Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Insignia™ - 5.6 Cu. Ft. 1-Tap Beverage Cooler Kegerator - Stainless steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 431 reviews

92%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 431 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Very Good For The Price

    Posted
    irontyson02

    I researched multiple kegerators around the $400 price before pulling the trigger on this one. I learned the difference between these cheaper priced kegerators and the more expensive ones so I am able to give a reasonable review, considering this is a cheaper kegerator, respectfully. The kegerator came with a dent near the top of the door to the unit. I actually expected this, as this seems to be common with this kegerator so I wasn't too upset about it. Just put a VT magnet over it. The instructions are okay for the most part but really suck in regards to explaining the washer placement. There are different types and sizes of washers and it groups them all as one part, "valve washers." So when it's time to add a washer to a part of the unit it refers to all the washers so you don't know which one goes where. There is a clear rubber "duckbill washer" which goes between the gas line and coupler. The duckbill (pointed) part goes into the coupler with the rounder part exposed to the tank/gas line. This part is quite important. I had a leak and did not locate and fix it until I went through 4 tanks (Over $100 wasted on tank refills). I have attached a photo with the responsible loose nut circled. The instructions explain to connect the gas line to the gas line connector on the regulator. Well the nut which the gas line slips up against should be tightened already but apparently it came too loose. I sprayed soap water on this connection and saw the air bubbles flowing. I just tightened it slightly and after 2 weeks, I have had no leaks. I have already recommended this kegerator to many people. Just keep in mind that you need to check all connections, even connections that you did not make but were already done when you got the item. I'd do the soap water test once the gas is hooked up, before I'd connect a keg so that you don't mess up your beer in the keg and also don't waste money on CO2 tanks with leaks. I also added an AC Infinity Axial 1225 fan to circulate the air inside the kegerator, sitting next to the keg (elevated to allow air intake). It is very quiet and pushes air from the bottom of the unit to the top. That took care of some temperature disparities I was having within the unit itself. So as long as you check the connections, cover up any small dent(s), and add a cheap fan inside and your $400 kegerator works just as well (almost) as the more expensive ones. If you want to be extra ana1 about it you can add a beer tower cooling system for about $40 as well. I'd personally rather just have some extra head on that first pour and wait the 2 minutes it takes to go down. Every pour after that is perfect. I have my temperature dial set at 5 and my CO2 regulator pressure set to 8-10psi (people recommend 10-12, I do not). Enjoy.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Fantastic

    Posted
    Savingscrasher

    This is my first kegerator so I can't attest to how well this performs to higher end models. However, I must say that finding a name brand stainless steel kegerator for less than $500 is difficult. I bought this on sale at Bestbuy. It works great! Assembly was easy. The unit did come dented on the door, but it was so minor it didn't feel worth taking back. It cools the beer to 34 degrees at the 5.5/6.0 setting. Keeping beer cold is key and keeping CO2 levels in check is key in reducing foam. Unfortunately, I had about 3 lbs of CO2 leak out. It was my fault for not putting the supplied O ring on the keg coupler and I don't believe I fully twisted the keg coupler properly on my second keg. However, CO2 is cheap ($15 at local paintball supply in the Atlanta area). It's only a pain in that I live 30 min from my supplier. So make sure your connections are tight and secure. The best way to check for leaks is with soapy water and by weighing the tank (it weighs 8.14 lbs, so just add 5 to that for a full tank weight excluding the regulator and hosing). A 5lb tank should last about 6 half kegs or 17 1/6 kegs (I get the 1/6 kegs to change it up more often and to save my back hauling it upstairs). So, I think the 5 lb tanks works out great. If your beer is too foamy just increase the temperature dial number on the back of the fridge (lower temp) and lower your CO2 (using less is better, right?). You may also want to consider using keg lube on your O rings and invest in a cleaning system (I use it after every 2 kegs). I recommend Brew Clean by Keg Connection and Petro Gel food grade lubricant. I don't see the need for a tower fan for this unit. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Awful product, awful customer service

    Posted
    Josh
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased this product several months ago knowing full well that it was a very cheap option for a kegerator. What I did not expect was the terrible customer service follow up after having issues with it. Just a few months after purchase the door gasket stuck and was ripped when opening the kegerator one day, thus rendering it unusable because it would not create a seal on the door and it allowed the cold air inside to escape. I called Insignia support who proceeded to order a new one to be sent to me. They said to wait "3 weeks" for it to arrive. After waiting 4-5 weeks and no door gasket, I called back in. They said the part was out of stock and they had cancelled the order. I checked through all my emails, spam included, and had no notification of the cancellation. I asked if they had another one somewhere and they said no, try Geek Squad. Geek Squad did not have one either and told me to call back for Insignia. They told me they don't have one in stock and that I could wait for them to get one in stock or that I could check to buy one at other electronics parts stores. They haven't had one in stock for several months now, how can that be a reasonable solution to just wait until they have one in stock, if they will ever have on in stock again. If they would have simply communicated that they didn't have the part in stock initially instead of wasting my time for another couple of months plus the time waiting on hold and explaining the situation to several different support staff, I wouldn't have been as upset as I am now. I feel that they could take one off a kegerator they have in stock and use it for parts for people like me who are left stranded, or they could purchase one from the other parts vendor they are recommending I go purchase one from and send it to me to make up for their mistake. But no, it's my problem. It's my problem that I purchased from a company such as Insignia. I will not make that mistake again, and I wouldn't recommend you purchase this product or any other product from Insignia either, unless this experience sounds attractive to you. You're better off spending a bit more money for something quality backed up by a legitimate company.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible, biggest regret

    Posted
    Nick
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This was one of the worst purchases I ever made. My wife purchased this for me for Valentines day, brought it home, read directions (which were horrible and terribly written). Plugged it in, let it sit for 2 days like it said. Thermostat dial is absolute trash, and does not work. No matter what setting I had my thermostat set to whether it be 1 or 6, everything froze. I wasted a full keg of beer, and a c02 canister.I had two thermometers and placed one at bottom of kegerator and one on top, temperatures were always in the 20's no matter what. I placed glasses of water in there to monitor temps, and they were frozen the next morning no matter what setting I had it at. The quality of it is pure trash, they have 4 holes on top of the kegerator for the tower, but if you buy the single tap kegerator, the screw holes don't match to the tower, you basically just screw the tower onto the top plate of kegerator so its wobbly and not tight, you don't actually screw it into any holes. There is also no fan of any sort inside the kegerator for circulation, so the bottom and top vary significantly. All the washers that come with the kit, there is no where at all in the manual of where they each go, and washers are a huge factor of not having leaks anywhere. Insignia customer service, is absolutely horrible, probably worst I have ever dealt with. Un educated about their products, no help at all, and long long wait times for a response (days and days). I am beyond frustrated with a purchase of almost $500, I actually brought my original back to best buy today for an exchange within the return period, hoping I just had a faulty thermostat or faulty fridge. As soon as I get home with the brand new exchange kegerator,I lift off box and the right side of the fridge has a huge dent, and that makes the wheels it comes with not sit evenly on floor (3/4 wheels sit evenly on ground, so the whole fridge is lopsided from the dent) and does not sit evenly. I am only attempting this one more time, because it has been nothing but a hassle and trying to make it work since my wife had got it for me for valentines day. If the fridge does not hold temperature properly or at all, I am returning it for my money back and never ever buying an insignia product again. Main thing, DO NOT BUY, reviews are all correct, horrible poorly made quality junk, poor craftsmanship, horrible customer service, you will be dissatisfied, no matter what.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Terrible instructions, unit needs upgrades

    Posted
    MaBe
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    As other reviews state, the instructions are vague and hard to follow. The main problem is the lack of detail for the gaskets and knowing where and how to put them in There is another post that goes into great detail about what gaskets go where, but the main point is the one that is duck bill shaped goes in the CO2 line(the duck bill going into the actual line and the flat part against the tap and the flat rubber gasket goes with beer line. Fyi you cannot get it to seal by hand tightening, use a wrench BUT a 1/4 turn, at most, is all that is needed or you will cut the gasket (which i did the first time) That being said there is more that goes in than hooking up the keg and co2 and drinking. DO YOUR RESEARCH. This unit comes with a 5ft beer line which will work for your regular beers (bud light, etc.), but if you do craft beers plan on getting a new line. I drink Sam Adams summer ale and couldn't get foaming issues to stop, all due to this short beer line. After changing the beer line i would randomly get foam issues. I changed the faucet to a different style and have not had this issue ever again. The faucet they include with the unit has a ball that stops the beer when closed, when it is fully open. randomly you will get a foamy poor (all foam no beer). I think the ball creates a venturi effect and produces excessive foam. This unit appears to be aimed for the first time buyer, but the lack of information is the down fall. After a few hours of research and a few upgrades it is a great unit. But as for the unit being an off the shelf, plug and play. this unit, it is not, and the best advice i can give is to do the research before you buy it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Kegerator

    Posted
    thredhd

    So far I'm loving this kegerator. I read all the reviews and did some research online. So when I bought this one I also ordered a longer beer line, a small fan, a tower cooler, a tower sleeve and cap. I assembled it by myself with no problem and let it cool down. Went a day later to get the keg. The first night was foamy but I hadn't let the keg settle either. I was impatient lol. The next morning was good. I wrapped the beer line up on top of the keg (the regular 5 ft one) and i have my pressure set at 8 for magners irish cider. No foam problems at all since I've found the right settings. Right now I have a 5G keg and plenty of room to keep the pint glasses in there to chill. Plan to get a full keg next. The tower sleeve and cap are a must. The fan not really needed IMO. The longer beer line I havent installed yet. I put the tower cooler in today and the lines froze lol. So far I'm down to 3 on the temp and I might need to go to 2 to keep from freezing. My biggest confusion with assembly was all the extra gaskets and all the reviews saying you had to use the duckbill shaped one somewhere. As far as I can tell, the duckbill gasket is the backflow gasket that goes in the coupler but the coupler should have one built in already. This comes with a D coupler so make sure thats what you need for the beer you want. I have to assume that the duckbill gasket in the bag is a replacement in case the one in the coupler fails. So far I've had no issues with beer going up the gas line. The only gasket I actually had to use was the one that goes under the tower when you install it and the one that goes between the gas line and the coupler. The tower was a pain to install, you really have to force it to turn and lock in. I was afraid to break it. But now it snaps in and out with little force (I had to take it off to get the tower cooler installed well) The only thing I dont love is that the temp dial is way on the back. Makes it a pain during the first adjustment period. But I assume once I have it all figured out and perfect, I wont need to reach it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    A great Kegerator

    Posted
    Nosticks
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Follow these simple guidelines and you will be successful in setting up and operating your Kegerator. First off, when it arrives, unbox it as indicated on the package. Everything is clearly illustrated but there are a few tricks. The draft arm assembly is an insert and twist type, but the 4 screws at the base protrude about 1/16th inch too long and restrict the insert and twist motion required. Simply back them off about two turns, insert and twist as shown, then retighten the screws. Do not plug it in yet. Let it sit overnight in the place you intend to use it. Next day, set the thermostat to 3.5, place a small cup of water inside anong with a remote reading thermometer. Do not chase the thermostat up and down. It takes several hours for everything inside to normalize. I ended up with 35 deg. but it will get below freezing if you turn up the thermostat. Get your keg and hook it up but do not turn the co2 on. Let the keg settle a few hours. After waiting, turn on the co2 and slowly increase the perssure to about 8 lbs. Get a pitcher, your first pour will be a little foamy. Enjoy from there on and chuckle at the rest of humanity that just rushes through the set up process and gives a bad review due to temperature and foam problems.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Think twice about this purchase

    Posted
    EdgarM
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I will start by saying that there is a steep learning curve for a novice, like myself. The thought of your own, personal kegerator is cool but there is a lot to it. Like most I have dealt with having foam issues when I first tapped a keg. There is a learning curve with these, the temp has to be just right, as does the CO2. Also, you need to make sure that everything is perfectly tight, I ran out of CO2 within 2 days because I had a leak in my regulator. Therefore, make sure you double check that all connections are tighten. I would suggest to use soapy water to make sure there are no leaks. About a third of my first keg was wasted in foam, so I am now planning on swapping the beer line for one that is 10 feet long. I have also added a fan to help circulate the cold air inside the keg. Also, these things require up keep. After every keg it is recommended that you clean the beer lines. Ultimately, I wouldn't recommend a Kegerator to anyone, just because of the associated extra cost. But it is pretty awesome to have draft beer at home. You can also go to your local brewery and pick up a keg, that in itself is pretty special.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Large Kegerator Capacity, Needs Mods

    Posted
    MikeInOhio
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had a commercial kegerator for my home brewing hobby that broke down. Since it cost about $1,000 to repair, I decided to purchase an inexpensive replacement and this unit from Best Buy seemed to meet my needs. It can fit 3 home brew kegs (5 gallon cornelius style). It has room for all the hoses, and I can run my gas line to the outside of the kegerator. The kegerator is quiet and has been keeping my beer chilled below 40 degrees at less than the coldest setting. It comes with a very nice 5 lb CO2 tank that needs to be filled, of course. The tower mounting holes are compatible with an upgraded 3 faucet setup I installed. Very nice! The railing is really good as it can be removed and cleaned separately. Very nice. The downside is that the kegerator top is plastic and is made cheaply. I modified this by inserting a plate of aluminum under the top. It was less than flat after the mod, but it now securely holds the 3-faucet tower in place. There is no air circulation inside the kegerator chamber or tower, so I solved this by building my own kegerator tower cooler. I believe that this sufficiently moves the air around the whole kegerator. Overall a very cost effective solution for a home kegerator system, large capacity, relatively easy to modify. As long as it gives me many years of service, I'll be very satisfied with this purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent kegerator at a great price

    Posted
    Sean
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I was able to pick this up at a great deal and I am very impressed with it. You can't tell how large it is from the picture, but it's tall enough that the average person can dispense beer very comfortably. It also fits the common 1/2 kegs. It will also fit smaller ones as well. You cannot use the shelves with the 1/2 keg. That's ok I have a separate beer fridge for bottles. Putting it together isn't that difficult, but the instructions are written bad. So, make sure you read them over and over before completing the assembly. There are steps that you need to take to mount the co2 tank on the backside to allow for more room inside, but they tell you this later in the directions. But, it's all good...I figured it out. If you do install the tank on the backside this will make it so you have to have the kegerator about a foot from the wall. I have mine in the corner so it doesn't matter. The only thing is I can't get the beer to not be so foamy, but as I read about the problem it could be that I need to let the new keg rest longer after transport...or that the first 5 pints are always foamy and I haven't gotten through it yet. The tank is easy to adjust though. ***Make sure you get the tank filled somewhere first. We have a keg place in town and they fill as well, but not all places do. Also, paintball places fill the co2 tanks apparently. So, call around to see where you need to go. I started with a cheaper beer to test at first. It tastes and works great. I'm very happy with this purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent Kegerator. Tons of Fun.

    Posted
    mfosterwa
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I love this thing. There's enough room for two pony kegs - but I only have one tap. So, I have the pony keg in and add a couple bottles of beer to keep chilled. Temps can get pretty low, so I have a thermometer in it to keep track of the temp (35-38 range :dial set at 4.5 - top view). Be careful to not set the temp too low and don't have the lines next to the cooling condenser - your discharge line can freeze up. Co2 canister comes empty. You will have to go to a local gas suppy company to get an exchange. Cost me $22 at Praxair. You may get it filled at a paint gun shop - or similar business. I have the co2 inside the fridge. There's plenty of room for it and the keg. I also have an additional co2 canister attached to the included bracket outside the fridge for a back-up. Over the past month and 2 pony kegs, I still have to use up one canister of co2 - set at 10psi. There's no guage on the included regulator to check the co2 amount in the canister. I bought a seperate one that has the output pressure and the canister pressure - which I recommend if you want to keep tract of how much co2 you have. I keep the pressure at the recommended 10psi. But, I can tell when the keg is running low - I get a lot of foam. Otherwise, I get a perfect pint every time. It's quiet, dependable and easy to clean. Totally recommended if you enjoy draft beer. You may like the bottles or cans - and they serve their purpose - but there's nothing better than draft !

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Looks great, Good value. Customer service?

    Posted
    AK47
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I was originally going to build my own but I purchased this unit around the holidays because the price was right. So far I it works great. It keeps the beer at about 37-38 degrees. I would suggest that the manufacturer add a fan to the unit for performance as it would aid in better overall cooling. My warning would be to anyone who may need service or support for the unit. I contacted Insignia on 1/20/18, in regard to ordering additional parts for the draft assembly. I spoke to three different customer service representatives. The first didn't even know what a kegerator/beverage cooler was. She transferred me to sales. The sales representative said I could purchase the parts in service. She transferred me to service. Service didn't know about the unit and after providing her the model number and citing the manual for the part names, she told me I needed to call the manufacturer, Insignia. Then, she actually provided me the same number for insignia that I used to call for service (her). Needless to say, I'm really hoping nothing goes wrong with this unit because calling it customer support/service is a straight lie. Its clear there is no support for the product. I would recommend based on price and time will tell on performance.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Kegerator Does Not Go Below 42 Degrees

    Posted
    skot1025
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The lowest temperature the kegerator reaches is 42 degrees. Inside the tapper tower it was around 45 - 46 degrees. I added a fan to blow cold air up, but it did not make a difference. No matter what number I set the thermostat dial to it never gets below 42 degrees. I followed all troubleshooting steps in the manual, but the issue persists. I created a case with Insignia and their troubleshooting included steps such as adjusting the thermostat dial. Insignia told me that there was no more troubleshooting they could do and I would need to take the Kegerator to a local Best Buy to have it serviced. I never got that far because when I called Best Buy they said Insignia is responsible for the repair. I even went to my local Best Buy and asked what should I do and no one could provide direction for how I get my Kegerator repaired. I would not recommend this Insignia Kegerator because it does not reach the advertised temperature of 35 degrees. Also, the support from Insignia and Best Buy has been extremely disappointing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      InsigniaCustomerSupport

      Hello there! I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience, remember that with this Beverage Cooler Kegerator you have a one year warranty. To make it valid, you would have to take your product into the Geek Squad at any Best Buy store to have it checked out; if you have any issues please contact our support team at 877-467-4289 while at the store and we will gladly help. -Elsa Insignia Support BBY-ExBrand_Insignia

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Almost perfect

    Posted
    GolfRob
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This arrived via UPS a few days after I ordered it as promised. I turned it on a few hours after assembling it, and let it sit over night waiting for the keg to arrive. After getting the keg installed it took another day to wait for everything to become cold enough to be able to actually serve. I encountered a few minor problems, hearing that there was issues with line temperature, I encountered a lot of problems with too much foam from pulls. The tube for the beer ended up getting pushed behind the keg and next to the cooling panel, which then caused it to freeze. But once I got that sorted out, everything seems to be working very well. This sorely needs a fan, as once I put the fan in the temperature in the entire fridge dropped by about 10 degrees. I found a small USB powered fan, and snaked the cord down the tap line on the top, and have the air blowing up the line to help keep it cold. Had this been installed from the factory, this would be a 5 star review.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    All I can say is awesome

    Posted
    Bondfu
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Great item. I have a local that will fill the gas for $15. The tank will last about 5 1/2 barrel kegs. First one Sierra Nevada pale ale. It took me a minute to figure out the pressure regulator but in no time was pouring pints with 1" creamy heads on them. Temp at 5 one below the highest coldest setting is keeping things at 35 degrees. I would strongly suggest a thermometer I got one on eBay for $5. Keg went dry yesterday after one month of continuous use. Next up Laganitus sumpin' sumpin' after I clean the beer lines out. Don't let that sway you it is very easy to set up and clean. My beer price is lower now with the draught system and I always have cold beer in quantity no more running out. It looks really cool behind the bar and has room still for bottled water or soda mixers ext. I also have been buying the beer handles to go with the beers I purchase. I usually get them on eBay for about $10-$15. Makes all the difference. Although I needed a special spacer for the Sierra as that handle was reversed. All others should match just fine. Lot of fun I get a lot of compliments on my bar now and really ties the room together. A must buy in my opinion.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Sweet, baby Jesus!

    Posted
    irobot73
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Ordered, shipped and arrived in no time flat; if not a bit bulky to get through the front door. Unpacked everything (and boy was she taped, foamed and 'bout near impervious), read through the instructions once or twice to make heads/tails of the bad writing and pictures. Take your time and test fit EVERYTHING, it'll make sense. Mounted the 5lb tank on the outside for some better clearance inside (JUST in case), dropped a 'mometer on the back ledge and turned her to 4 (of 6). That shouldn't be too low, eh? 24hrs. later and I have ICE on the drip ledge!! Took me a few days to find 1.75 was the 'sweet spot'. Have a 20lb tank already (why worry to fill the 'baby' for now), hooked up to the regulator and a corny or brew. I went through the keg before getting a pour that wasn't foamy as all get out, or flat. I'll try another and see if I can dial in the CO2. Note: The gas lines have a one-way plastic valve, so watch out if you over-charge the keg! Still, for the cost, the quality of the unit and the sheer convenience of in-home freshness I'll put up with the hiccups. If need be, I'll call into the help line and/or the local guys to see how I make it perfect.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Shoddy QA

    Posted
    NoKegsForMe

    Only reason it's not 1-star is because BB's customer service has been nothing short of phenomenal. Despite that, the product is garbage. I'm on my second unit, which will probably be hauled back later today for a refund, depending on how the warranty service call goes. The 1st unit's door came off as soon as the box did; I was able to reattach it, but the hinge pins were machined about half an inch too far out, so there was a 1/4 inch gap in the seal all the way around the door. Never even plugged it in. I took it back and replaced it with another unit; amazing customer service at the store; everything was easy. They even helped me open the box in-store to inspect the door prior to dragging it home. When I got there, I was able to set up and switch on pretty quickly. After about 24 hours of running, I noticed the compressor was leaking clear machine oil at a pretty serious rate. The unit is no longer cooling, and the leak continues. It's probably just a bad gasket, and could be repaired, but this is unacceptable. Compressor repairs are not cheap, and this will probably require another unit swap. I won't bother.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Perfect Addition to the man-cave

    Posted
    Cyrus
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Alright, so we were looking for a good kegerator for a while and found the insignia kegerator. I read the reviews and almost everyone was happy with theirs, so I waited until it goes on sell again and bought it for $350. The setup process was pretty simple and easy and took about 15-20 minutes. I installed the tank inside and got a corona half keg. Few things you must know is that when you put a new keg inside you have to wait 24 hours otherwise you will see a lot of foam right away. secondly, after 24 hours you have to play with the CO2 pressure to make sure it is not no foam or a lot of foam. manual says keep at like 10 or 11 psi but it is different for each beer. My friend has a pizza shop and said for coronas try 4 or 5 and it was the sweet spot. So it is not just plug and drink, you actually have to get the right pressure. Also my friend told me every now and then just take the keg out, slam it gently on the ground once and put it back in and wait 3 hours. That will make the beer taste better and also last longer.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works as expected for low end Kegerator

    Posted
    mcabrew
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Have been using with commercial 1/6 bbl kegs (on third keg). Plan on using for home-brew once it's ready. The included instructions for how to connect the sanke tap are not very clear. I had leak on top, I tightened nut to much and ripped the silicon washer. I looked up instructions for other Kegerators and saw the trick was to verify the tap, washer and tailpiece are flat, before tightening, without over tightening (just over hand tight). After that no leaks. It keeps beer in high 30s F at top of keg low 30s at bottom when set to lowest setting. Need to keep co2 pressure low (approx 5 PSI) to reduce head. 1st pour after > 20 minutes is a bit to foamy, but second or third poor in a row is good after that. Price is cheapest kegerator I could find. I chose it over making a keezer and plan on using it with external temp controller to lager my next batch (it will hold my 6 1/2 gallon carboy and air-lock). I also wanted to be able to support 1/2 bbl keg, without lifting the keg in and out. Overall after a month I'm happy with it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Only Consider if Deeply Discounted

    Posted
    Homebrewer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this kegorator at a 50% discount, which I thought at the time was an amazing deal. Turns out the deal was only pretty good, because of a number of issues with the order. When the unit arrived, the box was very damaged, and the fridge itself suffered minor cosmetic damage - not a great start, but Bestbuy did refund a small portion of the price or would return the unit so I was satisfied. The real problem came when I hooked up the unit to CO2 and discovered the regulator had a very small leak at the pressure relief valve (that I didn't initially notice). I then contacted both Bestbuy and Insignia about getting a replacement regulator, but they would only do a complete return of the unit. Not only that, the representative I spoke with told me there are no replacement parts available for this kegorator at all. I use this keg fridge to serve homebrew beer, for which the conversion was very easy. Notwithstanding the issues above, the kegorator did meet my expectations for a low quality (cheap) product, but when you consider the retail cost of this unit I would advise you to stay away unless it is very deeply discounted.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend