Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Spotlight Cam Wire-free - White-Front_Standard

Ring - Spotlight Cam Wire-free - White

Model: 8SB1S7-WEN0SKU: 5936903

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 1361 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 41 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    The ladder exercise cam

    Posted
    Disappointed
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased this cam a week ago and I have spent all my week figuring out how to make this cam work flawlessly. Not to mention after long days work and just to come home with this kind of headache. The sensing, the recording, and connecting to the cam is unbearably horrid! And within 1 wk the battery is already down 50%; thus, no choice, had to spend another $26.60 for second battery. The Ring cam technician was very helpful, but there's only so much they can help when this cam failing not only the customers but as well as them. As advised, spending additional $50 for a chime pro wifi extender (shipping not included). Cost so far $216.49 + $20 + $50 = "$286.49", WOW! Ring company should realize that climbing a ladder is not a fun exercise... the countless ladder lifting to and from, and climbing up and down so to reset the Ring cam. I do hope Ring company will be able to solve their spotlight cam's issues. And when they do, pls. include my ladder exercise Ring cam in your thoughts. I was going to give it 1 star for poor execution; however, since I like the concept I gave it 2 stars. Truly would like for this battery spotlight cam to work flawlessly. I will give it another week. I would change my star rating to 5 and my recommendation to a friend from a NO to YES if these issues are resolved.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Disappointed,

      I am sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I appreciate all the time, money, and energy that you have invested in trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I would like to step in and be your direct point of contact from here on out. I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can personally investigate the battery and connectivity issues that you are encountering. It is imperative to me that we get your Spotlight Cam functioning at its best and I would like to ensure that I make this happen for you as soon as possible.

      I look forward to hearing from you.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great Features but Disappointing Image Quality

    Posted
    GreendaleE

    I purchased the Spotlight Cam with solar panel kit directly from Ring. The design of the camera and solar panel is really nice and having the lights, motion sensor and camera similar to the Flood Light Cam was what I was looking for. Unfortunately the camera quality is really lacking. I thought for sure the unit I received was defective due to the much better image quality on the other Ring products I own (Doorbell 2 and Floodlight Cam). I contacted Ring service, after several days of tag your it emails and unhelpful corrective suggestions, Ring agreed to send me a replacement camera. I have to return the first camera at my expense. I installed the replacement camera today and the image quality is identical (not good). It seems the battery and battery solar powered versions of this camera have the same image quality which is inferior to the Doorbell 2 and Floodlight Cam. I have attached the images from both the original and replacement cameras as an example (note the lower resolution and blurry edges from the lens/camera design). The other features of the camera seem to work ok, witch the motion sensing distance adjustment very finicky but workable. I will keep this camera due to the need for a solar powered model, but I caution others to be aware of the image quality before purchasing and don't expect the same level of image quality as the other Ring products currently offered. Needless to say, I am disappointed with this product. (Best Buy won’t accept the photos, too large???)

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello GreendaleE,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is not the Spotlight Cam experience that we intended for you to have. It is imperative to me that we get your Spotlight Cam up and running consistently to your expectations and I would like to make this happen for you today. Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com so that I can assess and resolve the poor video quality that you are encountering?

      I look forward to assisting you.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    More Novelty than Security

    Posted
    Taisage
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I purchased the ring 2 doorbell and the spotlight cam/solar panel. The doorbell has been great, but the experience with the cam has been less than acceptable. Installation was smooth, connection was decent at ~30’ from the access point in a window with a clear line of sight. Only 1 battery installed which I charged fully before installing. After the first week of adjustments where every motion in the area was alerting, I found a ‘sweet spot’ that allowed me to keep both cars in the driveway covered without being activated by every car driving through the neighborhood. Two months of good battery performance/charging, but seemingly random activation. Live view was always responsive, but what activates the camera seems off. I have alerts set to standard to reduce the frequency and do not receive anything from 5pm to 7am when we get home and leave for work. The problem is that someone went through our cars during the night and did not set off the camera, essentially rendering the system useless. Also, now the panel seems to not be charging the camera so there may be an issue with the camera itself. I am returning (with geek protection) and will give it another try and update after some testing. Currently not happy at all.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Taisage,

      This is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I do, however, greatly appreciate all the time and energy that you have invested into trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to step in and ensure your efforts are not wasted. Would you kindly email me at Bilan.jenkins@ring.com to discuss this further?

      Bilan J., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Bilan.jenkins@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Overall not what I had hoped for.

    Posted
    BigMon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The camera is very nice, but the light does not work half the time, either the sensor is not working correctly or the light just does not turn on, the Camera was not too hard to mount to my house but to find out you can have 2 batteries in the camera at 1 time or have 1 charging while the other one is in the camera is a great idea, but when I asked 3 different employees at Best Buy where can I purchase another battery nobody could answer my question, I wandered around the store with one employee who I give her credit she was trying but no luck. If you sale the camera with the battery why not sale the extra battery? Or the manufacturer should put 2 in the box. Lastly trying to find where to watch what has been recorded is still kicking my butt, no directions on after you record something where you can watch it. Or can you set the camera to record during these hours? where do you do that? It is starting to get very frustrating.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Wanted to like it

    Posted
    Matt
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This seemed like an ideal product for my house. I have no access to power at the front or back door, so wireless was my only option. And with the promise of a long battery life I was sold. However, after the initial setup and installation of the cameras (pretty simple process), I have experienced almost continuous problems, mostly with connectivity and the app itself. Out of the 5 days we have owned the cameras, there were only about 24 hours that the cameras worked as expected. Very similar issues to the other poor reviews here. Constantly had to reconnect the cameras. And the battery life definitely sucks. Installed with fully charged batteries and today(day 5) they are around 30%. However, all the features when you could actually get them to function, were great. It's a shame that the problems overshadowed the great potential of the product. Returning to Best Buy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Matt,

      Oh no, I am sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience. I would greatly appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can personally take a further look at the connectivity and battery life issues that you are experiencing. It is of great importance to me that we get your Spotlight Cam working consistently to your expectations. With that being said, would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com? I would like to get to work on providing you with the best possible resolution ASAP.

      Thanks,

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    So far not impressed

    Posted
    Daenique

    I purchased the Ring Battery Operated Camera on a Firday. Four days later on a Tuesday we had heavy rain. The next day I notice that I kept getting a message the battery door was open. I checked multiple times and in fact the door was closed. Because of the error this caused issues with the camera functionality, the motion sensors failed to work and I wasn't receiving notifications but I was able to live stream. I took the camera down and I noticed condensation inside the camera lens so I immediately took the mount down and went back to Best Buy. So much for being waterproof....I am hoping it was defective. I received a new camera mounted it backup and so far will see how this one goes I am not confident it will go well. I gave 2 stars because the installation and set up was easy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Daenique,

      I am so sorry to hear about this inconvenient Ring experience. I would, however, like to ensure that your new Spotlight Cam Battery is up and running consistently to your expectations. Would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      Thanks,

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Works...but not well!

    Posted
    IrishDoc
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Pretty hyped to install these cameras only to find that the picture quality when zoomed in is poor to unusable at best. Could not get good signal strength until I purchased the chime booster. Now have minimal signal. Overall distances to router/chime boosters average less than 40ft. Buyer beware on these. I should have followed my gut and returned them once I saw the quality and signal problems. If using the spot lights you’ll need more batteries...many. In a matter of a minute or so they will drain a fully charged battery. Motion detection is set through he app and is ineffective at best in controlling the zones it is suppose to be denied from. App allows for schedules to be created but these large don’t work either.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi IrishDoc,

      Oh no, I am so sorry to hear this.I would, however, appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can work to improve your Ring experience. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.co Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the money!

    Posted
    Itzme
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Spent nearly a grand on this system and it only seems to works when it wants to. I keep every thing on high settings (high crime area) at night time so I won't miss anything....jokes on me... they could steal whatever they wanted to because these things don't detect them. Doorbell picks up people walking around (middle of night) but my spotlight cam, which is much closer to where they are, doesn't pick them up...WHAT? But it will detect a cat crossing the road. They detect most EVERYTHING during the day but at night, when I NEED high security the most, FORGET IT! Saying goes "You get what you pay for!" Research people, research...wish I would of!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Waste of money

    Posted
    Keesha
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This was easy to install and set up but a complete waste of money. Battery life is terrible. I had the light turned off and the motion off and it still only lasts 4-5 days. That is very annoying especially if you have installed it high up and it is not the easiest thing to take battery out to recharge. I did buy the solar panel because I didn't want to have to do that. I have the solar panel pointed directly at the sun and does work, but never enough to keep the camera from dieing. Supposed to work only using 2 hours of sun a day but even with a full day of sun my battery only charged about 3%.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Save your money

    Posted
    Robdog
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The picture resolution on most of these is not even close to 1080i. More like 480i. He battery lasted me 8 days on a full charge. The detection zones are poor at best. I had to walk up about 15 to get detected. Being the battery version it turns in after the subject is way to close. My Wyze camera at $25 is better. I am glade I returned it and didn’t have to pay for poor service. I bought it to pair it with the Ring Security which is a very good buy. I wish ring update its zone dectection and put the inferred lights outside the white plastic to be brighter.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good idea. Not great execution.

    Posted
    Mark
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The camera is good and the light is bright, but the wifi connection is spotty and the resulting video becomes choppy. The battery lasted about 2-3 weeks and not 6 months. I will likely return it and use a different product. I love the doorbell, but just wish this worked better. I also wish the cost for the saving of videos wasn't so much. I can buy a number of camera systems with videos recorders for a one time fee and save a bunch. If it had worked better perhaps that would not be as much of an issue

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Mark,

      I am sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, this is not the experience that we intended for you to have and I would like to personally make sure that we improve it for you. Do you happen to know what your upload and download speeds are? Additionally, battery life is contingent on usage so the volume of alerts you receive per day will affect it but we can provide optimal settings to conserve your battery. Would you be so kind as to email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can work to enhance your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Inconsistent

    Posted
    Mom05
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The camera picture quality is good, but it does not pick up when someone walks on porch or up to house. We have tried moving the camera to different heights and spots to see if it helps, as recommended by the website. Still the same result. Even tried a swapping with another camera. It does pick up cars driving by. That’s about it! Doesn’t even record UPS drop offs!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ok camera

    Posted
    Shady
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    It’s more about the software I guess, many times it just stays trying to load a live view and sometimes it won’t even access it. The battery cover is kid of flimsy and take some time to properly close. I have the one battery that it comes with and that will last about 2 weeks depending on sensitivity. Overall is an ok product

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not all that I expected

    Posted
    MenifeeB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    These cameras seem to be a great way to add security in an instant to your home. However there are some flaws as your WiFi connectivity could be an issue and also the fact that the batteries do not last very long at all. Been on the phone with ring several times and they are very helpful but charging batteries every two weeks is not realistic. Not pleased with that aspect.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi MenifeeB,

      I am sorry to hear about your less than excellent Ring experience. While I do see that you are already in contact with our Customer Support team, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can personally assess the connectivity and battery life issues that you are encountering and from there provide you with the best possible resolution. Would you kindly email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate the chance to improve your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    works half the time

    Posted
    DeeDee

    When you need these ring products to work they fail 98% of the time. It doesn't record motion until the person is gone or it freezes halfway through. Would be a great product if they didn't blame the consumer for all the app issues...black screen....frozen screen.. not loading images. If anything goes wrong I wouldn't have an accurate account.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello DeeDee,

      Oh no, I am sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience. At this point, I would like to step in and personally investigate why you are experiencing black screen, freezing, and lagging issues. It is of great importance to me that we get your Ring device and app both up and running consistently to your expectations and I would like to make this happen for you today. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not as good as their wired cameras

    Posted
    Cornerstone
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have two wired cameras that work fine. This camera is tough to connect and records for only 30 seconds or so - so you often miss the entire event. I would not buy this product IF I could connect to power..... Battery lasts about one month and the RING solar panel is worthless.... I returned that.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ehh it's ok...

    Posted
    khryz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The ring Spotlight is so pretty decent product. It didn't really work for me though on the first couple of the night. The frost from the cold weather which is not that cold cuz I live in Houston, affected the quality of video. I got a Logitech circle 2 on sale and it's been working perfectly and no paid subscription is required.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Khryz,

      I am sorry to hear about this inconsistent Spotlight Cam experience. The Spotlight Cam can operate in temperatures ranging between -5 degrees Fahrenheit and 120 degrees Fahrenheit. I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can personally work to improve your Ring experience. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    not thrilled

    Posted
    David
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    these devices need an OFF button. The camera has a snooze option But is not sufficient. My phone constantly alarms me every time a fly farts. Getting annoying. you spend lots of time deleting post. Would not purchase again. looking into other products that fit my needs

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Clyde
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Motion detection is too sensitive. False alerts too often. After talking to Ring I realize there is a big difference in the software app that runs the wired version. It has more features to customize the motion zones and sensitivity than the wireless one. Wish I was told so when I bought it. Very disappointed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Clyde,

      I am sorry to hear about your less than excellent Ring experience. Our Spotlight Cam Battery does have 160-degree horizontal motion detection angle as well as 140-degree field of view. At this point, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly. I would like to provide you with some additional assistance so that we can work to improve your overall experience. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Battery is poor and no much features in app

    Posted
    CSaq
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The advertising says that camera battery could last up to 6 months, but I don't think this will happen. It has a very poor battery and there is no much features in app to manage motion zones, so if you plan to use it in a high motion area, then forget it and go to the wired one.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend