Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Jaybird - Freedom F5 Wireless In-Ear Headphones - Gold-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.1 out of 5 stars with 4463 reviews

81%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 234 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Probably just not for me...

    Posted
    Rishan

    I purchased the Jaybird Freedoms yesterday. I was trying to decide between these or the Apple AirPods. The AirPods only come out in February, so I bit the bullet and got these. I don't think I made the right decision. Here's why. First of all, a major concern with these earbuds are that the battery / controller is on the right side, and there is no counterweight on the left side. This means that there is always going to be more pressure or tension on one side. This caused the Freedoms to always fall out of my ears. An obvious solution to this would be using the Comply ear tips, right? Perfect segue into the second issue. The Comply ear tips are too rough or harsh for me. I despise the fact that you have to squeeze them every time you insert them into your ear, and once they're in, it feels like they're compressing your ear rather than filling your ear. Another solution would be using the ear fins, but I find that the installation process is very unintuitive. Why do the ear fins have to be slanted, instead of flush against the ear tips? Why is it not indicated what angle the fins have to be at? All these issues led to a headache after just a few minutes of usage. I don't know if it was because of the design, or the fact that... hold on this needs its own paragraph. I have an iPhone 6, so I was using the iOS version of the Jaybird MySound app. The app seems easy-to-use and uncluttered, but I only used it for 30 second to set up my earbuds. The real issue (I'm not sure if this is because of Apple and iOS, or Jaybird) is the volume level. I don't like to listen to music too loud or too quiet, so when I was trying to find the perfect level, I found the sweet-spot to be around level 2 and 3. Unfortunately, level 2 was a little too soft and level 3 was a little too loud. (I just want to say here that it is true that different songs have different volume levels, but in my very minimal testing, I found that the volume levels were pretty consistent). The wire for these WIRELESS earbuds is a little too long for my liking. This is especially a big concern when paired with the fact that the controller is unbalanced. The charging clip seems easy to lose, and I sincerely don't know why the charging cable is 2 inches long. All in all, I just want to say that I am not an audiophile by any stretch of the mind. I don't think this design works for me. Take this review for what it is worth. I'll be getting the AirPods in February. Let's see if they work for me. Best Wishes, Rishan

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very poor quality headphones breaks easily

    Posted
    Keith
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Bought these headphones about 6 months back, and the part holding the earbud popped out. I filed for warranty only to find out they won't fix it or provide a replacement since there was "wear and tear" and their warranty does not cover this. This $149 headphones barely lasted 1 year! I have purchased Beats headphones before (and would strongly recommend buying these over any Jaybird products) and had wear and tear on them where the cushions ripped off. Further a friend had snapped a Beats headphone in half and Beats without any questions replaced them with brand a new one. Overall a company that can't provide their customers with a quality headphone that will not easily break should not be charging $100+ dollars for one. Further, sending me an email saying they will provide 15% discount on a future purchase doesn't resolve a customers disappointment in the quality of their product. Honestly, why would I ever buy another Jaybird product again! I would rather give my money to a company that values its customers.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great Idea, but flawed design

    Posted
    smw107
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Pros: Sound great, stylish, and useful app integration that allows you to change EQ. Cons: Fatal flaw in design (read below) I previously had the Jaybird X2 headphones and really thought those were a great product. When mine were broken beyond repair I decided to give the new Freedoms a chance as the smaller ear bud was appealing to me. They were able to shrink the actual buds by moving the battery and other components to the volume control dongle. This and the decision to include a battery pack, which is the only way you can charge them, is unfortunately the fatal flaw. The volume control dongle has metal contacts on the back of it for the battery pack/charger. When you sweat your sweat comes in contact with these contacts and the headphones fail. I went through two pairs, thinking the first was defective, but now I realize this was just a poor design decision. I can't recommend these to anyone who plans to exercise in them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi smw107,

      We are so happy to know that you loved the audio, app and design of the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to hear that the charging method did not meet your expectations since you've experience the buds to fail due to sweat, This is not the behavior nor performance we expect from our product.
      Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DO NOT BUY

    Posted
    JackieO
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    These are complete junk. And of course, I can't even return them. What a waste. So, for details: (1) The details state that you can use them for up to 8 hours. This would be great, if it was true, but it's not. I can get about 90 minutes, MAX, off of BOTH batteries. (2) The first point wouldn't be terrible, except the purchase was for someone who is training for a marathon. 1.5 hours isn't going to cut it for him. However, even if 1.5 hours of battery life were enough, after 4 uses, they no longer charge. They can be plugged in overnight, the lights light up to show charging, but ALAS, they do not hold a charge once unplugged. (3) The user has both an apple watch and an apple iphone and this device isn't smart enough to recognize just one of those items. So, if I want to sync with just one device, I have to completely turn bluetooth off on the other device to use these headphones. And even then, these still search for other BT devices. This is terrible design and likely why the battery life sucks. (4) They're uncomfortable. The "extra" battery pack really sucks and doesn't feel great hitting against your head while running. Image 4-5 hours of that. (5) They say they're waterproof, but I don't believe it. The sound on these was GREAT the first 1-2 uses. Ever since, it's been choppy and very poor quality. My husband has gone back to his wired beats :(

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi JackieO,

      We are sorry to hear that the battery, fit and other features of the Jaybird Freedom did not meet your expectations. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Apple Pricetag, Skullcandy quality

    Posted
    Dude
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    These retail for $150, the same as Apple’s AirPods. I scooped them up on a sale for $50 and they are going back. I also tried reviewing this product on Amazon but they have an all sales are final policy and won’t let you review the product unless you bought it from Amazon. The process to upgrade the firmware is annoying. With the Spectre and Meltdown epidemic you don’t want to download unverified software to your computer, but that’s what you have to do to update the firmware to the headset. Which by the way you need to do to fix the number of problems that come with the device out of the box. Also you need a data usb cable to update the firmware and Jaybird proudly tells you you can buy one from them. The included cable does not work for firmware updates. Next, the audio is out of sync with video and the firmware update does not fix the problem. Turns out the audio codec for the headphones is so glorious it sacrificed sync speeds. The nice things. The headset is decently comfortable despite the large dongle and battery clip that basically doubles as a proprietary charger and allows them to meet the standard 8 hour battery advertisement. The optional app is cool because you can download EQ presets and adjust it on the fly which was great for when I switched to listening to podcasts. If I never watched videos and used this purely for workouts and paid $50 then maybe I would be okay with this product. For what JayBird is asking, just buy AirPods or something else.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Speakers are great, the controller SUCKS!

    Posted
    Gotcha
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Don't buys these headphones for workouts. If you are going to use them for listening at home, great. But if you get sweat on the controller it will short out on you in a heartbeat. I have gone through 5 pairs over the past year and a half. I know it sounds crazy but it took me until pair 3 to figure out what was going on. I was using the "over the ear, around the back of your head" configuration and that put the controller next to my head. It was comfortable and worked very well with cardio workouts but the bad thing was when sweat would get into the controller and it would short out. The music would just stop. I don't consider myself a big "sweater" either. I've called the company a couple of times and they said they are aware of the problem and they are "working on it". The X2s lasted about 3 months before they would short out. However, the Freedoms lasted 3 weeks!!! I was so disappointed. The controller got worse, not better. On my 2nd pair of Freedoms I resigned myself to using the headphones in the normal way with the wires hanging down and the controller hanging down as well AND THEY STILL SHORTED OUT ON ME!!! The bad thing is the ear buds really do put out a great sound. I can't be the only one encountering this problem. I am very careful with headphones. I don't mistreat them. I mean they cost $200! The people at Jaybird need to pay more attention to this flaw.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Better off getting a cheaper pair

    Posted
    Beyonce

    I use wireless headphones because it is the easiest way to bike without worrying about a cord getting in my way. I have used wireless earbuds from $20 to $100, so I know the range of quality in the market. I bought these when they were marked down to $40. The sound quality is great, but you can honestly get the same quality in the $50 range. The battery leaves much to be desired at this price, as I ran through it in one day of on and off listening - most others allow for at least 3 days of that much. The real deal breaker? The design. The little wings that are removable are uncomfortable and do little to keep the bud in your ear (at all sizes). I removed them, but the earbuds simply wouldn't stay in my ears. The volume control is heavy and swings back and forth, exacerbating the problem. Also, the smaller size of the part that actually goes into your ear fails to stay on the end, making the larger option the only choice. It's not a matter of convenience, it's a matter of usability. You are better off with saving money and buying Skullcandy. If you want to pay more, Bose or Beats are way better bang for buck. Side note: When you turn them on, you get this obnoxious 2 second instrumental noise that is unnecessary. I wish that I could return these, but I threw out the packaging. I'm just going to sell them off to a friend and buy a cheaper, more useful pair.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Avoid at all costs, Junk!

    Posted
    Grant
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Worst product ever. I Purchased these to use while running, I run a LOT and these were promoted as sweat proof. First pair worked for about six months, then abruptly stopped working. Called Logitech and customer service shipped me a replacement pair. First replacement worked for about two months, then same result... Just stopped working. Called customer service again and they agreed to ship a second replacement. The customer service rep let it slip that they had a LOT of complaints about these with the same problem and their engineers were trying to find out why they had such a high failure rate. Second replacement failed on the first run.... Called customer service AGAIN and this time they shipped me an X4 headset. but they said this was the last replacement they would send..... the X4's failed on the second use.... Four sets, and four failures... these are serous JUNK! Do yourself a favor and google "Jaybird Freedom Failure", you'll find a LOT of complaints about the same issue.....I wish I had done that research before wasting my money on these.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great Product, Poor Customer Service

    Posted
    Dustin
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'd been considering purchasing these earbuds for quite some time as I was very happy with the x2's, but wanted something a bit more streamlined for comfort/appearance. Unforturnately, my set came packaged with 3 medium earbuds and 1 large and, of course, I require the large for proper fit. My email contact with customer support was answered within 2 days, and asked for the standard info (shipping address, color of product) but also required a scan of the receipt and "Furthermore, please include photos of the device's original packaging and its contents. Thank you" Seriously? You think I would make the effort to reach out to Jaybird so I could defraud them for the cost of a large set of earcups (and postage)?First off, this was received as a gift. Second, why on earth would I take the time to lay out all of the packaging and contents to photograph when all I need is a set of large earcups? If this was my company, I wouldn't be spending money on customer support people that would waste time/effort on reviewing requests for earcups... For the cost to the company, Jaybird would be better off sending free earcups to all their customers annually and firing the support staff. We would all end up ahead. Instead of complying with the customer support request, I felt my time would be better used writing a review so others are aware of the customer support they can expect if they run into problems with the product.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Died within 6 months

    Posted
    Gmoney
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I used to buy Jaybirds because they are "sweatproof." My original Bluebuds X are still going strong after about 4 years. These new ones from Jaybird died from me sweating. They work fine dry. Then once I start sweating then they shut off, over and over... This started about a month and a half ago. Since I had registered them through jaybird's website for the warranty I figured I would write a review afterwards. Well jaybird's support said it was the battery through chat help. I use technology everyday and consider myself tech savy as I jailbreak things all of the time and fix electronics and computers all of the time. The lady on the chat didn't want to hear the issue. She said it was from overcharging them and wouldn't hear it when I explained my older jaybirds were still going strong being charged the same way. Another issue I found was while doing certain movements the sound cuts out. I have moved on to some other sweatproof Ankers for a better price and DON'T cut out doing the same exercises for about 1/6 of the price! I will not be going back to Jaybird with the terrible support they have and the fact the headphones stopped working after 6 months.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Died after 3 weeks

    Posted
    James
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I used them mainly to run 3-4 miles 4 times a week. First of all, they constantly kept falling out no matter what setup I used. As other people have stated the mic is heavy which causes a constant tug on the right ear. So as soon as you start sweating they have trouble staying in. Plus the cord sticks to your neck so when you turn your head to check for traffic this would also pull on the earbuds causing them to slip out. After 3 weeks of use and during my run the left earbud got staticky and then a few minutes later the whole headset just died. My guess is it had to do with sweat possibly shorting it out. For $200 I expected a better design and for it to last longer than 3 weeks. The sound is great and they do a great job blocking out sound. So great for mowing the lawn but in my opinion not good for running. My previous headset was the Jabra Sports Pulse which also had issues with them dying and not working after a few months of use but I never had issues with them not staying on. In either case I recommend getting the service plan because you will use it. I've had a pair of wired Shure ear buds for 5 years now which still work great no matter how much sweat they go through. I wish I could fine a wireless product that worked just as well.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi James,

      We greatly appreciate you for sharing your review with the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to hear that you have not able to find the perfect fit yet with the buds.

      Everyone's ears are different and fit is the biggest part of headphones especially when being used to train or run so this being said we would love to help you get a perfect fit. We have some more ear tip options and fit suggestions that can help. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience and fit.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Jaybird Products - Stay Away

    Posted
    dec1215
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Purchased the Jaybird Freedom wireless earbuds as a replacement for my existing Sony Extra Bass wired earbuds. They had clear good sound for what I did hear. The first problem was they wouldn't charge past 20%, customer service after a full day got back to me and told me to perform a total reset. After they did charge, the next problem was they wouldn't connect to my Ipod, once again customer service waited another full day and told me about a specific sequence for connecting them. The last problem was audio stuttering where the headphones would stop and start the sound continually. At this point, I contacted customer support on the phone and they were very casual in their response to have me take them back to Best Buy for a refund. This all took place in a total of 9 days. When I returned them to Best Buy I was given the utmost consideration, support, and professionalism by the person in customer service. There was no pushback to return the earbuds and the customer service professional was not only understanding but genuinely wanted to know about my experience. Great job Best Buy, Jaybird I would definitely stay away from at all cost.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Have potential, low quality, bad engineering

    Posted
    Alex
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This headphones have potential but they have too many flaws. For instance: you need to attach the extra piece that comes with it to charge it, so if you lose this piece you are screw. The battery does not long too long, I charged it all night and midway though my work out the battery is already at 20%!. Perhaps the biggest flaw is that the side with the controls in it is significantly heavier than the other side; this causes the headphones to constantly come out of you ears, so if you are using them for running or working out you will find yourself constantly readjusting them so they stay in your ears. Lastly, for some unknown reason they just stop working, not even last a whole year! The only positive is that you can customize the sound through the app, this significantly impacts the sound. Do yourself a favor and go for a proven quality brand, you may pay more but you will be happy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    C. Michael W

    Posted
    Michael
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I very seldom write a review. I bought these headphone in June 2016. Up until two weeks ago they have worked very well for me. However two weeks ago the internal battery died, and can not be recharged. I have written customer service at Jaybird, and received a case number for follow up. I have written them twice more to update on the Freedoms. As of this writing I have not received any correspondence from Jaybird, nor can I get them on the telephone. 99% of a review should be how a company responds when there is an issue. I can live with the fact that once in a while you get a product that needs to be replaced. I can't understand no action on their part. Based on their response so far I would recommend that you do not buy. Look at other reviews. Battery life and moisture seem to be a big problem for them. Maybe that is why I have not heard back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great Sound + Bad Fit = Very Disappointed!!!

    Posted
    Javier
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I waited months to get them and after only having them for 1 day, I had no choice but to return them. Although the sound is amazing….I’m very disappointed!!! The remote piece is heavier than advertised and much heavier than any other pair of headsets or earbuds out there. This causes the right earbud to fall out over and over again and again. Both earbuds will not stay in my ears, they fall out repeatedly no matter what type of method I used. I paid $140 after discount and I don’t think they’re worth that much, in my opinion they’re worthless to me, what good is the amazing sound quality if they won’t stay in your ears?!? Customer services didn’t offer a solution, and I have to pay to ship them back to them…I guess these are not for everyone. I’m very disappointed and I would not recommend these to anyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Quality Build. Poor Battery Performance.

    Posted
    ChicagoGuy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    As owner of X2, I was excited to pick up these new models for the smaller form factor. Quality build is great and offers multiple inserts and wing tips to ensure a good fit, regardless of ear shape. While the freedom is sweat proof, I've already gone through two units. The built-in battery appears to die after dropping to 60% charge and requires a soft reset. This has occurred multiple times. I've resorted to carrying around the charging unit/second battery in order to reset the unit while out on long distance runs. Unacceptable for individuals who work out or run more than 1.5 hours. Have returned the unit and simply resorted back to X2, which I would strongly recommend without hesitation. Would love to see this problem addressed as the sound and build quality of the unit is amazing otherwise.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi ChicagoGuy,

      We are glad to hear that you loved the design and features of the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to know that you have issues with the battery of the buds but we can assure you that this is not the expected behavior nor performance from our product. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience.

      Also, here are suggestions that we strongly recommend our users to try that can help prevent this issue.

      • Computers are the best and safest method, as is anything 1 AMP or less.
      • Car chargers produce a much greater power supply and should be avoided.
      • Over-charging the battery will quickly reduce the life of the headphones, so in addition to monitoring the power supply, limit the charge time to 2.5 hours,
      • To get the most out of your battery it is recommended to charge the buds when the low battery status is indicated.
      • Avoid charging your headphones after exposure to sweat.
      • Make sure charging port/cradle is clear of any debris.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bad Headphones at a worse price.

    Posted
    AngryMongoose
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The only positive these things have going for them is that they are wireless. The battery life is terrible, the sound quality is average at best, using them as mic for phone calls is laughable. However, the worst part is hands down the volume control piece. This thing is massive in both size and weight, not to mention it's placement on the cord makes no sense whatsoever. This thing is so big it will constantly pull the earpiece it is closest to out of your ear, and when it isn't doing that it'll be annoyingly tugging the whole thing to one side. This way it's constantly reminding you it's there, it's in the way, and it's inconvenient as heck. All that said I suppose it's my fault for not having done research ahead of time. If I hadn't waited so long after buying them to finally test them I would have definitely returned them. TLDR: save your money and buy literally any other headphones.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Dont buy if you sweat heavily.

    Posted
    MrQ50
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Upgraded to these from the X2's and i was initially impressed with the upgrades like the MySound app and the battery pack. However, i sweat alot during my workouts and after 2 or 3 workouts, the headphones stopped charging altogether. Returned them and got another pair, however i had the same issue. The second pair i got was actually defective out of the box. They would say charge me and the app would show the battery at 0% even though the headphones are fully charged. I believe the location of the battery (in the mic instead of in the earpiece) makes them more susceptible to damage from sweat. My X2's gave me way less problems so i returned these and went back to using my X2's.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Wireless headphones still have a way to go

    Posted
    Ryan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was not impressed with these headphones for a number of reasons: 1. The sound was not nearly as good as the standard iPhone wire EarPods (no bass whatsoever). 2. The were not comfortable in my ears despite the many different sizes of ear pads they gave you. 3. They fell out of my ears often. 4. The battery life was non-existent. I could only use them for about 30-40 minutes before they died and needed to be recharged. That’s less than one lawn mowing. I returned them to BestBuy. Maybe you really need to drop some serious coin on wireless headphones in order to get the same quality as wired headphones but this brand name is fairly respected and I expected more. In the end, I did not think they came anywhere close to the comfort and quality of standard iPhone wired EarPods.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Needs Improvement

    Posted
    Alec
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The voice prompts are annoying. They are stuck at the default volume level and there is no way to turn them off. This is incredibly annoying when I listen at the lowest level and the voice prompt goes off at max volume. I want to get straight to listening to music without announcing the battery level which I can view from my phone anytime. The ear fins are a great idea however the sizing just does not work for me. The mediums aren't snug enough to keep them from falling out every 2 minutes and the larges are too big that my ears start to hurt after wearing them for 15+ mins. Powering them off shouldn't take five seconds. There are times when I want to hear my surroundings. It should take a less than 2 second hold of the button to shut down. Also it's incredibly annoying that they power down when you plug in the battery pack.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend