Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

LG - 28.8 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 200 reviews

92%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 200 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Waste of $

    Posted
    Daysi

    Ultimately, we owned this fridge 4.5 years before it completely died. Not even their LG techs could fix it, despite replacing literally every mechanical part of the whole fridge. The first few years were ok--we really liked the fridge. Despite having about a repair per year, those repairs were covered under warranty. Phone calls to LG support were always several hours and the repairs were sometimes major replacements of defective parts. Though annoying, it was ok at first because they replaced the parts under warranty which fixed the fridge. However, now my fridge and freezer both stopped working entirely and despite calling many local repairmen, I was told by most that they no longer repair LG brands because the parts are so difficult to get. So, we had little choice but to purchase an extended warranty plan to have our fridge repaired by an LG technician. It cost $450 and took the tech 3 days before they could come. The first time, they replaced the compressor and the condenser over about six hours of time, with no luck. Very long story short, it has been ONE FULL MONTH without a functioning fridge or freezer --many repairs later they FINALLY declared that it is not repairable. Despite me begging them over the phone to please just help us get a fridge that works because we have a baby and large family who need a fridge, we were given a complete runaround rather than any valid help. I spent well over 20 hours on the phone and about that many at home while the repair tech "fixed" our fridge. They pushed the repairs out as long as possible and had parts on back order, seemingly just to wear us down so we would give in and buy ourselves a new fridge. The politics of their customer service are completely ridiculous, all designed to just wear you down. I thought with the warranty that we would FINALLY either get a new fridge out of the deal or at least a fair payment but we were only offered $350! In other words, WE PAID THEM to lead us on and drive us crazy for a month with no results as we borrowed freezer space from neighbors. We've all lost weight through the ordeal since we're not eating normally and I hope nobody ever has to go through what we've been through this last month! Don't waste your time on LG!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Beware

    Posted
    Olya
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We bought this fridge on 1/25/17. It worked fine for a year until the compressor decided to fail on 2/22/18, a month after the manufacturer’s warranty has expired. At the time of the purchase, we also bought a 5 year warranty with the Geek Squad. Even with the warranty, we were without a fridge for 4 weeks! Geek Squad themselves hire a third party contractor called “A&E”, which comes out to identify the problem and do the repair. "A&E" (somehow affiliated with SEARS) is the most unprofessional company we have ever dealt with. We reported the problem to Geek Squad on 2/23/18. They sent a technician to identify the problem on 2/26/18, who identifies the problem to be a failed compressor. The tech said that since the parts are still covered under LG , an authorization number needs to be obtained from LG. Five days later, after we consistently called, the compressor was authorized by LG. " A&E" said that they need to send their tech out again, so that he can order the compressor from our residence, even though they already had all of the information needed in order to order the part. The earliest they had available was 3/6/18. Keep in mind that they call the day before to give you an 8 to 5 window and they are supposed to call on the day of the visit with a two-hour window. So, my husband takes another day off to wait for them, to only find out in the morning that the technician is sick and they don’t have anyone else to replace him, so they will not come out on 3/8/18 instead. The tech came on 3/8/18 without giving any courtesy calls with a two-hour window, ordered the parts to be delivered to our address and scheduled the earliest appointment for installation on 3/20/18. So, we were without a fridge from Feb. 22 to March 20. A very frustrating experience working with their contractor! Also, this is unacceptable for a such an expensive LG item to only work for such a short period of time!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      LGAnswers

      Thanks so much for the excellent review. Such detailed information really helps our R&D team understand our customers and what it takes to make you happy. We greatly appreciate the feedback and we are sorry the refrigerator did not meet your expectations. ^CP LG

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Spacious 28.8 Cu. Ft.

    Posted
    DonB
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Had to wait a few months in order to write an appropriate review. Noise Level: An issue that was often raised in other reviews pertained to the noise level. Yes... it does seem to run regularly but I do believe that it is more efficient in terms of energy usage. The sound of it running will only irritate you if you let it. I hardly notice it anymore and it is less than 20 feet from where I sit to watch TV. For me... this turns out not to be a big issue. Ice Makers: This refrigerator comes with two ice makers. One in the door and one in the lower freezer. You can turn the one in the freezer off and not use it if you decide you want more storage space. However, depending on how much ice you use during the day, you will need to decide if the ice maker in the door will make enough ice for you. Because I live in Florida and enjoy sporting activities, I find myself filling a huge thermos cup with ice and water to help keep cool and hydrated. As a result, I do utilize the lower ice maker. Interior Space: With only two people in this household, my first thought was this was too big of a refrigerator. However, we decided to make about 1/4 of the space store small bottles of wine, canned soda and bottled water. This has worked out well. Otherwise, the next size down would have worked out just was well. Bin Storage: There seems to be plenty of room for storage in the drawers/bins provided. The three drawers hold quite a bit. Only negative is that you have to open both doors to access the center drawer. Overall, I believe we are very pleased with how this refrigerator has worked out for us.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Super Nice; But, Ice Maker Trouble

    Posted
    4BestBuy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    1. Positive - The fridge holds lots of food. Two of the right door shelves are large enough to hold 2 gallons each. 2. Positive - The left door shelves are great for holding condiments. 3. Positive - Has a second ice maker in the freezer, which has routinely come in handy for large gatherings. 4. Positive - The drawer freezer has been a huge plus. We previously had a side-by-side, and food would just slide out when you opened the door. With this fridge, that problem is gone. 5. Negative - It comes with a gee-wiz shelf where part of it can slide under, opening more room in the front for exceptionally tall items even if the shelf itself is setup for tall items (2-liter, grape juice, etc...). However, to accommodate this feature, there's a bar under the shelf taking up an extra couple of inches, actually making the bottom shelf have less space, when you aren't using the feature. It's truly annoying. 6. Main Negative - The ice maker seems to sporadically have a problem not being able to tell when there is or isn't ice. It will mistakenly believe there is ice and will just stop producing any. There appears to be some metal plates near the top, and ice sticks to them. Usually, if I knock that ice off, it starts making ice again. On one occasion this didn't fix the issue, but the maker inexplicably began working again a few weeks later. It still works, and we haven't had the trouble for weeks, now. It happens about once every few months. Thankfully, the ice maker in the freezer has always worked and provided a viable backup for us, until we resolved the other.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    great except for noise.....

    Posted
    KittyKatty
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Purchased this to replace an aging but working side by side. Wasn't sure if I would like the french door style. Increased the size from our former refrigerator which seemed too small. I love this design/layout. I think we could have stayed at the same sq footage as old side-by-side. Oh well. It is very bright and light inside. Easy to store things as it has flexible options for setting up your space. I like that I can open either door by itself. It also has two ice makers. One on the top and a big one on the bottom in the freezer, which could also hold a bag of purchased ice if needed. It did take about a week to fill it up, though, so not sure if that was just the first time or all the time as we don't use a lot of ice on a daily basis. Temperature seems regulated and consistent. We notice a huge improvement on the longevity of the stored fruits and vegetables. Wasn't sure if I'd like the freezer and if I would "loose" items as they get packed in there. It does have three sections (one big one divided and one tray), so I can stage and manage what I need in the freezer for easy access (i.e. ice cream). The downside: It is noisy. Not sure why or what, but sometimes more than other times. I can hear it going and that was what I didn't like about the old refrigerator. This is not any less noisy that the 25 yr old frig. that was very loud in the end. And I wish this model was in the black stainless but it only came in the stainless, so it shows the finger prints.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Good for a year, but...

    Posted
    ArcticCajun

    Purchased this refrigerator new in November 2016. In April of 2018 the freezer started frosting up like someone had left the door open. We made a conscious effort to ensure it was closing properly and it continued to frost up. In May of 2018 (18 months after purchase) it quit cooling and freezing all together. Fortunately we bought an extended warranty and since we couldn't get anyone to come out to look at the unit for over 5 days, we will now be getting a new fridge. However, I will NOT buy LG again after hearing from 3 different service techs about how difficult it is to get parts for LG refrigerators. Unfortunately none of the units in this price point seem to be very reliable, so I will be getting one that is easier to get parts for and is more service friendly (Whirlpool). It is a crying shame that you pay upwards of $2000 for something that doesn't last two years, but that seems to be the case in many of the refrigerators in this price point. A word to the wise, look at reviews for these appliances from people who have owned them for over a year. Everyone is always happy with them after only a few weeks or months, but the long term reliability tells the tale....

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      LGAnswers

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. We take our consumer feedback into consideration for research, design, and growth opportunities. Please feel free to reconnect with us directly should you have any other questions or concerns via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook www.Facebook.com/LGSupportUSA ^CP LG

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Lousy customer Service and Insurance support

    Posted
    Frustrated
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    We purchased this model in August of last year, finally receiving delivery on Oct 15. On Oct 28, 2016, we started getting a readout on the front panel that said F dH. I spoke with LG on the 31st and was told that meant the freezer failed a defrost cycle. An authorized service technician came out and determined the compressor went out, not that it had an incomplete defrost cycle Subsequent to that, the service company was told by LG and the parts group that the compressor was not available nor could they tell me when one would be available. It's now November 30 and nothing has progressed, we are still without a refrigerator. I have made dozens of calls to LG and the insurance company that provides our extended warranty. We have been given case numbers and research numbers to reference but each time we call either the insurance comp[any and especially when we call LG, no one seems know what the problem is, I get passed along to many LG departments with no resolve. I now await a call from an LG supervisor. Meantime, both the insurance company and the service technician says this is an issue LG knows about and that they can't fix and they have not recognized the refrigerator needs to be replaced. My guess is this is a huge issue for LG that they don't want to resolve.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Everything I wanted and more!

    Posted
    Allisonanne04
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    First, I've been wanting to update my appliances for 3 years, during those 3 years I did research off and on. In November 2015 I did about 2 hours more of research before buying this refrigerator. Hands down the best big purchase I have made in a while. Luckily I got this on the Black Friday super sale, but I would probably pay full price for this fridge it is so good. I would say this one is similar to a lot of the French door Fridges but these are the reasons that it is #1 for me! 1. Dual Ice Maker... Highly recommend spending the extra money for dual ice makers. IF you want to fill up an ice chest, have parties, use a lot during the summer... the little guy has not run out yet, but definitely use all the bottom. 2. Water spout. I use refillable large water bottles on a daily basis. I can get my Nalgene under the ice maker perfectly and fill it up with water without having any troubles. It is amazing, and made my morning so much easier! 3. Huge capacity! We meal prep every Sunday for 3 adults. It can hold all of my containers plus extra little food. It takes some organization, but tons of space. 4. Adjustable shelves for bigger items! 5. Lighting is perfect. I can see everything! I will highly recommend this Refrigerator to anyone I know!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice Refrigerator but Overpriced

    Posted
    wheresthebeef
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The Good: Lots of room and functional storage on both doors. The water and ice dispenser on the door are excellent, the water actually spout is high and angled outward so that you can fill any size container. Dual ice makers are awesome, they really do produce ice very quickly and the ice bin in the freezer is large. The three produce drawers are a little wasteful with respect to space, but not too bad. The black exterior is not super glossy so it hides smudges and finger prints. Replacement water and air filters can be found online for about half the price of what LG charges. The linear compressor and circulation fan are relatively quite. The Bad: Black appliances have become more expensive than stainless steel and the price of this refrigerator is about $400 to $800 more expensive than he equivalent in stainless steel. The door seals on this black refrigerator are white, looks kind of stupid. Shelves are a bit cheap, the side rails on the movable shelf that allow you to slide half back to put in tall items are actually warped inward slightly from the weight of the shelf itself. Overall: Happy with the purchase. One thing to note is that the circulation fan runs frequently, I thought it was the compressor but it normal operation and simply part of the newer efficient design.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Awsome refrigerator

    Posted
    Thomas1217
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We bought this fridge (model#lfxs29626s) to replace our old one and are so happy we did. We have a large family and needed the 29cu with dual ice makers. The in door ice maker is a must. I can't believe this isn't an industry standard! It really increaes the amount of usable space. We have 7 boys and have yet to use all the ice. The door water and ice dispenser is nicely set up. Ice dispenses quickly and water dispenser can accommodate a pitcher. I use the door lock to keep kids out and it works well. The water and air filter are both nice features too. The inside is well lit and set up nicely. The adjustable shelves are nice and very spacious. We really love to the slide and serve tray it's real handy and fits a ton of stuff. Three vegetable drawers makes it a lot easier to separate things. Although we've only occasionally used it the second ice machine is very convenient. Having both the drawers able to slide out makes access to frozen goods excellent. The pizza storage will accommodate a large. The unit is surprisingly quite and cools quickly. The linear compressor refrigerates the freezer and refrigerator section separately ensuring stable temps. We couldn't be happier and I highly recommend this refrigerator!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Bit loud, but nice

    Posted
    Hvillian
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Old LG fridge that is 10 years old needed some slight maintenance, after I had a go at replacing a $10 part, found out that the part I broke replacing said part was no longer available to order (was the front tabs that broke off removing the ice dispenser) so just decided to use it as a fridge in the garage, so we ordered this one. Wanted French Doors (seems to be roomier, but it is 8cu ft bigger than old in the same footprint). Pros: Doesn't have that stupid door in door design. Seriously, is it that much better than just opening the door itself? I doubt it. Ice maker in fridge part takes up minimal space. Seems pretty roomy and configurable. Cons: Noisier than our old one, or maybe I am just noticing it more for some reason. Front through the door ice maker doesn't hold too much ice, reason we bought a dual ice maker. Deli drawer is so wide, both doors must be open to get anything. Kinda wish it was 2 separate drawers. Gallon pitchers in the doors are a bit of a tight fit height wise. Milk jugs are perfect.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Refrigerator, Could Be Better

    Posted
    BritLightning
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Functionally, this refrigerator works great. It has two ice-makers, one of which (in the freezer) can be switched off if you don't need the ice and want more storage space available for food. I love that is seems less prone to fingerprints than my previous stainless steel fridge. However, it is missing a couple of things that could make this better from an organizational point of view. My previous refrigerator had a narrow shelf just inside the freezer compartment that was great for storing small things such as cheese that would otherwise get buried else where in the freezer. I would also appreciate it if there was a shelf in the fridge that could be opened completely (on a hinge) to accommodate tall bottles. There is a shelf where the front half slides back over the back half so you can put taller bottles there, but that leaves you with unused or inaccessible storage space behind them. On the plus side, having an ice maker in the door frees up more storage space in the refrigerator itself.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great refrigerator- poor install

    Posted
    phoneguy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The refrigerator is great. dual ice makers, plenty of room . Install not so good. Had to have it replaced because the first install guys banged it on the way in and cut the water line on the back. Second install team did not hook the water line up all the way. They connected the line to the water inlet, but failed to secure the line to the fridge. There is a clip for the water line 6 inches above the inlet for a reason. The reason is so when you pull the fridge out to clean or if you drop something you are pulling the line at the secure point and not at the water connection. Doing this will lessen the chance of breaking at the fitting. I pulled the fridge out to line it up in the space better and found the leak and the missed step. Also there are feet in the front that need to be lowered so when you open the door you do not pull the refrigerator with you, again a missed step by the install team.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love this Refrigerator!

    Posted
    Bookworm
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We moved into a home with a 3-year-old side-by-side refrigerator that we greatly disliked. We spent about a year reading and researching different brands and styles of refrigerators and finally decided on this one. I could not be more pleased! It maintains a constant temperature in the main compartment without freezing items that are put in the back of a shelf. The produce bins do a beautiful job of keeping fruits and vegetables fresh for a long period of time. We have only had two or three instances where the ice dispenser did not work on demand and in each case, a simple shake of the ice bin in the door took care of the problem. Nothing I would even mention if other reviews hadn't brought it up. The freezer compartment holds a great number of items, far more than our old side-by-side freezer held, and organization is not a problem with the pull out drawer above the lower bins. Very satisfied with our purchase!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    LG LFXS29626B

    Posted
    Jakeyd
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    My first french door bottom freezer. A must is the dual ice maker, we entertain a lot but this beast is on point. Haven't run out yet, btw it has a turbo ice setting that will make 20% more in a 24/hr period. Finnish is beautiful, interior lighting is great. I had to remove a shelf to make more room for taller objects. Only complaint is that the doors can close very hard, almost slamming shut. But my final review is buy this thing for your self, your buddy, your mother-in-law, whether you like her or not, your boss, and your neighbor. that way you'll love it, your buddy will always buy your beer, your mother-in-law won't hassle you, your boss will make you CEO and your neighbor will mow your grass in the summer and snow blow your drive in the winter. It's that good!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Storage space is very organized

    Posted
    Fridgequeen
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I have had only a month and am very pleased. It replaced a 6 yr old Electrolux that had repair men visiting me monthly for the length of ownership. The first feature my family noticed was the brightness of the lighting inside, and the storage space was incredible. My old fridge had the same cubic feet but this plan was layed out much better. Easy to maneuver shelving. My kids like the new water dispenser because it's easier to fill bottles. It gets some getting used to but the new design is more convenient. I chose this model with the duel ice makers incase the door ice maker didn't work , I have a back up with the freezer ice maker. My repair men from the last fridge said door ice makers are a top repair item for them. After my past horrible experience with the Electrolux warranty, I purchased the GeekSquad protection. I have had great service from them in the past.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Very Nice Refridgerator

    Posted
    BYME
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Searched for 4 mo before making the purchase. Very nice in every way. Lot of room to grow. I searched for all negative reviews to understand and surmised that problem occurs if delivery handling is not done correctly. Wife is happy, just get some "Refridge Organizer" to better use all the open spaces. Found the height is incorrectly stated on most web site. The Correct one can be found on LG. It's 68 7/8 and not 68 3/8. I had to mod my cabinet trims little to have room for air circulation in the back. Best Buy sales person were much more helpful then other Box stores. I highly recommend this item to anyone looking instead of "door in door" model which restricts access after door opens.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Best Buy Customer Care

      Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review the LG - 28.8 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless Steel. We appreciate your concern and wanted to let you know that there was a mistake in the height for this refrigerator. The height that was listed was 68.38”, when in fact it is 68.88”. We have since corrected the error with the height listed and sincerely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused. We hold ourselves to higher standards than this and want to make sure we meet the expectations created by our product specifications in the future.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    My LG fridge is dead

    Posted
    Ipman

    My LG fridge purchased 6/2016 is now the biggest paper weight in my kitchen. It was very disappointing it stopped cooling after only 2 years. Called LG they provided contacts of service techs. After confirming the issue to be sealed system, warranty only covered parts not labor. I could not get any repair techs that wanted to perform the fix to even get a labor estimate. Four weeks without fridge!! Maybe I just got a bad fridge but reading other reviews with similar cooling issues? Never buy LG again!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      LGAnswers

      We are sorry to hear you had trouble getting your refrigerator repaired. We would be happy to look into your case to see how we can best assist. Please take a moment, at your convenience, to contact us directly via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook https://www.facebook.com/LGUSA/ or you can give us a call at 800-243-0000. ^CP LG

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Family Regrigerator

    Posted
    Technodad
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This LG replaced a 15 year old Kenmore Elite side-by-side that served us well. Even though we have fewer people in the home now with kids off working or at University, we decided to go a little larger and with French Doors. We like to entertain and do a lot of cooking at home. Even with 28.8 cu ft,, we seem to be able to fill this Fridge! But, the beauty of this LG is the lighting and the storage flexibility. Also, the second ice maker is fantastic if you entertain at all. I saw in several reviews that this unit was noisy. I find it to be very acceptable compared to our old Kenmore. One final note, we chose this over the Samsung model since the LG ice maker is in the door giving much more rop shelf room.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Loving it!

    Posted
    mcclainkb
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I had an LG fridge similar that went out due to a power surge and replaced it with this model. I love the small things they did to upgrade in the last few years. Easy open freezer door, extra large gallon space in the door... and the dual ice makers are a HUGE benefit as I found with the other model I was always running out of ice. The one thing the I don't care (both fridges did this) Where the water comes out of the door - it splashes onto the fridge door every time you get a glass of water. I haven't figured out a way to hold the glass so that I'm not constantly wiping little water dots of the door every time we get a drink.

    I would recommend this to a friend