Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Jaybird - Freedom F5 Wireless In-Ear Headphones - Gold-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.1 out of 5 stars with 4463 reviews

81%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 252 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    A nice concept, not very comfortable

    Posted
    Pablo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member
    • Top 500 ContributorTop 500 Contributor

    I've been using these earbuds for the last couple of weeks and will be returning them as their main negative doesn't outweigh all of their positives. I'll start off with what the earbuds have done right. First off, they are very lightweight and I'm surprised Jaybird was able to put as much circuitry in the in-line remote as they have. That's where the primary battery is along with the volume and playback controls along with the microphone. It really looks like any other cable with an in-line remote yet it houses more. The remote isn't heavy and I never felt it pulling on my ear. I mainly used the earbuds with the wire wrapped around the back of my head though that became problematic when I wore collared shirts. I with that Jaybird made the cable a bit longer so that it would go over a collar instead of being bulled down by it. I did have the earbuds pulled out of my ears a couple of times while wearing polo-styled shirts. The battery life of these were excellent especially given their size. I was able to get about 5 hours out of the main battery and an additional 4-5 hours when using the battery pack. The battery pack is a neat idea as I can clip it on the earbuds, thrown them in their pouch, and let them charge while they're being stored. You can also use the earbuds with the charging clip connected but I constantly felt it banging on the back of my neck while jogging (though it wasn't a big deal in everyday, office-type conditions). I like that Jaybird included both rubber ear tips (which never work with me, they always pop out and can never make a seal) and sports foam tips. I also purchased a pack of sports, comfort, and isolation tips from Complyfoam (they make the included sports ear tips). The companion app for these earbuds allows you to customize the earbuds' EQ and they even store the EQ as the default the next time you turn them on. You can even adjust the EQ in real time as music is playing. At first I wasn't really impressed with their audio quality but I was able to fine-tune things and get them just the way I liked. Now for the bad things. The included sport foam ear tips are rough and not comfortable. I tried the extended listening and noise isolation tips from comply foam and they were a lot more comfortable. Second, I couldn't get a good fit using the ear wings that Jaybird included. The small ones were way too small, the medium size was comfortable but it never held the earbuds in (the right earbud would still fall out), and the large would hold the earbuds in place but they were extremely uncomfortable as they were always pushing the earbuds down against my ear canal. I wanted to like these, I really did, but they were just too uncomfortable even after I purchased the extra ear tips (something I don't think I should of had to do). The other aspect I don't like is the functionality of the in-line remote. It seemed to take two button presses to do anything whether I was adjusting the volume or playing/pausing a song. The other weird thing, with my iPhone 6S Plus, is that the center button didn't function normally. Jaybird didn't follow the Apple standard and instead made the center button the play/pause button along with the recall button. Want to skip to the next track? Hold the volume up button down for 3 seconds. It seems weird and is backwards with how in-line remotes have been implemented for the last 10 years. I would often pause a song using the center button and then mistakenly hit the center button again to play the song (not closing the Music app or changing anything), and my iPhone would instead dial the last number I had called. Then the earbuds would be stuck in "call mode" so that music sounded like garbage. I then had to turn the earbuds off and back on in order for them to switch back to music mode. That meant that every time I wanted to play a song, I had to pull my phone out of my pocket and actually hit the play button. That happened with the built-in iOS Music app, Google Play Music, Pandora, and any other music playback app. What's the point of having a center button like that? It's counterintuitive and completely ruins the experience. The shoddy buttons, weird performance of the center button, and uncomfortable ear wings are making me return this product. I would have probably put up with the strange remote had the ear wings actually worked but they didn't. I also tried putting the earbuds in upside down over my ears but they never stayed in, I need the ear wings. This was a nice idea from Jaybird and the all around package is definitely worth considering but their implementation is flawed and the in-line remote needs to adhere to the same standards that in-line remotes have since 2007. I will be returning these, just as I did with my Powerbeats 2 wireless earbuds, and continue my search for the best Bluetooth earbuds that can actually fit my ears and fully work with my smartphone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Sadly dissapointed in the fitment but great sound

    Posted
    Skynet
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Let me start off by saying I wanted to love these. I've been looking forward to these since they were unveiled alongside the X3's at CES in January. I currently have owned my Bose SoundSport in ear headphones for a year and wanted to upgrade to the famous Jaybird's. Pros: The sound on these headphones provided better lo's, mid's, and high's thanks to the Jaybird equalizer app. I thought it was a bit of a gimmick at first but it actually made a big difference. Because the headphones sit deeper in your ear canal, it sounds a lot better than my Bose. Onto the cons. The fitment was awful enough for me to decide to return them and not believe these warrant a $200 price tag. Because the battery is no longer housed in the ear bud to minimize the size, it is now built in to the remote on the cord which sits below the right ear. It was a smart idea but Jaybird didn't think it through. The remote is heavier than normal now so it constantly tugs to the right during a workout. It gets even worse during a longer run where you sweat more, so the cable sticks to the back of your neck lopsided to the right. The earbuds included are OK. If you sweat or run in your workouts, expect them to fall out. I used seceral combinations of buds, ear wing tips and fitments that it wasn't enough to keep them in without falling out once. That is where my Bose has them beat. The ear buds stay in place with the ears because of the winged tips. Battery life on the Freedom's were about in line what they advertise, 4 hrs without the extra battery. These headphones shouldn't be advertised as 8 hrs becuase that would mean you're using the extra battery which lopsides the fitment even worse. Don't get me wrong, I love the sound and flexibility of use of these headphones but the cons easily outweighed the benefits. I returned them and believe the X3's will be the best of both world's. The X3's will have the battery built in to the ear bud to rid of any lopsidedness, will be able to use the Jaybird equalizer app, and is supposed to be a bit smaller than the X2's.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Amazing sound, horrible fit...

    Posted
    JayBoy
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I mainly purchased these because I wanted something that I could use underneath my motorcycle helmet comfortably, plus I previously owned a pair of Jaybird X2s that I was very satisfied with, so when these were released I couldn't wait to try them out. Now, the audio quality on these are simply amazing, if not better than the X2s. I personally prefer a lot of bass and these provide enough for me and what I think is really cool about these ear headphones is the MySound app that you can use along side with these headphones to customize your audio settings. So, since I prefer more bass, I simply crank up the bass settings on the MySound app and it's good to go, so that right there is a really neat feature. Now when it comes to the battery life it might be a little misleading. Yes, it's 8 hours of battery life, but only if you use that bulky external clip on battery, which is what you have to use to charge the headphones. Without that external battery I'd say you'll get roughly 4 hours of battery life, but that doesn't really bother me much, but it might for some of you so make sure to consider that before making the purchase. I haven't used them to make phone calls so I can't justify my personal opinion on that, which leaves me towards the final topic, fitting. The fitting on these is down right horrible, everytime I put them in my ear they constantly fall out which made it very annoying and frustrating, rendering them useless when using them underneath my helmet. These headphones would just simply fall out of place while riding my motorcycle. For 200$ I would have expected something that would stay in place without any problems, but that's not the case. I tried using the different sizes the headphones provided but it just didn't work for me. I also maintain an active lifestyle, but I didn't bother to try them out while exercising because I figured I would have the same problem. Maybe I'm one of the few that are experiencing the same problem and maybe for you it won't be the same, but for that being the case for me, I just simply can't recommend these ear headphones, regardless of how great the audio quality is, because I can't enjoy it since the headphones won't stay secured in place inside my ear. So I'll most likely return them or exchange them for something different.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi JayBoy,

      Thank you for your review with the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to hear that you have not able to find the perfect fit yet with the buds.

      Everyone's ears are different and fit is the biggest part of headphones especially when being used to train or run so this being said we would love to help you get a perfect fit. We have some more ear tip options and fit suggestions that can help. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience and fit.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not nearly as good as X2

    Posted
    Ziethriel

    Frankly I was surprised with the sound quality out of the box. I get that it's a flat curve on EQ to start, but it is so tinny sounding. Even after working the EQ for a while in the partner app (I used to be an audio engineer) I was unable to get the rich sound of their previous generation x2 earbuds. In addition to this, the max volume on this set is a bit lower, presumably to allow the space for the EQ adjustments. The design took some hits too. By putting all the tech (including battery) in the button controller instead of the earbuds it feels like one side of the headphones is weighed down much more than the x2, probably because the weight is further from its anchor (your body). This is exacerbated when you apply the charging clip, which I find to not be a feature since the x2 had 8 hours of battery life without a clip, and now you need the clip to get back up to 8 hours, plus if you don't want to wear the clip but have the option of applying it during your workout, now you have to find a place for this tiny, presumably easy to lose charge clip to carry it around. That all being said, these aren't terrible headphones. Once you set your own EQ they are comparable to a $50-75 pair of wired earbuds, which is great, and will change your world if you're used to using $20 earbuds or those freebies that come with your phone. I just think that the quality of the sound, and design downgrades when compared to their old Jaybird x2 set don't warrant paying an extra $50. Again, that all being said, if ALL you care about is having less weight on your head compared to the x2 set, these could be an option for you as they definitely do shed a good bit of weight, especially without the charging clip, just know that you are losing 4 hours of battery life by not having it. Finally two topics I don't care to add to the review in detail, but are worth mentioning. 1. The packaging is inferior to the x2 buds, the memory foam tips seem cheaper, you don't get the nice hard case for the buds, and all the tips are just shoved in a bag instead of the nice organized foam tray they used to be in. 2. The MySound app is garbage. There are only 2 or 3 usable presets and the others are developed by athletes? Why would you want an athlete to write your EQ curve. How about music artists make your EQ, and by music artists I mean their respective sound engineers.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi Ziethriel,

      Thank you for sharing your review with the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to hear that the features and design of our product did not meet your expectations. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Poor longevity; worse support

    Posted
    BenjaminS
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Pros: Great sound, comfortable, so light you can't tell they're there, multiple wearer configurations. customize EQ curve via mobile app Cons: Poor longevity, Poor range, external charger/battery pack compromises durability; Jaybird Support fails to meet basic service standards Used for: 4-6 days a week (est. 10 hrs/week/total) at indoor gym, moderate sweating, moderate movement. I purchased the Freedom F5's after my X2's failed after 7 months of near-daily use at the gym. I loved my X2's sound quality, especially from a bud-type earphone. After 7 months of use, the left bud stopped producing sound. The Freedom's had just released , so I picked up a pair. Fit and feel was much better and lighter weight- You can't even feel this things they feel so good. Sound quality was par with the X2's, and the ability to control the EQ curve via the Jaybird App was an awesome feature. I had connection quality issues from the get-go where the sound would cut in and out unless the mobile device was withing 1-2 ft and in a plain line of sight of the Freedoms. This was tested in multiple environments with multiple devices. After about 80 days of use, the phones started malfunctioning and randomly shutting off without notifying me via the verbal message. This was also coupled with popping noising when attempting to power the device back on. After 2 phone calls to Jaybird Support, a factory reset, and other troubleshooting steps, they stated they would authorize a replacement and send a shipping label for device return. After 5 working days, I received an email stating they would send me a replacement product pending a photo showing my case number and the cord cut to verify the headphones useless. After this was done, 10 days went by and I did not receive a response from Jaybird's support. I attempted to use their chat service where it would disconnect due to their reps not responding in a timely manner/ SLA. I called in and was on hold for 28 minutes before talking to a rep who could not locate my case or provide any updates- they finally made an excuse their "systems must be down" and would get back to me when they could. It has been 3 weeks and I still have not received a replacement or updates from Jaybird Support.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi BenjaminS,

      We are sorry to hear your experience with the Jaybird Freedom.
      Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    So so

    Posted
    Vista1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    These headphones are ok for sale price of $50 but for list price of $150 would be terrible. Sound quality is ok but not great. Things that I like are how they fit in the ear. They are very comfortable in ears. Easily pair with the phone. Now the things that not so great. They came with the ear pods that kept falling off or remained in ear after I removed the headphones. I had to remove them from my ear cavities with my fingers several times. Finally, I lost one of them on the side of my keyboard at my office. I ordered the replacement pods from Amazon for Freedom headphones and they seem to be of better quality and have not fallen off or remained in my ear. Not sure why the original pods of such pure quality. I never had this problem with any other headphones even with very cheap no name brand. I also did not like the separate charging pod which you need to clamp on piggy back style on the controls area of the headphone to be able to charge it. One more little piece to get lost and the headphones would be useless because you would not be able to charge them. The SUB charging chord only fits in this piece. Additionally, you have very careful about the alignment of this piece with the mating part on the headphones. In one instance these were slightly misaligned as I attempted to charge in my car using car's front port. There probably was some sort of short due to misalignment which caused the fuse to blow for that in the car. Now that charging port does not work until I replace or reset the fuse. Luckily, I have another port in the car's center console between the seats that still works. From this point on, I charge this charging piece separately and when it us fully charged I then piggyback it on to the headphone and charge the head phones. Kind of an hassle. Also the headphone battery has only half the capacity without this piece piggybacking (about 3 to 4 hours). With this piece on it doubles but then it becomes heavy and tend to pull the headphone connecting chord on one side.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    The premium design is held back by too many issues

    Posted
    DeadshotAce
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The design of these things are amazing. The metal body is smooth, tiny, and just looks premium. You get a bunch of ear pieces, holding attachments, and a case. Oddly though, the clip it comes with is so cheaply made and broke within a week of me owning this. Weird considering how well made everything else is. But the overall build is so hindered by the software in too many ways. Every single time I use them during a workout, there'll be at least one moment where sound will cut out for around 20 seconds. The phone is right there in my pocket and I'm exercising on an elliptical so distance or anything like that shouldn't be a problem. Then, getting it to connect to devices it's already been paired to is a hassle. I have it paired to my ipad and iphone. Sometimes when I turn the jaybirds on it'll only pair up with one of them. Also, it advertises being able to switch between the two devices it's paired with without any additional button presses. And even that works only half the time. Finally, holding down one of the buttons will call the last person on your dialed list. So whenever I stick them in my pockets, I have to worry about that happening. And it has, about three times so far. Even turning it off won't help since they'll accidentally turn on in your pocket just the same as they're butt dialing people. So overall these headphones have issues with being paired, staying paired, and unintended functions. The 4 hour battery isn't too big a deal as long as you charge them regularly. But I can see it becoming an issue if you plan on using them for a whole day, even with the backup charing battery it comes with. I love the design and wireless aspect to them, I just hope an update can resolve some of these issues. It doesn't matter how well built headphones are if you end up struggling to even get them working. PS. The funny thing is I was supposed to be working out right now but instead I'm writing this review because I could not get them to play sound from my ipad. Which as I mentioned, they're currently paired with along with my iphone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Sound great, very uncomfortable

    Posted
    WVL3
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I've owned the Jaybird X, and X2 (btw I still have no idea what the X2 does different than the X) and now I have these. I loved the X series, they sounded somewhere between OK and good, but they were extremely comfortable and stayed in my ears only using the foam earpieces, I didn't need the fins or anything else. I used them mainly for audiobooks and podcasts and they were great. These new Freedom series are absolutely a step up on sound quality, at least when you use the EQ app you can download, they sound great. The problem is they're extremely uncomfortable to me. With the X series they just go straight into your ear, they're not heavy, they're well balanced. The new Freedoms drag on your ear since they are no longer balanced. Instead of going straight in they go in at more of an angle and the part with the volume switch and battery really feels like it's there now, with the X it did not. I changed out the foam plugs with some Comply soft foam buds (it comes with Comply sports foam which is a little harder and less comfortable) and that made a difference, but still I find myself constantly taking them out for a minute to readjust them. I also tried with the fins but they don't do anything for me, they're just more uncomfortable. To be clear the earbuds will stay in my ear, they just drag on them and that wasn't an issue with the last series. Also when you clip on the extra battery back they really drag on your ear making it even less comfortable. Overall the sound quality is a big step forward, although if they just released and EQ app for the X2 I'd be interested to hear how they'd sound. But from a comfort standpoint these are a giant step backwards and I'll be returning them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    My first let down by Jaybird

    Posted
    Rumbum
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    When I first bought these, I thought they were great. By far, these are one of the best sounding wireless headphones I've owned to date. I have owned the X1 and the X2 by Jaybird and bought these because I lost my X2. My X1 lasted almost 2 years which is why I stayed with Jaybird. Not only is the sound great, but the light weight of these is great while running. I rarely had issues with these falling out of my ears even though I did not use the attachable ear pieces to hold them in. My only complaint had been the weight of the control piece. It is slightly heavy comparably to the whole setup. This did make it slightly uncomfortable on one ear. However, now after owning this product since May 7,2017, the device is failing. I noticed about two weeks ago, I was losing bluetooth connection when I would advance a song using the controls on it. I am unable to pair the device back until hours later. Now, the device fails to charge past 60%. 3 months use out of a $100 plus set of earbuds. Seriously, not what you should expect. Hope this doesn't happen to you. I am currently trying to do a warranty claim, however, there is no obvious method for submitting a claim. I will update if I ever make progress!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    great wireless earbud but not the best fitment

    Posted
    sapphire
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I recently bought these on black Friday sales for $50. After reading some bad review about fitment I decided to give it a try since I am no jogger or someone who does exercise while listening to music. I thought that the fitment might not be a problem to me since I don't move around too much but boy am I wrong. These earbud fall off easily just by tilting my head. The battery or controller on the right side of the earbuds is too heavy causing it to fall off my ear ever 2 to 3 mins just by turning my head or looking around. It got to the point where it started getting annoying since I have to constantly fit it back into my ear. Now for the pros, this earbud are great in sound quality but it does lack bass if you are a heavy bass person. This earbuds are pretty flat in sound but you can tune it with the app which helps a lot and improve it much better. Well, I didn't keep this earbud I return this earbud back after two days of owning it since I cannot bear the right earbud falling off every single time I move my head around.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Decent product, poor support.

    Posted
    Screwyluie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The earbuds are earbuds. They don't sound amazing and they don't sound bad. The BT is easily interrupted causing skips in the audio as is the case with most of these wireless buds. It's not so bad as warrant a return though, it's infrequent. It comes with rubbery wings that fit in your ear to help hold them in but mine only came with sizes XS/S/M. I need a large to fit properly. When I contacted Jaybird about this they gave me a canned response with a fitting guide video. When I indicated that this did not help and I need a large size or I'll have to return them their response was to close the ticket and agree with me returning the product. I'll never buy from them again if they're willing to lose a customer over something so small. And yes I will be returning the headphones tomorrow. I only paid $43 for them on sale. Despite the customer support or lack thereof, I wouldn't pay more than about $50 for these considering the quality, fit, sound, and connection issues. Get them on sale or find something better.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Some flaws

    Posted
    Gyyfgbhgf
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I wound up returning these headphones mainly for two reasons. After using for about an hour on my commute from work I realized how much my ears actually hurt from the relatively hard plastic “wings” that are suppose to keep it in place. The next day when I put then in again, the pain was now immediate and noticeable. The other reason I returned them was the sound quality. Out of the box the quality is not the best, although once you download the app it improves dramatically and it’s imoressive as to how they could be tuned for different types and styles of music. However, once that novelty wore off, I found myself on the app constantly changing between settings for every type of sung that came next in my shuffled playlist. Like most people, I assume, I have different types of music on my phone, so different that these headphones apparently had to be tuned for each song. Their standard flat setting is really not that good. I guess that why they were the cheapest of the bunch.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, terrible fit and BT Connectivity

    Posted
    LesserV

    I own the original Bluebuds X and after some time, I finally got the fit right. They don't stay in the ears perfectly, but good enough. I was excited about the Jaybird Freedoms and waited until enough people had reviewed the product before buying. The EQ app is amazing and works well. The sound was great and the device got plenty loud for me. I tried these on vacation and at home, but sadly the BT connectivity on the pair I bought was terrible. Sound cutting in and out on two different well known apps. I used the same tips and wing size that I used on my old Bluebud X along with all other combinations, but could never get them to go in my ears and stay. I tested my old pair and the freedoms at the same time, same place and with the same apps. The old ones were great with no problems in fit and connectivity, the Jaybird Freedoms consistently cut out and fell out. Disappointed to say the least and I won't spend $200+ on subpar earbuds. Guess I will wait for the X3's and hope they are better.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi LesserV,

      We are so glad to hear that you loved the audio quality of the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to hear that you have not able to find the perfect fit yet with the buds.

      Everyone's ears are different and fit is the biggest part of headphones especially when being used to train or run so this being said we would love to help you get a perfect fit. We have some more ear tip options and fit suggestions that can help. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience and fit.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    It's a no go.

    Posted
    Dave
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was able to pick up a pair on Black Friday for about a third of the SRP. Since phones have been dropping the headphone jack, I've been looking for Bluetooth headphones that would work consistently and sound great. Unfortunately, these buds did not meet my needs and had to regrettably return them. My ears aren't very big so it started to feel uncomfortable after about a half hour or so. It would not stay in my ears either. Sound quality was not very good and I thought my 10 dollar SkullCandy sounded fuller. Phone calls were not very good either. Caller on the other side said I sounded a bit distant as well. Battery charging is also inconvenient, with a proprietary design and poor 4 hour battery (they say 8 hours but that means having to stick the proprietary charging dock onto it which annoyingly shifts the weight of the earbuds). The search for a decent pair of Bluetooth earbuds continues.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good sound, impractical design and poor battery

    Posted
    Smlg333
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    After owning a previous version of the Freedoms, I bought these with hesitation due to the removable battery, knowing it might someday get lost with my kids as they are. When working, they are nice headphones. Without the battery on the side of the band, they are light and comfortable for running and working out, but with them, there is an awkward weight to on side leaving them flopping around very annoyingly. It is nice, however, to be able to work out without it and to have the charged external battery ready to go at the gym if you need an additional charge to get you through your workout. Anyway, after just 4 months of casual use these just suddenly stopped working or charging. The earbuds and battery appear to charge, but immediately go dead after unplugging it. Very frustrating for a pair of earbuds that cost nearly $150. Stay away! There are so many other reliable options and better designed headphones for the same price

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Design flaw

    Posted
    Lopezchief361
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I love jaybird, I had the X1, X2 and I was pretty excited about the X3&Freedom. quality didn't change, the fact that you had to have a portable battery in order to charge the headset was just a hassle. If you loose the portable battery which is about 2inches by half inch, you cannot charge your headset and either have to buy one off of ebay or take your losses and purchase a new headset. fitment and sound quality were not bad. If you use these to workout, they are not sweatproof. if you sweat a lot, some of it will enter the controls circuit and will eventually damage the headset. also, the battery tends to not charge as much as time goes by or will not charge at all. I had to exchange these twice and after the second one gave me the same issues the first one did I tried other brands. Tried Bose sounds sport which were not good, JBL under amour which were horrible, and right now I have the SONY XB80BS. The Sony have not disappointed me yet.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great sound, terrible battery life

    Posted
    Eurobelle
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I wanted to keep these, but because of the very poor battery life I am returning them. They barely last an hour before the voice starts telling me “battery low” and then shuts off altogether. My husband just got some BeatsX and they last a lot longer. I think the Sound and comfort of these Jaybirds are a tad better than the BeatsX, but I would still choose the BeatsX due to the battery life. I bought Apple AirPods to replace these Jaybirds. The battery life is excellent and I can highly recommend them. The other issue you may want to consider with these Jaybirds is the proprietary charging cable. If you lose it you at SOL. I looked online and they are all sold out. So if you lose you charging cord you can’t use your headphones. Either th BeatsX or AirPods are better in this respect, as they just use a regular Lightning cable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not for everyone

    Posted
    Oscar
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My first pair of wireless headphones. I use them for running. I got them because I was having issues with the iPhone adaptor. I had the Adidas Sennhauser for like 3 years and are still good, but the adaptor keeps getting screwed. I have had 2 Adidas Sennhauser and they lasted me for years. Finally I got this , It said 4 hours of charge. First time I used them for a 5K -meaning its gonna be less than 30 mins- and I used them maybe 30 mins before and when the race was starting it said charge 20%. You gotta be kidding me. I thought that maybe it was because it was the first charge. Now -after 2 weeks- I don't think they will last 4 hours to be honest. And something that I would give 1 star is because they tend to get out of the ear, Its annoying while running to keep pushing them in. Today I thought about returning them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Connection issues with multiple devices

    Posted
    Janjop37
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased this when they were on sale for $49 from $149. I watched reviews online and was willing to put up with the external battery for the 8 hour charge time. Fully charged I didn't get anywhere near 8 hours of time listening to music. The biggest issue I had was with connection to my phone. (motorola Z2). I have bluetooth in my car as well as a JBL bluetooth speaker. My phone doesn't "skip" or lose connection to those, however, the music would make a "skip" every 5 to 10 seconds on the jaybirds. Returned them and sticking with wired headphones for now, but not happy about having to use an adapter. Tested with my old phone and the skipping issue was there as well. They did sound awesome when they weren't skipping, but the skipping was annoying enough I couldn't use them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good idea... Bad execution

    Posted
    Dolevsky
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was really excited about going wireless but once I tried them on I remembered why I loved my Bose sound sport earbuds. The sound profile was good and the adjustability was a nice feature. My major concern was the fit of the earbuds. The conform tips didn't stay in my ears at all and when I did get them to fit using a combination of the earbuds and wings they were really uncomfortable. Also the inline mic and controls was very heavy compared to others and a constant annoyance since it kept tugging at my ear when I moved. I'll stick with my lightweight wired for now.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Jaybird Support Team

      Hi Dolevsky,

      We are so glad to hear that you loved the audio quality of the Jaybird Freedom. We are sorry to hear that you have not able to find the perfect fit yet with the buds.

      Everyone's ears are different and fit is the biggest part of headphones especially when being used to train or run so this being said we would love to help you get a perfect fit. We have some more ear tip options and fit suggestions that can help. Please reach out to jaybirdlistens@jaybirdsport.com and we will do what we can to help improve your experience and fit.

      ----------
      #poweryourpassion
      The Jaybird Sports Experience Team
      If we've solved your issue, we'd appreciate an update to your review. jaybird