Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Microsoft - Xbox 360 - 4GB with Kinect-Front_Standard

Microsoft - Xbox 360 - 4GB with Kinect

Model: S4G-00001SKU: 1162439

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 644 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 644 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Beware of Xbox Customer Service!

    Posted
    OceanJockey

    Let me tell you my horror story with Microsoft Xbox 360…. On October 2, 2010 I purchased the Xbox 360 S 250 GB Halo Reach Limited Edition Console bundle from Wal-Mart after selling my PlayStation 3 which I had since the day it was released in November of 2006, just so I could play Halo Reach as I’m a big fan of that particular game franchise and use to play in Halo 1 & 2 tournaments when I was in the US Navy sponsored by the Navy’s MWR department during deployments. Needless to say the initial gaming was great until December 21st, 2010 when I tried to sync my new Christmas presents which were a Halo Reach Wireless Headset and a Special Edition Wireless Controller to my console. I went through the instructions for both the Headset and the Controller and followed them to a the “T”, and the end result every time was that when I depressed the “Connect/IR” button on my console the Ring of Lights would not illuminate in the clockwise sequential order as they are suppose to when the console is searching for the accessories to sync with according to the instructions. Thus, I called Xbox Support on December 21, 2010 and the customer support representative (who was American) when through the troubleshooting hoops and ultimately the representative determined that the radio frequency board that is a part of the “Connect/IR” button was non-operational and that it needed to be sent in for repair. I agreed to the repair, and the representative sent me the UPS shipping label via email and told me that I had 30 days to send it in to the repair facility in Mesquite, Texas. I waited until after Christmas Holiday season and on January 4, 2011, I got my Halo Reach L.E. Xbox 360 S Console ready to send it in for repair and attached a word document it with the reason why it needed to be repaired along with a copy of my receipt from Wal-Mart to show that it was under warranty, drove down to my local UPS Store and had them package it up nicely so that it wouldn’t get damaged. I also took pictures of my console before I sent it, that way I could document the material condition just in case the Repair Facility workers accidently damage it or if UPS were to lose it or damage it. On January 11, 2011 I received an email from Xbox Customer Support giving my tracking number for the shipment of my console back to me, I went and checked it and my console was departing from Mexico. I thought to myself I could have sworn that I sent it to Mesquite, Texas and I checked the original shipment label and sure enough it showed Mesquite, Texas so why was my console sent to Mexico? I don’t know. Anyway I continued to follow the shipment of my console on UPS Quantum tracking system until it got back to my house on January 19th, I was on a business trip so I didn’t get a chance to open the package until January 22nd. I proceeded to setup my console and then try and sync my wireless headset and wireless controller, once again the “Connect / IR “ button on my console was not functional and (just to note, the material condition was superb still with no scratches or dings on the console) . I called up Xbox Customer Support again on January 22, 2011 and spoke with the customer support representative (from India), evidently there was a misunderstanding on the notes with my repair request as the technicians at the repair facility thought it was the controller and headset that were need of repair and not the console. Once again January 24, 2011 I had to send in my console to get repaired at the Mesquite, Texas repair facility. Then on February 3, 2011, I received another email from Xbox Customer Support showing me my new return UPS tracking number showing the departing place being Mexico once again, I received my console back on February 14, 2011. When I opened up the package I checked the material condition of my console and just my luck there were two nice size scratches on the silver paint of the faceplate one on each side where the chrome trim, I was not happy needless to say. I went ahead and setup the console and once again the radio frequency board was not replaced as the “Connect / IR “ button was still non-operational when trying to sync my wireless headset and controller. I called up Xbox Customer support and this time I spoke with a Tier 1.5 Supervisor her name was Irene (from India) she proceeded to state to me that being my console was not repaired properly the last two times I sent it to the Mesquite, Texas repair facility and that it now has scratches on the paint of the faceplate that she was going to authorize a request to have my console replaced with a refurbished Xbox 360 S Halo Reach Limited Edition Console. I went ahead and once again put my faith in Microsoft and sent my console on February 15th, 2011 back to their repair facility in Mesquite, Texas to be replaced. On February 25, 2011, I received an email from Xbox Customer Support showing me my new return UPS tracking number and once again it came back from Mexico on March 4, 2011. I opened up the package and they did not replace my console as Supervisor Irene told me that they would. This time my blood was boiling… I called up on March 5, 2011 and got a hold of another Tier 1.5 Supervisor his name was Jethro (from India) he proceeded to state to me that he had no clue as to why my console was not replaced and he had no ability to call or email or instant message the repair facility in Mesquite, Texas to find out what in the world was their problem and following simple instructions to fully resolve this situation. So Jethro told me that he would authorize a “Advanced Exchange” of my replacement console, meaning they would and I quote “send me a refurbished Halo Reach Limited Console, and when I received it, I was to repackage my Halo Reach Limited Console and send it back. However for this to happen this type of exchange had to be approved by the Tier 3 Supervisors in the Escalation Department at Xbox Customer Support and that I would receive a call within 24-48 hours from them to talk about the situation and get this whole problem resolved. I didn’t hear back from the Tier 3 Supervisors within the 48 hour timeframe, so I called up Xbox Customer Support on March 9, 2011. I spoke with a Tier 1.5 Supervisor by the name of Tina (an American) she was knowledgeable and went through all of my notes on my account and was able to Instant Message a Tier 2 supervisor and found out that the Tier 3 Escalation Department Supervisors were swapped with these types of requests and are running about 8-10 days behind. Tina told me that she was going to “Red Flag” my service request which would raise my priority level to have my service request reviewed faster and that I would hear from a Tier 3 Supervisor within 48 hours. Today is March 18th, and I still have not heard back from a Supervisor in the Escalation Department. So I went ahead and called Xbox Customer Support and spoke with a customer service representative by the name of Jake (from India). He went on to tell me that there had been a Tier 3 Supervisor assigned to my service request for an “Advanced Exchange”, and that I needed to wait another 24-48 hours to get a phone call from a Tier 3 Supervisor with the Escalation Department. At this point, I don’t expect Microsoft to live up to their end of the warranty agreement and have my situation resolved to my satisfaction. However, I hope that my story educates prospective buyers enough to make the right decision.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Entry Level 360 with Kinect

    Posted
    EDCV

    As the release of Kinect gets closer and closer, so do the games look better and better. And for anyone interested in getting truly physically active with their games, Kinect is the way to go. This Bundle is $50 cheaper than buying the 4GB 360 System and Kinect separately. That's some pretty good savings right out of the gate. If you're in the market for a 360 and plan to get Kinect, your best bet savings-wise is to wait until its November 2010 release. The 360 itself already has a solid games library, no question. And every Kinect game will be exclusive to the 360. For launch, check out Your Shape Fitness Evolved, Dance Central and Kinect Sports. While Kinect Sports may be the "Wii Sports" of the 360, you'll be getting a considerable graphical and "controller" upgrade - considering that YOU are the controller. The comparison is hardly appropriate, however, as watching any video of the game in action attests - you get a REAL workout with Kinect, as opposed to wagging your hands everywhere. The only downside to this Bundle is the storage capacity, and the consequence of that. 4GB is perfect for a couple downloadable items off XBOX Live and storing your Gamer Profiles and Save Games, but it's not quite good enough to install any games onto the system itself, which would speed up the loading process of games. The consequence is that the system will need to access and spin the game disc during play, as opposed to loading it from a hard drive. The good news, however, is that you can buy a hard drive addition at some point. Presently, there is only one size choice: 250GB at $129.99. If you plan on going the 250GB route someday, you may just want to put away an extra $100 now and get the 250GB Kinect Bundle at $399.99. If you upgrade later, you'll end up spending $30 more overall. Also, be advised that the 4GB 360 System has a matte finish, whereas the 250GB 360 System has a shiny black finish. The latter is prone to fingerprints and smudges, this one is not. Whether that factors into your decision is up to you.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Fantastic Entertainment System

    Posted
    Dams

    XBOX 360 with Kinect is great fun for the whole family even for this one who has never owned a console or does not play PC games. I typically don't play games, my wife cannot stand them normally and our nearly 3-year old boy had got limited exposure to PCs other than for few online educational programs. After a very easy setup in our family room (we have to push a coffee table a bit but nothing major, no space issue here), my son and I were having fun (and exercise) within 10min on the raft mini-game in Kinect Adventures, and it was only the beginning (well, we gave ourselves a 45min max limit). Since he is not used to controllers or mouse/krackpad & keyboards, I was curious how he would fair with Kinect: within 1min, he 'got it' and after 1hour of ,playtime, he can even navigate the menus, with a little hand sometimes and he LOVES Kinectanimals we got separately. Simply revolutionary. And my wife - who had been game adverse forever and would not touch a game controller with a 10-foot pole - took 2min to see how much fun we were having and jumped in the action. It looks like I will have to spend a little more on Dance Central and Shapes... By the way, even the basic games make for a very active experience - no slouching here. Also I am keen on trying Video Kinect which works with your friends on MSN/Windows Live Messenger... Great for the calls with the grand parents. Regarding the console, it is quiet, I like the touch sensitive power and eject buttons, the menus are easy to navigate, I love Zune, ESPN - which you could navigate with Kinect ala Minority Report - and Netflix access (we got a Gold Membership for XBOX Live) and very easy access to my PC pictures via the integrated Wireless.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    One fine fun and fantastic way to break a sweat!

    Posted
    Lilita

    The ONLY problem with this system is that developers aren't working quickly enough to get more games out... Or maybe they are and I am just impatient. We went to Best Buy with every intention of getting a Wii and walked out with the Xbox Kinect bundle and every game they had available at the store. And believe you me, we have no regrets. The Kinect adventured game that comes with the bundle will get your heart rate up because there's a fair amount of jumping; before you know it you've been playing for an hour, are sweaty and have burned who knows how many calories, but way more than if you'd spent that hour on the couch. The Dance Central game will also get you moving and striving for a better score. I've been doing Gaga's "poker face" song since we got the system and in a week have gone from a score of 65% good moves to 96%... Still not 100% though, and I refuse to move on to another song or another level of difficulty until I get that 100%... so, in other words, I'm dancing quite a bit and I have learned the song's lyrics by heart. The car racing game is a riot! OMG we love this one! But beware, your shoulders will hurt... but it's the good kind of ache. The Fit game is very cool, you see your image there inside the tv next to the cartoon character trainer... The trainer wears cuter clothes than me (but hers are fake, let's not forget that), and she manages to go thru the workouts without even messing up her pony tail while I end up on the floor gasping for air. This is a good thing. And the sports game is also tons of fun. We love love love the ping pong and the bowling games. I am in my 40s and my significant other is in his 50s and we are enjoying this as if we were kids. Do something good for yourself and get the Kinect. Have some fun!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    XBox 360 Kinect is the deal

    Posted
    DethBlosm

    The Kinect is a revolutionary piece of technology that I can't beliee we are using to play games with. Unlike the Wii or the new PS3 Motion, it uses and senses the whole body instead of a device. This has it's own caveats which I will get to later. But basically it translates well enough to play most games. Kinect Adventures is the game that's bundled and it gives a great example of what can be done. The Kinect sensor is placed at the base of the TV and you need plenty of room since you are using your body and position to control the avatar on the screen. 6 foot from the sensor is the minimum but 10 to 12 feet is ideal. You will also need same room to move left to right also. Go through the tutorial to calibrate and learn to use motion controlling. Then the fun starts. The Kinect, along with motion sensor is also a camera and a microphone so you can take pictures and also issue voice commands. On XBOX live you can even do video conferencing, which I have yet to try. The Kinect senses your torso, head, arms and legs well but not quite sensitive enough for fingers or rolling movements of the joints. It's excellent for Kinect Adventures which have several games the fits well with the Kinect such as an obstacle course, leak plugging, and dodgeball type games. I also got the Kinect sports and found games like bowling and ping pong it doesn't do so well with the pinpoint controls of rolling/twisting your wrists. But otherwise the control is very good. There is just a slight delay reaction so like most games you have to get use to the timing. Other issues, though minor, are that the sensor loses connection or gets confused when some other object moves in front of it, if we move too close or out of it's sensory zone. On other notes, I got the 4GB version as oppose to the 250 GB. I found out that I will not be able to play games that require space or add ons to games such as Halo and Age of Dragons. An expensive upgrade Hard disk is easy to install, though be careful of getting knock offs where you won't be able to use Xbox Live. The bundle also came with only one game controller. I highly getting the Kinect. There are titles coming that I would like to see using Kinect controlls but keep in mind it uses the whole body so, you can get physically tired after a few minutes of playing.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good game device, but serious money pit

    Posted
    tskirr
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The good and the bad. The good first... The XBOX is a "Great" gaming system. It has great graphics, easy to use functionality, and I really love the Kinect! In fact this was it's main selling point! My family was a Wii system owner until it broke down about 9 months ago. What we loved about the Wii was the "Getting into the action" it provided. But it's weakness is the XBOX strength! Full body action. What a wonderful thing. So as a gaming system I highly recommend it. But this brings us to the sad point of the system... Everything costs extra money on it. Unlike the PS3 and the Wii, if you are a Netflix viewer you have to pay XBOX for a GOLD membership just to watch your movies. Microsoft, this is really wrong and you should take note of this! There are a lot of families that will never go your route for this reason (the paying extra for everything). Which brings us to the next weak point. There are NOT a lot of good games for young audiences, and most are very violent, so another reason many families will continue supporting the Wii. Microsoft, Xbox, learn from Nintendo, bloody death games are not the only sellers. You have kept yourselves from a huge market by denying this and not being willing to delve into this market. Back to my earlier point, the Xbox Gold membership only gets you access to the cool features on Xbox, you still have to pay for them all individually, if you want them. ESPN, not a problem, if you want to pay some more. And so it goes with everything! Which is why I say it is a great money pit! For this reason, I do no recommend the XBOX as a gaming system. And for this reason I am sad I didn't wait a little longer for the new Wii system.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great product, fun for all

    Posted
    KZXten

    Although most would say the Kinect doesn't perform up to what they think it should, for a real time 'image grabber' and to processor this really works terrific! You have to get used to some of the delay but with anything of this nature there's going to be some give and take; you give on the price so you have to give on the noticable delay although once you're used to it things move along smoothly. This was a Christmas present of which every year we hual a Wii or Xbox with us to play "Rock Band" which ends up being a family moment while all the family gathers. This year with Kinect not as many people got to play at the same time but ended up being as much fun if not more so. My sister-in-law actually fell out on the floor laughing and she was a spectator! Quite literally! We own all three major systems and while the Wii still has its place the Xbox360 with Kinect gets you up and moving and is a fun addition and gets you up and moving. The new Xbox360 with the Kinect is a good deal, if you think about it the Kinect is $150 w/game and the wireless N connector (built in) is another $100 seperate that alone brings the system alone down to about $50; don't forget to add in the fact that it's a new design sounds quieter than the old one and has hopefully had the problems of the prior Xbox's engineered out it's really a good deal if you're looking for a system that has multimedia written all over it. There are only a couple things I can think of that are on the downside, one is that at the moment it does not work with Skype (that I know of...maybe there's a fix already or in the works), two I sure wish the hard drive wasn't backordered and so expensive but still worth the price for the savings on the whole system, three would be a little harder to see come the bear fruit but the 'BlueRay' would make this the ultimate package to get but since it's Sony and the rival...who knows might be a mod to make that work ;) You are always going to get 'fanboys' for any system out there but for the price, playability, and the fact it gets you up and moving so far without any cheats (come on now...I can still bowl on the Wii sitting down) it gets you up and moving around. Think about it, how much did you pay for your Logitech camera? This has a camera built in! Shoot if I could get Office to load on it (which you probably could) you've got the ultimate PC package for WAY less than what you'd go out and pay for a comparable PC package.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    fredd1urst

    I guess I'll have to buck the trend. A little background first. I bought this for my son to replace the Wii. I used to play video games as a kid back in the day when Atari 2600 with Space Invaders was the best thing out there, so this ain't my first rodeo. I'll skip all the typical stuff like it has great graphics which it does but thats all already been said. If you are considering this system then the only other thing you are comparing it to should be the PS3 which I don't have any experience with but really wish I had looked at closer. O.K. so here are all the problems you should know about before you buy this system. 1. 4GB is almost worthless, they shouldn't even sell this model because you can't play any games with high def content cause they don't have a enough space on the hard drive!!!!!! 2. The cool little on and off buttons seem cool at first touch but since they are so sensitive almost any time you get near them to move the console the system turns off or the disc door opens!! 3. HOT HOT HOT. The thing runs so hot my son said this will be an awesome hand warmer, enough said. 4. Fragile. We started taking the Wii with us on long trips to play in our van, it worked great. The Xbox not so much. If you go over a reasonably large bump in the road the disc jumps out of the disc tray and can't be read. And thats not the worst part. When the disc jumps out of the tray the system keeps running and grinds the disc againist something and cuts a groove in the disc so it can't be read. AWESOME!! Say bye bye to that $59.99 NCAA 2012 game!! 5. And the Kinect...REALLY. It is pretty lame. There is a little fun factor for the kids. Mostly for my 6 year old but thats about it. The thing is laggy and unresponsive. We tried it with Cabela's Big Game Hunting Party 2012 and it is un-playable it is so lame and laggy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great but not Perfect

    Posted
    amoghthegamer

    Its a great idea and definitely better than the Wii or the PS3 Move. It is a true revolution. One thing is my dad watches Netflix on my 360 and he always needs me to set it up. Well that is no longer the case! I bought this edition since I have some flash drives for extra storage but other might want to get the 250GB with Kinect instead for map packs and so on but for me its enough space. Keep in mind when it says you get 4GB, its really 3.1GB since you lose some space for the OS on the 360. Kinect itself is great, but not perfect. In gameplay its great never lagged or didn't get a command but in the other uses there was a problem. The mic did not calibrate correctly and anytime during a movie, I tried to pause it, it couldn't hear me over the sound so it took a little while to re-configure it. Another big Pro is wireless built in. FINALLY Microsoft includes it instead of charging another $100 for it! But the price is a disappointment. $300 for the basic 360 and the kinect? you save $50 but I think $250 would be a more fair selling point. Overall this is a great buy. If you own a Wii and like it, time to upgrade, if you dont own a Wii, still buy it. If you own an older 360, time to upgrade.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    The hottest Holiday gift, pre-order now!!!

    Posted
    Link2Past

    If you currently OWN an Xbox 360 and want to bring it to your living room and add Kinect to it, let me break down what it will cost you. Kinect = $150 Wifi (N) = $100 ----------------------------------- Total = $250 And you're still using your old 360 that is not really suited for the living room. Well, that is certainly an option. Or you can keep your 360 in your game room and purchase a brand new 360 Slim with Kinect bundle. And of course the new 360 includes Wifi (N) standard so you don't have a problem. And you keep your 360 so now you have 2 for only an extra $50! As far as more storage, you could just add a 16 GB USB drive for $20, If you need more than that, add another one. Compare this to the PS3 move which costs $400 for their Move bundle and it only includes ONE Wand for SINGLE PLAYER action. If you want to play 2 player Move games you need to spend an extra $80, $50 for the Wand and $30 for the dongle. That's $480 vs $300 and then you realize that Move is basically the same as a Wii mote. Why buy Move when you can get the original wii for $200 instead? Or you can get the future of gaming with Kinect for only $300, graphics and controls that are a true leap above the Wii.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Perfect for 2011

    Posted
    SupagreeN

    Ps3, Wii, Xbox 360, PC - they are all fantastic options. I bought xbox 360 because I like the ease of it, and the ability to play wirelessly with a controller or completely hands-free with kinect. This setup was perfect for my apartment for 3 reasons: -Technology(hands-free sensor, no red-ring, reliable console) -Efficiency(compact size, weight, doesn't get hot) -Features(tons of options in games, xbox live, and accessories) Whats not so good: -No web browser -Monthly subscription to play online I give it a 5/5 in every category because no matter how "good" graphics are nothing will ever beat real life. I can just go outside if I want flawless graphic interpolation, texture shading, and dynamic lighting. aka a day at the beach! This is a great solution if you want lots of game options(new and old), hand-free gaming, and peace of mind. My girlfriend never played games before kinect, but now she wont stop bowling - she even likes it more then going real bowling.. lol I recommend this to my friends, family, and those I meet daily. Also a thing to note- Microsoft & Best Buy's support was fantastic, both in their coverage of their product and policies(returns, exchanges, warranty). THANKS!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Produces a lot of heat but is otherwise fantastic

    Posted
    DPCPhoto
    • My Best Buy Premier Silver MemberElite Plus Member

    I bought this as a low-impact means to get some cardio exercising. Do keep the sensor 10' away. I live in an apartment, and for one person I've had no problems, but for 2-player simultaneous games, I'd have to rearrange the furniture in my apartment to eke out the extra space. Kinect Adventures is a nifty game that forces you to move. Unlike competitors with cute wireless controllers, you cannot cheat if you need to reach, duck, et cetera. Kinect Sports is another great game, for by and large the same reasons. You will work up a sweat and very easily, too. If you've kept a sedentary lifestyle, don't get gun-ho on games right away as you might injure yourself. It takes time to build up tolerance. And playing too much too soon wears out the "fun factor" far more quickly. If anything, this thing produces a lot of heat. Minimal effort was used for a cooling system, but I've gathered this newest version is better than the previous XBox 360 design in terms of heat dissipation. I did see a $25 add-on fan... if you keep your XBox 360 in tight quarters, get it. I will be. Oh, if you play lots of games, get the 250GB or 320GB hard drive as well - discs can be copied to it, which speeds up loading time and reduces wear on the disc drive (but the game disc still needs to be inserted for the game to launch, unfortunately.)

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    I was skeptical... now I'm impressed!

    Posted
    GuyJ3

    I have to admit that I only bought this system because the better half wanted one so badly. I was certain that the whole Kinect sensor thing was just some gimmicky feature that wouldn't work very well and would earn a place next to the Nintendo Power Glove as one of the worst gadgets in video gaming history. After reluctantly plopping down a good chunk of money on the Kinect bundle and a few extra games, though, I'm very happy to report that it works so much better than I ever thought possible! I've also never been very capable with overly complicated controllers with a gazillion buttons and knobs, so the simple voice and motion controls are a definite plus for me. My only complaint is that (and this goes for the Wii and the PS3 Move, too) is that the Kinect games are mostly cartoony and very kid/teen centric, and the few titles aimed specifically at adults are too bloated and filled with unneccessary content. These systems have so much untapped potential for non-gaming adult users looking for a good simple cardio workout and I'd really love to see more development in this area. Something like the original Gin Miller "Step Reebok" workout adapted for interactive use with the Kinect would be phenomenal!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Kinect is where it's at!

    Posted
    jvande102

    Bought this package as my second XBOX after buying just the Kinect sensor, and it not working the best in my home theater that has a projector. I must specify that the Kinect sensor picked up the motions just fine, it would just be a hassle to move furniture and hook up a USB extender every time I wanted to use Kinect. So, I took the sensor back and bought this package. It's now hooked up in my living room. My wife and I love this thing. It's so much fun for all ages. We had a birthday party and my whole family played it, from my nephew who is 4, all the way up to my grandmother. I was very skeptical about this as it was being advertised, but after a 10 minute demo in Best Buy, I was sold. I'm also impressed with how accurately it picks up your movements. We are very happy with is so far and believe it will get even better as updates and more games come out for it. Don't waste your money on Wii or PS3's motion gaming. Kinect is where it's at!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    BEST CHRISTMAS GIFT EVER!

    Posted
    FloridaIslandGirly

    MY HUSBAND & I WERE GOING TO GET A DSI XL & A PSP.THEN WE DECIDED ON JUST GETTING THEM ANOTHER WII SYSTEM.WE GRABBED A MARIO WII,3 MORE REMOTES,3 NUNCHUCKS & 4 GAMES.SO WE WERE LOOKING AT AROUND $600.00.THEN THE BEST BUY STOPPED US AND SAID LET ME SHOW YOU THIS"THE XBOX KINECT".I TRIED TO EXPLAIN THAT WOULD NOT WORK MY HOUSE IS A SONY HOUSE (PS3).MY SON IS A PS3 ADDICT AND HAD BEEN STUCK TO TV SINCE NOVEMBER WHEN BLACK OPS CAME OUT.THEN HE EXPLAINED AND SHOWED US NO REMOTES AND HOW EASY THIS KINECT WAS AND WE JUST STOOD THERE DUMB FOUNDED.$299.99 INSTEAD OF $600.00 AND NO REMOTES TO ACCIDENTLY THROW AT THE T.V..WE TOOK IT IN A SEC.GOT HOME TODAY AND WE WERE SO EXCITED MY HUSBAND & I HOOKED IT UP AND STARTED TO PLAY.THIS IS SOOO MUCH NICER THAN THE WII HANDS DOWN.WE RAN BACK DOWN AND GOT 2 MORE GAMES BEFORE THE KIDS GOT HOME AND HAD A BLAST.I GUESS WE WILL HAVE TO GO BACK AND BUY THE KIDS ANOTHER XBOX KINECT BUNDLE FOR THEM. LOL. THE WII SYSTEM TRULY HAS NOTHING ON THIS. SORRY NINTENDO! :)

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Would not buy again. PS3 may be a better choice

    Posted
    Botman

    Within the last week have setup and used two XBOX360/Kinect Systems and have played a few games including sports.. Pros Initial setup is straightforward and relatively easy. Some Kinect Games are pretty cool if you overlook the kinect bugs. . Cons (many) Navigating the various menus can become very confusing and are not always intuitive. Creating ID's and gamer tags is confusing. Kinect seems buggy and not always responsive (frequent issues with facial recognition, spoken commands, certain movements, etc.) And, most importantly, if you want to use the XBOX for streaming video (i.e. Netflix) or play others online, it is necessary to pay for an XBOX Live Gold Membership starting at $5 per month. This is over and above the cost of Netflix etc. Other systems do not have an extra charge for this. You can access streaming video for free with a PS3 system, Wii, or a many Blu Ray players. Also, I don’t think PS3 charges for online gaming. Bottom line…. When armed with the facts, I don’t know why anyone would choose the buggy, overly complicated and extra fee oriented Xbox 360 system over the PS3. Actually, in many respects I like my old Wii better than this Xbox/Kinect.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great System for Gaming Neophyte

    Posted
    TonkaTeach
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This is my first gaming system; I bought it entirely with Kinect in mind. So far, it has been great. I have only used Kinect (no traditional XBox games) and have been very pleased with that. I recently updated my receiver and it has a dedicated HDMI for games, so setup was a snap. I haven't figured out XBox Live yet, but the good news is that I don't need any of the peripherals to enjoy the Kinect. I have a handful of games, and all have been easy to use as well as a lot of fun. Kinect was a great choice for me; I was looking for a movement based system that was easy to use and that required more than just facility with a controller. Kinect definitely offers that; I've been able to work up a sweat with most of the games. And, you can't cheat! The bundle was a good buy for me, but it would be nice to have a choice between two or three different games. I like the Adventures game that came with it, but choice is always a good option. It would also be great if the bundle included an HDMI cable -- not necessary, as a different cable is included, but the included cable isn't optimal for viewing on today's HD TVs. If the bundle included an HDMI cable you would have everything you need to set up the XBox on a modern system. If you are heavy into gaming I can see that 4G storage might not be enough, but for my needs, it's definitely adequate. As a newbie to the gaming world, this bundle has exceeded my expectations.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Made a believer out of me.

    Posted
    Tehky

    I had the whole set up, the home theater pc with Media center and dual tuner dvr built in, PS3, Wii to get off the couch. And then the wife came home and asked if I thought about Xbox Kinect. We talked and decided to try it out and Wow!! Unbelieveable! The kinect system in beyond what I thought gaming could be at this time, it's futuristic. I'm selling the PS3 and wii. One of the best parts is that I have my home theater pc upstairs in the living room, and the 360 in my home theater, and I can watch everything that's on my HTPC in beatiful 1080p and 5.1. This was the solution I've been looking for to complete my media house. The graphics are incredible, the UI is deep and yet simple. I could never have as much fun playing the physical games with controllers in my hands, it's all natural movement. I'm definitely a fan Microsoft, you've converted me. Thank you for Kinect.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great for home fitness!

    Posted
    test124
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought my xbox kinect over 1 yr ago so that I could workout more often at home. The kinect works wonderfully with the games that I have -- Sports, Dance Central 2, and Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012 and I recommend these games for fitness too. Overall Pros: instructions are easy to follow and set up is quick, kinect works well while mounted over my 32" TV, I can workout in my small room which only has 8 ft of space, works well for watching DVDs, it has video chat capability (which I haven't tested yet), and you can compare/share your workout goals with your friends in the xbox community. There is also something called xbox live rewards which rewards you with random prizes based on activity level, etc. Cons: sometimes if I wear different workout clothing the kinect will think that I am a different person, it has trouble detecting me when I do abs, crunches or something else low, I had to get Xbox customer support to help me with issues of the xbox disconnecting whenever I wanted to play music/videos through my xbox and it still didn't fit the problem, expensive harddrive and 4gb is way too low of space even if you don't purchase games online because all games save a bit of data on the harddrive, users have to pay for xbox live gold membership to use the online apps such as netflix, youtube, and facebook as well as cloud storage.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best active game device

    Posted
    cmnl

    Our family has had the Kinect for a little over a month and we LOVE it! . We play it daily, several times a day if we can. The best part about this system is no controls to hold. This allows you to get totally lost in the active experience. The Kinect Sports is GREAT! So many games on one disk, so many ways to play those games and you can have muliple people playing at the same time in party mode.The Kinnect Adventures is another great game. No need to go to the gym, if you really apply yourself to these games. You will get quit the workout and find muscles you didn't know you had. We find ourselves working out harder playing these games then when we workout the traditional way. Nothing like friendly compettion amongst family! Too bad we've only had it a little over a month and not years. Can't wait to see what other active games they come out with,

    I would recommend this to a friend