Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Microsoft - Xbox 360 - 4GB with Kinect-Front_Standard

Microsoft - Xbox 360 - 4GB with Kinect

Model: S4G-00001SKU: 1162439

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 644 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-12 of 12 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Beware of Xbox Customer Service!

    Posted
    OceanJockey

    Let me tell you my horror story with Microsoft Xbox 360…. On October 2, 2010 I purchased the Xbox 360 S 250 GB Halo Reach Limited Edition Console bundle from Wal-Mart after selling my PlayStation 3 which I had since the day it was released in November of 2006, just so I could play Halo Reach as I’m a big fan of that particular game franchise and use to play in Halo 1 & 2 tournaments when I was in the US Navy sponsored by the Navy’s MWR department during deployments. Needless to say the initial gaming was great until December 21st, 2010 when I tried to sync my new Christmas presents which were a Halo Reach Wireless Headset and a Special Edition Wireless Controller to my console. I went through the instructions for both the Headset and the Controller and followed them to a the “T”, and the end result every time was that when I depressed the “Connect/IR” button on my console the Ring of Lights would not illuminate in the clockwise sequential order as they are suppose to when the console is searching for the accessories to sync with according to the instructions. Thus, I called Xbox Support on December 21, 2010 and the customer support representative (who was American) when through the troubleshooting hoops and ultimately the representative determined that the radio frequency board that is a part of the “Connect/IR” button was non-operational and that it needed to be sent in for repair. I agreed to the repair, and the representative sent me the UPS shipping label via email and told me that I had 30 days to send it in to the repair facility in Mesquite, Texas. I waited until after Christmas Holiday season and on January 4, 2011, I got my Halo Reach L.E. Xbox 360 S Console ready to send it in for repair and attached a word document it with the reason why it needed to be repaired along with a copy of my receipt from Wal-Mart to show that it was under warranty, drove down to my local UPS Store and had them package it up nicely so that it wouldn’t get damaged. I also took pictures of my console before I sent it, that way I could document the material condition just in case the Repair Facility workers accidently damage it or if UPS were to lose it or damage it. On January 11, 2011 I received an email from Xbox Customer Support giving my tracking number for the shipment of my console back to me, I went and checked it and my console was departing from Mexico. I thought to myself I could have sworn that I sent it to Mesquite, Texas and I checked the original shipment label and sure enough it showed Mesquite, Texas so why was my console sent to Mexico? I don’t know. Anyway I continued to follow the shipment of my console on UPS Quantum tracking system until it got back to my house on January 19th, I was on a business trip so I didn’t get a chance to open the package until January 22nd. I proceeded to setup my console and then try and sync my wireless headset and wireless controller, once again the “Connect / IR “ button on my console was not functional and (just to note, the material condition was superb still with no scratches or dings on the console) . I called up Xbox Customer Support again on January 22, 2011 and spoke with the customer support representative (from India), evidently there was a misunderstanding on the notes with my repair request as the technicians at the repair facility thought it was the controller and headset that were need of repair and not the console. Once again January 24, 2011 I had to send in my console to get repaired at the Mesquite, Texas repair facility. Then on February 3, 2011, I received another email from Xbox Customer Support showing me my new return UPS tracking number showing the departing place being Mexico once again, I received my console back on February 14, 2011. When I opened up the package I checked the material condition of my console and just my luck there were two nice size scratches on the silver paint of the faceplate one on each side where the chrome trim, I was not happy needless to say. I went ahead and setup the console and once again the radio frequency board was not replaced as the “Connect / IR “ button was still non-operational when trying to sync my wireless headset and controller. I called up Xbox Customer support and this time I spoke with a Tier 1.5 Supervisor her name was Irene (from India) she proceeded to state to me that being my console was not repaired properly the last two times I sent it to the Mesquite, Texas repair facility and that it now has scratches on the paint of the faceplate that she was going to authorize a request to have my console replaced with a refurbished Xbox 360 S Halo Reach Limited Edition Console. I went ahead and once again put my faith in Microsoft and sent my console on February 15th, 2011 back to their repair facility in Mesquite, Texas to be replaced. On February 25, 2011, I received an email from Xbox Customer Support showing me my new return UPS tracking number and once again it came back from Mexico on March 4, 2011. I opened up the package and they did not replace my console as Supervisor Irene told me that they would. This time my blood was boiling… I called up on March 5, 2011 and got a hold of another Tier 1.5 Supervisor his name was Jethro (from India) he proceeded to state to me that he had no clue as to why my console was not replaced and he had no ability to call or email or instant message the repair facility in Mesquite, Texas to find out what in the world was their problem and following simple instructions to fully resolve this situation. So Jethro told me that he would authorize a “Advanced Exchange” of my replacement console, meaning they would and I quote “send me a refurbished Halo Reach Limited Console, and when I received it, I was to repackage my Halo Reach Limited Console and send it back. However for this to happen this type of exchange had to be approved by the Tier 3 Supervisors in the Escalation Department at Xbox Customer Support and that I would receive a call within 24-48 hours from them to talk about the situation and get this whole problem resolved. I didn’t hear back from the Tier 3 Supervisors within the 48 hour timeframe, so I called up Xbox Customer Support on March 9, 2011. I spoke with a Tier 1.5 Supervisor by the name of Tina (an American) she was knowledgeable and went through all of my notes on my account and was able to Instant Message a Tier 2 supervisor and found out that the Tier 3 Escalation Department Supervisors were swapped with these types of requests and are running about 8-10 days behind. Tina told me that she was going to “Red Flag” my service request which would raise my priority level to have my service request reviewed faster and that I would hear from a Tier 3 Supervisor within 48 hours. Today is March 18th, and I still have not heard back from a Supervisor in the Escalation Department. So I went ahead and called Xbox Customer Support and spoke with a customer service representative by the name of Jake (from India). He went on to tell me that there had been a Tier 3 Supervisor assigned to my service request for an “Advanced Exchange”, and that I needed to wait another 24-48 hours to get a phone call from a Tier 3 Supervisor with the Escalation Department. At this point, I don’t expect Microsoft to live up to their end of the warranty agreement and have my situation resolved to my satisfaction. However, I hope that my story educates prospective buyers enough to make the right decision.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good game device, but serious money pit

    Posted
    tskirr
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The good and the bad. The good first... The XBOX is a "Great" gaming system. It has great graphics, easy to use functionality, and I really love the Kinect! In fact this was it's main selling point! My family was a Wii system owner until it broke down about 9 months ago. What we loved about the Wii was the "Getting into the action" it provided. But it's weakness is the XBOX strength! Full body action. What a wonderful thing. So as a gaming system I highly recommend it. But this brings us to the sad point of the system... Everything costs extra money on it. Unlike the PS3 and the Wii, if you are a Netflix viewer you have to pay XBOX for a GOLD membership just to watch your movies. Microsoft, this is really wrong and you should take note of this! There are a lot of families that will never go your route for this reason (the paying extra for everything). Which brings us to the next weak point. There are NOT a lot of good games for young audiences, and most are very violent, so another reason many families will continue supporting the Wii. Microsoft, Xbox, learn from Nintendo, bloody death games are not the only sellers. You have kept yourselves from a huge market by denying this and not being willing to delve into this market. Back to my earlier point, the Xbox Gold membership only gets you access to the cool features on Xbox, you still have to pay for them all individually, if you want them. ESPN, not a problem, if you want to pay some more. And so it goes with everything! Which is why I say it is a great money pit! For this reason, I do no recommend the XBOX as a gaming system. And for this reason I am sad I didn't wait a little longer for the new Wii system.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Would not buy again. PS3 may be a better choice

    Posted
    Botman

    Within the last week have setup and used two XBOX360/Kinect Systems and have played a few games including sports.. Pros Initial setup is straightforward and relatively easy. Some Kinect Games are pretty cool if you overlook the kinect bugs. . Cons (many) Navigating the various menus can become very confusing and are not always intuitive. Creating ID's and gamer tags is confusing. Kinect seems buggy and not always responsive (frequent issues with facial recognition, spoken commands, certain movements, etc.) And, most importantly, if you want to use the XBOX for streaming video (i.e. Netflix) or play others online, it is necessary to pay for an XBOX Live Gold Membership starting at $5 per month. This is over and above the cost of Netflix etc. Other systems do not have an extra charge for this. You can access streaming video for free with a PS3 system, Wii, or a many Blu Ray players. Also, I don’t think PS3 charges for online gaming. Bottom line…. When armed with the facts, I don’t know why anyone would choose the buggy, overly complicated and extra fee oriented Xbox 360 system over the PS3. Actually, in many respects I like my old Wii better than this Xbox/Kinect.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    The games are good, but the system is not.

    Posted
    n1nja

    the system has no hd quality. it may have a hdmi output, the system itself can't produce full hd resolution. no blu-ray player, no hd dvd player (but some how the games are on a hd dvd disc), its bundle comes with 4gb system (which means, getting a hard drive will cost you extra. like $100-$150 extra), just go built-in wifi (older models didn't have built-in wifi) $50-$60 a year for online, plus the money you will spend on batteries on the wireless controllers (batteries?!), and netflix (if you want netflix.) and money spent on buying new games disc, cause the 360 does scratch the disc very easily. and the fail rate for the 360's is very high. and if you do get a 360, lay it down. DON'T stand it up cause if you move it while its standing up, it messes up the disc, even slight movement will scratch the disc. For the best gaming, movie, photo, free online (even free web browsing), and everything else, get a PS3 (or PC). no high fail rate, no problems, and no easily scratched disc (blu-ray disc dont scratch), it has everything you need. so i recommend the PS3 for all your entertainment needs. and i'm pretty sure fanboys and or microsoft wrote those "positive reviews"

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not for everyone

    Posted
    MLopez

    I played with the Kinect over the weekend at a Microsoft store and gave it a fair chance. Going into it I had minor doubts. In the end I was left with several negative thoughts towards the Kinect that I didn't have before. 1) If you already have a Wii, especially if you've already gotten tired of it, you may as well pass on the Kinect. The games I played were neat, but when I was done It already felt old. I was looking at the Kinect much like how I look at my Wii. There were several things that bothered me, which leads to 2) You need 6 - 8 square feet of playing space. Not a problem for me in my living room, I personally set it up as a full theater with plenty of floor space, but if you live in a small apartment, have a cluttered living room or plan on buying this for your kid to play in his/her bedroom who's TV is close to their bed, then buying it will be pointless because it wont work. Watch a lot of the reviews on YouTube and you'll notice how well spaced out everything is and how well lit they are. 3) There were also a few glitches here and there.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    poor quality

    Posted
    scup

    We bought the Xbox with Kinect bundle for our son for Christmas. While the graphics for the games is great, the quality of the product itself is severly lacking. The console is extremely noisy and the controller broke within the first month. In order to get the controller repaired or replaced we have to send it back to them first at our expense. The bundle only came with one controller so we were forced to pay $49.99 for another controller for our son to use until we get the repair/replacement. Microsoft's reply was..."That's our policy". Very poor customer service to say the least!! Whatever happened to customer satisfaction? We have the Playstation 2 and the Nintendo Wii and neither of those products has any problems what-so-ever!!! Not impressed with the quality of this product!! I actually expected better from Microsoft

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the money

    Posted
    Mom2Mom

    We got this game system on Christmas and have had to return it by Jan. 10th for a replacement. When it works it's great, but it kept freezing on games through the Xbox and the kinect had trouble "connecting" everyone in my family. The games are fun, but when it doesn't work all the time then it's no fun.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Kinect is awesome!

    Posted
    Gemfairy

    I'm sorry to say that Microsoft still has issues with the Xbox locking up. You would think after all this time, they would of fixed that by now! The Kinect is awesome! Bought this package for my Grandkids. They love it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    stupid XBOX 360 it was broken after a week of use

    Posted
    Anonymous

    Xbox live gold over rated!!! why paying for services that should be FREE????????????????????????????????????? I spend 400 dollars on the stupid MACHINE Already!! if I have internet then Xbox Live Gold should come FREE ! ! ! ! !

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Overrated

    Posted
    Mewisemagic

    If it weren't for my kid wanting this P.O.S. I would never have wasted my money on it. It is nothing but a money pit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    ok the 250gb bundle is better

    Posted
    huntstanxbox360

    Kinect is good not with the 4gb but it is OK for people that don't play a lot go with the 250gb

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Are u kidding?

    Posted
    Koister

    A lousy 4GB 360?!? That wouldnt even hold 1 game. Why not make an offer with the existing 250 GB console?

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend