Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Motorola - Moto 360 Smart Watch for Android Devices 4.3 or Higher - Gray Leather-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 1565 reviews

93%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 26 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very disappointed

    Posted
    12345

    I had really high hopes for this watch. After 1 month of ownership i regret asking for this watch for my birthday but since the 15 day return period is over i am stuck with this piece of garbage that cost us $250. After a week of use, the watch just " froze" one morning while charging, hence no alarm, late for work... A reset resolved it and it is even mentioned in the user manual. So i was disappointed but hopeful that it will not do this again. Two weeks with " little" problems like watch does not wake by tapping the screen, but sometimes it does. Never gets an accurate hearth rate. There is no way to transfer those hearth rate or walking statistics to my phone anyway to use in any fitness programs... Yesterday i woke to a message that said "android gear has stopped" and no matter how many times i hit the ok button, that was the only thing my screen was showing. It was a Sunday so no alarm needed but i would have missed this alarm if it was a weekday. No time, no alarm, no steps etc. due to the error message on the screen. Tried everything to get the connection back. Turning it on and off, reinstalling the android gear on the phone, turning phone on and off. I finally ended up resetting the watch which deleted all my step history, all the alarms etc. i had to do this twice since yesterday just to get connected to my phone. And finally, today i had a 1 pm meeting. I was running a few minutes late. Went to the meeting room expecting to apologize to the crowd, except, no one was there. I looked at the good old $5 wall clock, it was only 12:45. My "smart" watch was 18 minutes fast and saved me from an apology... So yet another reset which did not resolve it. At that point i gave up. Half hour later, back to correct time... I am looking forward to my next adventure with my "smart" watch. Looks like long hours of waiting on the line to talk to moto cust. Serv. is in my future. In the mean time my $18 old timer Casio is happy to be back on my wrist... That how i burned $250.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      Sorry to hear you're having such troubles -- that's pretty unusual. Please contact support at http://bit.ly/MotCustCare for assistance with troubleshooting, or a warranty return/exchange.MotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    they tried

    Posted
    cs88
    • My Best Buy® Member

    For starters i am a computer engineer and i enjoy everything related to new tech. i had the moto 360 for a week. From what i read the battery apparently is supposed to get better after a few charge cycles, well mine did not instead it got worse with every charge. I did not receive many notifications on the device, the battery after 12 hours of use was sitting at 2% or already dead. My screen was also defective 16 dead pixels. The heart rate monitor never got a reading but that really depends on how skinny your wrist is as the sensor most likely wont lay flat. The watch was gorgeous though, the faces looked nice as well. I really wanted to enjoy this but i am 99% sure mine was defective from the get go with the battery and the screen. The cpu inside is 4 years old (identical to the cpu in the moto droid 2) and my experience noticed lagged in doing anything. To me $250 is a steep price for a smartwatch when you can spend that on a nice seiko,citizen or any of the decent watches out there and not worry about it being dead or the screen being off. I was hype for this but this has put me off smartwatches completely. Truth be told until there is a proper low power arm cpu made specifically for smartwatches battery life will always be terrible they are shoehorning full blown smartphone/tablet cpus in these right now which is overkill for what these do. I uploaded a picture showing a small cluster of dead pixels(upper right) the rest were hard to get on camera.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      So sorry to hear you received a defective device! Please contact our support team so we can help you with that. http://bit.ly/repairUSMotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Battery Life makes this product a no-go

    Posted
    Triniguy
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    First off, let me say I really wanted this to work for me. I have a pebble steel and love it and hoped the 360 was the next step up on the smartwatch chain. In many ways it is. It looks gorgeous and far more expensive than it actually is (although I think the stainless on black looks better than the black on black). The screen is bright and responsive and overall I like the functionality. It looks good with a suit or with casual wear. Are there some issues software-wise? Of course, but I don't see anything that can't and won't be fixed by v2 of android wear (eg, keeping notifications for later review a la pebble, or the ability to turn the screen on with the button only) The reason I returned mine is because the battery life is unacceptable. I would put on my 360 typically at 6:45AM. With light-moderate use, it never lasted past 3PM, sometimes far less depending on how many notifications I received. Now with a phone, I can drop it on a charger during the day and not lose functionality-with a watch, not so much. My pebble goes 5-6 days between charges. Now I know some people will say, "why not have fewer notifications on the watch?"-Doesn't that defeat the purpose of the watch then? As it is, I think Moto is on to a good thing and I'm excited to see what V2 brings to the table. In the meanwhile I'll continue rocking my pebble.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      The device needs to download a software update after initial setup, and this does eat a lot of battery. However, after the update is installed, the battery life will improve. Also consider that anytime you've got a new piece of tech, you're probably going to be using it / playing with it a lot more than you would once you've had it for a while and gotten used to it. Give it a few days, even a week, and then see how you feel about it.MotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Anticipation was high! Won't turn on.

    Posted
    PubUltraStar

    Today was launch day for the Moto 360, and I was one of the lucky ones who was able to snag a new Moto 360 smart watch. After unboxing, it wouldn't turn on, so I put it on the cool wireless charging dock. 4 hours later, and it still won't turn on. The device is warm, so it seems like it's charging. After spending some time on the phone with a motorola support analyst with a fake American name who had basic communication issues, they claimed that the device should automatically turn on when the device is charged enough. I would hope that 4 hours should be enough to get a basic charge to at least turn on. I had been waiting for this device since the announcement a few months ago. Looks like I got a dud, and it's already out of stock everywhere. I'll leave it charging on the dock overnight and see if it comes on. Otherwise, I have a $250 circular paperweight. :(

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      PubUltraStar, if you're still having issues with your Moto 360, please contact us at supportforums@motorola.com with your contact info, and reference your Best Buy review. Thanks.
      -Wendy WMotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    wish I liked it

    Posted
    quota

    Just bought this watch with the highest desire to like it. After reading the reviews of this device along with other similar devices I decided on it. I had an initial excitement and dove into the watch when I got it home but couldn't get over the android operating system. I have a Moto X cell and love it so I figured the moto watch would bring me the same satisfaction, I was wrong. I found the singular button on the side a bit finicky and it took me a few moments to figure out how to navigate the OS. After I had discovered the navigation I just felt the watch was more gadgety and less functional. I did enjoy the design of the physical appearance, but that's not good enough for me. Just didn't like the overall experience with the watch. Less than 24 hours after opening the package it was back at the store and I got my money back. Here I come pebble!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Good Looking Watch but thats about it

    Posted
    Techguy
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This watch does not even come close to the Gear 2. It looks amazing and charges nice but has no capability what so ever. Can't read texts, can't read emails, can't do much of anything very well at all. It does notify you when you get a text but you need to read it on the phone. This watch is like a broken toy compared to the Gear 2 but looks way better than it....so there is your choice....looks or function. I actually use my Smart watch more than I care what people think of my smart watch. I purchased the Moto 360 in hopes that I could get usto the terrible UI but I just could not. I am returning it today. Also the watch lasted about 7 hours with normal usage. How does Motorola put out a product that has this bad of a battery problem? I'm going to wait for V2 or V3 of the Moto 360 before I try it again. or keep holding my breath for the Gear S

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      It depends on the app you're using on your phone, for emails and texts, and also the length of the message. But you certainly can view text messages and emails on the Moto 360. Sorry you were not satisfied with it.MotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Power Hardware QC check

    Posted
    AndroidPT

    The watch looks great initially, until I power up the device for the first time. Got a bad video tear on my left side. Charging is fast about 1% percent every minute. Worked with all my different branded Qi charging pads ( Google square Nexus Qi, Panasonic QE-TM101-K , LG). Update went will, but had to be at least 80 percent charged. Setup was simple and it work first try. Operation will be a learning curve. Feel really light similar to the pebble Gen 1 and the leather band feel soft and really comfortable on the wrist . But the Quality control on the screen kill it for me, until I can get a speedy replacement.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      I'm not quite clear on what the issue is that you're having with your 360 -- can you please email supportforums@motorola.com with your contact information and details, so I can check into it and see if I might be able to help?
      - Wendy W, Motorola SupportMotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not contact moto if you have problems

    Posted
    amnesia

    So after using this watch for less than 2 weeks, the charger broke so I was unable to charge my watch. I called motorola requesting for a replacement. After being on the phone for hours on hold over the span of 2 days (after being transferred multiple times to different departments), i was told they would ship out a replacement and I should receive it in 3 - 5 business days. It's been over a week now and I haven't received anything. Guess what, I'm again on hold with motorola while they try to come up with their next excuse. You better hope your unit works perfectly, because trying to reach the moto 360 department is practically impossible. If you don't believe me, call them @ 866-320-4780 and see how long you're put on hold.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      Sorry to hear you've had such a poor experience, amnesia. Please email supportforums@motorola.com with your reference # and contact information and we'll take a look and see what's going on. Please reference your Best Buy review in the email.
      -Wendy W, Motorola SupportMotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Total, Complete Disappointment

    Posted
    Thorne

    I initially had heard about the battery life issues before purchasing a Moto 360 and was prepared to deal with that in order to use what seemed like otherwise a great first release of a new product line. However, I somehow missed until after release the fact that, on lighter-colored backgrounds, the screen looks terrible. A prismatic, rainbow pattern appears around the edges of the screen. It looks awful and I initially thought my device was defective before being told this affected every unit. If I had known this prior to purchasing the device, I would not have gone through with the purchase. Some have said it's not that big of a deal, but it ruins my ability to appreciate the device.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Too Bad Looks Aren't Everthing

    Posted
    tjacker31
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    No matter what I try I cannot get this watch to charge, reset, or get past the "Just a minute..." screen. This watch was shipped half-baked with a defective firmware that causes rapid battery discharge. Instead of notifying you to charge the battery if it's too low before performing a system update, it proceeds with the update anyway. The update will then fail and your stuck with a watch that is essentially bricked. I'm sorry that I spent so much time tracking this product down for purchase. Now I can't even exchange it because supply is so low. My advice is to wait for a later production run. Hopefully, Motorola will have the firmware fixed before shipping by then.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      Sorry you're having trouble getting started with your 360! The problem is that the battery hasn't charged up enough to be able to do everything you're asking it to do. It's best to charge it first, before you start to play with it. I know, it's torture having a new device and then still needing to wait just a while longer before using it, but it'll be worth it, I assure you!

      Please un-pair the watch from your phone -- Force stop the app and/or do a reset on the device, if necessary. Try charging the watch while powered off, and let it get up to at LEAST 80% before turning it on and proceeding with setup. There's a software update it will need to do right away which will take quite a bit of battery power. Once that's done, though, you should be good to go. If you have any further trouble, please email us at supportforums@motorola.com and refer to your Best Buy review, and we'll see what we can do to help you sort things out.
      -Wendy W
      Motorola SupportMotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Returning watch

    Posted
    Mrlgordon
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bought a defective moto 360. Very glitchy. Constantly going dim randomly when your checking on the notifications or doing anything. No audible sound for alerts, only a very weak vibration. The battery life is very good after update. Cosmetically, it's a beautiful watch! I put the pebble metal band on the watch and it took it up a notch. Stutters a lot from the old processor that's built into it. The screen resolution is really bad. Some watch faces look washed out. I think motorola spent too much time working on the external features besides the internal features.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    frustrating experience

    Posted
    Josh

    I bought this smart watch to use it with my android device Motorola Moto X2. I though that it would be a nice experience to use both devices Motorola. It was such an issue to pair the devices, once I got it, it kept on disconnecting and showing message error: "unfortunately the process com.google.process.gapps has stopped" on the watch. Tried reseting the watch, rebooting the phone, reinstalling android wear app but nothing worked. I had to returned it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great! For a while...

    Posted
    clavos
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This watch was great for the first month or two. Now, if the watch and phone get far enough apart to disconnect, I have to do a factory reset on the watch to re-pair it with the phone. Every time. Then I have to reload all of my apps and reset all of my settings. Every time. I bought the watch and strap separately, it is not worth the hassle to disassemble and return it. I doubt if I'll ever buy anything made by Motorola again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stuck pixels: returned both to best buy

    Posted
    etc6849
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It is really disappointing that Motorola would sell a product with no quality control. I tried two and they both had stuck pixels. To test yours: turn screen brightness all the way up. Go to Settings->About or another black screen. Go to a dark room and look for green dots. I'm sure you'll find some. Search online at forums such as XDA and you'll find 100's of complaints now about this.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      Sorry to hear you had this problem. We do stand by our products, and the device does come with a warranty. If you are having problems, please contact Motorola. http://bit.ly/repairUSMotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Battery life is the worse

    Posted
    hyasuma
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I got this when it first came out. Review said it will last all day under normal use. Worse thing on a smart watch, battery life. I had it for a month and the battery drained every single day from 7 am and dies around 1pm. I barely used the darn thing. Until they fix batteries on all smart watches, I stay with Fitbit Charge 2 which still last me almost 5 days.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bad Product, all hype no delivery

    Posted
    Leatherman

    Horrid operating system, crashed 3 times in 8 hours, killed the battery on my phone to less that 40% in 6 hours, and caused phone to get very hot. Put the CPU in to constant loop. Phone battery usually lasts 1.5 days. Returning the watch. Only good feature is there are tons of watch face apps but not much else. Don't waist you money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      That doesn't sound normal at all. It could be that you received a defective unit, but that's not usually how the 360 performs. I'm sorry you had such a poor experience.MotorolaMobility

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Does not work

    Posted
    Vonblk
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Could not sync. Fails to connect. Useless. Tried to sync to no luck. Display and function was a struggle. Tried several times to connect using Google did not sync. Talk command did not work. I returned this item. Waste of time.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not the best execution

    Posted
    Fiona
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this and returned it. The voice commands would just never work for me. I spent more time fishing my phone out of my purse than I did before I got the watch.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    no battery life

    Posted
    goconfigure
    • Top 1000 ContributorTop 1000 Contributor

    12 hour battery is pushing it. I got closer to 8 hours. Pebble runs circles around this thing. I feel sorry for the early adopters on this one. Im returning mine

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not what I thought it would be

    Posted
    jc2112
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Battery life was horrible. I do not having something I need to charge every night, but I would like for it to get through a 12 hour day. This will not.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Motorola Customer Care

      It does take a little time for the battery and your usage habits to settle in. Give it a few days and I think you'll see an improvement. You can also contact our customer care team for help with troubleshooting or adjusting the settings, if you don't see improvement. https://motorola-global-portal.custhelp.com/app/mcp/service MotorolaMobility