Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Plantronics - Voyager 5220 Bluetooth Headset - Black-Angle_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 4414 reviews

91%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 2, showing21-40 of 115 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not what it used to be since firmware update

    Posted
    Geoff
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Since the update this headset has not done what my old 5200 did which was block the wind noise and lower other distracting noise to the person I am talking too....it now amplifies everything. I called Plantronics tech support...she couldn’t hear me over the wind blowing as I was walking. I returned it and am upset. This was the best earpiece ever...not anymore...:(

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hi! Thank you very much for your honest review of our Voyager 5220 headset, however, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Normally these types of issues can be fixed by troubleshooting the headset and in the worst case scenario replacing it. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team at https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require assistance with your headset in the future. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not impressed with this Bluetooth Earpiece.

    Posted
    shellbelle1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I was severely disappointed with this headset. It was big and bulky. When trying this out, the person on the other line said I sounded like I was in a tunnel. Additionally, the bluetooth kept disconnecting and reconnecting even though my phone was sitting on the seat beside me while I was driving in my car. I returned this after a couple of weeks for a different ear piece.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220. We are sorry for your experience, our customer care group is available any time at www.plantronics.com/support in order to assist you before returning your product. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not what it used to be!

    Posted
    Jimmy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I’ll be brief, don’t waste your money! These used to rule the wireless BT world, but sadly, no more! They will not stay paired to m I phone and battery life is marginal at best. Sadly, still probably the best performer when it’s working right, but if you can’t count on it, what good does it do?

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Voyager 5220 Headset. We're very sorry to hear about your experience. There are a few things we can try in order to fix this. If your headset is disconnecting, you might want to ensure your unit's firmware is up to date through Plantronics Hub for Desktop: https://goo.gl/5ceQ1v. Connect your earpiece powered off via USB and check for updates under the notifications tab. You might also want to try disabling the Master sensor under settings, to isolate the cause of the issue. There can be environmental conditions that might influence the sensor like wearing glasses or when the earpiece is a bit loose from your ear, hence it can send the call back to your phone. Testing your headset with different phones and also at different locations and while connected to a single device at a given time is ideal to determine where the issue is coming from. Please note this unit has a one-year limited warranty from date of purchase. We will forward your comments to our team as a consideration. Feel free to contact our Customer Care Team at: https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require further assistance! plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    poor fit in ear

    Posted
    anon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    wouldn't recommend purchasing. had a bose series two which was perfect until i broke it. bought this as a replacement. tried all three different ear pieces but could not get a good fit as it would constantly move around and have poor sound because on movement. would have returned had i not thrown away the packaging. my mistake.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for sharing your experience with your Voyager 5220. We're sorry to hear you were not able to find a comfortable fit even after trying the different sizes of ear pieces. You might also want to try using the included foam covers to see if you get a more secure and comfortable fit. Our headsets are designed to fit the vast majority of ear shapes and sizes; however, we do know that one size may not fit all and if you find the product too uncomfortable for normal use we strongly recommend that you consider using a headset with a different wearing style. If you are looking for a product recommendation, please don't hesitate to contact Plantronics Customer Care at 855-765-7878. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst than the Legend!

    Posted
    MrsCox
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I originally purchased the Legend which is supposed to be a level below the Voyager, but I disagree. I could not walk into the next room over without my call breaking up. The call quality was horrible according to people on the other end. I spent the extra $30 bucks thinking I would get a better product but I'm starting to think everything is refurbished. I give up.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Usually issues like poor audio quality, static, crackling or low range can indicate a problem with the Bluetooth connection between your headset and phone.
      We recommend that you try creating a brand new connection by following these steps:
      1. Delete/Remove/Unpair your headset from your phone's paired devices list.
      2. Restart your phone.
      3. Place your headset in pairing mode and re pair it to your phone.

      If the issue is the same we recommend testing the device with another phone to determine if its on the phone or headset. If the issue persists even on a different phone we can replace that device, it comes with a 1 year warranty from the date of purchase. You can use the following url to view our replacement steps: http://www.plantronics.com/us/support/kb/detail.jsp?vfurl=/articles/en_US/Warranty/RN9669&retURL=%2Fapex%2FknowledgeSearch®ion=us&p=&c=All&k=replacement&t=All&lang=en_US&popup=false&c=All Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Only lasted 6 months

    Posted
    Anthony
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought the earlier model and loved it. Had it for a few years. When it died last year, i bought this one. It started out great, but after 6 months, i could still hear perfectly, but the other people said i sounded very "tinny" and distorted. Using my iphone speaker sounded a lot better.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hi Anthony! Thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220. We're very sorry to hear about your experience. Please try resetting the Bluetooth connection with your phone. To do so: Delete the headset from your cell phone’s list of paired devices. Once deleted, power your phone completely off, then power it back on. This resets the Bluetooth stack in the Bluetooth software on the phone. Finally re-pair the headset with your phone. You might also want to ensure your unit's firmware is up to date by checking for updates and applying any (if available) through our Plantronics Hub software: https://goo.gl/5ceQ1v. Connect your headset powered off via USB and go to the notifications tab. If you get the same results even after following these instructions then most likely your unit has an actual problem and it is best to replace it. Please note this unit has a one-year limited warranty from date of purchase. We thank you for your comments, we will forward them to our team for review and consideration. Our Customer Care Team is available at: https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require further assistance! plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very disappointed

    Posted
    Lakehe
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I bought from bestbuy store. When I opened box at home. I'm very surprised, because box is unopened, but the device is totally used, old model not this 5220 there is no red in the mic. I have to take 30 mins to go back to that store to return it. I know this is used because there many scraf on it. I may not buy something from bestbuy

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Had trouble with the set, had to return it

    Posted
    John
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Had problems with people not being able to hear me and when they could, it sounded like I was in a tunnel. Tried different volume settings, still not able to hear me. Had to return to the store and get a different model.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hello John and thank you for your review on our Voyager 5220 headset, however, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you are having some audio issues with the headset, you may want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection with your mobile. To do so: 1) Unpair the headset from your mobile phone by accessing your Bluetooth settings. 2) Power off your mobile phone for 2 minutes and turn it back on. 3) Re-pair the headset by pressing and holding down the call control button until you see the LED flashing red and blue. 4) Access to your Bluetooth settings and select "PLT_V5200". Once successfully paired, you will hear "pairing successful" and the LED on your headset will stop flashing red and blue.You may also want to check if your headset doesn't have any updates available through Plantronics Hub. Last but not least, we recommend testing the headset with a different mobile to completely isolate the issue. If for some reason you still encounter the same issue, then it means the headset has an actual problem and it is best to replace it. Remember this unit counts with a limited warranty since the first day of purchase, and if you need a replacement you can click on the following link for further instructions: https://bit.ly/2N637EC. Please note the life span of the product depends on the usage but on many cases they last for way past their warranty period. Please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team at https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require assistance. plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    For the price fine something better

    Posted
    Beto
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Nothing but connection problems. The ear piece won't charge have to charge though the connection station will return in the future. This is the only company's ear piece I have purchased in the last 12 years the last two were the same by the same company. They get good reviews I just don't see it! One day they will get it right.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5200 series headset, and sorry to hear you're experiencing problems with your unit.

      If your headset keeps disconnecting or takes a long time to connect to your phone it may be an issue with the headset or with the connection between the headset and phone. You might want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection between your phone and headset to see if that helps the issue.

      To do so:
      1. Delete the headset from your cell phone's list of paired devices.
      2. Once deleted, power your phone completely off, then power it back on. This resets the Bluetooth stack in the Bluetooth software on the phone.
      3. Re-pair the headset with your phone and test.

      If the issue is the same we recommend testing the device with another phone to determine if its on the phone or headset, but if you determine the problem resides on the headset itself or if your headset fails to charge properly we recommend that you request a replacement unit by following these steps: http://www.plantronics.com/us/support/kb/detail.jsp?vfurl=/articles/en_US/Warranty/RN9669&retURL=%2Fapex%2FknowledgeSearch®ion=us&p=&c=All&k=replacement&t=All&lang=en_US&popup=false&c=All Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Junk

    Posted
    jvick284
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Plantronics has taken a huge step back with this piece of junk! The Legend was and is a very good BT, but this thing is not worth the Plantroics name! Hard to pair, battery is useless and connects and disconnects constantly. I went to another store and got the Legend and have no problems.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220. We are sorry for your experience, our customer care group is available any time at www.plantronics.com/support in order to assist you before returning your product. Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buy the geek squad protection

    Posted
    Shelm68
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this for a professional semi driver and it worked great for 3-5 months.. returned it and then the device started acting up again.. The recipient told me to just take the store credit that it wasn’t worth the cost. Best Buy customer service was very accommodating.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220, we are sorry to hear you experienced trouble with your unit. Your headset does include a one year limited Plantronics warranty, please don't hesitate to contact us at www.plantronics.com/support if you require assistance! Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    This Bluetooth Headset is not for me

    Posted
    Sooner66
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    When using my Bluetooth in my vehicle, I get numerous complaints that no one can hear me very well. I bought this one and still had the same complaints. So next I bought the LG TONE - ULTRA, problems solved! It is clear on both my end and to anyone I speak to when using it!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220, we are sorry to hear you experienced trouble with your unit.

      You might want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection between your phone and headset to see if that helps the issue. To do so:

      1. Delete the headset from your cell phone's list of paired devices.
      2. Once deleted, power your phone completely off, then power it back on. This resets the Bluetooth stack in the Bluetooth software on the phone.
      3. Re-pair the headset with your phone.

      If this does not fix your issue, we suggest pairing the headset to another cell phone as a test. If the issue is not present on the second phone, then the problem may be with the first phone, rather than the headset. If the issue exists on the second phone as well, you will need to replace the headset.

      Please don't hesitate to contact our customer care group at www.plantronics.com/support if you require assistance! Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Keeps going in and out when speaking to someone

    Posted
    Steveatthekey
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    When speaking through ear piece conversation, the conversations go in and out like there a pause in the call very frustrating as this unit cost 129.00 never had a plantronics ear piece work this poorly

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hello and thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220 headset, however, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If your headset is constantly cutting off, it could be due to the smart sensors. If they are not calibrated or working as expected you can encounter these type of issues. You may want to try disabling the smart sensors. In an idle state, simultaneously press and hold the call and mute buttons for 5 seconds and a voice prompt will inform you of smart sensors status. You may also want to reset the Bluetooth connection with your mobile. To do so: 1) Unpair the headset from your mobile phone by accessing your Bluetooth settings. 2) Power off your mobile phone for 2 minutes and turn it back on. 3) Re-pair the headset by pressing and holding down the call control button until you see the LED flashing red and blue. 4) Access to your Bluetooth settings and select "PLT_V5200". Once successfully paired, you will hear "pairing successful" and the LED on your headset will stop flashing red and blue. Last but not least, we recommend testing the headset with a different mobile to completely isolate the issue. If for some reason you still encounter the same issue, then it means the headset has an actual problem and it is best to replace it. Remember this unit counts with a limited warranty since the first day of purchase, and if you need a replacement you can click on the following link for further instructions: https://bit.ly/2N637EC.P lease don't hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team at https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require assistance! plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst in this brand I ever had

    Posted
    Tomboi77
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I buy this brand cuz it works for me. I like noise reduction but this one would not stay connected to my phone. Every time I turned ear piece off I had to pair it again to same phone. It was hectic

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hello and thank you for your review on our Voyager 5200 headset, however, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Our intention is to provide the highest quality products to our customers and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. If you are experiencing some connectivity issues with your headset, you may want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection with your mobile. To do so: 1) Unpair the headset from your mobile phone by accessing your Bluetooth settings. 2) Power off your mobile phone for 2 minutes and turn it back on. 3) Re-pair the headset by pressing and holding down the call control button until you see the LED flashing red and blue. 4) Access to your Bluetooth settings and select "PLT_V5200". Once successfully paired, you will hear "pairing successful" and the LED on your headset will stop flashing red and blue. You may also want to disable the smart sensors of the headset. If they are not calibrated or working as expected, you could encounter these type of issues. In an idle state, simultaneously press and hold the call and mute buttons for 5 seconds and a voice prompt will inform you of smart sensors status. Last but not least, we recommend testing the headset with a different mobile to completely isolate the issue. If for some reason you still encounter the same issue with the headset, then it means it has an actual problem and it is best to replace it. Remember this unit counts with a limited warranty since the first day of purchase, and if you need a replacement you can click on the following link for further instructions: https://bit.ly/2N637EC.Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team at 800-985-9815 if you require assistance. plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor connection, did not work well.

    Posted
    fd2222
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    AT first I liked it, but the more I used it, the more others reported having difficulty hearing me completely. My callers were reporting that my conversation was cutting in and out. I ended up returning this item.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hello and thank you for your honest review on our Voyager 5220 Headset; However, we're sorry to hear you've had trouble with your unit. There are a couple of steps we recommend in order to troubleshoot mic issues that might fix them: Please ensure the unit's firmware version is up to date through our Plantronics Hub Software for Desktop: https://goo.gl/5ceQ1v. You may also want to try resetting the BT connection between your headset and phone. To do so: https://goo.gl/emzUTA. Testing your headset with a different phone and while connected to a single device is also ideal to isolate the cause of the issue. If you get the same results then the headset must have a problem and it is best to replace it. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your comments to our team for review and consideration. If you have any questions, feel free to contact our Customer Care Team at: 855-765-7878. plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poor ear bud

    Posted
    Bmoney
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The ear piece has different selection of bud sizes. But changing them will destroy the rubber piece that seals them. On top of that it doesn't come with no spare. Very disappointed!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hi! Thank you for your review, however, we are sorry to hear about your experience. In order to change the ear tip, you will need to push it and rotate to the left to unlock it. Then, align the new ear tip into slot; push, rotate to the right and lock into place. Please note we do include 3 different ear tip sizes for a better fit. If no ear tips were included, we might be able to send them to you as a one time exception. Our intention is to provide the highest quality products to our customers and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team at https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require assistance. plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Low Talk Time a Deal Breaker

    Posted
    WIFIGUY
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The headset fits comfortably but the talk time is about 1 hour on a full charge, far less than advertised. Maybe it was a bad unit, but overall there are other units I decided to try instead. It’s a fairly expensive headset so it should perform as expected.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Sorry to hear you're having trouble with your Voyager 5220's talk time. You might want to try updating your headset's firmware using our Plantronics Hub app and then fully drain and recharge your unit's battery to see if this helps the issue.

      Please don't hesitate to contact us at www.plantronics.com/support if you require assistance! Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Issues

    Posted
    Bigrob

    Headset works sometimes. Very bad connection at times, especially when driving in a work van, constant complaints about sounding muffled of far away. Very very dissappointed, the older one I had worked perfectly. This is my 2nd headset

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Voyager 5220 Headset. We're sorry to her you've had trouble with your unit. Please ensure your unit's firmware is up to date by checking for updates and applying any (if available) through Plantronics Hub for Desktop: https://goo.gl/5ceQ1v. You might also want to try resetting the Bluetooth connection with your phone. To do so: https://goo.gl/hf3Rvc. Testing your headset with different phones and also at different locations and while connected to a single device at a given time is ideal in order to isolate the cause of the problem. As you may know, this product has a one-year limited warranty from date of purchase. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team at: https://www.plantronics.com/us/en/support/contact if you require further assistance! Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    There is no compatibility info with this product

    Posted
    Fred
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    No one and no information included with this product told me it was not compatible with my phone. No one at the store said that could even be an issue. I had to dig for that information online after I bought the item when it wouldn't pair with my phone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Bluetooth headsets are universally compatible with devices that support them, as long as your phone is Bluetooth enabled and supports Bluetooth headsets it should be compatible with our Voyager 5220 and similar models. Please don't hesitate to contact our customer care group at www.plantronics.com/support if you require assistance! Plantronics

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very Poor Battery

    Posted
    Varun
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This bluetooth was nice to start with but the battery has degraded over a period of 20 days. Does not last beyond 2 hours. Now stuck with it :(. The product is good but without robust battery how will i enjoy it ?

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      PlantronicsRepresentative

      Hello, we are sorry to hear about your experience with the Voyager 5220 headset, please try the following: 1) Completely unpair from your phone. 2) Power off and on both devices. 3) Press and hold the call button until the LED flashes red/blue on your headset. 4) Reconnect, drain the battery and fully charge. We also recommend to download the Plantronics Hub on your computer, from our official website, connect the headset using a USB cable, click on Notifications > Search for updates, and test. If the issue continues, there might be an actual fault with the headset, in which case a replacement will be necessary. The Voyager 5220 comes with a 1 year Limited Warranty, if you continue to experience difficulties, please don't hesitate to contact Plantronics Customer Care at 855-765-7878. plantronics