Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Night Owl - Extreme HD 8-Channel, 8-Camera Wired 1TB DVR Surveillance System - Black/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 109 reviews

83%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-6 of 6 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buyer beware

    Posted
    Steph
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First purchased in April of 2017. Everything was ok until one day in December of same year we came in and there was no picture coming from the camera's. The Night Owl DVR showed power was going to it but no video feed was coming through. We plugged a different computer into our monitor to make sure that was not the issue, it wasn't. We plugged the Night Owl DVR into a different computer (to double check) still nothing. Called Night Owl and they had me try unplugging and re-plugging in of all cords, nothing worked. They said they think it was our network. Now mind you it did work for 9 months on this network without a problem. As this is a business, I could not be without a security system. I ordered another night owl December 26th 2017. About 4 months later it started giving us issues, Called night owl again and they had me do the same thing as the first call. It did start working again after my 2 hr phone call but could not pull up wirelessly on phone. Decided that was not a big deal and let it go. Now we have had the second night owl for 1 yr and 2 months and it has stopped working yet again. Night Owl informed me it was out of warranty and they would be happy to upgrade me to a different system, at MY expense. I don't usually write bad reviews as I think they are mostly written out of anger but this time I wanted to make others aware. Unless you want to be on the phone every 6 months for 1 plus hours of hold time and no help on their device, I would look elsewhere. If they would have, in any of the 3 times I had a problem told me, Let me get you a new DVR to see if that works I wouldn't be so upset. Instead they pretty much told me, sorry your problem. The cameras seemed to work ok when the DVR was working, Night vision worked pretty well also. That was why I purchased the second one in the first place. It doesn't hold much on the 1 TB HDD without us having to buy an additional Hard drive for storage. We always had a problem pulling up camera feed either live or past from away from the office. As a business owner, I can assure you this product is not worth the frustration and hours of phone calls it required to have it operate properly. I should also share that I have a Night Owl X at home for our home security, that one is wireless. I can't have a camera more than 15ft away from receiver or it can not connect. Putting it outside your house is next to impossible. Live feed on my phone doesn't work 1/2 the time with this Night Owl X neither. I am usually a pretty easy going person but at this point I can guarantee I will by a whole new system and re-wire everything before I would spend another dime on a Night Owl. Please read this as a product review, not a Complaint forum!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Steph. We responded to this review previously when you posted it to another product page. In case you did not receive that response, we are happy to reiterate it for you now. We want to look into the issues you have described further, but will need to gather some more information from you. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your 1) name, 2) best contact information, 3) best time of day to reach you, 4) a brief description of the issues you have with your Night Owl system and 5) your support ticket number with our technical support team. This email will put you in direct contact with our internal advanced support team who will be able to look into what occurred and consider additional remedies. Thank you again for this feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Cheap Cameras HORRIBLE APP!

    Posted
    JustoGabriel
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First, I had Night Owl for many years, they used to be cutting edge and great equipment, in the last 3 years I had 2 systems, this I am about to return, 2 cameras do not turn the IR at night anymore and one completely died, called Night Owl and I was told because I have a best Buy plan, I must use Best Buy... you know, for that I would only take 1 star, I am ok with it.... But here is the reason why you shoulD NOT buy this system...the APP, Android, IOS or PC... if you have the unit to record 24/7 it will record in blocks of 1hr, if you want to check your home at any block because something happened around 55 minutes after the hour (Lets say 12:40) you MUST watch all 40 minutes till the event, no Fast Forward, No Slides, NOPE, only regular...so if you want to see a 18 minute event, you must watch the whole hour.... so, Night Owl response is to set the device to record only when it detects movement.... first flaw...if the event starts outside the camera motion detect range, you will never know, then, again...lets say you did catch the full 18 event...guess what, if at 12 minutes a key part of the event, you must go back and watch all again, as I said before, no FF, no slide. Again, Night Owl response is "download the full video" really???? yeah... useless. I will use the Best Buy Program, and get my $$$ back and buy a Chinese cctv one that will have an app that is actually user friendly. Que the canned response "we apologize for the inconvenience, we will pass your suggestion to our developer", witch translates to "we sell enough, we dont care about one person"

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon. We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with your Night Owl system. There are many advanced features built into the DVR that allow for easy access and playback. We would be happy to walk you through them and highlight different options discussed in your product manual. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your name, best contact phone number and the best time of day to reach you. One of our agents will promptly follow up with you. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible

    Posted
    Rwolfe
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I had high hopes for this system and I got a good deal on this. Wasted money!!! you can barely see 10 feet with the IR night vision or you have to leave a light on outside so you can see. Day quality is good. User interface for the DVR is lacking and the app seems to all ways have issues or not detect the DVR which equals no remote viewing. Would return it but I bought it on Black Friday and waited for it to get warm to install and now I have surpassed the return window so now I'm stuck with a junk system

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon and thank you for providing this feedback. Without troubleshooting with you, we cannot address the issues with your Night Vision or remote viewing. These cameras provide up to 100 ft. of Night Vision, so not sure why you are only receiving 10. Additionally, we are not experiencing any issues with our remote viewing apps. Please call our technical support team at 1-866-390-1303 at your convenience so one of our agents can work with you to address these issues and ensure you are up and running. Thank you!

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed ☹️

    Posted
    FiberOpticTech
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Not working on arrival. Have to return. I have already received 2 harrassing emails from manufacturer to hurry up and get my receipt and non-functional equipment sent in and it's been less than a week since notifying them that after I installed all of my cameras, that the DVR will not connect to the internet. I install fiber-optic cable TV and internet for a living and the technical support was sub par.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon, we are very sorry for the experienced you have gone through so far with our technical support team. We do not intend to make any of our customers feel harassed by the emails we may send to request information to process a possible warranty claim, we appreciate your feedback on this matter. Regarding the Night Owl DVR not working on arrival and if you are still in possession of the device, please contact our advanced technical support team for additional assistance, you may reach us via email at techteam@nightowlsp.us. In your email please provide us with your name, number, the model number of your system and a brief description of the issue you are experiencing. Again, we are sorry for the experienced and we hope to hear from you soon so we may be able to provide you with additional assistance, thank you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Isn’t working

    Posted
    Chris
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The system is not working or staying on. I’ve had Nightowl system in the past so I’m familiar with the system and hardware. For some reason unknown the system isn’t setting up properly I only get the night owl screen and then it blacks out and doesn’t even show me the setup window just nothing after the night owl screen it goes dark and I get “no signal”. I will be returning it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are sorry you are having issues with your Night Owl system, please make sure that you have plugged in the correct power adapter to the Night Owl DVR. The power adapters are labeled for each the DVR and the cameras since they use different voltage. Please do not hesitate to contact our technical support team for additional assistance. We look forward to assisting you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Returning due to useless app

    Posted
    Anonymous
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The android app is terrible, therefore I will be returning the system. Without remote viewing, the system is useless to me.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are sorry you have are having issue with your Night Owl application. Please contact our technical support team so they may assist you by troubleshooting the application and your system. The number to call is 1-866-390-1303, we look forward to assisting you. Thank you.