Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Night Owl - Extreme HD 8-Channel, 8-Camera Wired 1TB DVR Surveillance System - Black/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 121 reviews

82%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Page 1, showing1-2 of 2 Reviews mentioning:
control with phone
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Cameras ok, app is horrible and no pc control

    Posted
    nightsky84
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Cameras look good and are of good quality as far as viewing. As for the phone app it's absolutely horrible you can't play back the recordings or anything which is what I'm looking for for when we are on vacation. Same thing with pc its only for viewing. I need more functions than this.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We would like to troubleshoot the issue you are having. You can absolutely playback recordings within both the App and CMS software. Please contact our technical support team at 1-866-390-1303 and one of our agents will assist. Thank you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buyer beware

    Posted
    Steph
    • My Best Buy® Member

    First purchased in April of 2017. Everything was ok until one day in December of same year we came in and there was no picture coming from the camera's. The Night Owl DVR showed power was going to it but no video feed was coming through. We plugged a different computer into our monitor to make sure that wasn't the issue, it wasn't. We plugged the Night Owl DVR into a different computer (to double check) still nothing. Called Night Owl and they had me try unplugging and re-plugging in of all cords, nothing worked. They said they think it was our network. Now mind you it did work for 9 months on this network without a problem. As this is a business, I could not be without a security system. I ordered another night owl December 26th 2017. About 4 months later it started giving us issues, Called night owl again and they had me do the same thing as the first call. It did start working again after my 2 hr phone call but could not pull up wirelessly on phone. Decided that wasn't a big deal and let it go. Now we have had the second night owl for 1 yr and 2 months and it has stopped working yet again. Night Owl informed me it was out of warranty and they would be happy to upgrade me to a different system, at MY expense. I don't usually write bad reviews as I think they are mostly written out of anger but this time I wanted to make others aware. Unless you want to be on the phone every 6 months for 1 plus hours of hold time and no help on their device, I would look elsewhere. If they would have, in any of the 3 times I had a problem told me, Let me get you a new DVR to see if that works I wouldn't be so upset. Instead they pretty much told me, sorry your problem. The cameras seemed to work ok when the DVR was working, Night vision worked pretty well also. That was why I purchased the second one in the first place. It doesn't hold much on the 1 TB HDD without us having to buy an additional Hard drive for storage. We always had a problem pulling up camera feed either live or past from away from the office. As a business owner, I can assure you this product is not worth the frustration and hours of phone calls it required to have it operate properly. I should also share that I have a Night Owl X at home for our home security, that one is wireless. I can't have a camera more than 15ft away from receiver or it can't connect. Putting it outside your house is next to impossible. Live feed on my phone doesn't work 1/2 the time with this Night Owl X neither. I am usually a pretty easy going person but at this point I can guarantee I will by a whole new system and re-wire everything before I would spend another dime on a Night Owl. Please read this as a product review, not a Complaint forum!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Steph. We responded to this review previously when you posted it to another product page. In case you did not receive that response, we are happy to reiterate it for you now. We want to look into the issues you have described further, but will need to gather some more information from you. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your 1) name, 2) best contact information, 3) best time of day to reach you, 4) a brief description of the issues you have with your Night Owl system and 5) your support ticket number with our technical support team. This email will put you in direct contact with our internal advanced support team who will be able to look into what occurred and consider additional remedies. Thank you again for this feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.