Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Plantronics - BackBeat FIT Wireless Behind-the-Neck Headphones - Blue/Black-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 752 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 24 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Complete Disappointment after so much Anticipation

    Posted
    F8d5thWhl
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had a previous version of a Plantronics headset and I liked them other than the fact that when I got sweaty at the gym, they started to malfunction. With the announcement of the Backbeat Fit, I thought this had all been taken care of. I ordered them "ship to store" since the store had not started stocking them yet. I picked them up a few days later and plugged them in overnight to charge. When I connected them to my iPhone, I received a message stating there is an app that makes the headset perform better so I downloaded it. When the app connected to the device, it prompted for a software update which I agreed to. After the update occurred, the headset would not turn on. I called Plantronics and they stated I would need to take them back to the store since the headset had been rendered useless. When I took the headset back, they still didn't have any in stock so I just returned them. I purchased the headset for $99 plus tax and now Best Buy is selling them for $129. Double whammy and a complete let down.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsProductSpecialist

      Hello-We are very sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with a Plantronics product and support! If the headset or application freezes up during the update processes often times force quitting the app and restarting it will solve the problem. When you force quit the app please keep the headset connected to the charger as you were instructed when you first started the update.

      Again, I apologize for your experience and the inconvenience it’s caused. We’d really like a chance to help make this situation right for you. Please send an email to techsupport@plantonics.com with “attn: Best Buy review” as the subject and we will be happy to help.

      Thank you- Plantronics Technical SupportPlantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't do it

    Posted
    Jwo980
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The battery dies and cannot be replaced. If it's out of warranty, they won't replace the unit, but you can BUY a refurbished unit from them. I used my headphones a total of 5 times before the battery wouldn't charge anymore. Had them plugged in for 2 days and *nothing*. Do yourself a favor and buy headphones with a replaceable battery or at least buy from a company with a better warranty policy. This is a KNOWN issue and should seriously have been recalled. Instead, Plantronics wants me to pay a total of $200 (original price plus cost of refurbished unit) for something that may or may not hold a charge. No thanks.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hello- We're sorry to hear that this has been your experience. All of our products will come with at least a one year warranty and in some regions we offer out of warranty replacement at a discounted price. If you are in need of any further assistance please contact us directly here: http://www.plantronics.com/support/ Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Uncomfortable fit

    Posted
    BestBuyGA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The initial fit felt fine. After using it for a few two mile runs, it caused discomfort and soreness in my ears. I tried to return the headphones but was informed that I was past the policy deadline for returns. After being told I couldn't return it, I asked about an exchange for another set of headphones or a store credit. Again, I was told that I was past the date in which anything could be done according to policy and that I was stuck with it. It's not nice to be stuck with an item that just sits in its original casing because it causes pain in your ears.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      We are sorry to hear that BackBeat FIT doesn't work out for you. Please note Plantronics offers one year warranty for its products. If your purchase is less than a year, we welcome you to contact Plantronics Support for a representative to assist you with a warranty replacement. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    What? Sorry, What?

    Posted
    ScottTX
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Good look and feel, device seemed sturdy and well made. But I buy Bluetooth Wireless Headphones because I want to HEAR something. While the quality of sound was fine, the VOLUME was exceedingly low. I could NOT hear my music over the background noise at my gym, or phone calls over the road noise at 40 MPH. If you are sitting alone in a vacuum - these are the headphones for you!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Please contact Plantronics Support for assistance on adjusting BackBeat FIT's volume. You may also have to adjust the volume on your phone or tablet. Thank you for letting us know that you are having issue. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Dont waste your money, they don't connect

    Posted
    MightyMom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I reluctantly purchased these headphones since best buy stopped carrying the moterola wireless headphones. These were the only pair I could find that didn't sit on the back of my neck. They wouldn't pair with my phone. I have no idea what they sound like because I couldn't get them to work at all. They've been sitting in my car waiting for me to return them but I keep forgetting..

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very disappointing

    Posted
    Shannahg38
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Purchased for my husband for Christmas a year ago and 6 monthis into using these the play button popped of while he was running!!! The plastic piece that hold the power/play buttons have snapped causing it to break off. He liked the sound and ease of function but like an idiot I didn't purchase a warranty. They didn't with stand his busy lige style.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not good

    Posted
    Bigguns

    This might be the worst sounding headphones I have ever worn. No bass, muddy mids. Battery life is okay. Best Buy will not return them unless there is a real defect. Plantronics should offer an exchange through their site as these are TERRIBLE, especially considering at a price of 130 bucks. Let's see if this review makes it to the site.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hi,
      BackBeat FIT is designed specifically for workout. Its safety-oriented eartip design and reflective finished let you hear your surroundings and be seen at night. Unfortunately it may not have the bass volume you are looking for. Please contact Plantronics Support, and a representative will gladly to recommend other headsets that suit your needs better. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    4 Months and not working

    Posted
    wsterntime
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    These were purchased in Dec. and now in April they are cutting out all the time. They have only been used for a few hours a night to watch TV while others are sleeping so no heavy usage. Also if you wear glasses or have small ear lobes they are hard to stay on.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      I'm sorry to hear you have been having problems with your Fit. That may be an issue with the headset or with the connection between the headset and phone. You might want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection between your phone and headset to see if that helps the issue. To do so,

      1. Delete the headset from your cell phone's list of paired devices.
      2. Once deleted, power your phone completely off, then power it back on. This resets the Bluetooth stack in the Bluetooth software on the phone.
      3. Re-pair the headset with your phone. and test.

      If the issue is the same we can replace the headset, it has a 1 year warranty from the date of purchase. You can use the following url to view our replacement steps.
      http://www.plantronics.com/us/support/kb/detail.jsp?vfurl=/articles/en_US/Warranty/RN9669&retURL=%2Fapex%2FknowledgeSearch®ion=us&p=&c=All&k=replacement&t=All&lang=en_US&popup=false&c=All Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Purchased two pair - both broke

    Posted
    Brammy
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Two pair broke within 6 months of purchase accused my son of being careless until mine developed an identical crack within weeks of his. Both on the hard thin plastic earpiece location. Now looking for something that I expect to be disposable

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible product

    Posted
    disappointed
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I plugged them in for the first time and they wouldn't charge at all. Unfortunately for me I waited too long to even try them and the company can't do anything for me. Will not be purchasing from Plantronics again anytime soon!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do Not Buy If you plan to swim

    Posted
    BobbyBobby
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    the reviews stated that these work in the water. I swam with these and as soon as I was in the water, I lost the bluetooth ability. I don't recommend if you want to use these when you swim. These do work well out of the water.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Battery stopped charging after 3 months

    Posted
    DeadBattery
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The battery stopped charging after 3 months of use. After searching online, it appears that this is a common problem. Working on replacing with warranty, will update review if company comes through.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Can't Hear - Low Volume

    Posted
    Manny
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Connects easily. Hands free calling feature doesn't always work. Biggest issue is Volume is not load enough. This seems to be common with all blue tooth headphones I've tried but this model was the worst. I returned them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not worth it!

    Posted
    cycleman
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Got these earphones because of water and sweat resistance. Once I got it home the ear pieces did not stay my ear, but worse than that the sound quality and volume were terrible. Returned those immediately!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    poor connectivity

    Posted
    fluidian
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    terribly disappointed by this product. Connectivity was awful, even just having my paired device in my pocket, the playback was very choppy. I returned this product the next day.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stopped working after a month and a half

    Posted
    Fitnessgirl1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    When I first bought the he headphones they worked great! After a month or so they wouldn't keep a charge. So I took them back for a full refund.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Skips in and out

    Posted
    Wuya
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Nice design, but it doesn't work right. It gets very crackly and skips in and out while running. Not sure if we just got a defective one, or if it's a design issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      That may be an issue with the headset or with the connection between the headset and phone. You might want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection between your phone and headset to see if that helps the issue. To do so,

      1. Delete the headset from your cell phone's list of paired devices.
      2. Once deleted, power your phone completely off, then power it back on. This resets the Bluetooth stack in the Bluetooth software on the phone.
      3. Re-pair the headset with your phone. and test.

      If the issue is still the same after the reset, it may be a defective headset. We can replace that headset if that is the case. You can use the following url to view our replacement steps.
      http://www.plantronics.com/us/support/kb/detail.jsp?vfurl=/articles/en_US/Warranty/RN9669&retURL=%2Fapex%2FknowledgeSearch®ion=us&p=&c=All&k=replacement%2B&t=All&lang=en_US&popup=false&c=All Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not good

    Posted
    Jeff
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Not comfortable. Very poor sound quality for the price. Flop around in your head the whole time you are working out.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Did not charge

    Posted
    Lilly88
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Not charge, not work and had to return. Other person in line was also doing return.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      That may be an issue with the headset or with the connection between the headset and phone. You might want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection between your phone and headset to see if that helps the issue. To do so,

      1. Delete the headset from your cell phone's list of paired devices.
      2. Once deleted, power your phone completely off, then power it back on. This resets the Bluetooth stack in the Bluetooth software on the phone.
      3. Re-pair the headset with your phone. and test.

      If the issue is the same we can replace that device. You can use the following url to view our replacement steps.
      http://www.plantronics.com/us/support/kb/detail.jsp?vfurl=/articles/en_US/Warranty/RN9669&retURL=%2Fapex%2FknowledgeSearch®ion=us&p=&c=All&k=replacement&t=All&lang=en_US&popup=false&c=All Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Peace of junk

    Posted
    ElmoJr
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    ear buds very uncomfortable, easy to lose, not worth it, nothing but JUNK

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend