Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Spotlight Cam Wire-free - White-Front_Standard

Ring - Spotlight Cam Wire-free - White

Model: 8SB1S7-WEN0SKU: 5936903

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 1364 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 49 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Totally Unreliable

    Posted
    Mark

    I purchased this camera at Best Buy in February and have had nothing but problems since. It is not a security system for the simple fact that it is not reliable. It has proven unreliable for me for the following reasons: 1. It fails to connect to wifi much of the time. I get a message that says "failed to connect" or I get an endlessly spinning wheel (on iPhone). I have been in touch with customer service about this frequently and they blame my wifi system. Which it cannot be for the following reasons: I have 180 Mbps speeds consistently and ten feet from the camera that fails to connect frequently is a 4K TV that streams movies using the same network, and never fails. The network that streams 4K movies to a 70 inch screen fails to stream very low res "movies" from my camera to my phone? No. I can't rely on a system with poor connection reliability for security. 2. When it does connect it often pixilates any movement. In other words the image becomes smeared as the object or person moves across the screen, you cannot tell what it is or what its doing. I can't rely on something that does not allow me to see what is moving around my house reliably as a security system. 3. If it does alarm, and if you do connect, and if it doesn't pixilate it often runs too late to detect the motion that triggered it. From my experience there is some kind of delay between detecting motion and triggering an alarm. This means that whatever triggered the alarm can move off "screen" before you have a chance to capture it on the image. I cannot rely on something that is not fast enough to catch events as a security system. I invested in 4 cameras and a doorbell. The total investment I made was near a thousand dollars and after about 4 months I am done with Ring. It is a lovely novelty item, allowing me to see what packages have been delivered to my door and are waiting for me when I get home. But I cannot rely on it as a security system. This is an indicator of how much I dislike and mistrust this system: though I want to get rid of it, I don't feel good about selling this on eBay, as the person buying it will think they are buying a reliable "security system", but, in my experience, it will not adequately protect their home / car / boat, and I would feel somewhat responsible for selling it to them if they had a loss relying on a system that is, in my experience, unreliable. So this expensive system will simply end up in the trash unfortunately. I am very disappointed in Ring and this entire system... I definitely would not recommend this system to anyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Mark,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is by no means the experience that we intended for you to have. Your Ring device should hold a stable connection to your home WIFI network. Additionally, streaming performance does rely on both your upload and download speeds as well as the distance between your Ring device and router. For best streaming performance, we recommend that your Ring device is no further than 30 feet from your router, however, the closer it is the better the performance. At this point, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring device working consistently to your expectations and I would like to step in and work to make this happen for you. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on improving your overall Ring experience today.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Crappy system, not worth the money

    Posted
    Rick
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The $3,000 mistake. After my car was broken into, I decided to install security cameras.  A friend had Best Buy install a Swan system at his house and he was very happy with it so I went over to look at it.  I liked it so I contacted Best Buy and scheduled a consultation.  The guy who came out told me that because I had a two story house (my friend's house is single story) I couldn't use the Swan system and would need to go wireless.  He recommended the Ring system.   I bought 8 of these cameras along with the solar panel chargers and an Aero WiFi (this was an up-sale because the installer said the Google WiFi I original bought was not powerful enough.  Coincidentally he had an Aero WiFi with him at the time of the installation!).  BIG mistake.  From day one I've gotten between 400 and 500 alerts a day.  Adjusting the motion zones to minimum for all the cameras reduces this number down to about 100 alerts.  I get so many alerts that I need to recharge my phone twice a day. 95% of the alerts show no activity other than the breeze rustling leaves or my wind chimes moving.  I fail to understand why these crappy cameras don't have a sensitivity adjustment.  I mean who wants to be woken up in the middle of the night because a cat wanders into the back yard! A human yes, a cat no, I went to Ring's website to see if i could salvage this costly mistake and found that the Geek Squad didn't understand Ring's guidelines for installation. First off two cameras are pointed into the setting sun.  According to Ring, this is a no-no.  I admit I told them where to mount the cameras but I should have been advised that this might become a problem.  Also motion over sensitivity should have been considered when places cameras around shrubbery. Here are some of the other things I've encountered: One camera doesn't start recording for about 10 seconds and you barely get a glance at what caused the alert. One camera will send an alert for a car passing 120 away but I can jump up and down, wave my hands 10 feet way from it and it doesn't send an alert.  I can see myself on live view but no alert.  This is the camera that covers where my car is parked.  I can walk all the way around my car and get no alert.  How effective is this going to be if my car is ever broken into again! Another camera will also send a alert for motion 50' away but I can walk out the door and cover 20' to the garage and I get no alert.  Again I can see myself in live mode so I am within the camera's field of vision.  This same camera sends an alert when the breeze is rustling the leaves in the trees but it ignores me! I don't even bother to look at the alerts anymore; when you get one every five minutes or so, you realize it isn't practical to look at all of them.  I can only hope that the presence of the cameras are a deterrent because the system is so flawed with false alerts it isn't any help catching someone in the act. I now wish I had read all the terrible reviews before I spent all that money but I guess what is done is done.  I will now explore what steps I need to take in order to return the system to Best Buy. This experience has really put me off on Best Buy and the Geek Squad.  Don't buy Ring!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Rick,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience. I do, however, appreciate all the time, energy, and money that you have invested in trying to get your Ring device to work for you. At this point, I would like to step in and provide you with some additional assistance. Setting up the motion detector does require a bit of maneuvering to find the sweet spot, however, we can assist you with honing these settings to make sure you receive the alerts that matter to you. Additionally, Battery life is contingent on usage so the volume of alerts you receive per day will affect it but we can provide optimal settings to conserve your battery. Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time as well as the chance to improve your overall experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ring of Nightmares

    Posted
    4Aces

    Where do I start? I bought an original stick up ring camera with the solar panel. It worked ok. Some bugs but I loved the idea. I saw the pre order online for the spotlight battery / solar camera and fell in love! You download the app , connect it to WiFi ,install and that’s it! ( supposedly) I bought two cameras and two solar panels I loved the idea of not having to recharge the battery because the solar panel charged it. I downloaded the app , installed plug the solar panel. Then the problems began. 1.) Batteries are NOT fully charged mine came at 15% (both) 2.) video delay is horrible 3.) live view works 5 out of 10 times (maybe 4 of out 10) 4.) speaker makes weird noises outside when triggered by motion detection 5.) motion detection doesn’t always work 6.)LED lights sometimes turn on I ran the test and my WiFi connection is good I checked the sensitivity levels I positioned the camera at different angles and closer to the router. Nothing worked. I can rarely log in live view now. These cameras are expensive. I payed close to $500( and $10 a month to store videos on the cloud) for two cameras with solar panels I felt like the price would be justified if they saved me from the hassled of running cables all around the house but Ring failed miserably poor software and poor hardware. Awesome idea and concept but poor execution. Almost feels like a BETA. I contacted Ring and they already gave me an RMA # interestingly they did NOT ask why I wanted to return for a refund. They may have a no question asked if within 30 days or are aware of their bad and defective cameras. Now I have to pay to ship these cameras back to California from Illinois and wait for my money : / Please stay way from Ring.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello 4Aces,

      Oh no, I am so sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly so that I can both follow up on your return as well as provide you with some additional options I would so appreciate it.

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    TERRIBLE!!! DO NOT BUY!!!

    Posted
    AMB1
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought 2 of these 2-pack spotlights, which were not cheap at all, just to find out they were cheap trash that doesn't even work. After 12 hours of charging the batteries that come dead out of box, I then had to spend over an hour trying to set them up to/with my phone. At this point, I realized the battery doors are cheap and could easily break, same with unit itself. After the were all set up, I noticed one of the cameras was making this awful squealing noise but I thought it was just interfering with my phone. I put 3 out of 4 of them up yesterday morning, and started receiving an obsurd amount of motion notifications but nothing was there. Unfortunately, with the wire free cameras, custom motion zones are NOT an option, so you can only limit the range in one or all directions. One camera wouldn't let me connect to the live view for hours after installing, and when it did finally work, a different camera stopped letting me connect. Halfway through the day, I was getting motion alerts, but couldn't watch live, and when I watched recorded videos, it was just a black image, no picture at all. The actual motion it picked up was so late, that people were already almost out of camera view before filming started. As the day goes on, all cameras are squealing when motion is detected, blowing ANY chance of DISCRETE monitoring, you could hear this noise houses away. At this point, I decided I was returning them and I went last night and traded for the Arlo Pro. I have not installed them yet, but already LOVE this system SO MUCH more, and it was $116 cheaper for same amount of cameras, but i get everything and more from Arlo i did with Ring except for the spotlight which is absolutelt useless if the cameras dont work and draw attention to themselves. Look for my review on the Arlo Pro 4-Camera Wire-Free Kit, will be posting it in a few days. NO MATTER WHAT YOU CHOOSE, DO NOT BUY THESE SPOTLIGHTS!!! I PROMISE YOU WON'T HAVE THEM MORE THAN A DAY.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi AMB1,

      Oh no, I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. If you would be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I would like to both follow up on your return as well as provide you with some additional options.

      I would greatly appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    All Kinds of Problems with Spotlight Cam

    Posted
    Road1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have been using them for about 5 days and they have failed horribly. Motion sensors do not work consistently. I have walked in front of the Spotlight Cams multiple times only to get it to activate, record video and send alert maybe 5 times out of 20. Made no difference adjusting the Motion Zone or Distance. When it does record video, I've noticed the first 5 to 10 seconds are pixelated until it clears up to produce a very sharp image. The Spotlight Cams lose Wi-Fi connection randomly. The app, under Device Health always show my connection as Good or Excellent. The Live View feature fails most of the time leaving you with a black screen with a constant rolling icon or it tells you your phone can't connect to the Ring. The Andriod app is Horrible and full of bugs. I'm Using a new Samsung Note 8 and the app has crashed, froze becoming unresponsive, failed to save selected Motion Zones and Distance. Just read the recent bad reviews for yourself on the google play store. It says it all. The batteries also don't last 6 months. Mine went from 100% when installed to 23% in 5 days. I could understand the batteries draining faster if Cams were working overtime being triggered and recording video often, but they are not. I would not recommend the battery operated Spotlight Cams in their current state. They fail miserably. These will be going back to BestBuy for a refund.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Road1,

      I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. At this point, I would like to connect with you directly so that I can personally investigate the live view, motion detection and overall app malfunctions that you are experiencing. I understand that you have invested a lot of time, money, and energy in trying to get your Spotlight Cam to work and I would like to ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, if you would be so kind as to contact me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I would like to get to work on drastically improving your overall Ring experience.

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible Battery, Poor Motion

    Posted
    Steely
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I was extremely excited to get these cameras. We are dealing with some poorly educated high schoolers with a penchant for vandalism, and I was ready to catch them in the act. The Terrible: The battery lasted less than 6 days. This was even when I was controlling the lights and the sensitivity. I mounted them at the recommended height and had to climb up and pull them down (the batteries) to charge them. Very frustrating. The motion detection does not work at a distance of more than 10 feet or so. Also, if the WIFI signal drops or gets weak, the motion detection does not record. The WIFI is not 5Ghz. It is only 2.4 and conflicts with everyone else's WIFI channels. There is no admin screen to modify the channel settings. The Bad: The lights were actually quite illuminating, but they overshadow the IR recording at night and create a glare on the camera. The battery housing door does not latch properly and continues to refuse to record if it is not fastened just right. It is flimsy and will break. The Good: I caught our vandals on camera the night after I put up these cameras. Unfortunately, they only recorded the motion after the boys had thrown more than 15 eggs at my house and were running away. So much for early alert!! Don't buy this camera. I was optimistic, but I took them back after a week and a half. I also tried the wired version, but you have to run the wire outside or drill a hole into your house below the camera (not behind it) because of the way the camera screws into the wire housing. Terrible design and far below the quality being offered by other companies with dedicated wired systems (e.g. Samsung).

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello Steely,

      Oh no, I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. Your safety is our one priority and I want to ensure that we are providing you with the security that you need. With that being said, I would like to step in and be your direct point of contact from here on out. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring device working consistently to your expectations and I would like to make this happen for you ASAP. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com so that I can investigate the delay, motion detection, and light issues that you are experiencing?

      I would appreciate your time and the chance to drastically improve your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Decent product, awful battery life

    Posted
    MRo1
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    As a number of other users have pointed out this product has some real advantages: it is relatively easy to install and for the most part functions well as a motion activated outdoor camera. The problem is that the battery life is embarrassingly bad. The advertised 6 months of charge per battery is laughably inaccurate- we get more like 6 days. To their credit, Ring support did attempt to resolve this issue and when they couldn’t directed me to swap my camera out at Best Buy. Hoping that the battery issue was limited to my unit I made the swap and reinstalled. I also bought a second battery pack directly from Ring optimistic that I could add that pack and leave the camera alone for months before needing to recharge. This was not at all the case. We still get about 6 days of charge per battery. This means getting up on a ladder, removing a battery, charging for 10 hours, getting back on a ladder, reinstalling and repeating every 6 days. Far from convenient. If you live in a desolate location maybe this camera would work for you. If you live in a city or have an active household/ neighborhood I would recommend finding a wired option... unless you love ladders and super slow charging batteries.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi MRo1,

      I am so sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience. I appreciate all the time, energy, and money that you have invested in trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I would like to personally investigate the battery life issues that you are experiencing. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring device up and running and your battery life working consistently to your expectations. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stay Away

    Posted
    Sean

    Not happy with it. I have the Ring doorbell and besides the lag time it takes to get a notification it works fine. Wanted to like this especially since it has the solar panel it makes it much more convenient. After reading reviews here and elsewhere it seems like common issues....light turns on for no reason, rarely picks up motion, battery drains very quickly (definitely get the solar!), live view works about a third of the time. I have had some grainy videos but it’s not bad. Have rarely had the speaker issue that seems to come up either but all in all I’ll be returning this. Maybe gen 2 will perform better. Ring needs to step it up to stay in the game. Too many cameras out there to choose from, but right now they have the chance to take the lead with the solar and spotlight added if they can get it working properly. Oh and customer support was of no help. Pull the battery out and put back in. Then while waiting on them to do whatever they were doing they disconnected me after being on hold for 30 minutes in the first place. Guess I’ll just run a line and get a Nest or something equivalent. Update: Contacted customer support AGAIN to return this and after 30 minutes got told the department that has to sign off on the return was closed and it would get taken care of first thing in the morning. A day and a half later I had to contact them again so they could send me a generic email to return it but I have to pay to ship it back. I can go to the local Home Depot or Best Buy and buy it and return it and it doesn’t cost me anything. Why am I having to pay for something that doesn’t work? It’s not like I’m returning just because I changed my mind. Ring needs to look at their online reviews and fix this problem! I won’t ever buy another product from them. Too many other and better competitors.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Sean,

      I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I understand that you have invested a lot of time, money, and energy into trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I do that you noted already being in contact with our Customer Support team, however, I would appreciate the chance to step in and personally assist you. It is imperative to me that we get your Spotlight Cam up and running consistently to your expectations and I would like to ensure that I do this with no further hassle for you.
      If you would be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I am both eager and ready to turn your Ring experience around.

      I look forward to hearing from you.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a reliable security camera

    Posted
    Alabamastronh67

    This is my honest review and my constructive criticism in regards to the Ring Spotlight Camera Battery. First of all, this device is total waste of money and should BE remove from the market!. First week, it was doing great then all of the sudden, whenever it detects motion, the subject freezes up and disappears all of a sudden. Live view never works 50% of the time, when it works it takes 15-20 seconds to pull the image recording. Next, ring disclosures states the battery last for 6 months, had it for a week with the lowest minimal motion alerts settings on the Ring App and already at 25%!!. Also, set the motion zones the lowest setting, almost to minimum and still picks up cars like crazy even though the street is 25 feet where the camera is mounted. To top it off, I am also having issues with the Ring Doorbell where the subject freezes up and disappears all of a sudden. AND NO, it is not my network or internet speed as the generic robotic script that Ring Customer Services Rep would always blame or tell customers who are having this issue since i am NOT the only one. There are numerous customers who are having this issue but Ring has NOT found a solution as of yet other than telling the customer to restart or reset the device. I spoke to almost everybody from ring customer service and found No resolution which tells me this ring devices are not reliable.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Alabamastronh67,

      I am so sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. While I do see that you mentioned already being in contact with our Customer Support team, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly. It is imperative to me that we turn your Ring experience around and I would like to personally make sure that we do this with no further hassle for you. With that being said, would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on drastically improving your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    No USB to power/charge the camera once installed !

    Posted
    AngryZ
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have the first generation Ring Door Bell (running on battery) and 2 Stick Up Cameras. The stick up cameras are powered by two Ring solar panels and I have no complaints.. Considering this was an upgrade in video quality and the LED spotlights, I purchased thinking that I can expand my setup. Unfortunately there is no packaging content information or setup guide on Ring's website regarding this product. This is a complete wire free solution and there is no way to charge the battery without physically removing them from the camera. Considering you installed the camera 10 - 12 ft high, once the battery drains, you will have to go up and swap the battery or take out and plug a USB in the battery to charge. Each camera has 2 battery slots and it comes with 1 battery for each camera. I am very disappointed the route Ring took on these new cameras as they only come in a 120V Hard Wired, Battery Only and Hardwired Solar Panel only options. The versatility the stick up cameras had of charging with a solar panel or a 5V, 1A power adapter and running a USB cable to it can no longer be found.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello AngryZ,

      Oh no, I am sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I would like to step in from here and lend a helping hand. Our Spotlight Cam Wire-free has the ability to hold two Ring battery packs for long-lasting battery life. If one dies, the device automatically switches to the second battery for power. I would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly so that I can personally investigate the battery issues that you are experiencing. It is imperative to me that we get your Spotlight Cam working consistently to your expectations and I would like to ensure that I make this happen for you. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    What they don't tell you

    Posted
    Josh
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Battery life is very poor in cold climate areas. What Ring doesn't tell you is that you have to buy a subscription for $10 a month for each camera in order to use the most valuable part of the camera which would be to record a short video clip when motion is detected. It can only be stored in the cloud. What a scam Ring has set up. There is no way to add a memory card or any other way to use this function. If you don't get the subscription from ring the camera is only good for a live view which is delayed somewhat. Even with good internet connection the audio communication is poor or absent. The motion detector has very poor control so that it is difficult to set it in an area that would not be disturbed buy cars going by or animals. Got this for a Christmas present and Best Buy refused to take it back because it was bought on Black Friday, poor ratings for Best Buy also. I purchased a cheap, $40 security camera for in the house that has a video card and stores small Clips when there is motion on the card no need for a subscription and only cost $40 they also offer free cloud storage. Ring is a scam do not buy any of their products.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Double thumbs down

    Posted
    Greg

    I have the doorbell and its been great so I figured I get everyone in the family the 2 spotlight Cameras for Christmas and myself. Well I hope they like them.....I'm not a fan at all. I set them up and loved them at 1st. I got to watch my horses in their stalls and make me feel a lot better when I have to travel. Then just one day with all the sensors turned off and the light my battery life went down 10% in one day. that means I have 10 days on the battery....Tech support said that is to last 6 months...hahahaha good one! Do the math on that one. Then I want to watch Netflix as a family and my internet would not work the movie kept freezing. So I call my internet provider and guess what they say Do you have the "ring doorbell or cameras"? I was shocked, and asked how they knew. She said; I guess it was a big gift this year and everyone is having the same issue. The ring cameras take up SOOOOOO much of your internet speed its INSANE!!! Guess what I'm doing tomorrow morning? taking them down and returning them. This is a HUGE hiccup for the Ring Doorbell and Cameras. VERY VERY Disappointed. Unless you have upload of 20 and Download speed of 100 you might be okay.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Greg,

      Thank you for sharing your experience and I am so sorry to hear about your disappointment. Battery life is contingent on usage so the volume of alerts you receive per day will affect it but we can provide optimal settings to conserve your battery. I'd like to work with you on resolving these issues and turning this experience around for you in hopes to keep you a part of the Ring family. Would you contact me today at Kandyce@ring.com?

      Best,
      Kandyce K., Neighbor Satisfaction Manager
      Kandyce@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible Product

    Posted
    Chris

    I have had nothing but problems with it since I bought it. It only records 1-2 secs of video before it freezes the image, the battery life is horrible, I went from being able to use live view only 50% of the time to it basically not working at all. Even with an WAP within a few feet (10') and an RSSI at 43 I still wasn't able to connect with live view regularly on my phone. Shutting off cellular and being on the same wireless network didn't improve the issue. Recently, I took out one of the batteries to recharge it. After reinstalling, Live View doesn work at all and video captured by motion detection is just a black screen. Overall, not pleased with this product. Based on research while trying to troubleshoot it this seems emdemic to the product. Motion detection seems to work fine. It notes movement and the light activate if it is after dark to movement. The rest of it is useless.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Chris,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience. This is not the experience that we intended for you to have and I would like to step in and work to resolve this for you. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring device working consistently to your expectations and I would like to make sure that this happens for you today. With that being said, would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?
      I would appreciate the chance to investigate the issues that you are encountering so that I can work to provide you with the best possible resolution.

      Thanks,

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ring Spotlight Battery Issues

    Posted
    NewYorker
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I purchased 18 of these cameras between Best Buy and another retailer. From the very beginning I had issues with the battery and with connecting the camera to WiFi. I was able to get a Chime Pro which I literally had to plug in on the other side of the wall for it to connect. I installed the camera facing the back yard around 10pm. By 11am the camera had 81% battery life left. I followed all the instructions that were given to me by Ring and still nothing. How am I supposed to install 18 if these camera between three different locations if I have to recharge all the batteries every week to week and a half? I told Ring time and time again it’s the batteries but they tell me otherwise. I guess at this point I have to return 18 Cameras and go with someone else. If Ring would actually help me fix this then I would change this review.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't buy it!

    Posted
    Chris
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I've had the ring battery spotlight cam for 5 days. It's been a big disappointment. First of all the health page shows all systems are good. I've contacted support and they don't know what's wrong. Live view works 5o% of the time, when it doesn't work you can't pull up a live video and it doesn't record events. 75% of the time when an alert drives you to pull up a live feed or if live view actually works there is so much feedback noise it's unbearable. I sent a video to support and they don't know why. On a good day when you try and load a live view it takes 5 seconds to come up. On average the 50% of the time live view works it takes over 10 seconds to pull up. Like I said the health page shows wifi signal is good and the camera is online. The web app says my battery is critically low but the IOS app shows its 84%. I'm returning it for a wired floodlight cam. The downside is I'll have an unsightly electrical cord running up my siding and into my soffit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Chris,

      I am sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is not the experience that we intended for you to have. I understand that you are now looking at our Floodlight Cam to replace your Spotlight Cam, however, I would like to ensure that we get both of your Ring devices working consistently to your expectations. With that being said, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can assess and resolve the live view issues that you are encountering with your Spotlight Cam. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate the chance to drastically improve your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible picture quality at night

    Posted
    Matt
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I would like to start off by saying that I like the ring family and have the pro doorbell and alarms system that I am happy with. But the spotlight cameras have horrible video at night both with and without the spotlight on. I had a break in last night and my ring spotlight cameras had the guys face withing 6 ft of them and still did not have a clear picture. then while the intruder was directly in front of the camera it did not detected any more motion while the intruder when through the entire car the camera looks over. My LOREX camera system was able to detect and record better picture from 60ft out then the ring spotlight cam. Do not wast your money on this product or other ring cameras until they improve there camera quality PS. If you are looking for Bigfoot this would make great images ;)

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Matt,

      Would you mind sending me the link to your video for review? Poor video quality is almost always caused by some sort of WiFi issue but we'd be happy to look into this for you. Would you kindly email me at Bilan.jenkins@ring.com?

      Bilan J., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Bilan.jenkins@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Jft1469
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased the ring system (doorbell, two cameras) and I am extremely disappointed with the system. First, the system only records in 20 second increments once a motion has been triggered. A couple of times I get a recorded alert and I see the backside of a person as they walk away. There is no way to extend it further. Often people walking don’t even trigger an alert. I bought the system primarily to monitor my house when i am out of town. Not once, but twice the camera disconnected from the network when out of town. There is no way to reconnect it remotely and have to wait until I get back. The doorbell is ok- but the unstable system and lack of 24 hour recording makes me regret purchasing the system. I see they no longer even sell the inside cameras- if just getting the doorbell - it’s cool. If you are looking for a complete system go with a competitor

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Jft1469,

      I am sorry to hear about your less than excellent Ring experience. Your Ring device should hold a stable connection to your WIFI network. I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can work to improve your Ring experience. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring device working consistently to your expectations and I would like to make sure we do this for you. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buggy product and horrible support

    Posted
    Delco
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    This is my first Ring purchase, and I am very unimpressed. When the camera works, it's ok, but the issue is that it hardly ever works. It frequently loses connection to my network which makes motion alerts and live video completely useless. I called customer support, and the agent didn't really understand the problem. He kept insisting it's a signal issue even though the signal strength is good and the camera works for a short period of time after it's rebooted. There's clearly some kind of firmware issue with the camera where it stops responding, but their support just blames everything on a poor signal. The video quality is mediocre during the day and awful at night. There is no way you would be able to make out anything other than the blurry shape of a person.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Delco,

      Oh no, I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate Ring experience, this is not the experience that we intended for you to have. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly so that I can investigate the connectivity, and video quality issues that you are encountering. It is of great importance to me that we get your Spotlight Cam working consistently to your expectations as soon as possible. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com? I would like to get to work on providing you with the best possible resolution.

      Thanks,

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Night vision is a joke

    Posted
    Soti
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Day time quality is decent. Night time resolution is pathetic. There’s probably $40 cams that handle better night recording. Literally about as good as a 2 mp camera on a flip phone taken underground. Horrid. What good is a “security” camera that can’t handle night time recordings???! PS - running on insanely fast internet with google mesh network and using chime pro. I have zero issues with the many other tech connected at home. Not an amateur here whatsoever. And they want to milk you for another $30/yr for recordings even though I pay for their doorbell recordings. I assumed 2 cams would be covered. Nope. I’m going to Arlo which is free and far superior. Hey ring it’s 2018, this isn’t that tough.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Soti,

      I am sorry to hear about this less than excellent Ring experience. You are absolutely right, your Ring device should continue functioning at its best both during the day and at night. With that being said, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can make this happen for you. I would like to investigate the health of your device so that I can work to provide you with the best possible resolution. Would you email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on improving your Ring experience today.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    SAVE YOUR MONEY!! Worthless junk!

    Posted
    BestBuyGuy76
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    These cameras are complete junk! App rarely opens,.... it usually just continuously refreshes, or opens to a black screen. Battery life was at 68% after one day, & takes forever to charge, 5, -10 hours. When it records the video, it's usually a few seconds after the motion is triggered, so it rarely shows who tripped the camera, & if you're lucky enough to catch a person on camera, they're too blurry to identify anyway. Pure worthless junk! I'm so mad I wasted my money on this crap!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi BestBuyGuy76,

      I am so sorry to hear this. This is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. At this point, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly. I would like to perform a thorough investigation of the health of your device so that I can work to resolve the issues that you are encountering with poor battery life, delays, and poor video quality. Do you happen to know what your upload and download speeds are? Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on improving your overall Ring experience today.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring