Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

LG - 23.5 Cu. Ft. French InstaView Door-in-Door Counter-Depth Smart Wi-Fi Enabled Refrigerator - Stainless steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 319 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 319 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DO NOT BUY an LG refrigerator!!

    Posted
    madJulie

    I purchased an LG French door refrigerator model # LFX33975ST on 6/22/14. I paid $2263.94 for it. 6/ 4/18: The refrigerator and freezer stopped working. I called LG. They set up an appointment for 6/7/18 for a technician to come. All of our refrigerator contents were in coolers or garage refrigerators by this time. 6/7/18: An LG technician came and determined that the compressor needed to be replaced. He told me he had to order it. 6/12/18: An LG technician came and replaced compressor (8 days after the unit stopped working.) The new compressor did not cool the unit or completely freeze things in the freezer,, so I called again. LG set up an appointment for 6/18/18. 6/18/18 - Technician came on 6/18/18 and installed a second replacement compressor. 6/27/18: refrigerator and freezer and icemaker stopped working. I called and was told that there were not available technicians at the time but that someone would call me within 24-48 hours. I was told a dispatch team would call me. I asked to speak to a supervisor but was told that there was no way I could do so. I was told to call at 5:00 and ask for a supervisor. I was again not transferred to a supervisor. I spoke to April, who told me that, “since it is a reclaim, she will transfer me to the Reclaim Department to dispatch. She told me that the next available appointment would be 7/2/18 from 1-5 PM. 7/2/18 –I called LG and was told by Lara that the unit is now to be dealt with by the ‘reclaim department’ since we had reached our total allowable number of service visits 7/11/18 : LG came again to look at the unit 8/1/18: I called LG because refrigerator was making a loud rattling sound after the second replacement was installed. I also told them that the refrigerator and freezer and icemaker were not cooling/operating correctly. I was told that this noise was due to the new compressor. I was told there is a 30-day service warranty on the repair. 8/2/18: I called LG to set up a service appointment. There were no appointments available. 8/8/18 – The unit was still not working correctly. I called LG and was told someone would call me back. Nobody called back. 8/13/18 : I called LG because the refrigerator was not cooling and the freezer was not freezing and ice maker had stopped working after the second replacement compressor was installed. I was told by John, a supervisor, that the case had ben sent to the service manager and our unit is considered “LG Out of Warranty”. He said he could see all of the documentation of what has happened with our unit. He said there is a limit of 4 work orders and then LG understands that the customer doesn’t want to keep repairing the unit. He said he would send our case to a Service Manager and for proper resolution. He said that LG “may buy the unit back”. He also said that they offer a “100% guarantee that they will do what the customer expects” and that a case manager would contact me within 1-2 business days.” I told him I wanted a refund and that I do not want another LG product. 9/11/18 –Called LG and was told by Chloe that a Service Manager would call me within 1-2 business days. She said ‘a defective return authorization” was needed and there were no available technicians at the time. She said that that someone needs to declare that it is “unrepairable” and that ‘it is a “Reclaim.’ She said a technician would call me before 4PM that day. Nobody called. 9/13/18 – I called because I never received a call back from LG. I called and was told by Mia that the case was already sent to a ‘special department” and that I should receive a call back within 24-48 hours. 9/19/18 I called because I never received a call back from a technician. Is poke to Mia who transferred my to Terry (the Supervisor of Executive Services). I was told by Terry that the executive department would provide “a resolution or repair.” Terry stated that he would send a request for availability for someone to come to our house to deem the unit unrepairable.. He said that the most recent repair is covered under warranty for 90 days and that our unit is out of warranty and qualifies for a “reclaim”. He told me that “reclaim” means that they will give me a 15% rebate off the purchase of a new LG refrigerator. He then said that he is doing a ‘courtesy reclaim” which he said means that they will come and look again at the unit. If they come again, he said the technician would have to declare the unit ‘unrepairable’ . He said that this is the only possible resolution to the problem. They will only offer a 15% rebate off of a new LG refrigerator. I told him that I do not want another LG refrigerator and that I want a full refund. 9/26/18: Currently, the icemaker does not work and the refrigerator and freezer are not operating effectively.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    What a great refrigerator!

    Posted
    PowerOf10
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Having to choose a counter-depth refrigerator really limited our options, but this one exceeded my expectations. On the exterior, the silver stainless steel looks so clean and smooth. I think it's supposed to be fingerprint resistant, but you'll notice little smudge marks start to appear after some use. Not a big deal and easy to clean. Also, the exterior will NOT hold magnets. So our fridge went from being filled with magnets and hanging things up to nothing on it. Again, not a big deal. The water and ice maker are located on the left door (if facing the front) and seem to have better quality then most water/ice makers i've used on fridges before. No plastic-feeling levers to push on. They feel pretty solid. The see-through window is nice and is tinted a bit to keep what's behind it not overly visible. The two-knock feature is cool to have, where it lights up inside to show you what you have. You have to knock somewhat hard, though, and in quick succession. The options and settings are all embedded buttons below the water/ice maker. The ice style (cubed or crushed) remains lit up, but the others will turn off after not being used for so many seconds. That can make it difficult to change a setting in the dark, but just run your finger over a button and they all light up again. Inside, the LED lighting really lights up the fridge. It's a very bright, white color along both sides and looks real nice. There's plenty of room to store items in. There's 3 bins plus a pull-out drawer that you can choose one of three selections to describe the food in it that will set the appropriate temperature. Also, the ice maker takes up very little room inside. LG calls it a slim design something and they're right. It doesn't take away from your inside storage at all. Also, the ice it makes is smaller cubes than you'd normally find and we love it. Apparently LG has their own sized iced cubes that are a bit shorter width-wise, but it's a good thing. There's an air filter inside to keep foods fresh and is very easy to access if it needs changed. Same thing goes for the water filter.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love it despite some minor annoyances

    Posted
    Speedshots
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Was drawn to this model for its high tech design and counter depth dimensions. Love having the door-in-door. Lots of bright LED lighting allows for great visibility throughout. It truly is a showpiece. Some things to be aware of... The interior seems to be much bigger than our older counter depth Kitchenaid. And for good reason. This LG is almost two inches deeper than the Kitchenaid we are replacing. So even though this is labeled counter depth, just know that it will extend out further than you may have expected. Know your dimensions. At first, I loved the idea of having three drawers for fruits and vegetables. Most refrigerators have only two. But having three results in smaller drawers, and much to my dismay, a celery stalk does not fit. Not a show stopper, just a minor annoyance. Another feature that influenced my purchase was the wi-fi capabilities and its connection to Amazon's Alexa. Setup of the wi-fi via smartphone was challenging but after a couple of tries, was successful. Unfortunately, there are very limited features that you gain by accessing this LG refrigerator via your smartphone. I would have thought that maybe I would be able to check the temp of the cooling or freezer compartments. Nope. Was hoping that I would get a notification on my cell phone if I left the door partially open. Nope. The only active function that the smartphone app provides is to tell me what the temp settings are and also allows me to make changes to those settings. There is also a function that will show you how many times the door has been opened and how it is doing from an efficiency standpoint. That is useful info, but much more control could have been built into the app. All in all, we love our new refrigerator and would buy it again if we had to do it over. Am hoping that we will see additional features added to the smartphone app over time.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Partial opening right door hack.

    Posted
    KOLY
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Well I wish I would have read the reviews prior to purchase. First I was shocked that the right hand door did not open all the way. So you needed to open both to get most items in. This also required you holding the right door with your shoulder. This would pop open the interior door. Very annoying. Secondly the compressor went out 2 days before the warranty was up. Usually this works in the opposite direction. When the technician came out I explained my disappointment in the door setup. He showed me where the door stop was on the bottom side of the hinge. I was able to take a dremel with a grinding disc and shave back the tooth. This made it better but not what i wanted. I proceeded to dremel off pieces of plastic on the top and bottom of door and cabinet. This is really not noticeable at all and I now have full functionality of the unit. You will want to slightly raise the left side of the unit to prevent the right door auto close feature. This now works as intended. We'll see how long this compressor lasts! I understand around a $500 repair.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Hopeful reliability issues are resolved

    Posted
    SWong

    Our household just acquired the LSFXC2496D french door refrigerator and so far it is performing to our satisfaction. My immediate concern being reliability issues with all LG refrigerators using their "linear compressor" technology which are failing at very alarming rates. Other concern is the refrigerator compartment will not go any lower than 28 degrees fahrenheit no matter how low you adjust the temperature via the membrane pad. Freezer compartment on the other hand is adjustable in temperature as validated by using a thermometer. My finally concern is LG will not provide either service manuals or part numbers for any of the components with their refrigerators. This is a extremely expensive appliance and after the warranty runs out I want to be able to source replacement parts to replace myself. This is a refrigerator LG...we are not attempting to send a man to the moon so fix this if you want better reviews. If LG monitors all these reviews they will see that the weakest link is still their "sealed system" along with their linear compressor which still to this day are failing at very alarming rates

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Enjoyable counter depth refrigerator

    Posted
    Computim
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Being limited to a counter depth refrigerator typically means a limit on features. This refrigerator for our use has met our expectations for features and functionality. Our previous 5 year old GE Profile machine was a frustrating refrigerator from the onset and we expected this counter depth to be the same. We have been pleasantly surprised at how well our items fit the adjustable shelves, and the humidity control for better produce life. The refrigerator is much quieter than our previous unit and one of the biggest plus side for us is the ice maker. The LG unit makes ice quickly and dispensing with no issues. We are getting used to the french door style verses the side by side. We love the color and the quick access door. The led lighting is bright and inviting throughout the inside. A couple thoughts that could be improved is the dashboard panel lettering is difficult to see without it being lit up. I wish it had an option to have the light lit up in a soft mode in order to read the various dashboard options. The other is the ability to display the actual temperature verses the temperature setting. I'd like to see the temperature that is chosen and the actual temperature of the inside.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice unit, one glaring issue (solved in my review)

    Posted
    Glen
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I just got this fridge. Like everything about it so far. With one glaring exception: there is no place for a tall bottle to stand up in it. Actually, if you are willing to modify it slightly there IS a place. To get it: 1. Remove the middle shelf-bin from the Instaview door. 2. Replace it with a piece of white ABS plastic, that you configure to ‘insert’ into the existing shelf supports. Now you have a narrower middle shelf.... and plenty of room for that magnum of champagne you just opened to be placed on the lower shelf and stay nice and cold without spilling. You can fit two to three tall bottles in that space, and plenty of shorter bottles behind them under the newly-configured middle shelf. I do advise with this mod that you tape the internal door to the instaview closed, so the stuff does not fall out the back accidentally.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Happy with it so far...2 months

    Posted
    TripleScoop
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We purchased the black stainless; love the fiinish of it. It has black metal sides and black stainless front. I would like it if the display showed the time. the knock knock door has been more handy than i expected. I figured it'd just be a show piece but we actually use it...Surprisingly. Inside the fridge there are three small drawers and one long drawer. to be able to open the middle small drawer you have to have both doors open...this seems like a hassle and inconvenience because that is where i keep the cheeses...and it may actually say dairy idk. the lights inside are nice and the freezer is plenty spacious for us. the top drawer in the freezer will hold my baking sheet which works out nice when i patty and freeze sausage or anything that's on a baking sheet that needs freezing. Fingerprint wise---seems to do really good with resisting. the ice maker part easily fits my yeti cup underneath and the ice cubes are small enough that they easily go into our stainless bottles...the ones with the smaller opening....my other "old" fridge's cubes didn't fit well. Overall, I am happy we spent the money and hope this lasts for as long as our old one did. Oh, fitting a coke bottle....yeah, it don't fit well. you have to slide the shelf back and still the bottle fits tilted. you would need to remove the shelf if you had a tall pitcher or 2 liter you needed chilled.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Meets our needs

    Posted
    momandteacher
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I was worried that there wouldn't be enough room for our food but there is. We can fit 1/2 gallons of milk in the door, but a 2 liter has to lay on its side. Maybe room for one salad dressing and a few condiments. Whipped cream fits in the door as do beer/pop bottles. We use Weiman cleaner and it shines nicely. We have 4 in our family who are big water drinkers and availability of ice is not a problem. The only problem is with the ice/water dispenser. 1st, it's unattractive. 2nd, it's sort of shaped like human anatomy, which makes me wonder if it was an inside joke. 3rd, EVERY person who uses it for the first time splashes themselves. It squirts over the tray and onto the floor or yourself. I have to pay attention when I'm filling the coffee carafe because the space between the fridge and dispenser is so minimal that the thick edge of the carafe will hit the water and splash me if I'm not careful. The other con is trying to level this thing. NOT easy. We do use the outer door a lot so I'm glad we chose this one.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Fantastic Fridge!!

    Posted
    brambo2017
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    My wife and I spent a lot of time researching fridges before making our purchase. We initially looking for a Whirlpool to go with the rest of the appliances in our new home and realized quickly that in the counter-depth there weren't a lot of options. We found that for the price, the LG offered the highest quality for the price (drawers open/close smoothly, shelves felt more sturdy, and freezer door felt the most stable). The "knock twice" functionality is likely more of a novelty than anything else. When we have it full of drinks/condiments you can't really see what's in the fridge itself. But, it's been a great conversation piece when we've had company over. After about a month of heavy use, we have had no issues. I would highly recommend this fridge!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    So far our best refrigerator ever!

    Posted
    ladybug
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Really debated on the "knock knock" feature - everyone told me I'd get tired of it. NOT! It's fun, and it looks awesome on the front of the refrigerator. We put milk, iced tea and soda mostly in the front door, and it's nice not to have to open the whole refrigerator to retrieve those items. So far it's working great, and we are very pleased. We bought the "counter depth" which does decrease the drawer space, but there are only two of us, so it's plenty of room. And as far as the freezer, it has enough room also. The "counter depth" is also nice for us as we have a very small kitchen, and the refrigerator takes up less room than the larger one we had.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best new frig

    Posted
    BBrhino
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    After 30 years our old GE stopped making ice. So we spent a year looking for a suitable replacement. We had a problem that the space the old frig was in was not easily expanded. So we had to narrow our search to a counter depth. We love the ice and water on the door and the door in door option. Checking consumer reports and Googling french door refrigerators i ended up at the Best Buy site. Best surprise was that they had it on sale. We went to the store and looked at all the french door refrigerators and decided on this model, had the features we wanted, fit the space, and we were able to delay the delivery so we had time to prepare. The Best Buy delivery, instalation team was great. They handled every challenge professionally and courtious. They installed the new water hookup line and moved the old GE to the garage, yes it still works. Great product, great service, great experience.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Big Upgrade for Us

    Posted
    Baco
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Our old refrigerator lasted 16 years and finally gave up. I saw this unit in the store and at first thought it was a little bit gimmicky. When I went back with my wife I purposely didn't show her this because she is not a big fan of technology in the kitchen. As we went our separate ways she yelled "I found it" and she was in front of the "knock knock" fringe. She liked the see through part but was more impressed with the door in a door feature. We have had it home now for almost a month and I can say I've used the door in a door feature almost every day. Grabbing small items like soda and milk without opening the whole door. I have showed the kids they can knock to see where before they would open and browse (and eventually freeze the veggies). I also like the freezer on bottom. Much better use of space for us. We are really happy with this purchase so far.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love this refrigerator

    Posted
    Bert
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I've had this refrigerator for about 3 weeks and I absolutely love it. The counter depth size matched well with the space available for it. The door in door feature is very nice, and handy for items that I grab frequently. The icemaker and water dispenser work great and I have no issues with the taste. The glide and serve drawer is extra convenient because you can store meat or produce and select the climate. The freezer section is very spacious, and the digital temperature settings let you know what temperature is being maintained. I chose the black stainless steel due to my having regular stainless before and I was always cleaning it. So far the most I've done is, wipe the area by the ice dispenser slightly with a damp cloth and removed smudges.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Refrigerator

    Posted
    VinL
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    We needed a new refrigerator for the condo we were moving into and it had to be counter depth. Best Buy is my go-to for open box items and they did not disappoint. Got this for almost half the original price just for some minor (to me) cosmetic damage. Best Buy delivered it on time and the install went well. The refrigerator works great and we are loving the door in door feature and a lot of the features as well. There is ample room for what we need.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very Bad Performance and Reliability

    Posted
    DVONG
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Bought this fridge in April 2017, it was running great for the first 5 months, then in November the compressor died. Called LG to have it serviced. It took them 35 days to have a service man come out and replace the broken compressor. 10 days after the repair man came, the compressor died again. Contacted Best Buy Customer Service to report that they sold me a lemon, but haven't heard anything back from them. This all happened during Thanksgiving and Christmas, which is probably the worst time for a refrigerator to give out.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Refrigerator

    Posted
    JuleMK
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We really like this refrigerator. The counter depth size doesn’t bother us as that is what it replaced. We had a side by side and our freezer never seemed to have space due to the large ice maker. This freezer works for us. The refrigerator also works for us. We have been playing around with how best to store things since we’ve never had French door style. The accessible shelves and knock to view works for our sodas and juice. We have had it for about 3 weeks. The ice maker is so much quieter than our other refrigerator. Directions say to dump the first two batches of ice. Never heard it make ice so didn’t know it was making ice. Love that our magnets hang on the side. Love the color. Also love how easy it is to move. Much easier than old one.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Top of the Line for a Reason

    Posted
    JayC
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    This is a great refrigerator. Well lighted, plenty of refrigerator space with adjustable shelves. The feature that allows one to open the outer door that has plenty of storage space without actually opening the refrigerator is very handy and also well lighted when open. The lower freezer section is plenty large ,allowing one to have different types of frozen goods that can be arranged or separated in different sections. This refrigerator is counter depth and still has a large capacity for foods and frozen goods. The frosting on this cake is that it is a very stylish appliance. We have received a number of compliments on this appliance. Wait for a major sale and you can cut down substantially on the price.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Who knew a window would be nice in a refrig?

    Posted
    mom23girls
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We have limited space in out kitchen and so the refrigerator had to be a specific size ... LG InstaView is just the right size. Didn't think we needed a window on the refrigerator - but it actually a nice feature. We especially love that just that door opens and we can just get the milk etc without opening the whole thing. Also love the ice/water on the door. Overall very happy with our purchase. Just a couple of thing that I wish they did differently .... the big slide and serve draw - I wish was in 2 so that you didn't have to open both door to access it. Also there is a shelf in the door on the bottom right that we have yet to figure out what could possible fit in it! Over all very happy with our purchase - nice a quiet too!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    So far, so good

    Posted
    Randevous
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    So far, so good. I have noticed my manual thermometer constantly reads 2-4 degrees warmer than the LG setting, but nothing I can’t look past. As an owner of previous version of this fridge, didn’t like the print on the water / ice dispenser as it rubs off with use. The see through door-in-door looks good and is nice conversation starter when we have company, but now feels more like a gimmick and we are more aware of what drinks we put in the door as they become a part of your kitchen decor (even when light inside is off). Glad we went with counter depth, more room in kitchen.

    I would recommend this to a friend