photos. If u want to spend a little more I recommend Fuji instax photo printer. For the price of a sprocket, your better off with the canon Selphy or Kodak Mini photo printer. Both have a better photo quality.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Can’t get it to charge

    Posted
    Joel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought it for my daughter for Christmas. Put it to charge and the light was red for a second. Then started blinking red and green. Instead of staying red until charged then turning green. Will have to return. Hard to figure out with no instructions. The guide on the app was no help at all

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Joel,

      I'm so sorry that the app wasn't helpful in resolving the charging issue. I can imagine this was difficult to maneuver through, so I'd like to see how I can help going forward.

      First, here's a document detailing the blinking light indicators as well as resolutions for each error: support.hp.com/document/c05938618

      Another resource you might find helpful is this Sprocket FAQ: support.hp.com/document/c05241268

      If the issue persists, I hope you'll consider reaching out to us for support. We'd be more than happy to help, so you can get in contact via preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bad quality

    Posted
    KimC
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I bought the HP Sprocket for myself for my birthday. I was impressed by how small and sleek it was but when it came to printing out pictures, the pictures came out pretty blurry. I thought they were going to come out looking like Poloroid pictures but they didn't.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi KimC,
      I apologize for the challenges you encountered with your Sprocket printer. You may want to try the suggestions below before discounting the Sprocket print quality:
      1.) Make sure you are using "HP brand" ZINK paper, as third party brands will not be properly calibrated to our printer.
      2.) Ensure you load the blue Smartsheet with each pack of paper, as this calibrates the printer to that specific pack of paper.
      3.) Confirm you are printing decent quality photos with good lighting, otherwise they can come out dark.
      4.) When editing a photo in the Sprocket app, you can utilize the auto-enhance wand (far left icon) to further improve the image lighting/contrast.
      Hopefully these suggestions help bring the joy back to using your Sprocket unit.​ HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't

    Posted
    Shonni
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I really wanted this little printer to work as I was going to take it to a graduation ceremony and the entire family would be there, but in testing it out before hand, when it worked it was great, but totally unreliable so I returned it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Can't connect

    Posted
    April
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    This was a gift for my daughter who has an iphone 7. She is unable to connect the sprocket to her phone. She googled feedback from other iphone users who were having the same problem. She will probably return it. This was her Christmas gift so I'm really unhappy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello, thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I appreciate your feedback and I am sorry for all the inconvenience caused. The latest iOS update resulted in a connectivity issue. Fortunately, this issue has been addressed and you can take the following steps to resolve it: Update your Sprocket iOS app to version 2.03.1 or later, Charge your sprocket battery to at least 50% , Power off your sprocket printer, In the iPhone Bluetooth menu (Settings -> Bluetooth), tap the ‘i’ button next to the “sprocket” device, then tap “Forget This Device”, Restart your iPhone by pressing/holding the power button for 3 seconds, then sliding to power off. Power on your sprocket printer, Discover and pair your sprocket printer by tapping on the “sprocket” device when it appears in the iPhone Bluetooth menu (Settings -> Bluetooth). Open the sprocket mobile app, where you’ll be automatically prompted for the firmware upgrade. you can also contact HP Support in case you need further assistance: http://hp.care/2nbNQFi HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very poor quality photos

    Posted
    Stavros
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I was convinced that I would be very happy with the HP sprocket and to my surprise I could not have been more unhappy. Not only with the poor photo quality but also with a very short battery life. There are many other options for you, please consider them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi Stavros, sorry to hear you are experiencing a print quality and short battery life issue on your HP Sprocket Photo Printer. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I appreciate your feedback. If the quality of a printed photo is not as expected, the procedures in this document should help you fix this issue: http://bit.ly/2g5Hk06 You can also maximize the battery life of your printer by following the steps in the section “How do I maximize the battery life of my printer” from this document: http://hp.care/2pF9WEv HP printers generally have a 1-year warranty from their purchase date, you can verify the warranty using the following link: http://bit.ly/2mP3Xrb You can also contact HP Support in case you need further assistance: http://hp.care/2nbNQFi HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    doesn't work with new iOS

    Posted
    rthro
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This was a great idea for my kids' Christmas. However, when we tried to connect to their iPhones (a 5s and a 7), we found out the iOS update made the connection to the printer useless. We eventually got it to work with a REALLY old iPad, but that just sucks.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi rthro, sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue in connecting your HP Sprocket Photo Printer to iPhones. Please refer the instructions in ‘Why am I unable to connect my Apple iOS device? ’ under this document to fix this issue: http://hp.care/2pF9WEv HP printers generally have a 1-year warranty from their purchase date, you can verify the warranty using the following link: http://bit.ly/2mP3Xrb You can also contact HP Support in case you need further assistance: http://hp.care/2nbNQFi HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    photos are not great quality

    Posted
    ladyluvslvsince1985
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I thought this would be great to print off my Iphone, but photo quality is not up to par. The pictures do not come out as crisp as using a regular camera. Not worth the investment.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not as expected

    Posted
    JJ1993
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Yes the color was cool the multi color one I got, but the pictures are way to small and it is difficult to set up to your phone and use the app. Very frustrating and kept making me restart my phone or app to run correctly.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Doesn’t work

    Posted
    SRARSA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this for my daughter for Christmas and after spending 3 hours troubleshooting the printer paper that was sent with the product does not fit in the printer and it doesn’t work. Disappointing

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello SRARSA, thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I appreciate your feedback and I am sorry for all the inconvenience caused. I understand that you are experiencing an issue with HP Sprocket Photo Printer. The HP Sprocket Photo Printer supports 5.0 x 7.6 cm (2 x 3 in) HP Sprocket Photo Paper with the blue Smartsheet® HP recommends using HP Sprocket Photo Paper for best results: http://hp.care/2uCgMtL You can also contact HP Support in case you need further assistance: http://hp.care/2nbNQFi HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    To much $$

    Posted
    Amina56
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Pictures are small. Printer over heats very fast, picture quality poor. Wouldn’t buy it again, and would have retired buy bought paper for it on ebay for less but ...not worth it

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hello Amina56, sorry to hear about the challenges you are experiencing with HP Sprocket Photo Printer. Thanks for sharing your experience, although it has left you less than satisfied, we appreciate your feedback. I understand that you are unhappy with your printer as the print quality is not as expected. Please update the printer firmware by following these steps: On your mobile device, make sure it is connected to the Internet, and then open the HP Sprocket app. If there is a firmware update available, a firmware update screen displays. Follow the on-screen prompts to complete the update. There are other ways to improve the print quality, to know more click on this link: http://hp.care/2pnS4xY and go through the (FAQs). If the issue persists you can contact the HP Phone Support for further assistance: http://hp.care/2od90pm HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a good purchase

    Posted
    Hanna
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The pictures come out very dark and cannot be edited, still dark pictures. It is not worth it especially for the price. I was hoping this would be a great travel item.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Cool tech, but small output

    Posted
    Oldjarhead
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Impulse Christmas purchase and did not do enough research. Spouse was not impressed with the size of the photo, basically worthless due to the size of the photo.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very hard to get started

    Posted
    Mholdren
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Had a lot of trouble getting it to work and it cuts off tops of heads and sides or faces not like the picture looks like the through the phone

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you're experiencing these issues with the printer. I can certainly imagine how disappointing this is, especially since it affects the quality of your photos so drastically. Let's see if I can help with a few suggestions.

      What I'd first recommend is making sure that you're using a supported paper size and also double-checking that the paper is installed properly. For steps on how to do so, you can visit the printer's FAQ document: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05241268

      Following this, you might find it useful to review this print quality troubleshooting guide: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05660842

      If this falls short, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for support. You can do so via your preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Pictures are ok but they sent the wrong color prin

    Posted
    Printer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The picture quality is ok but you have to play with the settings to get a good picture which sometimes waste paper. The photos are even smaller than I thought.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hey there,

      While I'm glad to hear that you're happy with the printer's print quality, I'm sorry to hear that it isn't what you expected in other ways. This is certainly disappointing, so I would love to see how I can help.

      What I'd recommend for improving print quality is simply updating your firmware. Following that, this link should help guide you through other troubleshooting steps for improving print quality: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05660842

      If what I've suggested doesn't work, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for support. We're always here and more than happy to help. You can get in touch with us via your preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Too slow

    Posted
    Stitch
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We got this to use for a function for our business and it was avoided by customers because it took too long

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      This is so disappointing to hear about! I'm very sorry that the printer was slow in its performance and affected your customers' ability to print reliably with it. This is far from the quality experience that we intended to provide, so I hope I can make this better for you. Let's see what I can do.

      What I would first recommend is updating the printer's firmware, as we are constantly improving performance through these updates. For steps on how to do so, you can visit the following link: support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05241268

      Should this not provide a resolution, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for support. We would be more than happy to work through any necessary troubleshooting with you. You can get in touch via your preferred method at this link: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Small I thought the pictures would come out bigger

    Posted
    Eddie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Decent, but it should be bigger so that the images come out better than what they are now. Color is off as well.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    dont know

    Posted
    hfb1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    package was received with no paperwork-no packing slip no instruction sheet, nothing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HP Team

      Hi there,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you received your printer without any instructions! I can imagine how inconvenient this has been, but not to worry, I'll provide you with some helpful resources going forward.

      Here are some useful documents for both setup and general use:
      - Sprocket App User Guide: hp.com/ctg/Manual/c06213172.pdf
      - Sprocket User Guide: hp.com/ctg/Manual/c05280005.pdf

      If you have any other questions or concerns, please remember that you can always contact us for support. We'd be more than happy to help, so you can reach us via preferred method here: hp.com/contactHP

      Chelsea
      HP Care
      hp.com/support HP