Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

KitchenAid - 30" Electric Cooktop - Black-Front_Standard

KitchenAid - 30" Electric Cooktop - Black

Model: KCED600GBLSKU: 5855101

Customer rating

Rating 4 out of 5 stars with 14 reviews

  • 30%
79%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-14 of 14 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice replacement for old Jenn-Air

    Posted
    Paul
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Got this one to replace 20 year old Jenn-Air and needed downdraft cooktop. Learned from other reviews that the glass gets scratched so I also considered other two brands that make downdraft cooktops but ultimately decided to go with this one to reduce the risk of not fitting into the existing opening or the connection to the existing air vent. Went with the all black model (without stainless steel covers along the long side) and nearly regretted about it because old cooktop had larger overlapping over the opening and installing the new one so that you don't see the holes in the granite was a challenge. The stainless steel option would be easier in this way. The glass indeed gets lightly scratched by the pans. Not a drama but it looses its pristine look. Overall it is a nice replacement for the old Jenn-Air but keep in mind the slight difference in sizes between the all-black and stainless steel models.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Biggest disappointment if the suite

    Posted
    JDSmith
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    First impression is a great looking piece, and options are limited if your need the 30" with a downdraft. We bought the gas model first, but it was awful, unable to keep burners on with the vent running (flames sucked down the vent causing constant relight). Second impression, I noticed all of the stick on decorative rings under the knobs are crooked, off-center. All of them. We cook often in our home, 3-5 nights a week. One month in, surface is stained and I have yet to be able to remove rings, spots, drops on the surface. The cooktop literally says "Even" cooking, yet the big burner will scorch on one side of your pan. Vent works very well, all things considered, but my one month old $1700 appliance looks aged about 4 years already. all other burners are par for the course for something a third of the cost. Would not recommend.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Hello JDSmith, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the concerns with your Cooktop and would like to look further into this for you. Please feel free to reach out to us directly 1-800-422-1230, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KitchenAid or Twitter @KitchenAidCare. We look forward to speaking with you. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Scratches very easily with normal use

    Posted
    Dennis
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I am really sorry I replaced my cook-top with this one. My previous cook-top went 20 years without scratching and this Kitchenaid cook-top is all scratched up after a few uses and less than a month of ownership. Absolutely ridiculous that they would put out a product that can't take normal use without getting scratched.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Dennis- At Kitchenaid, we are constantly working to improve our appliances and our service, and it is only through feedback from customers like yourself that we are able to do so. We have documented all of the concerns you have mentioned, for review by our managers and engineers. Our managers and engineers do regularly review our files, to look for areas in which we can improve our products. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent product. Meets all of my expectations.

    Posted
    MimiSan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I replaced a 25 yr old Jennaire cooktop with the KitchenAid. It only took some minor adjustments for this cooktop to be installed. I am quite pleased with the overall preformace and function of the KitchenAid. The downdraft fan was an important feature. I am extremely satisfied with this product.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nice

    Posted
    Patti
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This is a very nice cooktop. I like the downdraft feature. Keeps strong cooking odors to a minimum. Heats evenly. Cleans up easily with cooktop cleaner. So far, so good. I'm happy.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Lasted 2 Months

    Posted
    Timothy

    We purchased this cooktop in April, and had it installed in early May. This past week (July 16) it died. Whirlpool (who apparently owns the brand) is sending someone out, but it'll be 5 days from now. In the meantime we can't cook. Very unhappy at the moment.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Timothy, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. If you have not had your issue resolved, please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@kitchenaid.com at your earliest convenience with your username (Timothy), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, KitchenAid Social Care KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Looks fabulous

    Posted
    Dawn
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    On a whim, we stopped in a Best Buy warehouse sale while out of state. We had been wanting a new cooktop with a downdraft to replace one from the 80’s. It looks fabulous in our kitchen!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love it

    Posted
    Lola
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Love this cooktop! heats super fast and evenly, cleaning is easy if you buy the recommended cleaning product otherwise it will show streaks, downdraft works well.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great non gas option.

    Posted
    JonfromTexas
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I would prefer cooking with gas, but this cook top is great. I really love the down draft exhaust system. The best thing is that all the controls are out of the way.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent product

    Posted
    SteveB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    We had to replace and old JennAir stovetop, and this was an excellent choice and much more affordable.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    nice cooktop for small spaces

    Posted
    JClag
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Great quality, not as impressed with downdraft fan as much as I thought, but everything else is great.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    kitchenaid stove top w/ downdraft

    Posted
    mc222
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    works very well... just needs getting used to settings compared to the old stovetop....

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nice cooktop!

    Posted
    CGran
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I am very happy with my new Kitchen Aid cooktop! Very even heat.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Absolutely Beautiful

    Posted
    Nick
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Love my new stove top. Works like a charm and looks amazing

    I would recommend this to a friend